eBooks
Cardiac Intensive Care, 3rd ed. by
Using a multidisciplinary, team-oriented approach, this unique title expertly covers all the latest approaches to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with critical cardiac illness. Led by Dr David L. Brown, a stellar team of authoritative writers guides you through cardiac pathophysiology, disease states presenting in the CICU, and state-of-the-art advanced diagnosis and therapeutic techniques. A visually appealing format, new chapters, and thorough updates ensure that you stay on the cutting edge of this rapidly advancing field. Discusses recent changes in cardiac intensive care, including new care paradigms, new mechanical support modalities, and new therapies and interventions. Contains 11 new chapters: Palliative Care, Temporary Pacemaker Insertion, Pericardiocentesis, Distributive Shock, Electrical Storm, Cardiopulmonary Cerebral Resuscitation after Cardiac Arrest, Temporary Mechanical Circulatory Support Devices, Cardiorenal Syndrome, Fulminant Myocarditis, Stress-Induced Cardiomyopathy, Diagnosis and Treatment of Unstable Supraventricular Tachycardia. Online access features heart sounds and murmurs to accompany the chapter on history and physical examination, videos of clinical images and key procedures, frequently updated information on late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of new research publications, and more. Concisely yet thoroughly covers acute and severe heart failure, chronic pulmonary hypertension, life-threatening dysrhythmias, aortic dissection, and other cardiac conditions as they relate to intensive care. Explains drug therapy for key cardiac drugs, such as inotropes, vasodilators, anti-arrhythmics, diuretics, anticoagulants, and anti-platelets, and discusses important drug interactions. Ideal for all healthcare professionals involved in cardiac intensive care, including intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, residents, fellows, cardiac nurses, respiratory therapists, physical therapists, and nutritionists. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices and contains an up to date collection of all relevant ACC/AHA and ESC guidelines.
Devices in Cardiac Critical Care by
Everything you need to know about the latest cardiac devices and how to use them to diagnose and treat patients safely and effectively In a critical care setting, time is often of the essence and there is no room for confusion about different cardiac devices―which are evolving at a rapid-pace. Understanding how to choose and use each of these devices correctly is crucial. Devices in Cardiac Critical Care addresses this important issue by providing thorough coverage of all the devices you are likely to encounter. Written in an engaging, conversational style, this accessible book will assist you in making effective clinical judgements. The book is divided into chapters based on genuine clinical cases and features a proposed approach for each case. In addition to the cases, each chapter covers indications, contraindications, mechanism of working, complications, troubleshooting, and includes figures and tables. Key points highlight important information for convenient, quick review. Devices in Cardiac Critical Care covers: * Resuscitation devices (airway, hypothermia and CPR) * Mechanical circulatory devices (right and left heart support devices) * Valvular devices * Arrythmia devices * Fluid management/hemodynamic assessment devices (including renal devices) * Respiratory support devices * Remote monitoring devices (Tele CCU)
ISBN: 9781265209612Publication Date: 2024-04-26
Echocardiography: A Practical Guide for Reporting and Interpretation, 4th ed. by
This book sets echocardiography within a routine clinical context. It aims to synthesise guidelines into a pragmatic clinical approach to real patients providing a step-by-step guide to performing, reporting and interpreting a study. Written with the imagination of the calm voice of a senior echocardiographer teaching a junior, this edition has been extensively revised with an expansion of sections on acute, intensive care and emergency medicine. COVID-19 has necessitated limiting exposure of both patient and operator to infection and also caused a huge increase in waiting lists. This has sharpened the debate over matching the level of scan to the clinical question and also highlights the importance of collaboration between clinicians and echocardiographers. Key features: * Expanded first chapter on levels of echocardiography. * New sections on COVID-19, cardio-oncology, multivalve disease, and specialist valve clinics. * Incorporation of new international guidelines, grading criteria and normal data. * Guide to how cardiac CT and magnetic resonance can compliment echocardiography. * Reformatted text and extra diagrams and tables to improve understanding.
ISBN: 9781032151601Publication Date: 2023-04-07
The ESC Textbook of Intensive and Acute Cardiovascular Care, 3rd ed. by
The ESC Textbook of Intensive and Acute Cardiovascular Care is the official textbook of the Acute Cardiovascular Care Association (ACCA) of the ESC.Cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) are a major cause of premature death worldwide and a cause of loss of disability-adjusted life years. For most types of CVD early diagnosis and intervention are independent drivers of patient outcome. Clinicians must be properly trained and centres appropriatelyequipped in order to deal with these critically ill cardiac patients.This new updated edition of the textbook continues to comprehensively approach all the different issues relating to intensive and acute cardiovascular care and addresses all those involved in intensive and acute cardiac care, not only cardiologists but also critical care specialists, emergencyphysicians and healthcare professionals. The chapters cover the various acute cardiovascular diseases that need high quality intensive treatment as well as organisational issues, cooperation among professionals, and interaction with other specialities in medicine.SECTION 1 focusses on the definition, structure, organisation and function of ICCU's, ethical issues and quality of care. SECTION 2 addresses the pre-hospital and immediate in-hospital (ED) emergency cardiac care. SECTIONS 3-5 discuss patient monitoring, diagnosis and specific procedures. Acutecoronary syndromes (ACS), acute decompensated heart failure (ADHF), and serious arrhythmias form SECTIONS 6-8. The main other cardiovascular acute conditions are grouped in SECTION 9. Finally SECTION 10 is dedicated to the many concomitant acute non-cardiovascular conditions that contribute to thepatients' case mix in ICCU.This edition includes new chapters such as low cardiac output states and cardiogenic shock, and pacemaker and ICDs: troubleshooting and chapters have been extensively revised. Purchasers of the print edition will also receive an access code to access the online version of the textbook which includesadditional figures, tables, and videos to better to better illustrate diagnostic and therapeutic techniques and procedures in IACC.The third edition of the ESC Textbook of Intensive and Acute Cardiovascular Care will establish a common basis of knowledge and a uniform and improved quality of care across the field.
eBooks
Manual of Cardiac Intensive Care by
Addressing the changing needs of clinicians in today's CCU, ICU and CICU, Manual of Cardiac Intensive Care is an easy-to-use, point-of-care reference for cardiologists, intensivists, physicians, trainees, and other health care professionals who care for critically ill patients with cardiovascular disease (CVD). This clinically-focused manual offers practical guidance from leading cardiac intensive care experts on the specialized and highly technological care of patients with severe CVD-myocardial infarction, heart failure, cardiogenic shock, and their complications, including respiratory failure and renal failure. The portable, paperback format makes it an excellent resource for day-to-day practice or as an exam or recertification study tool. Provides the information you need in the CCU, ICU or CICU to deliver high-quality care to increasingly complex and critically ill patients with CVD. Covers important and emerging topics such as COVID-19, fulminant myocarditis, cardiogenic shock, cardiorenal syndrome, cardiac tamponade, acute aortic dissection, takotsubo cardiomyopathy, and much more. Describes key procedures including arterial and radial central vascular access, temporary cardiac pacing, invasive hemodynamic monitoring, pericardiocentesis, and more. Covers a range of topics for effective practice including common misconceptions, clinical presentations, pathophysiology, management, and imaging. Includes more than 100 radiographic images, echocardiograms, ECGs, anatomic illustrations, and algorithms throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Patient Management in the Cardiac Step down/Telemetry Unit: a Case-Based Approach by
A practical, case-based approach for beginners to learn the essentials of patient care on the Stepdown floor and cardiac care unit Specifically written for novices on the telemetry floor, this innovative new book guides the beginner through a wide spectrum of cases they will most likely encounter on the Stepdown floor. The cases included in the text are a compilation of real-life ones the authors have encountered in their extensive clinical careers, and each includes discussion of how to best manage the situation, along with detailed explanations. Guide to Patient Management in the Cardiac Stepdown Unit differentiates itself from other texts on the topic by its case-based, highly practical coverage of initial diagnosis, management, and the creation of a care plan, along with troubleshooting tips on managing more complicated situations. The goal of the book is minimize errors, improve outcomes, deliver practical knowledge, and provide the quick management tips required in a fast-paced, high-pressure environment.
