eBooks
Atlas of Practical Mohs Histopathology by
Mohs surgery is microscopically controlled surgery used to treat common types of skin cancer and allows for the removal of a skin cancer with a very narrow surgical margin and a high cure rate. However, fornbsp;those involved with the Mohs procedure, it is critical to understand the optimal preparation and interpretation of frozen sections. Complete with hundreds of high resolution figures, Atlas of Practical Mohs Histopathology is written by leading experts in the field and discusses everything from normal skin histology and rare tumors to pitfalls and incidental findings. Dermatologic surgeons, Mohs cutaneous surgeons, dermatopathologists and pathologists alike will find this book to be a comprehensive and indispensable reference.
ISBN: 9781461451600Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Barnhill's Dermatopathology, 4th ed. by
For virtually every kind of skin lesion, this skill-sharpening resource has everything clinicians need to successfully perform differential diagnosis at the microscopic level. Barnhill's Dermatopathology features a systematic, algorithmic approach that cuts through the complexity of the discipline’s traditional disease-oriented focus, providing a ready-to-use diagnostic tool that puts the entire world of dermatopathology into perspective.
This classic has won acclaim as the only dermatology pathology resource that is valuable for both teaching and for clinical practice and differential diagnosis. While other references may be more exhaustive, denser, or larger, none are more clinically useful as Barnhill's Dermatopathology. With 15% of the dermatology board and recertification examination consisting of dermatopathology topics, this is also an outstanding board review tool.
Filled with hundreds of color photomicrographs, the book features a clear five-part organization and nearly forty detailed chapters―each reflecting the scientifically rigorous, up-to-date insights of authors who are acknowledged experts in the field. The book’s vast scope encompasses all skin disease processes―inflammatory, non-inflammatory, infections, and proliferations (harmatomas, hyperplasias, and neoplasms, plus disorders of nails and oral mucosa).
Cancer of the Skin by
Cancer of the Skin, edited by Drs. Rigel, Robinson, Ross, Friedman, Cockerell, Lim, Stockfleth, and Kirkwood, is your complete, multimedia guide to early diagnosis and effective medical and surgical treatment of melanoma and other skin cancers. Thoroughly updated with 11 new chapters, this broad-based, comprehensive reference provides you with the latest information on clinical genetics and genomics of skin cancer, targeted therapy for melanoma, the Vitamin D debate concerning the risks and benefits of sun exposure, and other timely topics. A new, multi-disciplinary team of contributors and editors comprised of leading experts in this field offers truly diverse perspectives and worldwide best practices. Broaden your understanding of all aspects of skin cancer-from the underlying biology to clinical manifestations of the disease to diagnosis, and medical and surgical treatment-with this easy-to-use, comprehensive, multimedia reference. See conditions as they appear in practice with guidance from detailed full-color images and step-by-step procedural videos. Stay current with the latest advancements and therapies! 11 new chapters cover clinical genetics and genomics of skin cancer, targeted therapy for melanoma, the Vitamin D debate concerning the risks and benefits of sun exposure, and other essential topics. Get truly diverse perspectives and worldwide best practices from a new, multi-disciplinary team of contributors and editors comprised of the world's leading experts Access the complete text online-including image bank and video library-at www.expertconsult.com Diagnose skin cancer effectively using a multimedia reference with a multi-disciplinary approach and the latest content and techniques.
ISBN: 9781437717884Publication Date: 2011-07-22
Cutaneous Malignancies: A Surgical Perspective, 1st ed. by
The treatment of skin cancer has become an increasingly multispecialty practice. Ongoing surgical and postsurgical advances and emergent factors that predispose patients to these tumors have changed the treatment paradigm. Having a keen understanding of diagnostic, surgical, and nonsurgical treatment options is key to identifying, treating, or referring patients with potential cutaneous malignancies.
While Brian R. Gastman's Cutaneous Malignancies: A Surgical Perspective is the first of its kind to emphasize surgical management of skin cancer, several sections are devoted to systemic nonsurgical therapies affecting patient care and surgical intervention. Topics encompassed include prevention, diagnosis, medication management, appropriate margin size, reconstruction methods, and the importance of stellar dermatopathology.
Key Highlights
The role of Mohs micrographic surgery and radiation in skin cancer treatment
Treatment approaches for the two most common forms of skin cancer respectively, basal cell carcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma
Surgical treatment of cutaneous malignant melanoma and other high-risk malignancies
Clinical insights on completion lymphadenectomy and sentinel node biopsy for melanoma, two topics rarely addressed in context with skin cancer
Diagnosis and treatment of rare malignancies including Merkel cell carcinoma, dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans, cutaneous angiosarcoma, and cutaneous leiomyosarcoma
More than 400 high-quality illustrations further delineate surgical modalities
Edited by an esteemed dual board certified plastic surgeon and otolaryngologist, this definitive book is the most complete guide to surgical management of skin cancer. It is essential reading for plastic surgeons, dermatologists, otolaryngologists, and all clinicians who treat or refer patients with suspected skin cancer.
Dermatopathology: Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology, Third Edition by
The goal of the third edition of this textbook remains the same as before: an introductory to midlevel no-nonsense practical guide to the histopathologic diagnosis of skin disorders. We want to provide a book for residents in pathology or dermatology and fellows in dermatopathology that they can manage to read and use to deal with most daily encountered diagnostic challenges. In an effort to keep the book compact, compromises were necessary, which meant leaving out entities or mentioning some only briefly. As before, we minimized references to save space for text and illustrations with the same rationale—that we do not aim to provide an encyclopedic book, and readers can easily query online libraries on the Internet for primary references. We decided to put together a third edition of the book because significant updates were necessary. The field has advanced, especially in the area of molecular diagnostics. Most importantly, however, the third edition provides an opportunity to bring in a coeditor (Dr. Gerami) and new authors for major revisions of prior chapters and to add yet another new chapter (Pediatric Dermatopathology).
ISBN: 9780323830713
Dermoscopy Criteria Review by
A comprehensive overview examines the basic terminology and concepts of dermoscopy, a cutting-edge, non-invasive technique that is invaluable to clinicians in the evaluation and diagnosis of a full gamut of dermatologic conditions.
eBooks
Dermoscopy: The Essentials, 2020 by
Dermoscopy: The Essentials presents the practical guidance you need to master this highly effective, more economical, and less invasive alternative to biopsy. Drs. Peter Soyer, Giuseppe Argenziano, Rainer Hofmann-Wellenhof, and Iris Zalaudek explain all aspects of performing dermoscopy and interpreting results. With approximately 30% new clinical and dermoscopic images, valuable pearls and checklists, and online access to the fully searchable and downloadable text, you'll have everything you need to diagnose earlier and more accurately. Avoid diagnostic pitfalls through pearls that explain how to accurately use dermoscopy and highlight common mistakes. Master all aspects of performing dermoscopy and interpreting the results with easy-to-use "traffic light" systems and checklists for quick and effective learning. Gain a better visual understanding with approximately 30% new clinical and dermoscopic images that depict the appearance of benign and malignant lesions and feature arrows and labels to highlight important manifestations. Get better diagnostic results for less by learning how to successfully perform dermoscopy with this portable, to-the-point resource. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Diagnostic Atlas of Cutaneous Mesenchymal Neoplasia by
With its many diagnostic categories, relevant variants, and rare tumors, soft tissue pathology is one of the most challenging areas of surgical pathology. Focusing on the cutaneous soft tissue specimens and reactive mimics most likely to be encountered by pathologists and dermatopathologists, Diagnostic Atlas of Cutaneous Mesenchymal Neoplasia is a superbly illustrated, easy-to-use atlas designed to be used beside the microscope for efficient diagnosis and classification of soft tissue tumors of the skin. Features high-quality histologic and clinical images of multiple examples of each tumor, with captions and bulleted text for quick reference. Uses a high-yield format that facilitates a rapid and accurate diagnosis, including: Characteristic clinical setting Key morphologic features Immunohistochemical properties Molecular diagnostic testing (where applicable) Offers the most complete presentation available of this complex family of tumors, authored by renowned experts in dermatopathology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Margin Control Surgery of the Skin: Concepts, Histopathology, and Applications by
This first-of-its-kind multidisciplinary approach to margin control cutaneous surgery highlights practical concepts and provides copious illustrations and photos paired with text Outlining basic techniques for safe, effective surgery, Margin Control Surgery of the Skin explains how to handle common difficulties in completely excising common skin tumors, as well as more advanced cancers not usually dealt with by Mohs surgeons. The combination of illustrations, photographs, and concise text make complex topics easy to understand, and concepts are outlined in both traditional chapter format and case-based format so that practitioners will be engaged in a more practical context. Traditional chapters cover all technical aspects of the procedure and how these techniques are applied to the treatment of cutaneous malignancies.
Pathology of Melanocytic Tumors by
Constituting a large percentage of everyday diagnostic practice, melanocytic pathology is a complex and challenging area with many difficult-to-diagnose lesions. This highly illustrated reference, written by three of the world's leading dermatopathologists, provides authoritative guidance in the accurate diagnosis of even the most challenging pigmented skin tumors, helping you avoid pitfalls and recognize mimics. Covers nearly every variant of melanocytic tumors you're likely to see. Emphasizes how to arrive at an efficient, accurate diagnosis, and includes dermoscopic findings for optimal diagnostic precision. Discusses modern analytic techniques (cytogenetics, molecular studies) and how to use them for diagnosis. Includes numerous case examples to illustrate the differential diagnoses and work-up; how to use ancillary techniques, along with their pros, cons, and limitations; and clinical follow-up. Presents the knowledge and experience of Klaus Busam, Pedram Gerami, and Richard Scolyer, - three dermatopathologists who are globally renowned for their expertise in melanoma pathology and analysis of melanocytic tumors by modern ancillary diagnostic techniques. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Skin Cancer: A Comprehensive Guide by
This comprehensive illustrated guide gets readers fully up to date on the diagnosis and treatment of skin cancers and benign tumors With color illustrations and case studies, Skin Cancer: A Comprehensive Guide begins with an incisive discussion of both normal and aging skin and the incidences and causes of skin cancer. It then describes of every type of skin cancer and important benign tumors, as well as dermatological manifestation of internal malignancy--followed by treatment procedures for various patient populations, including children and pregnant women. The book concludes with in-depth sections on skin cancer patients--covering critical topics like skin cancer vaccines and chemo-prevention of cancer and the economic challenges issues involved in diagnosing and treating skin cancer. Skin Cancer: A Comprehensive Guide provides an expert look at all the topics most important to clinicians and students, including the use of lasers and optical coherence tomography in skin cancer diagnosis, Mohs micrographic surgery, Hyper Ig-E and hypereosinophilic syndromes, and confocal laser scanning microscopy. It provides expert coverage of virtually every condition you're likely to encounter, including: * Basal and Squamous Cell Carcinoma * Malignant Melanoma * Cutaneous Lymphoma and Leukemias * Sarcomas * Sweat Gland Tumors * Vascular Tumors of the Skin * Eyelid, Oral, and Genital Cancers * Paget's disease * HPV-Associated Skin Cancers * Skin Cancer in Transplant and HIV Patients * Non-Melanoma and Melanoma Skin Cancers in Non-White Population
