eBooks
Bland and Copeland's The Breast: Comprehensive Management of Benign and Malignant Diseases, 6th ed. by
Multidisciplinary in scope and fully up to date with the latest advances in medical oncology and more, Bland and Copeland's The Breast, 6th Edition, covers every clinically relevant aspect of the field: cancer, congenital abnormalities, hormones, reconstruction, anatomy and physiology, benign breast disease, and more. In a practical, easy-to-use format ideal for today’s busy practitioners, this truly comprehensive resource is ideal for surgical oncologists, breast surgeons, general surgeons, medical oncologists, and others who need to stay informed of the latest innovations in this complex and fast-moving area.
Offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on the diagnosis and management of, and rehabilitation following, treatment for benign and malignant diseases of the breast.
Updates include an extensively updated oncoplastic section and extended medical and radiation oncology sections.
Delivers step-by-step clinical guidance highlighted by hundreds of superb illustrations that depict relevant anatomy and pathology, as well as medical and surgical procedures.
Reflects the collaborative nature of diagnosis and treatment among radiologists, pathologists, breast and plastic surgeons, radiation and medical oncologists, geneticists and other health care professionals who contribute to the management of patients with breast disease.
Includes access to procedural videos that provide expert visual guidance on how to execute key steps and techniques.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Bostwick's Plastic and Reconstructive Breast Surgery, 4th ed. by
Few surgical texts are able to provide readers with a level of descriptive and visual detail sufficient to be considered a primary manual for surgical procedures. Surgeons typically face the daunting task of extensive research through various texts to piece together a picture comprehensive enough to guide them through a new procedure. This prospect is especially formidable in the field of plastic and reconstructive breast surgery, in which techniques are constantly evolving and older texts describe procedures that have long since been supplanted by superior methods and innovative approaches. This fourth edition of Bostwick's Plastic and Reconstructive Breast Surgery, edited by premier breast surgeon Glyn E. Jones, provides just that manual for breast and plastic surgeons. This comprehensive text encompasses every key ingredient for a step-by-step surgical guide to breast surgery: An expanded microsurgical section incorporating the most widely used flaps and recent advances Extensive coverage of revolutionary prepectoral breast reconstruction, both single stage direct-to-implant approaches and 2-stage expander-implant pre-pectoral reconstruction A comprehensive approach to lymphedema surgery Exposure to state-of-the-art implant technology Contributing authors from around the globe who are heralded as the best in their field at technique and innovation Detailed coverage of relevant and groundbreaking new technologies that are redefining plastic surgery of the breast Step-by-step detailed technical operative details including technical nuances rarely outlined in surgical texts High-quality, updated surgical images and intricate surgical illustrations as well as pertinent radiographic examples An extensive collection of pertinent surgical videos, which stream directly from the publisher's website Technical caveats to ensure success of the surgical techniques described Concise but thorough chapters presented in both print and electronic formats for easy access by busy surgeons Surgeons must be highly skilled in cosmetic breast surgery as well as in prepectoral approaches, single-stage direct-to-implant reconstruction, and microsurgery to remain competitive in the plastic and reconstructive breast surgery field. Every dedicated breast surgeon will want this essential text at their fingertips! This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626238121Publication Date: 2020-12-07
Breast Cancer: Multidisciplinary Pathways for Cancer Care in the Community by
Because most cancer care is delivered in the community setting, Breast Cancer, edited by Dr. James L. Weese, looks at the management of breast cancer through the lens of multidisciplinary pathways focused on evidence-based, real-world care of breast cancer patients in the community. A multidisciplinary team of expert authors provides state-of-the-art guidance from the perspective of community practitioners using an evidence-based model, clearly showing the thought processes used to make treatment decisions in today’s breast cancer management.
Discusses all the latest breakthrough therapies for breast cancer, including chemotherapeutic, molecular, and immunologic agents, as well as new developments in precision-based medicine, pharmacology, breast cancer surgery, breast and lymphatic reconstruction, radiation therapy, and more.
Provides strategies for targeted radiation therapy and conservative breast surgery for contemporary breast cancer treatment
Features more than 200 high-quality figures throughout, including pathways, anatomic, radiographic, and graphic images.
Models a consistent, team-based thought process used at leading academic institutions to foster consistent decision making applied to the community setting.
Includes key points at the beginning of each chapter that highlight essential concepts and topics
Breast Cancer and Gynecologic Cancer Rehabilitation by
Breast Cancer and Gynecological Cancer Rehabilitation, edited by Adrian Cristian, MD, MHCM, provides today's clinicians with a concise, accessible resource covering the holistic rehabilitation of breast cancer patients. Beginning with a review of epidemiology, genetics, and pathophysiology of breast cancer, it then covers clinical assessment and treatment options before providing comprehensive coverage of rehabilitation. Containing practical information, best practices, and the latest advances and research, this book is a valuable reference for physical medicine and rehabilitation physicians and residents, as well as occupational and physical therapists. Provides a clear understanding of the current medical, surgical, and radiation treatments for breast cancer. Covers the whole spectrum of breast cancer rehabilitation, including the role of physical and occupational therapy, treatment of anxiety and depression, pain syndromes, integrative care, nutritional rehabilitation, palliative care, and more. Offers a timely and convenient resource written by leading experts in breast cancer and rehabilitation.
Breast Cancer Radiation Therapy by
The book provides, in a comprehensive yet concise way, essential information to improve the knowledge and skills of all healthcare providers involved in the treatment of patients with breast cancer. The content does not focus on general information that is widely available via different sources, but on technical aspects - "hands-on" daily practices and principles of radiation oncology that are not included in other books. Drawing on information taught in courses at e.g. the ESTRO School, as well as the authors' broad clinical experience, the respective contributions reflect and share the expertise of leading experts in breast cancer radiation therapy, supported by sound data and evidence. Each chapter includes a short introduction summarizing the evidence in the literature and "pearls" (a short bullet-point summary), and is enriched by tables, figures and illustrations to provide a concise, easy-to-follow and appealing overview. The book, containing also useful electronic supplementary material, will be of interest to a wide range of readers, including radiation oncologists, radiation technicians, medical physicists, and others involved in breast cancer care.
ISBN: 9783030911690Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Breast Cancer Screening by
Breast Cancer Screening: Making Sense of Complex and Evolving Evidence covers broad aspects of breast cancer screening specifically focusing on current evidence, emerging evidence, and issues that will be critical for future breast screening practice such as tailored screening and shared decision-making in breast screening. The scope of the book is relevant to a global audience. This book provides balanced perspectives on this increasingly controversial topic, using scientific evidence to explain the evolution of knowledge relating to breast cancer screening. Breast Cancer Screening covers the key points related to this debate including the context of increasingly complex and conflicting evidence, divergent opinions on the benefits and harms of breast screening, and variability in screening practice and outcomes across settings around the world.
ISBN: 9780128022092Publication Date: 2016-04-06
Breast Diseases: Guidelines for Management by
This book incorporates all aspects of breast diseases starting from basic science, benign breast diseases, malignant neoplasms, diagnostics and multidisciplinary therapeutic options to molecular biology research. It focuses on information useful for trainees, medical students and practicing breast surgeons and oncologists.
ISBN: 9780367609696Publication Date: 2024-06-01
Breast Imaging, 4th ed. by
Focusing on high-yield information, Breast Imaging: The Core Requisites, 4th Edition emphasizes the basics to help you establish a foundational understanding of breast imaging during rotations, refresh your knowledge of key concepts, and learn strategies to provide "value-added" reports to referring clinicians. This completely rewritten and reorganized edition emphasizes the essential knowledge you need in an easy-to-read format, with thorough updates that cover new imaging modalities, the latest guidelines, and integration of physics information throughout. Emphasizes the essentials in a templated, quick-reference format that includes numerous outlines, tables, pearls, boxed material, and bulleted content for easy reading, reference, and recall. Helps you build and solidify core knowledge to prepare you for clinical practice with critical, up-to-date information on mammography, breast ultrasound, digital breast tomosynthesis, and breast MRIs, as well as special chapters on lymph node evaluation in breast imaging, augmented and reconstructed breast, and special populations in breast imaging. Features hundreds of high-quality images, including correlations of ultrasound, mammography, digital breast tomosynthesis and MRI. Published as part of the newly reimagined Core Requisites series, an update to the popular Requisites series aimed at radiology trainees and today's busy clinicians. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
eBooks
Breast Reconstruction: Modern and Promising Surgical Techniques by
This book examines distinct innovative and modern techniques for breast reconstruction after a mastectomy necessitated by breast cancer. It serves as not only an entry point in learning about the most modern and promising surgical techniques available, but as a pragmatic guide as well. Beginning with an introduction to the history of the subject, the opening chapter offers a lesson in the evolution of the development and improvement of breast reconstruction techniques. Following this, chapters examine anatomic landmarks, including vascular anatomy, design and markings and best indications depending on the type of breast to be reconstructed. Subsequent chapters then present a multitude of surgery methods, including the progression from large open surgical procedures, to endoscopic approaches, and robotic assisted minimally invasive surgery. Finally, scaffold-based tissue engineering that offers a promising future for breast reconstruction surgeries without donor site morbidity is also reviewed. Additionally, the book's expertly written text is supplemented by high-quality illustrations and videos that provide vital surgical guidance for improved surgical outcomes. Comprised of contributions from world-renowned plastic surgeons, Breast Reconstruction: Modern and Promising Surgical Techniques is an invaluable reference for residents, fellows, practicing and highly experienced plastic surgeons, breast surgeons, and those in surgical sub-specialties.
ISBN: 9783030346027Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Flaps and Reconstructive Surgery by
With coverage of nearly twice the number of flaps as the previous edition, Flaps and Reconstructive Surgery, 2nd Edition provides trainees and practicing surgeons alike with the detailed, expert knowledge required to ensure optimal outcomes. It includes chapters and expert commentaries from more than 100 authors and world-renowned leaders in the field, while brand-new cases and high-quality illustrations focused on flap harvest, markings, and reconstruction keep you abreast of today's latest developments. Includes high-quality illustrations of regional anatomy, flap anatomy, and step-by-step flap dissections, as well as clear photographs demonstrating successful reconstructions. Detailed case studies illustrate how to optimize every aspect of care for the reconstructive surgery patient, including the postoperative period and long-term follow-up. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Expanded video library of narrated surgical procedures covers most of the flaps used in reconstructive surgery. Brand-new section on reconstruction takes an algorithmic approach to the reconstruction of defects around the body. Features chapters covering the entire spectrum of reconstructive surgery, including head and neck reconstruction, chest wall reconstruction, abdominal wall, upper and lower extremity, and facial reanimation. Content focuses on both local and free flaps. New section on reconstructive transplant surgery highlights major topics such as face and hand transplantations, abdominal wall transplantation, uterus transplantation, and nerve allotransplantation.
ISBN: 9780323243223Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Management of the Breast and Axilla in the Neoadjuvant Setting by
Over the last several decades breast cancer management has made great strides in the improvement of oncologic treatment outcomes, particularly so in patients with early stage disease. While wide-spread access to screening resulting in early detection is undoubtedly to be credited for this trend, at the same time, the management of breast cancer has evolved to be an intricate multidisciplinary collaboration between breast imagers, surgeons, medical oncologists and radiation oncologist. As a result, with better mutual understanding of multidisplinary goals and challenges, the treatment strategies have become more individualized, with a great emphasis being placed on the intrinsic disease biology. Furthermore, the indications for neoadjuvant systemic therapy have significantly broadened, with a substantial number of patients with early stage breast cancer being able to take advantage of this strategy to decrease the extent of breast surgery they would undergo at its completion. As such, the management of the axilla in these patients has presented with new challenges as well as with new opportunities to scale down on the extent of local therapy and, consequently, its toxicity. This text will provide a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of this field, and will serve as a valuable resource for clinicians (surgeons, medical oncologists, radiation oncologists) and researchers with an interest in breast cancer. The book will review novel and evoling strategies in neoadjuvant systemic therapy forn early stage breast cancer, provide new perspectives about appropriate axillary imaging in anticipation of neoadjuvant systemic therapy, and describe new data on innovative surgical techniques and Radiation Oncology concepts designed to deescalate the extent and toxicity of local therapy while insuring oncologic safety. Several landmark clinical trials have been published in the last few years and will be placed in context with respect to current management. Integration of novel diagnostic and interventional breast imaging, local therapy (surgery and radiation) with contemporary systemic therapy will also be discussed. This text will serve as a very useful resource for physicians and researchers dealing with, and interested in, this challenging field. It will provide a concise yet comprehensive summary of the current status of the field that will help guide patient management and stimulate investigative efforts. All chapters will be written by experts in their fields and will include the most up to date scientific and clinical information.
ISBN: 9783030880194Publication Date: 2021-12-15
Minimally Invasive (Endoscopic and Robotic) Breast Surgery by
Clinical cases provide a visual resource of surgical options. Easy to follow format shows step by step each technique.
ISBN: 9780323734059Publication Date: 2019-11-15
Oncoplastic Surgery of the Breast, 2nd ed. by
The dynamic field of oncoplastic breast surgery seeks to combine the goals of both oncology and plastic surgery, utilizing recent innovations and new techniques to provide patients with the best possible outcomes. Oncoplastic Surgery of the Breast, 2nd Edition, offers fully revised content, new expert contributors, and up-to-date instructional videos to keep you current with today's best approaches to aesthetic closure of the breast after tumor removal. International authorities in breast and plastic surgery cover everything from indications and patient selection to the techniques and allied issues related to breast tumor surgery, including oncoplastic reduction, mammaplasty, mastectomy with nipple areolar preservation, perforator flaps, and effects of radiation therapy, as well as complications and controversies. Contains sections on Getting Started, Surgical Techniques, and Outcomes, written by authors who have made significant contributions to the field. Includes new instructional videos of step-by-step procedures narrated in real time. Procedures include thoraco-dorsal artery perforator flap (TDAP flap), oncoplastic breast augmentation technique, split reduction with intraoperative radiation therapy (IORT), and more. Offers clear visual guidance with hundreds of full-color clinical photographs and line drawings. Includes all-new chapters and fully updated content on breast augmentation technique (bi-planar approach to oncoplasty), the breast surgeon's approach to oncoplastic breast surgery, extreme oncoplasty, local recurrence and survival following oncoplastic breast surgery, lipofilling and oncoplasty, the plastic surgeon's approach to oncoplastic breast surgery, local and free flap techniques, and surveillance and imaging following oncoplastic breast surgery. Follows a consistent chapter format with summary information highlighted in key point boxes and clinical pearls for quick and easy access. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702076800Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery, Volume 1 - Breast, Lung, Pancreas, Colon by
Presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the first comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and techniques that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Key Features Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature, gathered here to create the highest quality standards in four key disease sites: breast, colon, lung, and pancreas. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these four cancer types. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation . Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web. Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation. Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text. Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues. Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use.
Rosen's Breast Pathology, 4th ed. by
For three editions, Rosen's Breast Pathology has been widely recognized as the "gold standard" reference. Now in its Fourth Edition, this classic text continues its legacy of being the leading reference work on the pathology of the breast. Precise pathological diagnosis of breast disease is the most critical factor in determining treatment and establishing prognosis. The Fourth Edition of Rosen's Breast Pathology provides the most comprehensive, updated information on diseases of the breast. Intended primarily for pathologists, the book will be an indispensible reference for all surgeons, oncologists, radiologists, radiation oncologists, as well as other physicians and medical personnel who require a thorough knowledge of breast pathology to provide optimal care for their patients. Discussions of most disease entities include clinical and radiological presentation, epidemiology, gross pathology, microscopic pathology, treatment, and prognosis. Surgical and oncological aspects of the various diseases are addressed wherever appropriate. Numerous images, a large proportion of which are new, complement the encyclopedic descriptions of the surgical pathology and cytology of diseases of the breast. Key Features More than 1,900 full color images highlight key diagnostic features, including hundreds of new illustrations. Thoroughly updated and revised chapters from renowned experts in the field, drawn from four leading medical centers in the United States, all edited by Dr. Paul P. Rosen. Emphasis on histopathological features of breast diseases. The latest advances in immunohistochemical, pathobiological and molecular aspects of benign and malignant breast diseases. Recommendations for appropriate management of specific breast diseases. New chapter on molecular aspects of breast diseases. The role of pathology in the multidisciplinary management of breast diseases is stressed. A companion website with searchable full text and an image bank.
