eBooks
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 1: Metastatic Spinal Tumors by
A focused guide from the world's experts on metastatic spine tumors" This first volume in the AOSpine Masters Series integrates the expertise of oncologists and radiology interventionalists with that of master spine surgeons, all of whom are actively involved in the care of patients with metastatic spine tumors. The book provides expert guidance to help clinicians make the right treatment decisions and provide the best care for their patients. Chapter topics range from evaluation and decision-making principles to a spectrum of non-operative and operative treatment options that have been rapidly evolving over the past decade. Key Features: Editors are internationally-recognized authorities on metastatic spine tumors Includes contributions from key opinion leaders working in spine oncology Synthesizes the best available evidence and consensus expert advice on metastatic spine tumors, leading to optimal clinical recommendations Each chapter includes clinical pearls, tips on complication avoidance, and "top 5 must-read references" The AOSpine Masters Series, a co-publication of Thieme and the AOSpine Foundation, addresses current clinical issues whereby international masters of spine share their expertise and recommendations on a particular topic. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of an evidence-based medicine approach to spine care. All neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, neuro-oncologists, and orthopedic oncologists specializing in spine, along with residents and fellows in these areas, will find this book to be an excellent guide that they will consult often in their treatment of patients with metastatic spine tumors.
ISBN: 9781626230484Publication Date: 2014-01-01
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 2: Primary Spinal Tumors by
An evidence-based guide to managing primary tumors of the spine" This second volume in the AOSpine Masters Series balances critical appraisal of current evidence in spine oncology with the opinions of experienced spine surgeons to create a unique clinical reference for spine oncology surgeons. The book provides expert guidance to help clinicians make the right treatment decisions and provide the best care for their patients. The chapters have been written and researched by key leaders in spine oncology and range from general evaluation, staging, and decision making principles to histology-specific oncologic patient management. Key Features: Editors are internationally-recognized authorities on the treatment of primary spine tumors Synthesizes the best available evidence and consensus expert advice on primary spine tumors, leading to optimal clinical recommendations Each chapter includes clinical pearls, tips on complication avoidance, and "top 5 must-read references" The AOSpine Masters Series, a co-publication of Thieme and the AOSpine Foundation, addresses current clinical issues whereby international masters of spine share their expertise and recommendations on a particular topic. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of an evidence-based medicine approach to spine care. All neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, neuro-oncologists, and orthopedic oncologists specializing in spine, along with residents and fellows in these areas, will find this book to be an excellent resource that they will often refer to in their treatment of patients with primary tumors of the spine.
ISBN: 9781626230491Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, 2d ed. by
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, Second Edition, is a major reference and guide for neurosurgeons, medical oncologists, neuroscientists, orthopedic surgeons, head and neck surgeons and radiation oncologists that treat patients and research chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton. This book is the unique result of the collaboration of multidisciplinary specialists from a wide variety of fields (neurological sciences, medical oncology, molecular biology, orthopedics and radiation oncology), offering the most relevant information about chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton from each of these fields condensed into one single volume. It contains new medical knowledge and scientific advances regarding the treatment of these types of tumors. Additionally, the book includes chapters written by the Chordoma Foundation and Sarcoma Foundation of America, providing the most valuable information and support for patients and their relatives.
Comprehensive Management of Skull Base Tumors by
The consummate guide on the contemporary management of complex skull base tumors from renowned multidisciplinary experts! An increased understanding of the biology and molecular characterization of skull base tumors has led to innovative new approaches. Endoscopic tumor resection, surgical reconstruction, and advances in radiation delivery, chemotherapy, and targeted biologic therapy, have greatly expanded treatment options for patients with these challenging tumors. The updated second edition of Comprehensive Management of Skull Base Tumors by master surgeons Ehab Hanna, Franco DeMonte, and an impressive group of global experts reflects expanded knowledge of skull base tumors and evidence-based advances. This generously illustrated second edition is organized into three sections with 42 chapters. Section I features expanded coverage of endonasal skull base anatomy and surgical principles, as well as radiotherapeutic advances such as proton therapy and stereotactic radiation. Section II is focused on site-specific procedures with emphasis on surgical approaches, and Section III focuses on tumor-specific considerations with emphasis on multidisciplinary treatment approaches. Core topics of this thorough book include pathology, genetics, diagnostic considerations, surgical reconstruction, rehabilitation, chemotherapy, functional outcomes, quality of life issues, neurocognitive assessment, and cerebrovascular management. Key Features In-depth discussion of anatomic regions of the cranial base, including surgical anatomy, regional pathology, differential diagnosis, clinical assessment, diagnostic imaging, and surgical approaches Incidence, epidemiology, pathology, staging, multidisciplinary treatment, outcome, and prognosis for a wide range of neoplasms including squamous cell carcinoma, chondrosarcomas, chordomas, meningiomas, schwannomas, paragangliomas, pituitary adenomas, craniopharyngiomas, epidermoids, and fibro-osseous lesions Outstanding illustrations, surgical and clinical photos, imaging, tables, and videos new to this edition, enhance understanding of complex skull base tumors The most comprehensive resource available today on the management and treatment of skull base tumors, this book is essential reading for neurosurgical and otolaryngology residents. It will also benefit surgeons who specialize in oromaxillofacial, craniofacial, and plastic and reconstructive surgery. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Fluorescence-Guided Neurosurgery: Neuro-oncology and Cerebrovascular Applications by
The definitive textbook on state-of-the-art fluorescence-guided neurosurgery Advances in fluorescence-guided surgery (FGS) have resulted in a paradigm shift in neurosurgical approaches to neuro-oncological and cerebrovascular pathologies. Edited by two of the foremost authorities on the topic, Fluorescence-Guided Neurosurgery: Neuro-oncology and Cerebrovascular Applications encompasses the depth and breadth of this groundbreaking, still nascent technology. The book reflects significant contributions made by world renowned neurosurgeons Constantinos Hadjipanayis, Walter Stummer, and esteemed contributors on the growing uses of 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and other FGS agents. The European Medicine Agency approved 5-ALA in 2007, heralding the birth of FGS globally. In 2017, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved 5-ALA (Gleolan) as an imaging agent to facilitate realtime detection and visualization of malignant tissue during glioma surgery. In the two decades since Dr. Stummer's initial description of 5-ALA FGS in a human patient, major strides have been made in its practical applications, leading to improved resection outcomes. As FGS is increasingly incorporated into neurosurgical practice, it holds promise for future innovations. Generously-illustrated and enhanced with online videos, this textbook is the definitive resource on the subject. Key Features The improved efficacy of 5-ALA for resecting high- and low-grade gliomas, recurrences, meningiomas, brain metastases, spinal cord tumors, pediatric brain tumors, and other adult tumors The future of fluorescence, including potentially powerful new fluorophores molecularly targeted specifically to tumors The use of the fluorescent agent indocyanine green (ICG) for brain tumors, cerebral aneurysms, AVMs, and cerebral vascularization Special topics such as fluorescein, illuminating tumor paint, confocal
Getting Ready for Brain Tumor Surgery by
Gain confidence in acquiring basic manual skills for brain tumor surgery... In training to become a neurosurgeon, many of the crucial manual skills that must be acquired can only be mastered through growing experience during the rigorous and lengthy training process. Yet, many - often essential - practical skills can quickly be learned, practiced, and even mastered, away from the OR. The author's motivation for writing this guide arose during his own training and his need for just such a practical aid. Getting Ready for Brain Tumor Surgery provides the readers with a basic set of exercises that will allow him to develop and improve their motor skills, handling of various tissues, and general technical competence. Detailed instructions are given in the illustrated text and in accompanying videos. Topics include: Planning: visualization of the procedure The craniotomy - using a coconut Working with the microscope Removing a gyrus: subpial resection Removing a brain tumor using an artificial model Microsurgical training: the chicken wing model Junior neurosurgical residents and interns will benefit greatly from this handy guide.
Glioblastoma by
Clinically focused and designed to provide a to-the-point overview, Glioblastoma, by Drs. Steven Brem and Kalil G. Abdullah, brings you up to date with increased understanding, new treatment protocols, and recent advances in the field. Written by contributing specialists who are global experts in their respective areas, this one-stop reference provides neurosurgeons, medical-and-radiation oncologists, neuro-oncologists, neuropathologists, internal medicine physicians, and researchers with a dependable source of information on current treatment options, tumor recurrence, and patient care. Evidence for current treatment options for de novo and recurrent glioblastoma, indications for local and topical therapies, immunotherapy, gene therapy, nanotherapy, small-molecule inhibition, electric tumor treating field stimulation, and antiangiogenic therapies and the role of Avastin. Recent advances relating to tumor resection, such as stereotactic laser ablation, diffusion tensor imaging, and fluorescent markers. Prognostic molecular and genetic markers and the impact of gene mutations on survival, as well as controversies relating to pseudo-progression. Lessons learned from unsuccessful interventions, as well as the most promising aspects of future glioblastoma research and treatment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Meningiomas of the Skull Base by
A comprehensive overview of the contemporary management of skull base meningiomas Meningiomas, the second most frequent of intracranial tumors, are characterized by a protean range of possible locations and appearances, due to their origin from the extensive and intricately formed meninges. As such, a wide variety of differential diagnoses is typical, and the therapies chosen are necessarily highly variable. The introductory chapters of this book cover the pathology of these tumors, the evolution of special surgical methods, instrumentation, intraoperative monitoring, and the role of radiosurgery. Ten surgical chapters cover the individual regions of occurrence, including the sphenoid wing, olfactory groove, cerebellopontine angle, etc., all of which require a specialized approach and therapeutic strategy. Key Features: Discussion of pathology and therapy organized by anatomic location of the lesions with the goal of providing best patient outcomes New WHO meningioma classification system based on most recent research in growth patterns, gene sequencing, and molecular patterns of development Important updates on the newest developments in treatment modalities for meningioma, including the lesser invasive radiotherapy and radiosurgery for the smaller lesions and to avoid the necessity of performing radical surgery Meningiomas of the Skull Base: Treatment Nuances in Contemporary Neurosurgery is an essential reference guide for neurosurgeons and neurologists (in training and in practice) and will also be welcomed by skull base surgeons and otolaryngologists. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Neuro-Oncology by
Neuro-Oncology is the first volume in the second edition of the highly regarded Neurosurgical Operative Atlas series first published by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. The book provides an accessible, step-by-step guide to the newest approaches for managing brain, skull base, and spinal tumors. Organized into concise sections according to anatomical location, type of tumor, and surgical approach, this book enables the reader to rapidly review key concepts in preparation for surgery. In each chapter the author describes the case selection, the operative indications and contraindications, special points concerning anesthesia, the various operative approaches available, and the possible complications during and after surgery. Concise, yet thorough, this text will be an invaluable reference for both beginning and established neurosurgeons.
New Insights into Glioblastoma by
New Insights into Glioblastoma: Diagnosis, Therapeutics and Theranostics provides a compendium of recent diagnostic and therapeutic advances in GBM, encompassing a pipeline of compounds and (bio) nanotechnology strategies that have stood out with potential increased antitumoral activity and capability to cross the blood-brain barrier. Issues and challenges related to their translation into the clinical practice and their contribution to the increase in survival rates and well-being of patients are addressed. This is a valuable resource for graduate students, oncologists, cancer researchers and members of the biomedical field who need to learn more on recent developments on the management of glioblastoma. The book is split in three parts: Diagnosis, focusing on biomarkers and techniques such PET/MRI, infrared thermography, and deep neural networks; Therapeutics, discussing new chemical entities, as natural products and repurposed drugs, and new formulation approaches, as nanotechnology-based and microRNA approaches; and Theranostics, explaining the role of omics, system-based approaches, and glioblastoma microenvironment.
ISBN: 9780323998734Publication Date: 2023-05-18
Practical Surgical Neuropathology: a Diagnostic Approach, 2d ed/ by
Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Surgical Neuropathology, 2nd Edition, by Drs. Arie Perry and Daniel J. Brat, helps you arrive at an accurate CNS diagnosis by using a pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians in neuropathology guide you from a histological (and/or clinical, radiologic, and molecular) pattern, through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. Almost 2,000 high-quality illustrations capture key neuropathological patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions, and a "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact location of in-depth diagnostic guidance. Sweeping content updates keep you at the forefront of recent findings regarding pulmonary hypertension, pediatric lung disease, and all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung. A new chapter on Pulmonary Function Testing for Pathologists brings you up to date with relevant aspects of these key tests. Improved pattern call-outs are now linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for more efficient and complete understanding. A user-friendly design color-codes patterns to specific entities, and key points are summarized in tables, charts, and graphs so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Sweeping content updates. Patterns call-outs throughout. The patterns described initially in the text will be better linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for further understanding.
Sellar and Parasellar Tumors by
The first comprehensive guide dedicated to management of patients with pathologies in the sellar and parasellar region Focusing on the variety of pathological processes that arise in the sellar and parasellar regions of the central skull base, Sellar and Parasellar Tumors: Diagnosis, Treatments, and Outcomes is a state-of-the-art reference written by renowned leaders in the field. It takes a disease-oriented approach to complex pathologies. The work includes contributions by multispecialty teams and details technical advances and management options for all clinicians treating patients with parasellar and sellar pathology. Special Features: Represents the multidisciplinary management of these cases, with contributions from neurological surgeons, otolaryngologists, radiation oncologists, diagnostic radiologists, endocrinologists, and ophthalmologists Covers the many diverse tumor types found in the sellar and parasellar region,-including pituitary tumors, meningiomas, chordomas, and chondrosarcomas, with clinical management strategies for each Provides detailed, illustrated descriptions of optimal surgical approaches tailored to the patient and pathology, including transsphenoidal surgery, precise craniotomies using skull base techniques, minimally invasive eyebrow exposures, endoscopic anterior skull base techniques, and stereotactic radiosurgery Discusses the advantages and disadvantages of different surgical approaches, tips for complication avoidance, patient evaluation methods, surgical indications and outcomes, and more Includes comprehensive neuroanatomic dissections that provide visualization of the entire sellar and parasellar region Offers radiologic, medical, and ophthalmologic management techniques for patients with sellar and parasellar tumors Complete with full-color illustrations, high-quality radiographs, and instructive tables, Sellar and Parasellar Tumors is the authoritative reference for neurosurgeons, otolaryngologists, endocrinologists, neuro-ophthalmologists, radiation oncologists, and any other clinician who diagnoses, treats, and manages patients with these complex disorders.
ISBN: 9781604064223Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Surgical Neuro-Oncology, 1st ed. by
This book is the first review book that uses the multiple-choice question format in neurosurgical oncology which mirrors the format of the majority of shelf and board examinations. The mission of the book is to help readers understand the content and maintain the knowledge, rather than merely finding answers for complicated questions. It provides more than 800 MCQs in a convenient format that is suitable for self-study. Answers and definitions appear immediately below the questions to facilitate information retention. The chapters provide comprehensive coverage of the core concepts in neurosurgical oncology. They provide a step-by-step, thorough explanations of each disease from the definition, associated anatomy, pathology, clinical features, radiology to surgical decision-making, and surgical tricks, providing a comprehensive and concise overview. This book is an adjunct to the existing texts and does not intend to be the primary source of information; it ratheraims to help readers identify their relevant strengths and weaknesses in the area. The book is an important asset for residents across neurosurgical disciplines as it includes much of the neuro-oncology knowledge that neurosurgical residents need to prepare for their certification tests. It is also useful for those seeking ways to solidify their knowledge or maintain their current certification.
ISBN: 9783031536410Publication Date: 2024-04-17
Tumors of the Spinal Canal by
Tumors of the spinal canal provide unique challenges both in the operative realm and in the oncological treatment of disease. Over the past few decades there have been great strides to make operative intervention safer, more precise, and less invasive in a functional and structural manner. Despite these advances, the inherent challenges of tumors in the spinal canal remain due to the specific location of the pathology and the intricate functional tissue surrounding these disease processes. Sometimes to understand the current state of technical surgery, treatment algorithms, and innovative research; we must first understand the early guiding principles of treatment of these tumors of the spinal canal. Through this textbook, a comprehensive yet relevant discussion of spinal pathology, anatomy, management, and future developments will be carried out in a systematic manner.
Video Atlas of Neurosurgery by
"One can only imagine the prodigious amount of work involved in producing this educational treasure chest. Credit is due to the authors and to the publishers for creating this appealing and useful Atlas." Reviewed by: Edward R. Laws, Professor of Neurosurgery, Harvard Medical School, Oct 2015 "Useful, complete and visual are the words which best summarize the aim of this masterpiece. Really great job! Congratulations for this excellent Video-Book!!" Reviewed by: Dr. J. Gonzalez, Director of the Residency Program Hospital Clinic Barcelona, Oct 2015 Step-by-step, state-of-the-art videos - 40 in total - are accessible through Expert Consult and narrated by Dr. Quiñones-Hinojosa. Each video is around 10 minutes with a total running time of over 6 hours Videos highlight key surgical anatomy, focusing special attention on the relationship between lesions and important landmarks. Procedures are broken down step-by-step for easy overview and comprehension. Covers advanced techniques such as: intraoperative brain mapping; intraoperative assessment of resection through iMRI; fluorescence imaging; brain stem mapping techniques; combined open-and-endoscopic approaches, cortical-subcortical stimulation in awake surgery; and more. Dedicated neurosurgical artwork by Devon Stuart includes superb figures that depict the surgical neuroanatomy and approaches in a step-wise fashion. Chapters are presented from the less complex, more common surgeries to the most complex and cutting-edge procedures that may require multidisciplinary approaches. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
