Surgical Oncology: Nursing

Access Device Guidelines, 4th ed. by Chelsea Backler; Jane M. Kirmse; Oncology Nursing Society Staff, 2023 It is critical that oncology nurses understand the latest research, guidelines, and evidence-based practices in access devices. With the latest edition of Access Device Guidelines: Recommendations for Nursing Practice and Education, nurses can explore a foundation for practice and support in their day-to-day care of patients with cancer. The fourth edition of this text explores recommendations for a range of access devices, their common complications, and other relevant indications. Oncology nurses will learn about updates in dressing changes, flushing and locking, contraindications for peripheral IV administration, implanted port flushing frequency, and more. Additionally, the latest edition includes aseptic non-touch technique terminology and framework throughout the book and new appendices on dressings and vascular access teams. With access device technology becoming more complex, this book is an essential resource for practicing nurses in a wide range of settings to ensure safe and effective care of patients with vascular access devices.

Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification: Review and Resource Manual, 3rd ed. by Catherine Coleman Celeste Baldwin, 2023 The third edition of ONS's Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual prepares nurses for any Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation advanced oncology certification examination through an all-inclusive clinical resource. The book provides a thorough overview of oncology advanced practice and includes the framework from the recent American Association of Colleges of Nursing publication The Essentials: Core Competencies for Professional Nursing Education, which re-envisions nursing education. Each chapter contains content on sample subjective, objective, and assessment and plan notes; case studies; and relevant nursing and interprofessional resources--with practice test questions similar in structure to the questions used in the exam. The text is a valuable resource to oncology APNs, graduate nursing students, medical residents, physician assistants, and oncology nurses in clinical practice. Don't wait to order the latest edition of the best-selling Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual.

Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing, 2d ed. by Constance Dahlin and Patrick Coyne, 2024 Like the first edition, this is a seminal textbook for the advanced practice nursing care of the seriously ill and dying. This comprehensive work addresses all aspects of palliative care including physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs. It brings to the forefront current issues of health equity, managing through crisis, and meeting the needs of diverse populations. Each chapter contains case examples and a strong evidence base to support the highest quality of care. The text is written by leaders in the field and includes authors who have pioneered the role of the advanced practice nurse in palliative care. This volume offers advanced practice content and practical resources for clinical practice across all settings of care and encompassing all ages, from pediatrics to geriatrics.This newly revised edition has been reorganized to meet the needs of the APRN according to role delineation and practice issues. It offers foundation information on leadership, practice, and the various roles of the APRN as an administrator, educator, policy advocate, and researcher. The various settings of APRN work includes acute care settings (clinical care unit, intensive care unit, and emergency department), clinic (specialty care, primary care, and palliative care), community, rehabilitation, residential facilities, and telehealth. This edition also gives particular attention to special populations, including chapters on health disparities, economic disadvantages for urban dwellers, members of the LGBTQ+ community, Veterans, and Survivorship. There are sections wholly devoted to pediatric care, end of life communication, and the ethics APRNs have to navigate on a daily basis. Written by current APRNs for fellow APRNs, this text provides practical resources for clinical practice across a variety of topics.

Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience by Stephen J. McPhee; Margaret A. Winker; Michael W. Rabow et al, 2011 From one of the world's leading medical journals comes the definitive evidence-based, full-color guide to end-of-life and palliative care A new addition to the JAMAevidence series, Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience offers evidence-based and clinical expert guidance on caring for patients with life-limiting illness, incorporating the words and perspectives of affected patients, their families, and treating clinicians. Organized by these actual clinical cases, the book is based on the acclaimed 7-year series of 42 articles, originally published in JAMA as "Perspectives on Care at the Close of Life," and now thoroughly updated as chapters and featuring extensive never-before-published material. Care at the Close of Life covers are a wide range of clinical syndromes, disease processes, communication challenges, health-care delivery settings, and issues faced by patients, including withdrawal of dialysis and other life-sustaining measures, cross-cultural approaches, and the role of chemotherapy. Throughout the book, emphasis is on the principles of palliative care, with the patient and family at the center of care, and with attention given to all problems--physical, psychological, social, and spiritual. Reflecting this focus, each chapter begins with a patient case study to introduce the clinical problem, followed by "perspectives" that draw on extensive, real-world dialogue between clinicians, patients, and families. Internationally renowned authors then review the typical challenges illustrated by the case, offering state-of-the-art, evidence-based assessment and treatment approaches. Features Fully revised and updated text with new evidence and references, including the search methodology for each chapter's update Evidence-based orientation presents the current state of knowledge in the care of terminally ill patients and support for their families and caregivers Practical clinical guidance and approaches from international experts in palliative care Self-assessment Q&A, for reinforcing your knowledge of each chapter's content and for preparing for exams A useful Glossary of acronyms, terms, and tests Updated Resources for each chapter offer current, authoritative sources of diagnostic and treatment information that can help you optimize palliative care Medline PubMed ID numbers facilitate quick, convenient access to references.

Chemotherapy and Immunotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice, 2nd ed. by MiKaela Olsen; Kristine B. LeFebvre; Suzanne Walker et al, 2023 "Oncology nursing is a unique specialty that requires continuous learning to stay up to date on cancer pathophysiology, cutting-edge drugs, and the evidence-based management of cancer and cancer treatment-related toxicities. The Oncology Nursing Societys (ONSs) second edition of Chemotherapy and Immunotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice provides nurses with the tools to understand how medications are used in cancer treatment, the effect of medication-related toxicities, and evidence-based recommendations to manage and treat these toxicities. This edition features many new cancer therapies approved since the 2019 publication. Each drug is categorized as chemotherapy, hormone, targeted, or immunotherapy agents. Extensive drug tables in the book provide nurses with tips for managing patients receiving these drugs. The expansion of oral antineoplastic therapies, alone or in combination with infusion therapy, requires that nurses review a patients complete cancer treatment plan and consider the side effects, toxicities, and adherence to oral drugs to ensure patient tolerance and efficacy. This second edition has seen content expanded on the topic of genomics as we move forward in the world of personalized oncology. Health equity is approached with information discussing financial distress, cultural disparities, and health literacy. The latest guidelines and recommendations for treatment, symptom management, and survivorship have been integrated into this new text. This edition features a QR code, provided with the purchase of this book, to download quarterly drug updates. You will see new evidence related to many aspects of cancer nursing care incorporated into this edition, such as hypersensitivity response, safe handling of hazardous drugs, and more. The editors want to thank all of the contributors to this edition who worked tirelessly, despite a pandemic, to make this new edition a reality. This work builds on the knowledge of many generations of oncology nurses and has been used nationally and internationally to guide oncology nursing practice. We are proud to continue to serve oncology nurses worldwide with an essential resource to guide their practice"--

Clinical Manual for the Oncology Advanced Practice Nurse by Dawn Camp-Sorrell, Rebecca A. Hawkins, and Diane G. Cope, 2022 "Patients with cancer can experience an array of complex medical issues during and following treatment, whether from the cancer itself, cancer therapy, or existing comorbidities. Advanced practice nurses providing care to this population need to be able to assess and treat acute and chronic conditions to promote favorable outcomes in symptom management and quality of life. This fourth edition builds upon the prior editions to address the nuances associated with assessing and intervening on symptoms to provide informed patient care. It has undergone extensive revision and incorporates new chapters to reflect current practice. Written by experts in oncology nursing and pharmacology, this comprehensive text serves as a quick reference guide for the diagnosis and treatment of emergent and ongoing problems occurring in patients with cancer. Symptoms are grouped by body system, and content is extensively cross-referenced to allow easy identification of symptoms to determine a medical diagnosis. This manual provides a detailed yet resource to guide busy practitioners within their practice"--

Comprehensive Guide to Supportive and Palliative Care for Patients with Cancer, 4th ed. by Janet L. Abrahm; Bethany-Rose Daubman; Molly Collins, 2022 Leading palliative care experts illustrate how you can improve both communication with cancer patients and their quality of life. For more than twenty years, this guide has been the go-to resource for busy practicing oncology and palliative care clinicians. This fourth edition, now titled Comprehensive Guide to Supportive and Palliative Care for Patients with Cancer, provides physicians, advanced practice clinicians, and patients and their families with detailed information and advice for alleviating the suffering of cancer patients and their loved ones. Drawing on the work of experts who have developed revolutionary approaches to symptom management and palliative care, as well as on lessons learned during her decades as a teacher and clinician, Dr. Janet L. Abrahm and her coauthors illustrate how to help patients and families understand their prognosis, communicate their care preferences, and minimize their distress. This edition reflects important updates in the field while addressing the informational needs of a broader market of health care providers, including social workers, psychologists, psychiatrists, bereavement counselors, and chaplains. This new edition features three new chapters--"Spiritual Care in Palliative Care," "Psychological Considerations," and "Bereavement"--as well as specific guidelines about * advance care planning at all phases of cancer * understanding complex family dynamics and communication challenges * partnering with interpreters in the care of patients and family members with limited English-language proficiency * special considerations to take into account for LGBTQ+ patients and their loved ones * caring for patients who have a serious mental illness along with a cancer diagnosis * nonpharmacologic management of pain and other symptoms associated with cancer or its treatment The book features self-reflective exercises that encourage readers to consider their own biases before having discussions with patients and family members, as well as numerous patient stories that illustrate the techniques and insights clinicians can use to provide holistic, multidimensional care for a diverse cancer patient population.

Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2d ed. by Nathan E. Goldstein; Christopher D. Woodrell; R. Sean Morrison, 2023 Using a practical, question-and-answer approach, Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2nd Edition, helps you provide optimal care for patients and families who are dealing with serious illness. This unique reference focuses on patient and family/caregiver-centered care, highlighting the benefits of palliative care and best practices for delivery. The highly practical, user-friendly format sets it apart from other texts in the field, with concise, readable chapters organized around clinical questions that you're most likely to encounter in everyday care. Uniquely organized using a question-and-answer approach, making it easy to find answers to common questions asked by practitioners and patients.  Up-to-date, reader-friendly chapters explore interventions, assessment techniques, treatment modalities, recommendations and guidelines, communication techniques, and available resources for palliative care.  Expanded discussions on hospice in every chapter, and a new emphasis on pediatrics, with increased material on pediatric malignancies, developmental delays, cystic fibrosis, and perinatal palliative care.  New chapters on wellness of the palliative care practitioner, patients with opioid use disorders, telehealth in palliative care, health disparities, rural palliative care, caring for people with hematologic malignancies, integrative and alternative therapies, LGBTQ+ populations, mobile health technologies, and national palliative care implementation strategies.  High-quality evidence gathered and reviewed by leading experts in palliative medicine, including clinicians, educators, and researchers across a broad range of disciplines.  Numerous algorithms throughout help you make informed decisions, and "take-home" points in every chapter provide a quick summary of key content.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices. 

Fast Facts: Early Breast Cancer, 2nd ed. by Jayant S. Vaidya; Vivek Patkar, 2023 Written for all members of the multidisciplinary breast cancer care team, and for everyone who wishes to know about breast cancer, this concise resource will aid understanding of the risk of developing breast cancer, the essentials of diagnosis and preoperative assessment, and the current approach to treatment and follow-up, with a focus on how each mode of treatment can be optimized to match the individual patient's needs based on high-quality evidence.

Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by Nadine Aktan, 2021 The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes

Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation: A Manual for Nursing Practice, 3rd ed. by Kim Schmit-Pokorny; Seth Eisenberg; Oncology Nursing Society Staff, 2020 "Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) has evolved from primary use in hematologic malignancies and nonmalignant disease and solid tumors into a treatment option for many other diseases, and indications for HSCT continue to expand. The new edition of this manual provides comprehensive information on the ever-evolving specialty of HSCT, providing nurses and other practitioners with in-depth information on the entire HSCT process, from stem cell mobilization, collection, and infusion to potential complications and long-term effects. It also includes chapters on current research, emerging therapies, ethics, HSCT program development, and professional practice issues"--

Mosby's Oncology Nursing Advisor, 3rd ed. by Susan Maloney; Margie Hickey; Jeannine M. Brant, 2023 Find oncology information fast with Mosby's Oncology Nursing Advisor, 3rd Edition uses a streamlined format to provide quick access to the most essential information on oncology nursing care. Evidence-based guidelines include topics such as the major cancers, principles of cancer management, and principles of symptom management, as well as oncologic emergencies, palliative care, and nursing practice considerations. This edition includes new information on cancer treatments, genetic risk, chemotherapy guidelines, and more. Written by a team of oncology nursing experts led by Susan Maloney-Newton, this book is ideal for use in any oncology nursing setting. Detailed descriptions of more than 50 major cancer types provide essential information on incidence, etiology and risk factors, signs and symptoms, diagnostic workup, histology, staging, treatment, prognosis, and prevention. Coverage of cancer management principles outlines a wide range of treatment and pharmacologic modalities, including surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, hormonal therapy, immunotherapy, and complementary and alternative therapies. Symptom management guidelines offer in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, assessment tools, lab and diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, interventions, patient education, follow up care, and resources for more than 30 common symptoms associated with cancer and cancer treatments. Essential information on oncologic emergencies and emergent issues prepares readers to respond quickly to structural, urologic, metabolic, and hematologic emergencies. Section on palliative care and end-of-life issues offers helpful guidelines for dealing with topics related to survivorship, palliative care, the final hours of the cancer patient, and loss, grief, and bereavement. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest evidence-based information, including cancer biology, cancer treatment modalities, the latest chemotherapy guidelines, and a stronger emphasis on oral agents. NEW! New content addresses the concept of "previvorship," the concept of coping with a documented genetically linked high cancer risk. NEW! Enhanced content on health disparities, diversity and inclusion, and transgender considerations equips oncology nurses with essential information to promote health equity. NEW! Key recommendations of the 2020-2030 Future of Nursing Report are integrated into the Nursing Practice Considerations section. NEW! Content on the impact of the COVID pandemic includes delayed diagnosis and treatment and the impact of COVID sequelae on the health of patients with cancer. NEW! Added content on palliative care is included in an expanded Pain chapter. NEW! Full-color design and additional illustrations make it easier to use the book and to understand concepts. NEW! Pulmonary Symptoms chapter now includes cough, dyspnea, and pleural effusion content.

Oncology Nursing by Barbara Lubjeko; Barbara Wilson, 2019

Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by Carin A. Hagberg; Joseph L. Nates; Berhard P. Riedel et al, 2023 More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®. Discusses newer cancer therapies and their perioperative implications, functional assessment and prehabilitation, enhanced recovery programs in cancer care, challenges with novel cancer therapies in the care of the critically ill cancer patient, chronic and interventional pain management in patients with cancer, and more. An educational resource and clinical reference for surgeons, anesthesia practitioners, hospitalists, internists, pain physicians, intensivists, basic science researchers, and all clinicians involved in the acute care of surgical patients with cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

The Role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist in Cancer Care by Helen Kerr; Johan de Munter, 2023 The Role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist in Cancer Care Gain a fresh and insightful perspective on the evolving role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist in the delivery of cancer services. The Role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist in Cancer Care explores the dynamic and essential world of the Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) in cancer care, covering both foundational and advanced topics and rooted in robust research and evidence-based practice. Trace the historical development of the CNS role while gaining invaluable patient and carer perspectives that provide essential guidance for professionals in this field Examine key aspects such as symptom management and non-medical prescribing, gaining a deeper understanding of the multifaceted responsibilities of Clinical Nurse Specialists Find vital subjects like leadership and multidisciplinary teamwork supplemented with practical tools to excel in your role Explore comprehensive coverage of specialised areas within clinical nursing, including the unique challenges of caring for young adults with cancer, navigating the complexities of COVID-19, and utilising digital tools for enhanced patient care Whether you are a registered nurse aspiring to become a clinical nurse specialist or an established CNS seeking professional growth, The Role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist in Cancer Care provides invaluable insights and development opportunities. This engaging resource is also an excellent companion for advanced practitioners specialising in cancer care, ensuring they stay up-to-date with the latest advancements in this vital field.

Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs, 4th ed. by MiKaela M. Olsen; AnnMarie L. Walton; Oncology Nursing Society Staff, 2024 "The fourth edition of Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs provides nurses with the latest details and procedures needed to keep safe in the workplace"--

Symptom Management Guidelines for Oncology Nursing by Anne Katz, 2025 Uses a systems-based approach to for rapid access to symptoms commonly experienced during and after treatment Written in an easy-to-read format for use in daily practice, this evidence-based resource delivers the most current, comprehensive clinical guidelines for key pharmaceutical and supportive interventions with patients suffering from cancer. The book is distinguished by its systems-based approach which addresses--from head-to-toe--the symptoms commonly experienced by cancer patients during and after treatment. Each section of the book offers a comprehensive examination of common cancer symptoms along with clinical guidance on the most effective means of management. Sections cover general symptoms (fatigue, pain, alopecia) as well as those experienced in specific areas including gastrointestinal, genitourinary, pulmonary, neurological, cutaneous, and psychosocial. Chapters within each section consistently address such salient issues as prevalence, contributing factors, assessment, and management, along with a supporting case study and review questions to reinforce information. Textboxes and callouts pinpoint critical information throughout. Additionally, the book is accompanied by PowerPoint slides. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Delivers evidence-based guidance for oncology specialists and for those who care for individuals with cancer in their general practice Provides the most up-to-date information on key pharmaceutical and supportive interventions Highlights critical information with textboxes and callouts Includes a case study and review questions in each chapter to reinforce content Presents information based on established and validated guidelines from NCCN, ONS, ASCO, NCI, and others Includes PowerPoint slides for use by staff educators

Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses, 3rd ed. by Margaret M. Hickey; Susan Newton Newton, 2019 Healthcare improvements have shifted cancer care from the inpatient to outpatient settings. This change in healthcare delivery presents new challenges for professional nurses familiar only with the traditional inpatient model. As health care trends away from the hospital, telephone triage has become an essential tool for indirect patient care. The third edition of Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses given an updated look at this process, including new insights into patient care needs that result from newer cancer treatments, such as targeted and immunotherapies, as well as how updated technologies, including smartphones, and internet communication platforms, have enhanced patient assessment. With new chapters on nursing management of oral therapies and updated protocols using the latest policies and evidence-based practice, nurses of all experience levels can use this book as an essential resource for learning the telenursing role. Book jacket.