eBooks
Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8th ed. by
Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8th Edition delivers the straightforward visual guidance you need to perform confidently in all examinations and understand spatial relationships required during your medical training, while also acquiring the practical anatomical knowledge needed for your future clinical career. Respected authority Prof. Peter Abrahams and his team of leading international anatomists and radiologists link a vast collection of clinical images to help you master all the essential correlations between the basic science of anatomy and its clinical practice. See what to look for and how to proceed thanks to an unsurpassed collection of labelled dissection photographs, supported by clear, explanatory diagrams and modern imaging Correlate anatomy to clinical practice with a wealth of MR, CT, DSA, radiographic, endoscopic, and operative images that demonstrate how structures are viewed today in the clinical setting Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, including: brand new dissections, to further improve clarity and consistency throughout the book in every region all new colour overlays added to selected dissections making it even easier to identify key nerves, arteries, veins and especially lymphatics fully revised neuroanatomy content reflects the latest understanding of functional neuroanatomy as seen with modern 3D and functional imaging updated and coloured and a unique lymphatics section Includes access to the complete, enhanced eBook - unlocking a huge, carefully-selected collection of BONUS CLINICAL material, integrated throughout on almost every page to enhance your study and help make those essential clinical / anatomical connections. This sets Abrahams' and McMinn's apart from any other atlases of human anatomy! 200+ 3D scans,- allowing you to view the body in a more dynamic way to aid your understanding of dynamic anatomy. Master the 500 clinical conditions every physician should know by reviewing the associated clinical topics - featuring over 2000 additional clinical photos, radiological images, and case presentations not found in the printed book. Learn from the culmination of over 45 years international clinical experience of Prof. Abrahams and over 100 of his colleagues worldwide who have contributed to this unique collection of clinical anatomy images.
ISBN: 9780702073328Publication Date: 2019-03-06
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
The Video Atlas is productive and time efficient as a preview, as an adjunct to dissection, and as a review tool. It is also helpful for students who need to re-learn clinically relevant anatomy for their surgical rotations. Since surgeons in training must re-learn anatomy at many stages in their careers the Video Atlas is popular with interns and residents in surgical specialties.
Atlas of Distal Radius Fractures, 1st ed. by
Written by one of the world's foremost authorities, this beautifully illustrated surgical atlas is a case-based presentation of the management of distal radius fractures. Each chapter offers a comprehensive guide to the diagnosis and treatment of a specific fracture, including possible complications and how to prevent them, using detailed photographs and illustrations. The cases are accompanied by high-quality operative video to complete the surgical picture. Special emphasis throughout focuses on avoiding pitfalls and using special techniques to optimize outcomes.
Key Highlights
Nearly 700 illustrations and intraoperative photographs guide the reader through procedures.
Operative video for all chapters, narrated by the author, including detailed explanations and rationale for each maneuver.
A focus on the "how" of surgical technique (rather than the "why") keeps attention on the necessary steps, tools, and procedures to address a specific type of fracture.
Real cases, presented from beginning to end, cover all of the difficult aspects of fracture management.
Francisco del Piñal is considered to be among the world's best hand surgeons. His contributions in arthroscopic surgery techniques for wrist fractures are endorsed and used internationally. This book, written for hand surgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and plastic surgeons, provides essential insight to specialists and subspecialists alike.
Atlas of Interventional Orthopedics Procedures by
The field of interventional orthopedics is changing the landscape of orthopedic care as patients seek less invasive options for the treatment of common conditions like arthritis, rotator cuff tears, and degenerative disc disease. Offering easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance on both peripheral joint and spinal procedures, Atlas of Interventional Orthopedics Procedures is the first reference to provide this practical content in one authoritative, user-friendly text. Abundantly illustrated and easy to read, it presents simple to advanced injection skills covering all orthopedic and physical medicine procedures using up-to-date imaging techniques. Presents foundational knowledge for interventional orthopedics as well as ultrasound and x-ray guided techniques for both peripheral joint and spinal procedures. Features nearly 1,000 high-quality images including fluoroscopy, MRIs, procedural images, and unique anatomical illustrations drawn by a physical medicine and rehabilitation physician. Covers need-to-know topics such as autologous orthobiologics, allogenic tissue grafts, prolotherapy, and principles of fluoroscopy and ultrasound injection techniques. Offers several ultrasound and fluoroscopy images for each procedure, as well as step-by-step descriptions and the authors' preferred technique. Walks you through general injection techniques such as interventional spine procedures, peripheral joint injections, and spinal and peripheral ligament, tendon, and nerve techniques; advanced techniques include intraosseous injections, needle arthroscopy, perineural hydrodissection, and emerging interventional techniques. Provides an up-to-date review on regenerative medicine for musculoskeletal pathology from editors and authors who are leading physicians in the field. Follows the core tenets of interventional orthopedics, including injectates that can facilitate healing of musculoskeletal tissues, precise placement of those injectates into damaged structures using imaging guidance, and the eventual development of new tools to facilitate percutaneous tissue manipulation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323755146Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Atlas of Spinal Imaging by
Spine-related pain is the world's leading disabling condition, affecting every population and a frequent reason for seeking medical consultation and obtaining imaging studies. Numerous spinal phenotypes (observations/traits) and their respective measurements performed on various spine imaging have been shown to directly correlate and predict clinical outcomes. Atlas of Spinal Imaging: Phenotypes, Measurements and Classification Systems is a comprehensive visual resource that highlights various spinal phenotypes on imaging, describes their clinical and pathophysiological relevance, and discusses and illustrates their respective measurement techniques and classifications. Complies the knowledge and expertise of Dr. Dino Samartzis, the preeminent global authority on spinal phenotypes who has discovered and proposed new phenotypes and classification schemes; Dr. Howard S. An, a leading expert in patient management and at the forefront of 3D imaging of various spinal phenotypes; and Dr. Philip Louie, a young surgeon who is involved in one of the largest machine learning initiatives of spinal phenotyping. *Includes a Foreword by renowed spine surgeons Alexander Vaccaro and Max Aebi* Helps readers better understanding spinal phenotypes and their imaging, and how today's knowledge will facilitate new targeted drug discovery, novel diagnostics and biomarker discovery, and outcome predictions. Features step-by-step instructions on performing the radiographic measurements with examples of normal and pathologic images to demonstrate the various presentations. Presents clinical correlation of the phenotypes as well as the radiographic measurements with landmark references. Includes validated classification systems that complement the phenotypes and radiographic measurements. Complies the knowledge and expertise of Dr. Dino Samartzis, the preeminent global authority on spinal phenotypes who has discovered and proposed new phenotypes and classification schemes; Dr. Howard S. An, a leading expert in patient management and at the forefront of 3D imaging of various spinal phenotypes; and Dr. Philip Louie, a prolific surgeon who is involved in one of the largest machine learning initiatives of spinal phenotyping.
ISBN: 9780323761116Publication Date: 2021-03-24
eBooks
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th ed. by
Trusted by anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pain management specialists through five outstanding editions, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th Edition, continues to keep you fully informed and up to date in this fast-changing field. This practical how-to guide demonstrates each technique in an easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise, helping you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Covers the full range of key regional anesthesia topics including anatomy, local anesthetic pharmacology, traditional landmark-based and ultrasound-guided blocks, pediatric regional anesthesia, and chronic pain procedures. Features step-by-step instruction highlighted by superb artwork, new anatomical drawings, and clinical photographs-now entirely in full color. Includes access to a video library that includes numerous new videos covering every block described in the atlas, a new introductory video on daily clinical practice procedures, and enhanced voiceover on all videos. Contains an all-new section on obstetric regional anesthesia, plus new coverage of pic block, serratus anterior block, erector spinae block, stellate ganglion block, rectus sheath catheter block, and pediatric pudendal nerve block, with significant updates to pharmacology sections. Presents a wide variety of images to help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia: cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT, and MRI scans. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
McMinn's Color Atlas of Lower Limb Anatomy, 5th ed. by
Understand foot, ankle and lower limb anatomy visually and clinically. McMinn's Color Atlas of Lower Limb Anatomy is the ideal study aid or trusted visual reference for the range of students and practitioners who require a detailed understanding of the anatomy of the foot, ankle and lower limb. It provides you with the perfect grasp of all the important lower limb structures that are likely to be encountered in practice or in the anatomy lab. Superb images of dissections, osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy offer an unmatched view of muscles, nerves, skeletal structures, blood vessels and more. Figures are accompanied by concise notes and commentaries, as well as orientational artworks to help you locate the structure accurately on the body. This updated fifth edition offers increased clinical relevance and features an entirely new chapter on Imaging of the Lower Limb, reflecting the very latest modalities and techniques. It also comes with the complete, enhanced eBook for the first time. All new state-of-the-art clinical imaging chapter - provides new insights and reflects anatomy as seen in modern practice Easily correlates essential anatomy with clinical practice - through over 200 high-quality photographs, combined with explanatory illustrations for more complex areas and concise, accompanying notes throughout Bonus information in Appendices - including practical guidance to administering nerve blocks accurately and effectively in the regional anaesthesia section Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase - this enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Mostly life-size dissections and osteology - corresponds to what students/practitioners will see in the dissection lab or in real life Includes radiography and surface anatomy pictures - helps maximise clinical relevance (and necessary for modern courses) Orientational and explanatory artworks - helps the reader to position on the body Short accompanying text - expands on the illustrations and serves as study tool Numbered labels - helps facilitate self-testing Appendix containing key information on Skin, Muscles, Arteries and Nerves All new and expanded 'Imaging' chapter to reflect what is seen in current teaching and practice Revised section on regional anaesthesia of the lower limb, to improve layout and reflect practice updates Print + electronic package for the first time, incorporating new and enhanced eBook version via Expert Consult
ISBN: 9780702072185Publication Date: 2017-08-31
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Part I - Upper Limb, 3rd ed. by
Provides a highly visual guide to each major body system in 14 lavishly illustrated books, including new and updated topics throughout.
Offers a concise overview of complex information by integrating anatomical and physiological concepts with clinical scenarios.
Compiles Dr. Frank H. Netter’s master medical artistry―an aesthetic tribute and source of inspiration for medical professionals for over half a century―along with new art in the Netter tradition for each of the major body systems, making this series a powerful and memorable tool for building foundational knowledge and educating patients or staff.
ISBN: 9780323880886
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Part II - Spine and Lower Limb, 3rd ed. by
Provides a highly visual guide to each major body system in 14 lavishly illustrated books, including new and updated topics throughout.
Offers a concise overview of complex information by integrating anatomical and physiological concepts with clinical scenarios.
Compiles Dr. Frank H. Netter’s master medical artistry―an aesthetic tribute and source of inspiration for medical professionals for over half a century―along with new art in the Netter tradition for each of the major body systems, making this series a powerful and memorable tool for building foundational knowledge and educating patients or staff.
- The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Part III - Biology and Systemic Diseases, 3rd ed. by
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations, Dr. Frank H. Netter’s decades of work devoted to depicting each of the major body systems, has been updated and brought into modern context. The second edition of the legendary "green books" offers Netter’s timeless work, now arranged and enhanced by modern text and radiologic imaging contributed by field-leading doctors and teachers from world-renowned medical institutions, and supplemented with new illustrations created by master artist-physician, Carlos Machado, and other top medical illustrators working in the Netter tradition.
eBooks
Orthopedic Surgical Oncology for Bone Tumors: a Case Study Atlas by
This atlas presents a collection of richly illustrated teaching cases. It covers the fundamentals of orthopedic oncology complemented with relevant aspects that are demonstrated using individual cases. In a specialty that deals with a relatively smaller number of cases compared to tumors of other systems, this atlas prepares readers for clinical practice by combining a problem-based learning (PBL) approach, which lies on the continuum between structured and guided learning, with theory and practical insights. The book is divided into sections, arranged according to anatomical regions and the reconstruction type. Each section focuses on a specific anatomical region, and each case presentation includes the basic clinical history, basic principles, preoperative, perioperative and radiographic images, a pitfall list, treatment strategy, technical pearls, outcomes and complications. For each region the authors discuss both the biological and non-biological reconstruction techniques. The book is designed to actively involve the reader, making it an invaluable tool for all orthopedic surgeons confronted with oncologic surgery. The book is intended for trainees in orthopedics, orthopedic oncology fellows as well as practicing consultants.
ISBN: 9783030733278
Pocket Atlas of Spine Surgery, 2nd ed. by
Pocket Atlas of Spine Surgery, 2nd Edition by Kern Singh and Alexander Vaccaro is unique in its presentation, utilizing multilayered visuals to delineate the most commonly performed spine procedures. High-definition intraoperative photographs are juxtaposed with translucent anatomic drawings. This facilitates visualization of both the entire surgical field and complex anatomy never "seen" during surgery. It also provides greater insights into the subtleties of both open and technically demanding minimally invasive spine surgery techniques. Unlike many large spine surgery atlases, this is the perfect, on-the-go, pocket-size resource for busy spine surgeons who work in any clinical setting. From the cervical to lumbar spine, 21 concise chapters reflect the collective technical expertise of internationally renowned spine surgeons. Easy-to-follow guidance is provided on fundamental open and minimally invasive techniques, including pedicle screw placement, fusion, discectomy, corpectomy, foraminotomy, laminoplasty, and laminectomy. Each procedural chapter focuses on the importance of accurate visualization, adequate homeostasis, and impacted anatomical structures. Insightful tips, pearls, and potential pitfalls throughout the book expedite acquisition of knowledge Nearly 200 detailed, clearly labeled images of common spine procedures provide invaluable anatomical and clinical guidance Expanded insights on positioning in spine surgery Added discussion of surgical challenges, including warnings and descriptions of internervous planes Orthopaedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, and surgical trainees will discover an indispensable and friendly white coat reference for everyday practice. The visually rich atlas will also benefit physician assistants, surgical nurses, and all practitioners involved in the operative care of spine surgery patients.
ISBN: 9781626236233Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Surgical Anatomy of the Cervical Plexus and Its Branches by
The first work of its kind devoted to the surgical anatomy of the cervical plexus, Surgical Anatomy of the Cervical Plexus and Its Branches clearly explains and illustrates this important subset of peripheral nervous system anatomy. Ideal for physicians and residents from a wide range of medical and surgical disciplines, this unique title details new methods of imaging the cervical plexus, as well as its pathology and appropriate surgical approaches. Demonstrates the surgical anatomy of each branch of the cervical plexus using fresh cadaveric dissections. Color-codes nerves to differentiate them from other tissues and dissects them in a layer-by-layer manner. Complies the knowledge and expertise of renowned clinical anatomists and researchers in this key area of surgical anatomy.
ISBN: 9780323831321Publication Date: 2021-04-29
Surgical Anatomy of the Lumbar Plexus by
Dedicated guide to the lumbar plexus provides invaluable anatomical and surgical insights Thorough knowledge of the lumbar plexus and its branches is crucial to achieving positive patient outcomes, especially with newer surgical approaches. Many of the nerve branches are formed within the psoas major muscle and careful dissection is necessary to free them during surgery to prevent damage. Moreover, the iliac vessels are medial to some of the larger branches of the plexus, such as the femoral and obturator nerves. In the retroperitoneal space, the kidney and ureter are nearby. In addition, due to the overlying peritoneal cavity and its contents, accessing the lumbar plexus presents considerable challenges. Surgical Anatomy of the Lumbar Plexus is the only book on the market devoted to the lumbar plexus and its branches, focusing on anatomy and clinical applications, pathology, surgery, and imaging. Internationally known authors R. Shane Tubbs, Marios Loukas, Amgad Hanna, Rod Oskouian and a cadre of esteemed specialists provide unique insights, clinical pearls, knowledge based on thousands of spine surgeries, and a well-rounded multidisciplinary perspective. Key Highlights Nine separate chapters dedicated to impacted nerves: subcostal, iliohypogastric, ilioinguinal, lateral femoral cutaneous, genitofemoral, femoral, obturator, furcal, and accessory obturator History and overview of dermatomal anatomy of branches derived from the lumbar plexus Anesthetic blockade of the femoral, lateral femoral cutaneous, iliohypogastric, ilioinguinal, and genitofemoral nerves Tips for preventing complications and achieving positive outcomes for lateral transpsoas approaches to the lumbar spine and other procedures More than 100 novel illustrations provide clarity and understanding of a complex anatomical area as it relates to surgery involving the lumbar plexus and branches This one-of-a-kind resource provides crucial surgical and anatomical information on the lumbar plexus. It is a must-have reference for neurosurgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and general surgeons. Reading it cover-to-cover will ultimately benefit patients undergoing lumbar spine surgery. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626238893Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Surgical Exposures in Foot and Ankle Surgery: the Anatomic Approach, 2nd ed. by
Derived in part from the iconic Surgical Exposures in Orthopaedics: The Anatomic Approach, the fully revised second edition of Surgical Exposures in Foot and Ankle Surgery: The Anatomic Approach provides a clear view of orthopaedic anatomy from the surgeon's perspective using easy-to-follow descriptions and more than 300 superb, full-color illustrations. Co-authored by Dr. Richard Buckley and Piet de Boer, this edition carries on the legacy of Dr. Stanley Hoppenfeld (1934-2020), offering unique, time-tested coverage of orthopaedic approaches to the ankle, the hindfoot, the midfoot, and the forefoot. New approaches, descriptions, and high-quality illustrations make this an ideal resource for both orthopaedic surgeons and podiatrists. Details the techniques and pitfalls of a surgical approach, gives a clear preview of anatomic landmarks and incisions, and highlights potential dangers of superficial and deep dissection Includes descriptions of how to enlarge the approach and the regional anatomy encountered during the approach Contains more than 300 full-color illustrations drawn from the surgeon's perspective Provides updated and expanded content throughout, especially for the ankle and midfoot, including new approaches to the talus, cuboid, navicular, and Lisfranc joints Features new biomechanical diagrams and revised and expanded sections on anatomy Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975192051Publication Date: 2022-11-01
