Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Long Term Care, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care) then Orthopedic Care
eBooks
Acute Nursing Care: Recognising and Responding to Medical Emergencies, 2nd ed. by
Delays in recognising deterioration or inappropriate management of people in acute care settings can result in late treatment, avoidable admissions to intensive care units and in some instances unnecessary deaths. As the role of the nurse in healthcare settings continues to change and evolve, today's student nurses need to be equipped with the fundamental skills to recognise, and manage deterioration in the patient in a competent and confident manner, appreciating the complexities of caring for those who are acutely unwell as you learn to become practitioners of the future. Using a body systems approach and fully updated in light of new NEWS2 and NMC standards, as well as acknowledging the challenges faced by people with delirium in acute care settings, the second edition of this book provides a comprehensive overview of the essential issues in this important subject. Topics covered include: recognition and identification of physiological and mental deterioration in adults; identification of disordered physiology that may lead to a medical emergency linked to deterioration of normal function; relevant anatomy and physiology; pathophysiological changes and actions that need to be taken; immediate recognition and response; investigations, diagnosis and management issues; and teaching and preventative strategies. Including case studies and test yourself questions, this book is an essential tool for student nurses who are required to undertake acute care experiences and are assessed in theory and practice.
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: an Evidence-Based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, 2nd ed. by
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing A comprehensive and evidence-based manual for orthopaedic and trauma nurses and students In the newly revised second edition of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: An Evidence-based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, a team of accomplished practitioners and educators deliver a straightforward and practical textbook for the practice of neonate, infant, child, young person, adult and older person orthopaedic and trauma nursing. The book explores topics of critical importance to those working in acute wards, clinics, community hospitals, nursing homes, and patients' homes. Divided into 5 intuitive sections, this book examines central issues in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma care, specialist practice issues, the care and management of common conditions, and the care of infants, children and young people. Each chapter is based on the latest research and offers practical guidance to practitioners around the world. The book also offers: Practical explorations of topics in specialist practice, including assessment, common musculoskeletal interventions, and complications of musculoskeletal conditions and trauma In-depth discussions of common orthopaedic conditions and their management and care, including elective orthopaedic surgery Holistic musculoskeletal trauma care, including the principles of trauma and fracture management Perfect for pre-registration and qualified adult and children's orthopaedic nurses working in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma units in hospitals and community settings, Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing will also be of use to students seeking post-qualification education in orthopaedic nursing.
Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants by
Written by PAs for PAs, Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants, 2nd Edition, is the first and only orthopaedics text specifically designed for physician assistant practitioners and students. This comprehensive yet portable guide helps you master the essential knowledge that directly affects your patient care. Coauthors and physician assistants Sara Rynders ;and Jennifer Hart clearly present everything you need to know to manage orthopaedic issues in either a general practice or orthopaedic practice setting. Provides precisely the diagnostic and procedural information physician assistants need, covering orthopaedic physical examination and history taking, imaging interpretation and diagnosis, and treatment strategies for orthopaedic problems. Features brief, bulleted text, consistent headings in each chapter, an easy-to-follow outline format, and clear diagrams and images throughout. Demonstrates how to perform 14 key joint injections with online videos of elbow joint injection, knee joint injection, medial epicondyle injection, subacromial injection, digital block, and more. NEW to the 2nd Edition: ICD-10 codes to facilitate accurate coding and billing "Clinical Alert" boxes that highlight key information Quick-reference guide inside the front cover listing content by disorder name Concise review of common Orthopedic PANCE/PANRE topics Streamlined surgery content that focuses on need-to-know material A clearer, more direct writing style and updated content throughout, reflecting the most current research evidence and national and international guidelines Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Perioperative Care of the Orthopedic Patient, 2nd ed. by
Although a number of comprehensive texts pertaining to perioperative medicine are available, this remains the only one that focuses specifically on the patient undergoing orthopedic surgery, now in a revised and expanded second edition. Beginning with chapters covering preoperative evaluations and general principles and practices of perioperative medicine, the book then considers anesthesiologic management in orthopedic surgery and the role of postoperative pain management. This is followed by a section on medical management in specific clinical settings, discussing patients with connective tissue disease, cardiac disease, chronic pulmonary and renal diseases, diabetes and neurological diseases, among others. A fourth section covers specific perioperative problems in orthopedic surgery, such as care of the elderly patient, venous thromboembolism, infection, nutrition, compartment syndrome and bone health. Finally, the role of allied services, quality improvement and ethics are highlighted. Selected case studies are included to illustrate real-world perioperative issues and management strategies in orthopedic surgery, now moved to their respective chapters for ease of use and reference. The shaded key points and chapter objectives boxes at the beginning of each chapter, and the summary points at the end of each chapter, have been retained and updated within a full-color interior. Written by experts at the top-ranked Hospital for Special Surgery in New York, Perioperative Care of the Orthopedic Patient, 2e will be a comprehensive, multidisciplinary manual providing preoperative considerations, postoperative complications, and guidelines for the anesthetic and medical management of patients undergoing orthopedic surgery. It will be an valuable resource for orthopedic surgeons, sports medicine specialists and allied professionals involved in orthopedic surgery.
Practical Office Orthopedics by
A comprehensive full-color guide to orthopedics in the primary care setting Especially written for the practitioner of general medicine, Practical Office Orthopedics delivers outstanding full-color drawings, state-of-the-art radiographs, and a step-by-step approach to the evaluation and management of common bone and musculoskeletal complaints. This unique text is authored by Dr. Edward (Ted) Parks, whose musculoskeletal workshop at the annual American College of Physicians Conference draws overflow crowds. Common injuries to the knee, the shoulder, the hip, hand/wrist/elbow, foot/ankle, and the spine are covered in detail. Readers will find a consistent chapter template that presents information logically and facilitates treatment and learning: History, Physical Exam, Radiography, Treatment, and Follow-Up. * Full-color presentation illustrates musculoskeletal anatomy and procedure in great detail * Includes discussion of common non-ultrasound guided joint injection techniques * Perfect for the generalist who does not require an exhaustive orthopedic text * Special sections on injection techniques in each chapter
ISBN: 9781259642869Publication Date: 2017-12-29
Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations by
A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination. Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations. Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoulder, knee, and neck and low back Each chapter is similarly organized to include: Introduction, Clinical Utility and Objectives; Essential Concepts and Clinical History; Overview and Component Parts of the Examination; a Practice Checklist, and brief descriptions of Common Clinical Problems. Superb photographs support the text and enhance the learning process.
