eBooks
ACL Injuries in Female Athletes by
This easy-to-read reference presents a succinct overview of clinically-focused topics covering the prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of ACL injuries in the female athlete. Written by two professional team physicians, it provides practical, focused information for orthopaedic and sports medicine surgeons and physicians. Covers ACL injury risk factors and prevention, including biomechanics, biology, and anatomy of the female athlete. Discusses graft choices, the biology of healing, rehabilitation and return to play, future options for treatment, and more. Addresses special considerations such as pediatric ACL and revision ACL. Consolidates today's available information and experience in this timely area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323548397Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Athlete Mental Health and Performance Optimization by
Athlete Mental Health and Performance Optimization: The Optimum Performance Program for Sports (TOPPS) introduces TOPPS, which provides structured protocols to assist with recruitment, engagement, screening, assessment and performance optimization. The book presents step-by-step instructional guidelines, real-world case examples, screening and assessment questionnaires, scoring instructions, intervention handouts and worksheets that complement intervention. TOPPS has demonstrated significantly improved relationships with teammates and coaches, decreased substance use and psychiatric symptoms, and decreased factors interfering with sport performance. These results have been sustained in follow-up and has been shown to have improved outcomes regardless of mental health diagnostic severity. The Book's first three chapters introduce performance optimization orientation, theories and evidence supporting TOPPS, general assessment and intervention approaches, psychometrically-validated measures and strategies used to address culture, methods of establishing a culture of optimization and requisite infrastructure within the respective system, and therapeutic style, techniques and implementation strategies. Remaining chapters show how to implement TOPPS.
ISBN: 9780323952767Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Athlete's Heart: A Multimodal Approach - from Physiological to Pathological Cardiac Adaptations by
Athlete's Heart: A Multimodal Approach - From Physiological to Pathological Cardiac Adaptations provides a complete overview of all adaptations of the heart to sport practice by highlighting the different diagnosis between athlete's heart and pathological remodeling. Written by international experts in the field, chapters discuss ECG findings, echocardiogram data, cardiac magnetic resonance and new forms of multimodality imaging, providing readers with evidence-based guidance on how to differentiate athlete's heart from cardiomyopathies. Athlete's heart is the term given to a constellation of cardiac structural, functional and electrical remodeling that accompanies regular athletic training. Due to the substantial phenotypic overlap between electrical and structural changes observed in the physiological athletic heart remodeling and pathological changes resulted from inherited or acquired cardiomyopathies, distinguishing between adaptive and maladaptive cardiovascular response to exercise is a challenging task. Presents a comprehensive overview of exercise-induced cardiac adaptations Provides practical aspects for a differential diagnosis between a physiological and a pathological cardiac remodeling Includes new imaging technics, with a special focus on multi-modality imaging, such as exercise echocardiography, and new echocardiographic modalities (3D Strain)
ISBN: 9780323952224Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Baxter's the Foot and Ankle in Sport, 3rd ed. by
For specialists and non-specialists alike, returning an athlete to pre-injury performance safely and quickly is uniquely challenging. To help you address these complex issues in everyday practice, Baxter's The Foot and Ankle in Sport, 3rd Edition, provides focused, authoritative information on the examination, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of sports-related foot and ankle injuries - ideal for returning both professional and recreational athletes to full use and function. Provides expert guidance on athletic evaluation, sports syndromes, anatomic disorders, orthoses and rehabilitation, and more. Includes new and updated case studies and pearls for optimal use in the clinical setting. Features thoroughly revised content and enhanced coverage of stress fractures, as well as metabolic consideration in athletes. Includes new chapters on the disabled athlete, the military athlete, caring for the athlete as a team, foot and ankle exam, and biologics. Features a new, full-color design throughout and new videos available online. Shares the expertise of international contributors who provide a global perspective on sports medicine. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323549424Publication Date: 2020-04-13
Brukner & Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine: Injuries, Volume 1, 5th ed. by
CLINICAL SPORTS MEDICINE 5TH EDITION Volume 1 INJURIES "A striking feature of Clinical Sports Medicine has always been the authors'' relentless commitment to ''clinical''. This is a unique book." Dr Emma K Stokes, President, World Confederation for Physical Therapy EDITORS PETER BRUKNER BEN CLARSEN JILL COOK ANN COOLS KAY CROSSLEY MARK HUTCHINSON PAUL McCRORY ROALD BAHR KARIM KHAN Brukner & Khan''s Clinical Sports Medicine, the world-leading title in sport and exercise medicine, is an authoritative and practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine for clinicians and students. To accommodate the rapid advances in the professions, this fifth edition has been expanded into two volumes. This first volume, Clinical Sports Medicine: Injuries, is the essential guide to all aspects of preventing, diagnosing and treating sports-related injuries. It serves physiotherapists, team clinicians, athletic trainers, sports therapists, sports rehabilitators and trainers, as well as students in the health professions and in Human Movement Studies. All chapters have been updated and rewritten by an international team of sports physiotherapists and sports physicians at the top of their fields. More than 550 new figures have been added to bring the total number of illustrations to 1300. There are 15 new chapters, including: * Shoulder pain * Acute knee injuries * Posterior thigh pain * Low back pain * Return to play * Sport-specific biomechanics The second volume, Clinical Sports Medicine: Exercise Medicine, is scheduled for release in 2018 and will focus on the health benefits of exercise and the medical issues in sport. It will serve general practitioners and other clinicians who prescribe exercise to promote health and to treat medical conditions such as heart disease and diabetes. ABOUT THE AUTHORS PETER BRUKNER OAM, MBBS, FACSEP, FACSM, FFSEM Peter Brukner is a Sport and Exercise Physician and currently the Australian cricket team doctor. He was previously Head of Sports Medicine and Sports Science at the Liverpool Football Club in the UK. Peter is the founding partner of the Olympic Park Sports Medicine Centre, a past president of the Australasian College of Sport and Exercise Physicians, and Professor of Sports Medicine at La Trobe University. Peter has been an Olympic team physician and was the Socceroos team doctor at the 2010 World Cup. In 2005 he was awarded the Order of Australia medal (OAM) for services to sports medicine. KARIM KHAN MD, PhD, MBA, FACSEP, FACSM, FFSEM p.p1 {{margin: 0.0px 0.0
ISBN: 9781760421663Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Brukner & Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine: the Medicine of Exercise, Volume 2, 5th ed. by
The #1 text in Sports Medicine! This cornerstone textbook has been updated with the latest research and developments. Brukner & Khan's world-leading title provides an authoritative foundation for clinicians and students. This complete practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine covers all aspects of diagnosis and contemporary management of sports-related injuries. The fifth edition has been expanded to accommodate a much higher level of evidence-based content and reflects the huge amount of new research and significant changes in thinking since the previous edition was published. The contributing editors are an international compilation of globally recognised experts within their fields. This is essential reading for sports medicine physicians, physical therapists and physical therapy students. Topics in Volume Two Include: *Exercise and health *Exercise and disease *Environment *Harassment and abuse *Special groups *Maximising athletic performance *Nutrition for performance
ISBN: 9781760420512Publication Date: 2019-06-03
Clinical Care of the Runner by
Offering current guidance from national and international experts, Clinical Care of the Runner provides a comprehensive, practical approach to caring for the runner patient. Editor Dr. Mark A. Harrast, Clinical Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine and Sports Medicine and Medical Director for Husky Stadium and the Seattle Marathon, ensures that you're up to date with assessment, biomechanics, musculoskeletal injuries, medical illness, training, special populations, and other key topics. Covers general topics such as evaluation of the injured runner, on-the-field and in-office assessment, and sports psychology for the runner. Includes biomechanics and rehabilitation chapters, including running gait assessment, choosing a running shoe, and deep water running for prevention and rehabilitation of running injuries. Provides expert guidance on bone stress injuries and bone health, osteoarthritis and running, knee injuries in runners, and other musculoskeletal injuries. Features a section on specific populations such as the novice runner, the youth runner, the peripartum runner, and the ultramarathoner. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323679497Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Clinical Sports Nutrition, 6th ed. by
Clinical Sports Nutrition, now in its sixth edition, is a cornerstone of the Sports Medicine series offered by McGraw Hill. It is an invaluable asset for all professionals and students who are either working in or seeking a career in sports science, coaching science, sports medicine or sports dietetics. All chapters have been substantially revised and updated, with contributions from leading international researchers and practitioners in sports nutrition, sports science and sports medicine. Contributors are experts in their field, with extensive practical experience working with elite and recreational athletes at different ages, abilities and levels. Clinical Sports Nutrition is an essential resource for all students and instructors in the discipline of sports nutrition, and a must-read for elite athletes, sports professionals and trainers who need to keep their knowledge current. Features: *Practice tips to enable health professionals to translate research into practical nutrition advice. *New and comprehensively updated chapters on making weight, low energy availability with measurement protocols, medical and nutrition issues for athletes when travelling, and the athlete with diabetes. *A new commentary on sustainable eating for athletes. * Instructor resources via Connect that include evidence-based real-life case studies with accompanying questions and quizzes to test or consolidate students' understanding.
ISBN: 9781760425647Publication Date: 2021-07-29
Complications in Orthopaedics: Sports Medicine, 1st ed. by
One of the hallmarks of a master surgeon is the ability to navigate a wide variety of inevitable difficult situations in surgery, whether errors in judgment, technical mistakes, or unavoidable outcomes. Complications in Orthopaedic Surgery is a new series designed to provide real-world guidance on recognizing and avoiding errors, as well as how to "course-correct" during surgery. In this inaugural volume dedicated to sports medicine surgery, series editor Dr. Stephen R. Thompson and Dr. Matthew Schmitz describe and demonstrate practical solutions that are integral to improving patient outcomes. Covers a wide variety of procedures, including meniscus repair and transplantation, revision ACL reconstruction, pediatric ACL surgery, cartilage surgery in adults and children, knee osteotomies, acromioclavicular surgery, hip arthroscopy, and much more. Describes and offers solutions to the most common or most devastating errors and complications in the practice of sports medicine surgery, combining the breadth of knowledge of academic surgeons with the in-the-trenches skills of community surgeons. Uses an easy-to-follow, standardized chapter format that covers preoperative errors, intraoperative issues, and postoperative complications. Includes procedural video clips to reinforce discussions in the text. Features a full-color design with numerous photographs, radiographs, and illustrations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323545983Publication Date: 2020-10-20
eBooks
DeLee, Drez and Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine, 5th ed by
Indispensable for both surgeons and sports medicine physicians, DeLee, Drez, & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition, remains your go-to reference for all surgical, medical, rehabilitation and injury prevention aspects related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Authored by Mark D. Miller, MD and Stephen R. Thompson, MD, this 2-volume core resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. Provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues-making it an ideal reference for surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and others who provide care to athletes. Offers expanded coverage of revision surgery, including revision ACL and revision rotator cuff surgery. Features additional coverage of cartilage restoration procedures and meniscal transplantation. Provides significant content on rehabilitation after injury, along with injury prevention protocols. Includes access to a comprehensive video collection, with more than 100 videos new to this edition. Retains key features such as coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; a streamlined organization for quick reference; in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques; extensive references; levels of evidence at the end of each chapter; and "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Athletic Injury Management, 12th ed. by
"Essentials of Athletic Injury Management was created from the foundations established by another well-recognized textbook, Principles of Athletic Training, currently in its sixteenth edition. Whereas Principles of Athletic Training serves as a major text for professional athletic trainers and those individuals interested in sports medicine, Essentials of Athletic Injury Management is written at a level more appropriate for the coach, fitness professional, and physical educator. It provides guidance, suggestions, and recommendations for handling athletic health care situations when an athletic trainer or physician is not available."
ISBN: 9781264988686Publication Date: 2022-10-01
Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance, 12th ed. by
Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance is designed for students interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The tenth edition provides students with an up-to-date understanding of the physiology of exercise through the use of numerous clinical applications, including exercise tests to evaluate cardiorespiratory fitness and information on exercise training for improvements in health-related physical fitness and sports performance .The Connect course for this offering includes SmartBook, an adaptive reading and study experience which guides students to master, recall, and apply key concepts while providing automatically-graded assessments.
ISBN: 9781264529810Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Knee Pain in Sports Medicine: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment by
Clinicians, physiatrists, and fitness trainers are daily faced with challenges regarding the diagnosis and management of microtraumatic knee injuries. These conditions are particularly complex and misdiagnosis or delayed diagnosis may lead to performance limitations and a prolonged absence from sports activities. Knee Pain in Sports Medicine: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment helps readers accurately diagnose these conditions and provides effective guidance on management, allowing for prompt recovery and return to play.
Contains numerous helpful illustrations, including patient photographs, anatomical drawings, and imaging results.
Concludes each chapter with take-home messages that help readers remember key points regarding the specific pathology.
Includes a valuable self-assessment section with clinical cases and multiple-choice questions that allow readers to evaluate their own work and learning progress.
Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323880695
Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd ed. by
With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. Editors include three past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, it includes contributions from world-renowned experts as well as a rich illustration program with many classic paintings by Frank H. Netter, MD. From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight easy-to-read, bulleted text. New coverage of esports, as well as other key topics such as travel considerations for the athlete, EKG interpretation, cardiac disease, diagnostic imaging and ultrasound, injury prevention protocols, and mixed martial arts. Up-to-date information on nutritional supplements, eating disorders, sports and pharmacology for chronic conditions and behavioral medicine, and extreme and adventure sports. Designed for quick reference, with a logical organization by both topic and sport. Online features include downloadable patient education handouts, and handy links. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Performance, 2nd ed. by
Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Performance offers a clear, practical, and accessible guide to building a comprehensive understanding of sport and exercise nutrition from leading experts in nutrition and exercise science. Nutrition before, during, and after training or a sporting event can improve the comfort, energy, and performance of athletes of all levels, from elite to recreational, as well as providing long-term health benefits. As such, nutrition is a key element of an athlete's health and performance strategy, whether competing recreationally or at an elite level. Split into three parts, this new and revised edition of Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Performance provides an evidence-based introduction to nutrition for sport, exercise, and performance. Part I focusses on nutrition and sport science by explaining key principles underpinning sports nutrition science, including energy systems, exercise physiology and metabolism, and the digestion and absorption of macronutrients and micronutrients essential for performance and discusses factors influencing dietary intake, energy availability, and the process of dietary assessment. Part II is focussed on nutrition for exercise, pre- and post-training, hydration, supplements, and body composition measurement and modification. The final part (Part III) focusses on applied sports nutrition for a range of sports and athletes. This second edition delivers new insights into working with female athletes, occupational athletes, and athletes in contemporary sports including sport climbing, surfing, skateboarding, and breaking. Featuring contributions from a range of sport and exercise nutrition professionals with practical sports nutrition strategies and the latest evidence and practice guidelines, this is a core reference for undergraduate students, sports professionals, and aspiring athletes alike.
ISBN: 9781032342719Publication Date: 2024-03-29
Pediatric Orthopaedics and Sports Injuries: a Quick Reference Guide, 1st ed. by
Fully updated, the third edition of this quick reference delivers targeted guidance on the diagnosis, treatment, and management of orthopaedic problems and sports injuries. Its concise, bulleted format allows readers to quickly locate the exact information they need at the point of care. In addition, it covers musculoskeletal examination and evaluation; casting and splinting; imaging techniques, and rehabilitation strategies. The book features many full color illustrations, clinical photographs and radiographic images to demonstrate physical examination techniques and pathologic physical findings, as well as tables and figures to aid in diagnosis. TOPICS INCLUDE: Common sports injuries Fractures Trauma Limb disorders Spine disorders Hip and pelvis disorders Infections Tumors Skeletal dysplasias.
PPE: Preparticipation Physical Evaluation, 5th ed. by
This best-selling resource guides health care professionals through the preparticipation physical evaluation PPE process for young athletes from middle school through college. Included are recommendations on PPE timing, setting, and structure; medical history questions; and how to determine participation clearance. This resource also lists return-to-play guidelines, addresses medicolegal and ethical concerns, and explores future research and use of electronic formats. Contents cover physical examination and clearance, systems-based examinations, cardiovascular problems, central nervous system, pulmonary system, musculoskeletal conditions, and more. New in the Fifth Edition: New chapter for the female athlete New sections on mental health and the transgender athlete Includes English and Spanish versions of the History Form
ISBN: 9781610023016Publication Date: 2019-06-30
Practical Applications in Sports Nutrition, 7th ed. by
See all formats and editions
Practical Applications in Sports Nutrition, Seventh Edition provides students with the latest sports nutrition information and dietary practices enabling them to assist athletes and fitness enthusiasts in achieving their personal performance goals. Drawing from the latest data and statistics from nutrition research and guidelines, the authors demonstrate effective ways to communicate sports nutrition messages to athletes and outline how to motivate individuals to make permanent behavior change. Early chapters introduce sports nutrition and give a thorough explanation of macronutrients, micronutrients, and water, and their relation to athletic performance, while later chapters focus on the practical and applied aspects of sports nutrition including behavior change through consultations and weight management. Updated throughout, the Seventh Edition includes new or expanded discussion of sports nutrition organizations; working as an interdisciplinary team; ketogenic diets; third party testing of dietary supplements; Relative Energy Deficiency in Sport (RED-S); and offers new research on fiber, gut microbiome; and athletic performance. Key Features: • You are the Nutrition Coach case studies at the beginning of each chapter provide context to chapter material. • Box features such as Fortifying Your Nutritional Knowledge; Gaining the Performance Edge; Training Tables expand on chapter contents with coverage of timely topics, insightful tips, and meal planning and food guidance. • The Box Score concludes each chapter with Key Points and Study Questions • 15 Interactive online case-study digital modules, included in the Navigate Premier Access, focus on topics such as weight gain and weight loss, pre-event fueling, post-event recovery, diabetes, and orthorexia.
ISBN: 9781284284300Publication Date: 2023-12-11
eBooks
Principles of Athletic Training, 18th ed. by
"Since the first edition of Principles of Athletic Training was published in 1963, the profession of athletic training has experienced amazing growth, not only in numbers but also in the associated body of knowledge. During all those years and in sixteen previous editions, the authors of this text, Daniel Arnheim, John Klafs, and now Bill Prentice, have taken it as a personal responsibility to provide the reader with the most current clinical information in athletic training and sports medicine. It has always been based on the most current research evidence and, consequently, it has endured as one of the preeminent textbooks for athletic training students and professionals for more than 57 years"--
ISBN: 9781266555862Publication Date: 2023-10-01
Shoulder and Elbow Injuries in Athletes: Prevention, Treatment, and Return to Sport by
Thorough and concise, this practical reference provides a unique, on-field management approach to all athletic injuries to the shoulder and elbow, as well as nonoperative and operative treatment options, including arthroscopy and open surgery. Focusing on high-performance athletes, leading authorities in the field demonstrate how to provide pain relief, restore function, and return the athlete to sport and to prior level of performance in a safe and timely fashion. Showcases the knowledge and expertise of an international group of editors and authors who have served as president of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine, the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons and the Arthroscopy Association of North America, are physicians or consultants for professional and collegiate sports teams, have won awards for research in the field of shoulder surgery, are editors and reviewers for peer-reviewed journals, and much more. Features video clips that clearly depict how to complete an on-field physical exam and various surgical procedures, and contains rehabilitation guidelines and critical return-to-sport protocols - essential information for nonsurgical healthcare providers Contains a section in each chapter covering "On-the-Field Management and Early Post-Injury Assessment and Treatment" - a must-read for immediate care of the injured athlete and ensuring the safe return to play. Covers the most recent advances in the management of tendon tears in elite and overhead athletes, including prevention in youth sports, early sports specialization, and changing standards of care regarding shoulder and elbow instability. Provides a thorough review of current ulnar collateral ligament injury diagnosis, imaging, non-operative management, and surgery, as well as acromioclavicular and sternoclavicular joint injuries, clavicle and olecranon fractures, and OCD of the capitellum. Focuses primarily on athletes under the age of 40, with some consideration of the older athlete (professional golf, for example). Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323510547Publication Date: 2017-11-10
Sleep and Sport by
The relationship between sleep and both mental and physical performance in athletes has become a key issue over the past several years. Sleep and Athletes: Physical Performance, Mental Performance, Injury Prevention, and Competitive Advantage for Athletes, Coaches, and Trainers aims to synthesize the growing scientific evidence in this area to help researchers, clinicians, and others interested in sport to understand the fundamentals of sleep health and how these factors relate to athletes. Serving as an important bridge between the sleep and athletics field, the book educates sleep professionals about how their field of expertise relates to various aspects of athletics, whilst educate sports professionals about the basics of sleep and how it relates to their field of expertise. This is accomplished by explaining some of the basics of sleep health; reviewing the literature on sleep disorders, treatments, risk factors for athletes; discussing ways that sleep health impacts physical and mental performance; and addressing key specific areas where these fields overlap. In all cases, this text will draw from the existing peer-reviewed literature, in order to provide evidence-based guidance that is objective and well-explained.
ISBN: 9780128229699Publication Date: 2024-07-11
Sports Injury Prevention & Rehabilitation, 2nd ed. by
A comprehensive text for students or practicing physical therapists treating orthopedic injuries in professional or casual athletes.
Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals, 2nd ed. by
Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals merges the basic principles and latest evidence-based scientific understanding of sports nutrition with the real-world practical applications that health professional students must master to help their current and future clients to optimize athletic performance, overall satisfaction and success with sports and physical activity. Step-by-by, you'll learn about the scientific basis of sports nutrition and how to apply that knowledge to real-life situations and interactions with clients. You'll follow six different clients as they are evaluated by a variety of health professionals and undergo a series of assessments and self-administered tests. By seeing how the science of Sports Nutrition can be applied to sample clients, you will be able to take that knowledge and apply it to your future clients. Explore MORE online! The access code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks a wealth of instructor and student resources online. You'll also have access to physiology animations, online questions, interactive case studies, and audio podcasts.
ISBN: 9780803676121Publication Date: 2019-09-12
Sports Vision, 2nd ed. by
From basic eye care services to visual performance training, this evidence-based resource explores a range of sports vision services, including assessment and treatment procedures, outcome expectations, and applications to a variety of sports. Optometrists, ophthalmologists, and sports medicine practitioners will find a thorough review and discussion of the role of vision care in an athlete's performance, as well as practical recommendations for applying current research findings to clinical practice. Contains practical, clinically oriented chapters on visual assessment, prescribing, and ocular injuries in athletes. Takes a task analysis approach allowing the reader to develop solid reasoning skills and evaluate information needed for clinical practice. Includes a new chapter on Assessment and Management of Sports-Related Concussion. Features visual aids throughout including photographs, tables, and boxes to help clarify and visualize important concepts. Addresses sports vision training approaches and updated digital options reflecting the collaboration between athletic trainers, optometrists, and ophthalmologists in helping optimize vision in athletes.
ISBN: 9780323755436Publication Date: 2020-11-27
Surgical Techniques of the Shoulder, Elbow, and Knee in Sports Medicine, 3rd ed. by
Ensure optimal outcomes from each shoulder, elbow, and knee sports medicine surgery with the consistent, step-by-step approach offered in this comprehensive reference. Surgical Techniques of the Shoulder, Elbow, and Knee in Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, covers both open and arthroscopic surgeries, providing the expert guidance you need on everything from patient positioning, anatomy, relevant biomechanics and the latest orthopaedic surgery techniques, through pearls and pitfalls and post-operative care. Contributing authors are renowned sports medicine surgeons who equip you with a global perspective on the most recent orthopaedic advances.
Covers the latest open and arthroscopic techniques for both common and not-so-common sports medicine pathologies.
Offers a comprehensive approach to each pathology including rehabilitation protocols and return-to-play criteria.
Contains more than 15 new chapters: First-time Shoulder Dislocation, Ulnar Collateral Ligament Reconstruction (various techniques), Managing Bone Loss on the Humeral Head, Cartilage Allografts for the Treatment of Cartilage Lesions of the Knee, and many more.
Provides up-to-date information on timely topics such as complex decision making for the patellofemoral joint, biologics and injection therapy for the management of osteoarthritis, and primary ACL repair techniques.
Highlights step-by-step text with numerous high-quality illustrations, surgical photographs, and MRIs and radiographs.
Includes access to an online surgical video collection covering Arthroscopic Rotator Cuff Repair: Double Row Techniques; Arthroscopic Repair of Multidirectional Instability of the Shoulder; Ulnar Collateral Ligament Repair and Reconstruction: DANE Technique; Double Bundle Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction; and Management of Proximal Tibiofibular Instability.
ISBN: 9780323763004Publication Date: 2022-10-06
The Transgender Athlete by
The Transgender Athlete: A Guide for Sports Medicine Providers presents sports medicine practitioners insights into the unique issues and concerns of transgender athletes in order to help them understand rules regarding transgender athlete participation and learn how to better provide competent care to transgender athletes. There are over 1.4 million transgender adults in the United States. Transgender individuals undergo gender-affirming treatments including sex hormone therapy and gender-affirming surgery. An increasing number of transgender people are participating in sports and presenting to sports medicine clinics with injuries, yet there is little research about this athlete population. It is important that sports medicine providers understand the types of hormone treatments and surgeries and how these changes affect the musculoskeletal health of transgender people. Additionally, transgender people may require specific considerations when interacting with medical providers. Furthermore, sports medicine providers are often consulted to formulate transgender athlete inclusion policy. These policies are continuously changing, as new evidence becomes available, which may be difficult to understand without knowledge of the gender transition process.
ISBN: 9780323916196Publication Date: 2023-08-18
Translational Sports Medicine by
Translational Sports Medicine covers the principles of evidence-based medicine and applies these principles to the design of translational investigations. This title is an indispensable tool in grant writing and funding efforts with its practical, straightforward approach that will help aspiring investigators navigate challenging considerations in study design and implementation. It provides valuable discussions of the critical appraisal of published studies in translational sports medicine, allowing the reader to learn how to evaluate the quality of such studies with respect to measuring outcomes and to make effective use of all types of evidence in patient care. In short, this practical guidebook will be of interest to every medical researcher or sports medicine clinician who has ever had a good clinical idea but not the knowledge of how to test it. Readers will come to fully understand important concepts, including case-control study, prospective cohort study, randomized trial and reliability study. Medical researchers will benefit from greater confidence in their ability to initiate and execute their own investigations, avoid common pitfalls in translational sports medicine, and know what is needed in collaboration. Focuses on the principles of evidence-based medicine and applies these principles to translational investigations within sports medicine Details discussions of the critical appraisal of published studies in translational sports medicine, supporting evaluation with respect to measuring outcomes and making effective use of all types of evidence in patient care Written by experts in the sports medicine field
ISBN: 9780323913348Publication Date: 2023-08-14
Ultrasound Guided Musculoskeletal Procedures in Sports Medicine: A Practical Atlas by
Ultrasound Guided Musculoskeletal Procedures in Sports Medicine: A Practical Atlas provides the support practitioners need based on practical, first-hand experience of a Sports and Exercise Medicine Physician who trained in musculoskeletal sonography. Over the years, and with much practice, the lessons learned and techniques developed are summarized with relevant pictures that guide those undertaking the procedure. As musculoskeletal ultrasound forms an important tool for physicians working in this field of medicine, this book helps physicians provide increasing expectation for patients who want a safe, guided procedure when clinically warranted. While an understanding of ultrasound imaging is essential prior to ultrasound guided procedures, there are few practical guides that provide practicing clinicians with a quick reference when faced with a procedure. This book fills that void.
ISBN: 9780323910149Publication Date: 2021-06-14
The Youth Athlete: A Practitioner's Guide to Providing Comprehensive Sports Medicine Care by
The Youth Athlete: A Practitioner's Guide to Providing Comprehensive Sports Medicine Care includes topics that provide the most comprehensive and holistic understanding of the youth athlete. The foundation of the book focuses on the growth and development of the athlete from child to adolescence, balancing their physical, mental and emotional needs. The middle sections expand on this foundation, concentrating on common injuries and illnesses as well as unique topics (e.g., Female, Athlete Triad, Sports Specialization). Final sections emphasize specific sports (e.g., Soccer, Basketball, eSports), allowing the reader to synthesize the previous information to assist with return to play decision-making. Written from a scientific perspective and incorporating evidence-based medicine into its content, this book is perfect for health care practitioners of varied specialties. The complete and comprehensive structure of the book will clearly distinguish it from all other textbooks on the market.
ISBN: 9780323999922Publication Date: 2023-06-22
