Education
- American Orthopaedic AssociationEducation & Events
- Musculoskeltal Tumor SocietyEducation
eBooks
The Ankle and Foot: Pain Medicine, a Case-Based Learning Series by
Here is the perfect text you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as arthritis, deltoid ligament strain, Achilles tendinitis and tendon rupture, bunion and bunionette pain, plantar fasciitis, metatarsalgia, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawings to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. An ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323870382Publication Date: 2022-05-05
The Knee: a Case-Based Learning Series by
Linking theory to practice through the use of authentic clinical cases, Dr. Steven D. Waldman's Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking in daily practice. The Knee volume uses an in-depth case format, preparing you to correctly analyze clinical vignettes and formulate a clinically sound, evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios. This highly effective leaning and assessment tool provides practical clinical insights into the best methods for diagnosis and treatment for the successful management of patients with knee-related pain. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as Osteoarthritis and Rheumatoid Arthritis of the Knee; Medical and Lateral Meniscal Tear, Anterior Cruciate Ligament Tear, Jumper's and Runner's Knee, Bursitis, Osgood Schlatter Disease, Hamstring Tendinitis, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawings to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. An ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323762588Publication Date: 2021-10-27
Orthopedic Surgical Oncology for Bone Tumors: a Case Study Atlas by
This atlas presents a collection of richly illustrated teaching cases. It covers the fundamentals of orthopedic oncology complemented with relevant aspects that are demonstrated using individual cases. In a specialty that deals with a relatively smaller number of cases compared to tumors of other systems, this atlas prepares readers for clinical practice by combining a problem-based learning (PBL) approach, which lies on the continuum between structured and guided learning, with theory and practical insights. The book is divided into sections, arranged according to anatomical regions and the reconstruction type. Each section focuses on a specific anatomical region, and each case presentation includes the basic clinical history, basic principles, preoperative, perioperative and radiographic images, a pitfall list, treatment strategy, technical pearls, outcomes and complications. For each region the authors discuss both the biological and non-biological reconstruction techniques. The book is designed to actively involve the reader, making it an invaluable tool for all orthopedic surgeons confronted with oncologic surgery. The book is intended for trainees in orthopedics, orthopedic oncology fellows as well as practicing consultants.
ISBN: 9783030733278
Spinal Cord Injury: Board Review by
The only review book currently available in this complex field, Spinal Cord Injury: Board Review focuses on the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and management of traumatic and non-traumatic spinal cord injuries and dysfunction. Focused, high-yield content prepares you for success on exams and in practice, with up-to-date coverage of related injury assessment and management, acute and preventive medical care, common complications, physical, psychological, and vocational disabilities and complications-all equipping you to work as part of an interdisciplinary team with patients of all ages on a lifelong basis. Edited and written by seasoned authors and physicians in PM&R, this unique review tool is ideal for residents, fellows, and practitioners studying or working in the field and preparing to take the spinal cord injury medicine exam. Supports self-assessment and review with 200+ board-style questions and explanations. Includes questions on patient management including patient evaluation and diagnosis, prognosis/risk factors, and applied science. Features chapters dedicated to key topics such as anatomy and imaging of the spinal cord; sexual and reproductive health; pressure injuries; pain management; and nutrition, endocrine and immune function in spinal cord injury and dysfunction. Covers all aspects of rehabilitation in spinal cord injury medicine including functional assessment, exercise and modalities, mobility, ADLs, speech, communication and swallowing. Ensures efficient, effective review with content written by experts in physical medicine and rehabilitation, neurology, psychiatry and psychology and a format that mirrors the sub-specialty board exam outline. Contains references to primary literature that support the answers provided. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323833899Publication Date: 2022-12-16
Spine Essentials Handbook: A Bulleted Review of Anatomy, Evaluation, Imaging, Tests, and Procedures by
A unique, visually appealing, and easy-to-read guide on spinal anatomy, pathology, and management The management of patients with spinal conditions involves a team-based approach, with professionals and trainees contributing through their respective roles. As such, medical trainees need resources that enable them to quickly and adeptly learn spine "basics," such as performing spinal examinations. This handbook is a concise, compact guide on key principles of spine surgical knowledge -- from the atlanto-occipital joint to the coccyx. It provides both professionals and medical trainees with user-friendly, insightful text gleaned from the hands-on insights of seasoned spinal surgeons. Core fundamentals cover spine anatomy, clinical evaluations, spine imaging, diagnostic spine tests, and select spine procedures. Common surgical approaches are delineated in succinct bulleted text, accompanied by case studies and radiographic pathology. This format is conducive to learning and provides an ideal spine surgery review for medical students, postgraduate trainees participating in spine rotations, and residents. Key Highlights The only book on spinal pathology and management created with contributions from medical students and residents High-impact citations and questions at the end of each chapter highlight key topics Detailed drawings, diagrams, radiographic images, and MRIs elucidate and expand upon chapter topics Tables provide a quick reference, with concise information including impacted anatomy, nerves, and procedural maneuvers utilized in exams Spine Essentials Handbook: A Bulleted Review of Anatomy, Evaluation, Imaging, Tests, and Procedures is a must-have resource for orthopaedic and neurosurgery residents and medical students. It will also benefit physiatrists, spine practitioners, orthopaedic and neurosurgical trainees and nurses, and chiropractors. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626235076Publication Date: 2019-01-24
Spine Secrets, 3rd ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Spine Secrets Plus, 3rd Edition, by Dr. Vincent J. Devlin, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Expanded PLUS format includes extended coverage, a larger format, colorful visual elements, and larger, detailed images and illustrations to provide an overall enhanced learning experience. Remain at the forefront of the nuances of spine surgery and related specialties with updates on new techniques and technologies, as well as changing treatment options and drug information. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Zero in on key information with bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from prominent specialists - all providing a concise overview of important, board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Unusual Conditions That Every Orthopedic Surgeon Should Know: A Case-Based Guide by
This unique book presents unusual but critical medical conditions that may present to an orthopedic surgeon and that can - if undiagnosed, misdiagnosed or left untreated - result in serious risk to life and limb. Since these conditions are not necessarily common in orthopedic settings, the goal is to promote pattern recognition through the use of a consistent chapter format beginning with illustrative cases for each condition, followed by an appropriate review of the literature, relevant questions, recommended diagnostic and clinical approaches, and bulleted pearls and pitfalls. Conditions presented include necrotizing fasciitis, epidural hematoma, popliteal entrapment syndrome, allergies, coagulations issues, lead toxicity, and much more. Radiographs and intraoperative photographs enhance the case material.
ISBN: 9783031589461
