Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation: Other eBooks

After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors by Meghan Lane-Fall; David S. Shapiro; Lewis Kaplan, 2024 An essential guide to navigating the journey to recovery from critical illness Millions of patients are admitted to intensive care units (ICUs) each year, one third of whom need a ventilator machine to help them breathe. These critically ill patients may develop health problems related to their illness, injury, ventilator or other treatments. Such problems can continue after the patient leaves the hospital. LANGE: After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process

Basic Biomechanics, 9th ed. by Susan J. Hall, 2023 "Biomechanics is a field that analyzes the mechanical aspects of biological organisms. In this book focused on human biomechanics, anatomical and mechanical factors, as well as functional applications are covered. The integrated approach to coverage of these areas taken in previous editions is continued in this ninth edition"--

Braddom's Rehabilitation Care, 2nd ed. by David Cifu; Henry L. Lew, 2026 Ideal for use at the bedside or in outpatient clinics, Braddom's Rehabilitation Care by Drs. David X. Cifu and Henry L. Lew provides dependable, up-to-date content in a portable, concise handbook format. The fully updated Second Edition covers the everyday topics you need - pain management, pediatric, adult, and geriatric care, spasticity, assistive devices, orthoses, outcome measures, and much more - all derived from the most trusted name in the field of PM&R. Presents authoritative content derived from the #1 comprehensive reference in the field: Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, in a concise, and portable format Highlights key concepts spanning the full spectrum of rehabilitation medicine to help optimize outcomes for individuals with a range of chronic diseases, impairments, and disabilities Features a reader-friendly design with succinct, templated chapters for ease of use. Offers insights from an international panel of PM&R experts Reflects updates to the latest advances and technologies, including new information on stroke evaluation, rehabilitation, and therapies; interventional pain management options; gait and prosthetics; ultrasound, fluoroscopy; electrodiagnosis; occupational medicine and vocational rehabilitation; the neurogenic bladder; upper limb amputation; medical frailty; and more Provides a quick reference or study resource for the entire rehabilitation team: PM&R professionals and trainees, NPs, PAs, PTs, STs, and OTs; and residents in neurology, neurosurgery, rheumatology, geriatrics, pediatrics, and orthopedics Features online videos that provide guidance on essential techniques, and eSlides that summarize key teaching points and clinical pearls using robust images and diagrams in a presentation format An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud

Clinical Management of Swallowing Disorders, 6th ed. by Thomas Murry; Karen Chan; Erin Walsh, 2026 "This is an academic textbook on Dysphagia/Swallowing Disorders in speech-language pathology"--

Cognitive Communication Disorders, 4th ed. by Michael L. Kimbarow; Sarah E. Wallace, 2024 The fourth edition of Cognitive Communication Disorders is an essential text for graduate speech-language pathology courses on cognitively-based communication disorders. It provides vital information on the cognitive foundations of communication (attention, memory, and executive function). The book provides readers with a comprehensive theoretical and applied review of how deficits in these core cognitive abilities manifest in right hemisphere brain damage, dementia, primary progressive aphasia, concussion, and traumatic brain injury. Case studies illustrate principles of clinical management, and figures and tables facilitate understanding of neurobehavioral correlates, differential diagnoses, and other critical clinical information. New to the Fourth Edition New co-editor, Sarah E. Wallace A new chapter on working with underserved populations   Chapters now begin with learning objectives for an educational frame of reference for students before new material is presented A glossary makes it easy to find definitions of all of the book's key terminology Updated and expanded evidence-based information on assessment and treatment of cognitive communication deficits Updated case studies addressing assessment and treatment of individuals with cognitive communication disorders with attention to underserved clinical populations New online ancillary resources include a test bank and sample syllabus for instructors, and a list of helpful recommended readings for students The international roster of returning and new contributors includes Maya Albin, Margaret Lehman Blake, Jessica A. Brown, Mariana Christodoulou Devledian, Fofi Constantinidou, Petrea L. Cornwell, Heather Dial, Eduardo Europa, Kathryn Y. Hardin, Maya Henry, Ronelle Heweston, Kelly Knollman-Porter, Nidhi Mahendra, Katy H. O'Brien, Mary H. Purdy, Sarah N. Villard, Sarah E. Wallace, and Catherine Wiseman-Hakes.

Cognitive Rehabilitation of Memory by Helmut Hildebrandt, 2019 Cognitive Rehabilitation of Memory: A Clinical-Neuropsychological Introduction comprehensively reviews evidence-based research for each clinical tool, defining guidelines on how to assess patients and set treatment goals and best practices for creating individualized rehabilitation programs. The book also provides essential background knowledge on the nature and causes of memory impairment. Dr. Helmut Hildebrandt describes a wide range of interventions, including memory aids, learning strategies and non-cognitive treatment options

Cooper's Fundamentals of Hand Therapy, 3rd ed. by Christine M. Wietlisbach, 2020 Written for hand therapy specialists and non-specialists, Cooper's Fundamentals of Hand Therapy, 3rd Edition emphasizes treatment fundamentals, and provides tips and guidelines for hand therapy practice. This easy-to-use illustrated text and reference guide helps further develop your clinical reasoning skills by describing what goes into the evaluation process, highlighting the humanistic side of each encounter through case studies, and providing the wisdom the contributing authors have acquired through years of practice. This new edition also features additional chapters on the use of common physical agents and orthoses, plus added content on how to integrate evidence-based findings into daily hand practice. UPDATED! Chapter covering Orthoses Essential Concepts reflects the latest information in the field.  Case studies with questions and resolutions help you develop strong clinical reasoning skills while presenting the human side of each client encounter. Special features sections such as Questions to Discuss with the Physician, What to Say to Clients, Tips from the Field, and more help you find your own clinical voice.  Anatomy sections throughout text highlight important anatomical bases of dysfunctions, injuries, or disorders. Clinical Pearls highlight relevant information from an experienced author and contributors that you can apply to clinical practice in the future. Evaluation Techniques and Tips help you master appropriate and thorough clinical evaluation of clients. Diagnosis-specific information in the final section of the book is well-organized to give you quick access to the information you need. NEW! Chapter covering Physical Agent Modalities helps you understand how to use common hand therapy tools.  NEW! Evidence-Based Practice content outlines how to closely examine evidence and integrate it into daily hand therapy practice. NEW! Photos and illustrations throughout provide clear examples of tools, techniques, and therapies.

Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 1st ed. by Ian Maitin, 2015 Maximize your patients' independence, quality of life, mobility, and functional improvement with this evidence-based guide to physical medicine and rehabilitation LANGE Valuable to practicing physicians, residents, medical students, as well as recertifying psychiatrists Includes timely chapters on sports, trauma, cardiac, and spinal rehabilitation Covers therapeutic exercise and treatment modalities for pain and dysfunction Presents a practical approach to the physical medicine and rehabilitation patient, including common pathologies and complications Focuses on the clinical aspects of physical medicine and rehabilitation with an emphasis on evidence-based medicine Lays down a foundation of anatomy, kinesiology, and biomechanics before progressing to therapeutic exercise and modalities Reviews diagnostic and therapeutic procedures performed by physicians such as electrodiagnostics, musculoskeletal ultrasound, and spine and joint injections Concludes with a comprehensive review of major primary care issues

DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Manish Suneja et al, 2020 The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. *  Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations *  Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam .Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy. Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology. Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses. This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.

Dementia Rehabilitation by Lee-Fay Low; Kate Laver, 2021 Rehabilitation helps individuals maintain and optimize independence. Historically, people with dementia have received little rehabilitation and the focus has been on care to replace lost function. Dementia Rehabilitation is a resource for health and social professionals, service planners, policy makers, and academics. The book makes a compelling case for rehabilitation for people with dementia, including the views of people with dementia and the research evidence. For each area of function, the research evidence and relevant theory is summarized, followed by practical information on clinical assessment, and delivery of therapies.

Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance, 12th ed. by Scott K. Powers; Edward T. Howley; John Quindry, 2024 Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance is designed for students interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The tenth edition provides students with an up-to-date understanding of the physiology of exercise through the use of numerous clinical applications, including exercise tests to evaluate cardiorespiratory fitness and information on exercise training for improvements in health-related physical fitness and sports performance .The Connect course for this offering includes SmartBook, an adaptive reading and study experience which guides students to master, recall, and apply key concepts while providing automatically-graded assessments.

Exercise to Prevent and Manage Chronic Disease Across the Lifespan by Jack Feehan; Nicholas Tripodi; Vasso Apostolopoulos, 2022 Exercise to Prevent and Manage Chronic Disease Across the Lifespan provides evidence-based insights into the clinical utility of exercise in the management of disease across a broad range of specialties and diseases. The book offers research informed strategies for the integration of exercise into standard practice in fields such as neurology, endocrinology, psychiatry and oncology, as well as decision-making pathways and clinical scenarios to advance patient care. The book is divided by specialty and includes clinical scenarios to allow for the integration of information within practice. The book's synthesized research evidence allows practitioners to safely and effectively begin to capitalize on the benefits of exercise in their patients.

Handbook of Burns Volume 2: Reconstruction and Rehabilitation, 2nd ed. by Lars-Peter Kamolz; Marc G. Jeschke; Raymund E. Horch et al, 2020 The second edition of this volume has been updated with chapters on scar treatment using laser, microneedling, tissue engineering, adipose tissue and lipofilling. It compiles the perspectives of a multi-author team, examining the entire spectrum of burn reconstruction and long-term treatment. Individual updated chapters cover basic aspects of wound healing and scarring, and plastic surgery relating to tissue rearrangement and the use of flaps, as well as the long-term use of skin and skin substitutes. Furthermore, it addresses topics such as rehabilitation and scar management in detail. It provides comprehensive reconstruction guidelines organized by anatomic region (e.g. face, hands, ...) as well as future trends and prospects in burn reconstruction, such as allotransplantation and bionics. Please also have a look at the volume "Handbook of Burns Volume 1 - Acute Burn Care 2nd edition"

Hip and Knee Pain Disorders: Evidence-Informed and Clinical-Based Approach Integrating Manual Therapy and Exercise by Benoy Mathew; Carol Courtney; César Fernández-de-las-Peñas, 2022 Hip and Knee Pain Disorders has been written to provide a state-of-the-art, evidence-informed and clinically-informed overview of the examination and conservative management of hip/knee pain conditions. Under the current predominantly evidence-based practice paradigm, clinician expertise, patient preference, and best available research determine examination, and prognostic and clinical management decisions. However, this paradigm has been understood by many to place greater value and emphasis on the research component, thereby devaluing the other two. Evidence-informed practice is a term that has been suggested to honor the original intent of evidence-based practice, while also acknowledging the value of clinician experience and expertise. In essence, evidence-informed practice combines clinical reasoning, based on current best evidence, with authority-based knowledge and a pathophysiological rationale derived from extrapolation of basic science knowledge. Unlike other published textbooks that overemphasize the research component in decision-making, this book aims to address the clinical reality of having to make decisions on the management of a patient with hip/knee pain, in the absence of a comprehensive scientific rationale, using other sources of knowledge. It offers an evidence-informed textbook that values equally research evidence, clinician expertise and patient preference. The book is edited by three recognised world leaders in clinical research into manual therapy and chronic pain. Their research activities are concentrated on the evidence-based management of musculoskeletal pain conditions using conservative interventions. For this book they have combined their knowledge and clinical expertise with that of 54 additional contributors, all specialists in the field The contributors include a mix of clinicians and clinician-researchers. Hip and Knee Pain Disorders is unique in bringing together manual therapies and exercise programs in a multimodal approach to the management of these pain conditions from both a clinical, but also evidence-based, perspective. It acknowledges the expanding direct access role of the physical therapy profession. The book provides an important reference source for clinicians of all professions interested in conservative management of the hip and knee regions. It will also be useful as a textbook for students at both entry and post-graduate level.

Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, 4th ed. by Carol M. Davis, 2017 For more than 20 years, Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation continues to be a most researched resource on complementary and alternative therapies in rehabilitation. This renowned text, now in its Fourth Edition, relates the updated scientific evidence and the clinical efficacy of integrating what have now become well known complementary and alternative therapies in rehabilitation to successfully improve patient outcomes.   This text has been developed to accompany university courses in complementary and alternative therapies, as a reference manual for clinical practices, and as a resource for those interested in the science behind holistic therapies.   Holistic therapies are those therapies not commonly found in allopathic medicine that are intended to stimulate a therapeutic response from both the body - neuromusculoskeletal and cardiopulmonary systems - and the mind. Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition by Dr. Carol M. Davis is particularly designed for those health professionals who want to understand the scientific foundation and peer reviewed research supporting complementary and alternative therapies.   The Fourth Edition is divided into two parts. The beginning chapters describe the latest cellular biology science and explain the theories put forth on the overall mechanisms of action of the effect of these various therapies on the soft tissue, fascia and nervous systems. The first part also chronicles the advancement of scientific research in the various therapies since the 1980's to explain, in cellular physiology terms, the outcomes observed by using a number of holistic therapies.   The second part presents various therapies commonly integrated with allopathic therapies in rehabilitation - body work therapies, mind/body therapies, and energy work therapies. The text describes each therapy with a history, cellular mechanism of action, and an up-dated reference section of the evidence of efficacy for the therapy as reported in the literature, often concluding with a case example.   Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition will be the go-to resource for health professionals to understand the scientific evidence and efficacy of complementary and alternative therapies for rehabilitation and improving patient outcomes.    

Making Hands: The Design and Use of Upper Extremity Prosthetics by Peter Kyberd, 2022 Making Hands: The Design and Use of Upper Extremity Prosthetics provides a historical account of the development of upper extremity prostheses. It describes different aspects surrounding the development of key elements of mechanisms and control, for prosthetic hands and arms, and includes biographical sketches of some key contributors. The field is broad and uses knowledge from a wide range of disciplines. Sections cover the background to give researchers and professionals what they need to learn about adjacent fields. The author's expertise on the control of prostheses makes this a very comprehensive resource on the topic.

Manual of Structural Kinesiology, 22nd ed. by R. T. Floyd, 2024 "R. T. Floyd is in his forty-sixth year of providing athletic training services for the University of West Alabama. Currently, he serves as the Director of Athletic Training and Sports Medicine for the UWA Athletic Training and Sports Medicine Center, Program Director for UWAs CAATE accredited curriculum, and as a distinguished professor in the Department of Physical Education and Athletic Training, which he chairs"--

Modern Intervention Tools for Rehabilitation by Meena Gupta; Dinesh Bhatia; Prakash Kumar, 2023 Modern Intervention Tools for Rehabilitation addresses current advancements in rehabilitation to better equip clinicians and researchers in the field. This resource will equip professionals for better patient outcomes and improve future rehabilitation research quality. An interdisciplinary understanding of the rehabilitation field is crucial for improved patient care and outcomes, with relevance to patient care in other disciplines as well. With chapters dedicated to diagnostics, choosing appropriate techniques, managing medical treatment, and proper equipment care, readers will be well-equipped to decide on protocols, increase patient outcomes, and improve quality of life.

Musculoskeletal Interventions: Techniques for Therapeutic Exercise, 4th ed. by Barbara J. Hoogenboom; Michael L. Voight; William E. Prentice, 2021 The definitive resource for designing and implementing evidence-based rehabilitation programs using therapeutic exercise Written and edited by top experts in their fields, Musculoskeletal Interventions provides the rehabilitation techniques, strategies, and considerations you need to effectively treat patients of all ages, abilities, and functional levels. With expanded coverage of movement systems, along with clinical pearls and hundreds of illustrations, this edition has been fully revised to reflect a contemporary movement system approach patient care. It focuses on the practical application of theory in a clinical setting, making it ideal for students and experienced physical therapists alike. Designed to make finding what you need quickly and easily, Musculoskeletal Interventions is organized into five sections: Foundations of the Rehabilitation Process Introduces the human movement system, the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, and the clinical reasoning process Provides grounding on tissue healing, the Neuromuscular Scan Examination, pain, posture, and function Treating Physiologic Impairments During Rehabilitation Details general impairments that require attention throughout the rehabilitation process Covers muscle performance, endurance and aerobic capacity, mobility, range of motion, and neuromuscular control Tools of Rehabilitation Explains how to achieve optimal outcomes using various tools, including plyometric exercise, open- and closed-kinetic chain interventions, proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation techniques, joint mobilization, postural stability and balance interventions, core stabilization training, aquatic therapy, functional movement screening, and more Interventions Strategies for Specific Regions Describes applications of techniques and interventions related to common movement-based, overuse, traumatic, and postoperative musculoskeletal dysfunction Provides guidance on conditions common to the shoulder complex, elbow, wrist, hand, digits, groin, hip, thigh, knee, lower leg, ankle, foot, and spine Discusses pathomechanics and injury mechanisms while focusing on rehabilitation strategies and concerns for specific injuries and providing example protocols Special Considerations for Specific Patient Populations Provides application of all previous intervention strategies and how these may need to be selected, adapted, and utilized for geriatric patients, pediatric patient, and physically active females Musculoskeletal Interventions is filled with features that help you understand and retain critical information. Learning aids include objectives, tales, clinical pearls, figures, video links, summary points, chapter-ending treatment guidelines, and references.

Neuroscience for Rehabilitation by Tony Mosconi; Victoria Graham, 2018 Written by recognized experts in human nervous system development, Neuroanatomy for Rehabilitation provides physical therapy students with a thorough understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. Approximately 200 line illustrations and photographs teach students how to accurately interpret the wealth of new human brain images now available.

Noyes' Knee Disorders: Surgery, Rehabilitation, Clinical Outcomes, 2nd ed. by Frank R. Noyes, 2017 Frank R. Noyes, MD - internationally-renowned knee surgeon and orthopaedic sports medicine specialist - presents this unparalleled resource on the diagnosis, management, and outcomes analysis for the full range of complex knee disorders. Relies on Dr. Noyes' meticulous clinical studies and outcomes data from peer-reviewed publications as a scientifically valid foundation for patient care. Features detailed post-operative rehabilitation programs and protocols so that you can apply proven techniques and ease your patients' progression from one phase to the next. Presents step-by-step descriptions on soft tissue knee repair and reconstruction for anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction, meniscus repair, soft tissue transplants, osseous malalignments, articular cartilage restoration, posterior cruciate ligament reconstruction, and more to provide you with guidance for the management of any patient. Contains today's most comprehensive and advanced coverage of ACL,PCL, posterolateral, unicompartmental knee replacement, return to sports after injury, along with 1500 new study references supporting treatment recommendations. Features all-new content on unicompartmental and patellofemoral knee replacement, updated operative procedures for posterior cruciate ligament and posterolateral ligament deficiency, updated postoperative rehabilitation protocols, and new information on cartilage restoration procedures and meniscus transplantation. Includes some of the most comprehensive and advanced discussions on arthrofibrosis, complex regional pain syndrome, tibial and femoral osteotomies, and posterolateral reconstructions available in modern published literature. Covers gender disparities in ligament injuries for more effective analysis and management. Includes access to 46 outstanding videos encompassing nearly 11 hours of surgery, live patient rounds, and live presentations. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Orthopedic Taping, Wrapping, Bracing, & Padding, 4th ed. by Joel W. Beam, 2021 Master the art and science of taping, wrapping, bracing, and padding techniques for the prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of common injuries and conditions. Step by step, the author details multiple methods for each injury/condition—not just the most popular approach. You’ll learn which technique to use and how to analyze the effectiveness of the technique. Full-color photographs give you a clear understanding of each step. Insightful discussions based on the best available evidence develop the knowledge, skills, and clinical abilities you need to meet the needs of the patient.

Orthotics and Prosthetics in Rehabilitation, 5th ed. by Kevin K. Chui; Sheng-Che Yen; Daniele Piscitelli et al, 2026 **Selected for 2025 Doody's Core Titles® in Orthopedics** Develop a strong foundation in the field of orthotics and prosthetics! Orthotics and Prosthetics in Rehabilitation, 5th Edition, is a clear, comprehensive resource for clinically relevant rehabilitation information and application. Divided into three sections, this text gives you a solid understanding of orthotics and prosthetics, clinical applications when working with typical and special populations, and an overview of amputation and prosthetic limbs. This edition has been updated with coverage of the latest technology and materials in the field, as well as the latest research evidence, making it a must-have resource for rehabilitation professionals. UPDATED! Evidence-based content and references ensure you are learning the most current and clinically applicable information available NEW! Enhanced ebook version, included with every new print purchase, allows access to all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud Comprehensive coverage addresses rehabilitation in a variety of environments, including acute care, long-term care and home health care, and outpatient settings Evidence-based research throughout the text helps you develop clinical-decision making skills Logically organized content is presented in three parts to correspond with typical patient problems and clinical decision-making Case studies present real-life scenarios that demonstrate how key concepts apply to clinical decision-making and evidence-based practice World Health Organization disablement model (ICF) is incorporated to help you learn how to match a patient's limitations with the best clinical treatment Multidisciplinary approach in a variety of settings demonstrates how physical therapists can work with the rest of the healthcare team to provide high-quality care in orthotic/prosthetic rehabilitation Modern equipment and technology are featured throughout the text, presenting the latest options in prosthetics and orthotics rehabilitation Authoritative information from the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, Second Edition, is incorporated throughout A wealth of tables and boxes highlight vital information for quick reference and ease of use

Principles of Cognitive Rehabilitation by Vahid Nejati, 2023 Principles of Cognitive Rehabilitation is designed to familiarize readers with the deep-rooted principles of cognitive rehabilitation and cognitive training. Presenting a new comprehensive framework in cognitive rehabilitation for therapeutic, educational, and research purposes, this volume introduces five components that are introduced for cognitive rehabilitation, including primary principles, patient, practitioner, program, and process (5Ps). Detailing the developmental stages of a program will help readers understand the logistics of cognitive interventions and also help them to design and evaluate their own therapeutic interventions.

Professionalism in the Practice of Physical Therapy by Tonya Y. Miller, 2024 The definitive PT leadership/management guide brings you fully up to date on the latest developments in this ever-evolving field. Physical Therapy Professionalism is the authoritative resource on the many roles today's PT professionals must master. In a world where the role of the physical therapist widens to include more primary care and diagnostic responsibilities, there is a deep need for a single, up-to-date resource that explores professional roles and developments in this changing field. This book answers this need. Concise yet comprehensive, Physical Therapy Professionalism covers every vital area important to PT professionalism, from documentation to law and ethics to leadership. With photographs, diagrams, and illustrations, it describes the PT foundations and principles you need to know, with every chapter including at least two cases, followed by questions designed to help you retain what you've learned.

Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity, 7th ed. by Terri M. Skirven; A. Lee Osterman; Jane Fedorczyk; Peter C. Amadio; Sheri Felder et al, 2021 Long recognized as an essential reference for therapists and surgeons treating the hand and the upper extremity, Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity helps you return your patients to optimal function of the hand, wrist, elbow, arm, and shoulder. Leading hand surgeons and hand therapists detail the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of virtually any disorder you're likely to see, with a focus on evidence-based and efficient patient care. Extensively referenced and abundantly illustrated, the 7th Edition of this reference is a "must read" for surgeons interested in the upper extremity, hand therapists from physical therapy or occupational therapy backgrounds, anyone preparing for the CHT examination, and all hand therapy clinics. Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of hand and upper extremity disorders, forming a complete picture for all members of the hand team-surgeons and therapists alike. Provides multidisciplinary, global guidance from a Who's Who list of hand surgery and hand therapy editors and contributors. Includes many features new to this edition: considerations for pediatric therapy; a surgical management focus on the most commonly used techniques; new timing of therapeutic interventions relative to healing characteristics; and in-print references wherever possible. Features more than a dozen new chapters covering Platelet-Rich Protein Injections, Restoration of Function After Adult Brachial Plexus Injury, Acute Management of Upper Extremity Amputation, Medical Management for Pain, Proprioception in Hand Rehabilitation, Graded Motor Imagery, and more. Provides access to an extensive video library that covers common nerve injuries, hand and upper extremity transplantation, surgical and therapy management, and much more. Helps you keep up with the latest advances in arthroscopy, imaging, vascular disorders, tendon transfers, fingertip injuries, mobilization techniques, traumatic brachial plexus injuries, and pain management-all clearly depicted with full-color illustrations and photographs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Robotics in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by Douglas P. Murphy, 2025 Robotics and VR systems are uniquely suited to provide functional assistance with mobility and activities of daily living, especially for patients with motor and sensory disorders of the central nervous system, stroke, traumatic brain injury, multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injury, and cerebral palsy. Compiling both current knowledge and key challenges of robotic rehabilitation in one convenient text, Robotics in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow resource on robotic and VR systems in all areas of medical rehabilitation. Covers the impact of robotics and artificial intelligence on all aspects of health care delivery. Focuses on the key technologies in developing robotics for a wide range of medical rehabilitation activities, including neuroprosthesis applications of robotic exoskeletons and brain-controlled assistive robotics and prosthetics. Addresses artificial intelligence, medical robotics in acute care medicine, and robots on the battlefield and in space travel. Contains chapters on the economics of the robotic industry and the future of robots in medicine. Ideal for physiatrists and PM&R residents and fellows; clinicians in orthopaedics, sports medicine, spinal cord injury, and occupational therapy; and specialists working with orthotics and prosthetics.

The Scar Book: Formation, Mitigation, Rehabilitation and Prevention by Andrew C. Krakowski; Peter R. Shumaker, 2017 Scarring and fibrosis affect millions of people worldwide, and can be devastating both physically and psychologically, whether they result from major trauma such as burns or common conditions such as acne. Put today's most advanced clinical approaches to work for your patients with The Scar Book: Formation, Mitigation, Rehabilitation, and Prevention! A multidisciplinary team of leading world experts presents the state of the art in scar pathophysiology and treatment, breaking down the barriers between medical disciplines to provide unprecedented holistic guidance. Key Features: Grasp the full scope of the problem with a section on "Perspectives," which presents insights into the history and current state of trauma rehabilitation, reconstruction, and scar management, and examines some of the ethical principles that serve to guide decision making. Understand scar pathophysiology with a section on "Formation" that covers the development of normotrophic, hypertrophic, and atrophic scars after cutaneous injury. Apply interventions that expedite wound healing and minimize scarring after injury with a section on "Mitigation." Reduce the impact of existing scars, both large and small, with a comprehensive section on "Rehabilitation" that encompasses a wide range of treatment options including medical management, surgical revision, lasers and light devices, fat grafting, multimodal scar management, physical measures, scar camouflage, mental health support, and considerations in special populations such as children and patients with skin of color. Explore scar-related research and future advances with a section on "Prevention." Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click x

Spinal Cord Injury: Functional Rehabilitation, 4th ed. by Martha Freeman Somers; Jade J. Bender-Burnett, 2024 Updated & Revised - Incorporates current best practices based on recent evidence and clinical practice guidelines. Includes more therapeutic approaches to restoring locomotor function in patients with the potential to regain ambulatory ability using lower extremity musculature, presenting strategies consistent with current clinical practice guidelines. Expanded! Addresses how to determine whether a given patient will benefit most from therapeutic interventions that stress compensation, restoration of normal movement patterns, or a blend of the two. New! Features problem-solving exercises that offer more opportunities to develop clinical reasoning skills. Updated! Uses the most current International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) as a conceptual framework for understanding both the impact of spinal cord injury and the role of rehabilitation. Builds the broad knowledge base of all areas pertinent to spinal cord injuries needed for optimal program planning and implementation, integrated with an understanding of the relationships between functioning, disability, and health. Develops knowledge of both the physical skills required for functional activities and the therapeutic strategies for achieving these skills. Emphasizes the importance of structuring the social environment of the rehabilitation unit to foster self-reliant attitudes and behaviors and to promote self-respect and autonomy. Considers the importance of psychosocial adaptation after spinal cord injury and the impact rehabilitation professionals can have.

Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation by Edelle C. Field-Fote, 2009 One of the world's leading authorities in spinal cord injury, and a participant in the Human Brain Project brings you an evidenced-based guide to the state-of-the-art in spinal cord rehabilitation. She has assembled an expert team of clinicians, each with expertise in the content areas they address. Their work encompasses all of the new scientific knowledge and technological advances practitioners need to know to determine the most effective rehabilitation interventions for each patient and to attain maximum restoration of function in individuals with SCI.

Stroke, 7th ed. by James C. Grotta; Gregory W. Albers; Joseph P. Broderick et al, 2022 Authored by the world's foremost stroke experts, this classic text brings you fully up to date with current research findings and management approaches for cerebrovascular disease. Stroke: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, and Management, 7th Edition, covers every aspect of this fast-moving field, and is an ideal resource for stroke specialists, general neurologists, and other medical professionals with an interest in stroke. You'll find expert clinical guidance, comprehensive pathophysiology coverage, data from recent trials, advances in diagnostic tests, full-color CT images, pathology slides, and much more, for a complete picture of today's stroke medicine. Helps you recognize the clinical manifestations of stroke, use the latest laboratory and imaging studies to arrive at a diagnosis, and generate an effective medical and surgical treatment plan. Keeps you abreast of the overwhelming volume of studies and guidelines in this dynamic field, providing clear summaries and practical evaluations of all relevant data. Contains updates throughout, including the latest clinical trials (thrombectomy, DAWN, DEFUSE), genetics research, prevention research, new therapies, and the new guidelines from the ASA. Includes new slides for lectures, covering basic science, case studies, and interventional treatment overviews. Features a Key Points summary at the beginning of each chapter so you can quickly find important information. Provides abundant full-color CT images and pathology slides that help you make efficient and accurate diagnoses. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Telerehabilitation by Marcalee Alexander, 2022 Offering significant benefits to both healthcare providers and patients, telerehabilitation is a key component in the future of rehabilitation care. Telerehabilitation: Principles and Practice provides expert information from experienced practitioners in the field, covering the wide range of patients seen in a rehabilitation medical practice or a hospital-based system. It provides quick access to information on common rehabilitation diagnoses and practices and how you can best use telerehabilitation to provide timely, effective care to every patient.

TeleStroke by Latisha Katie Sharma, 2021 Telestroke helps readers develop a deeper understanding on how to utilize telestroke in clinical practice, a key step in providing optimal treatment and management to those with geographical and social/economic disparities. The book discusses how to provide accurate and fast revascularization for patients with acute ischemic stroke and how to continue remote care of patients. It also reviews underlying stroke etiology, interpretation and assessment of stroke diagnostic tools/teleradiology, complications of care, discusses targeted, secondary preventative therapies and covers telerehabilitation, outpatient follow-up and clinical trial engagement.

Therapeutic Exercise: Foundations and Techniques, 8th ed. by Carolyn Kisner; John Borstad; Lynn Allen Colby, 2023 The premier text for therapeutic exercise Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You’ll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique—in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Immersive Cases Online—NEW! Six multimedia clinical scenarios let you practice applying theory to clinical practice. Full-color, narrated videos demonstrate multiple options for exercise progressions and help hone your critical-thinking skills by addressing the challenges of specific pathologies, patient loading, and post-intervention strategies. Video Library Online Full-color videos show you how. A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization,resistance, and spinal stabilization.