eBooks
Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th ed. by
Written and edited by leading physicians, Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th Edition, offers comprehensive, dependable information and guidance in this multifaceted field. Award-winning author and co-founder of the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Dr. Ruth Lawrence, and her son, Dr. Rob Lawrence, ensure that you’re brought fully up to date on everything from basic data on the anatomical, physiological, biochemical, nutritional, immunological, and psychological aspects of human lactation, to the problems of clinical management of breastfeeding―all in a highly readable, easily accessible desk reference.
Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle.
Includes numerous charts and tables throughout, with an emphasis on the scientific, chemical, and physiological underpinnings of breastfeeding. Appendices contain additional charts and tables, including the complete collection of clinical protocols on breastfeeding and human milk from the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine.
Features new chapters on breast conditions and their management in the breastfeeding mother, breastfeeding and chest-feeding for LGBTQ+ families, breastfeeding during disasters, and establishing a breastfeeding practice or academic department.
Provides significant updates on physiology and biochemistry of lactation; medications and herbal preparations in breast milk; transmission of infectious disease through breast milk; allergy and its relationship with breastfeeding, exposure, and avoidance; premature infants and breastfeeding; and practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple.
Offers authoritative and fresh perspectives from new associate editors: neonatologist Dr. Larry Noble, obstetrician Dr. Alison Stuebe, and pediatrician and lactation specialist Dr. Casey Rosen-Carole.
Covers patient-centered counseling, the cellular composition of human breast milk, microbiota of the breast and human milk, and the multifunctional roles of human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs).
Breastfeeding and Human Lactation by
"This text is the research core of breastfeeding. It has everything a nurse, lactation consultant, PA, Ob/Gyn, etc would need to know. Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mothers health, and sociocultural issues"--
ISBN: 9781284282979Publication Date: 2024-09-01
Breastfeeding Handbook for Physicians, 3rd ed. by
The Breastfeeding Handbook for Physicians, 3rd Edition, is the definitive resource on breastfeeding initiation, maintenance, support, and advocacy. Jointly developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), this must-have handbook features the most important and up-to-date developments in breastfeeding practice, research, policies, and outreach guidance, assembled by an expert physician panel. All health professionals in your practice will refer to this convenient handbook again and again for easily accessible answers, solutions, and teaching and learning aids. The third edition contains a wealth of practice-focused advice based on frontline clinical experience and the latest evidence for breastfeeding. Topics include: Cleft lip and cleft palate in breastfeeding infants Risk reductions in breastfeeding infants Neurodevelopmental outcomes of breastfeeding Breastfeeding in preterm infants Health benefits of breastfeeding for mothers Recommended breastfeeding strategies for health professionals Breastfeeding education Recommended breastfeeding practices Risk factors for lactation problems Human milk microbiota and bioactive factors Breast development stages and lactogenesis Supporting early breastfeeding before and after delivery Breastfeeding assessment tools Ankyloglossia and breastfeeding Insufficient milk Vitamin and mineral supplementation Breastfeeding guidance during preventive health care visits Management of breastfeeding complications Elements of a breastfeeding-friendly office environment National breastfeeding initiatives Feeding human milk without birthing Relactation Supplemental feeding methods Drugs and breastfeeding Contraception When Breastfeeding And more! New in the 3rd Edition The latest AAP and ACOG breastfeeding policies An all-new chapter on the Nonnutritive Components in Human Milk, including bioactive factors and host defense mechanisms New guidance on breastfeeding and substance use, including electronic cigarettes and alcohol Updated life-saving breastfeeding support strategies for inclusion in disaster preparedness plans Current evidence on infant and maternal outcomes from breastfeeding Updated guidance on vitamin D, vitamin K, and iron supplementation in newborns Updated discussion of breastfeeding and environmental agents, including sunscreen New guidance for COVID-19 and breastfeeding Updated discussion of legislative protections for mothers in the workplace
ISBN: 9781610024426Publication Date: 2023-01-30
Breastfeeding Management for the Clinician: Using the Evidence, 5th ed. by
Breastfeeding Management for the Clinician: Using the Evidence is the perfect tool for busy clinicians who need a quick, accurate, and current reference. It provides the essentials of breastfeeding management to support best outcomes for breastfeeding families. Now in an updated and modernized fifth edition, this unique resource features new information on the political and social landscape of breastfeeding, LGBTQI+ families, milk sharing, exclusive pumping, new breastfeeding products, breastfeeding in emergencies, additional feeding care plans, and access to downloadable Patient Care Plan Handouts to help both patients and clinicians navigate common breastfeeding challenges and questions.Breastfeeding Management for the Clinician: Using the Evidence, Fifth Edition includes literature reviews while covering incidence, etiology, risk factors, prevention, prognosis and implications, interventions, expected outcomes, care plans, and clinical algorithms. With a focus on the practical application of evidence-based knowledge and a problem-solving approach, this reference helps busy clinicians integrate the latest research into their everyday clinical practice.
ISBN: 9781284225488Publication Date: 2021-12-27
Breastfeeding Telephone Triage and Advice, 4th ed. by
Created by a leading breastfeeding and phone care practitioner, this newly revised 4th edition is a problem-solver that helps nurses, lactation professionals, and other medical staff confidently advise breastfeeding mothers. It is ideal for use with the acclaimed Pediatric Telephone Protocols. KEY FEATURES Completely updated and revised New protocols Chestfeeding/Breastfeeding Support in LGBTQ+ Individuals Cultural Issues and Breastfeeding Induced Lactation for Adoptive, Surrogate, and/or LGBTQ+ Parents Positions and Latch Relactation New "Telehealth Tip" boxes throughout Additional images throughout
ISBN: 9781610025621Publication Date: 2021-11-01
eBooks
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Feal and Neonatal Risk, 12th ed. by
Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12th Edition, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant.
Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women, 3rd ed. by
Comprehensive and easy to use, Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women, 3rd Edition, remains your #1 resource for reliable information on virtually all of today's drugs and herbal supplements and how they interact with pregnancy and lactation. This logically organized reference has been frequently emulated, but not duplicated. The 3rd Edition has been thoroughly updated to keep you current with new drugs, changes in FDA labeling, and more in-depth information on interactions. Designed for ease of use in the clinical setting, it provides the key drug information needed by physicians, nurses, physician assistants, and others involved in the care of pregnant and lactating women. Covers nearly 2,000 substances (more than 30 are new), arranged alphabetically by both trade and generic name, all updated and rewritten for this edition. Includes over-the-counter drugs and alternative medications as well as prescription drugs. Includes extensive updates to information for breastfeeding mothers and enhanced drug interactions throughout. Helps you make prescribing decisions with current information on whether each drug is FDA-approved for use by expecting or nursing mothers, is known to be safe for use, or is known to pose a danger. Describes each substance's mechanism of action, side effects, drug-drug interactions, dosage, cost of therapy, and degree of safety during pregnancy or lactation. Features an easy-to-read, efficient design with consistent headings, highly templated drug listings, and succinct text that presents only the key facts you need. Contains a special index listing drugs by category. Points out conflicts in FDA class with existing knowledge throughout the book. Indicates not only whether the FDA has approved a drug based on clinical trials, but also whether the drug is generally considered to be safe in the absence of FDA approval. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices Features new letter thumb tabs for easier navigation. Includes dozens of new drugs and thorough updates throughout. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pocket Guide for Lactation Management, 4th ed. by "This is an essential resource for new and experienced lactation care providers. Convenient and easy-to-use, it offers problem solving and counseling strategies for the wide-variety of situations commonly encountered by those working with child-bearing families. Topics include breastfeeding and public health, the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding for hospitals and birth centers, normal breastfeeding, and addressing challenges from both the mothers and babys perspective"--
ISBN: 9781284227604Publication Date: 2021-06-01
