Breast Care: Preventive Medicine

Breast Cancer: Multidisciplinary Pathways for Cancer Care in the Community by James L. Weese, 2024 Because most cancer care is delivered in the community setting, Breast Cancer, edited by Dr. James L. Weese, looks at the management of breast cancer through the lens of multidisciplinary pathways focused on evidence-based, real-world care of breast cancer patients in the community. A multidisciplinary team of expert authors provides state-of-the-art guidance from the perspective of community practitioners using an evidence-based model, clearly showing the thought processes used to make treatment decisions in today’s breast cancer management. Discusses all the latest breakthrough therapies for breast cancer, including chemotherapeutic, molecular, and immunologic agents, as well as new developments in precision-based medicine, pharmacology, breast cancer surgery, breast and lymphatic reconstruction, radiation therapy, and more. Provides strategies for targeted radiation therapy and conservative breast surgery for contemporary breast cancer treatment Features more than 200 high-quality figures throughout, including pathways, anatomic, radiographic, and graphic images. Models a consistent, team-based thought process used at leading academic institutions to foster consistent decision making applied to the community setting. Includes key points at the beginning of each chapter that highlight essential concepts and topics

Breast Cancer Screening by Nehmat Houssami; Diana Miglioretti, 2016 Breast Cancer Screening: Making Sense of Complex and Evolving Evidence covers broad aspects of breast cancer screening specifically focusing on current evidence, emerging evidence, and issues that will be critical for future breast screening practice such as tailored screening and shared decision-making in breast screening. The scope of the book is relevant to a global audience. This book provides balanced perspectives on this increasingly controversial topic, using scientific evidence to explain the evolution of knowledge relating to breast cancer screening. Breast Cancer Screening covers the key points related to this debate including the context of increasingly complex and conflicting evidence, divergent opinions on the benefits and harms of breast screening, and variability in screening practice and outcomes across settings around the world.

Integrative Oncology in Breast Cancer Care by Penny Kechagioglou; Nina Fuller-Shavel, 2023 Integrative Oncology (IO) is an evolving evidence-informed field of medicine with little high-quality professional literature currently available to support clinical practice. This book provides a robust introduction to integrative oncology and a practical toolkit for clinicians working with breast cancer patients. Breast cancer is the commonest cancer in women globally with growing incidence, and breast cancer patients are the most frequent users of integrative oncology practices. This book addresses the whole person journey from prevention, to diagnosis, treatment and survivorship. The approaches and tools discussed can help guide clinicians on how to support better quality of life, improve patient resilience, minimise the side effects of treatment and optimise clinical outcomes for people impacted by breast cancer. Healthcare professionals are asking for further education on Integrative Oncology, as evidenced by the BSIO (British Society for Integrative Oncology) survey results, webinars and conference engagements. Our growing BSIO membership highlights the need to educate and train healthcare professionals, and this book is written by clinicians for clinicians.

A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers by Rama Rao Malla; Ganji Purnachandra Nagaraju, 2021 A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers provides information regarding ongoing research and clinical data surrounding female specific cancers (breast, cervical, ovarian and endometrial cancers). The book encompasses detailed descriptions about diagnostics and therapeutic options for easy understanding, focusing on the subject matter with a broader range of treatment options. In addition, it explores new theranostics, i.e., diagnostic, therapeutic and precision medicine strategies currently being developed for FSCs. This book is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, clinicians, graduate students and other members of biomedical field who need to understand the most recent and promising approaches to manage FSCs.