eBooks
Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing, 2nd ed. by
Like the first edition, this is a seminal textbook for the advanced practice nursing care of the seriously ill and dying. This comprehensive work addresses all aspects of palliative care including physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs. It brings to the forefront current issues of health equity, managing through crisis, and meeting the needs of diverse populations. Each chapter contains case examples and a strong evidence base to support the highest quality of care. The text is written by leaders in the field and includes authors who have pioneered the role of the advanced practice nurse in palliative care. This volume offers advanced practice content and practical resources for clinical practice across all settings of care and encompassing all ages, from pediatrics to geriatrics.This newly revised edition has been reorganized to meet the needs of the APRN according to role delineation and practice issues. It offers foundation information on leadership, practice, and the various roles of the APRN as an administrator, educator, policy advocate, and researcher. The various settings of APRN work includes acute care settings (clinical care unit, intensive care unit, and emergency department), clinic (specialty care, primary care, and palliative care), community, rehabilitation, residential facilities, and telehealth. This edition also gives particular attention to special populations, including chapters on health disparities, economic disadvantages for urban dwellers, members of the LGBTQ+ community, Veterans, and Survivorship. There are sections wholly devoted to pediatric care, end of life communication, and the ethics APRNs have to navigate on a daily basis. Written by current APRNs for fellow APRNs, this text provides practical resources for clinical practice across a variety of topics.
Cancer-Related Breakthrough Pain, 3rd Edition by
Breakthrough pain is a common occurrence in patients with cancer pain, and is often associated with a deleterious effect on daily life, impairing quality of life substantially. It is a heterogeneous condition, and management needs to be individualized.This valuable pocketbook discusses the clinical features of breakthrough cancer pain and the different strategies for management. It covers assessment, treatment, and reassessment. It also reviews the evidence for pharmacological interventions, like rapid onset opioids, as well as non-pharmacological interventions and disease modifying treatments. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to account for recent developments within the field. These updates ensure that Cancer-Related Breakthrough Pain (Oxford Pain Management Library) continues to be an invaluable resource for specialists and trainees in palliative care and pain management, as well as being a quick reference guide for GPs, specialist nurses, and other healthcare professionals.
ISBN: 9780198843986
The Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing, 8th ed. by
Base your care of neurological patients on evidence-based best practices, with the completely updated, fully illustrated The Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing , 8th Edition. This is the most current and comprehensive neuroscience nursing text, written to support you in the everyday high-level assessments, information processing and decision making required of the neurological nurse. A must-have for offering accurate, efficient care of adult/geriatric neuroscience patients, this is ideal for both beginning and advanced neuro nurses and nursing students. NEW chapter on hydrocephalus NEW chapter on neurological care in the community NEW and revised content throughout the text that reflects current best practices Case studies that offer real-life scenarios to reinforce concepts Treatment Summaries, Clinical Vignettes and Clinical Pearls that provide vital clinical tips Sections covering a broad range of neuroscience care considerations: Ethical perspectives and end-of-life care - Preparing and caring for patients after acute care, brain death and organ donation Assessment and evaluation of neuroscience patients - Overview of neuroanatomy and neurophysiology, diagnostics for patients with neurological disorders, comprehensive neurological examination, neurological assessment Common management challenges - Intracranial hypertension, hydrocephalus, management of patients with altered level of consciousness, evaluation/treatment of delirium, common neuroendocrine syndromes, neurosurgical procedures, rehabilitation Nursing management of patients with injury to the neurological system; cranial nerve disorders and peripheral nerve injuries; neoplasms of the neurological system; cerebrovascular disease; pain, seizures, and CNS infections; movement disorders; neurodegenerative and neuromuscular diseases Ideal for nurses working in intensive care units, emergency departments, neuroscience specialty units and medical-surgical units that admit neuroscience patients Nursing management guidance that is infused with pathophysiology content, providing a rationale for care and for identifying patient outcomes Guide for establishing and updating a neuroscience patient database Excellent study aid for preparing for the certified neuroscience registered nurse (CNRN) exam and stroke certification (SCRN) Thorough overview of neurology team communications - Best practices for coordination, continuity, and patient safety Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Clinical Editors Joanne V. Hickey, PhD, RN, ACNP, FAAN, FCCM, is Patricia L. Starck/PARTNERS Professor of Nursing, Department of Research at the Cizik School of Nursing, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston at the University of Texas Health School of Nursing in Houston, Texas. Andrea L. Strayer, MS, NP, CNRN, is Inpatient Neurosurgery Nurse Practitioner at the University of Wisconsin Hospital in Madison, Wisconsin.
Holistic Pain Management in Pregnancy: What RNs, APRNs, Midwives, and Mental Health Professionals Need to Know by
This book presents a patient centric, holistic view and management strategy for registered nurses, advanced practice nurses and midwives to care for the pregnant female, including considerations in pregnancy planning. There is a significant gap in information about holistic care and nursing considerations of the pregnant female with regards to pain management, which this book fills. It develops on the preparation before pregnancy, as nutrition or exercise, on behavioural management of pain with the impact of anxiety and different therapies. The book examines the musculoskeletal pain, the headache and fibromyalgia occurring during pregnancy. It also informs on the nutraceuticals in pregnancy, the use of opioids and of nerve blocks. This book finally explores complementary treatments during pregnancy. Case-studies are presented for improved understanding and to provide a real-world perspective. This book, written by nursing and psychology experts in their fields of specialty practice, will appeal to nurses and midwives working with pregnant women or planning to have a baby.
ISBN: 9783031063213Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Professional Association
- American Society for Pain Management NursingASPMN® has established the AP recognition program at the request of Advanced Practice Nurses specializing in pain management. Activities approved for AP portfolio points go beyond routine, entry-level pain management nursing practice, and challenge individual applicants to contribute to the art and science of the specialty.
Qualified nurses may be recognized as having achieved Advanced Practice Competency in Pain Management Nursing by fulfilling the activity requirements of the Advanced Practice portfolio (AP). Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (NP, CNS, CRNA and CNM) that carry a current Pain Management nursing certification can apply for AP recognition via portfolio. Successful applicants earn the credential AP-PMN and can use the distinction to highlight their competency of this focused practice designation. The initial AP recognition is good for five years, then the applicant is expected to complete a renewal packet for continuing designation as AP-PMN.
eBooks
Neonatal Palliative Care for Nurses by
This textbook details the nursing care of babies with life limiting conditions and sets the context within the philosophy of internationally collaborative neonatal palliative care emphasising emotional and practical support for their families. Currently, increasing interest from nursing and medical fields regarding palliative care for babies in the antenatal and neonatal period is evident. This innovative and unique text provides experienced nurses and student nurses alike with realistic guidance in caring for babies with palliative care needs, alongside the crucial support for their families and identifies important strategies for professional self care. Nursing experts in this field collaborated to develop a reference book which supports holistic and integrated clinical practice. Parents' experiences of what they consider helpful or not so helpful are interwoven throughout the chapter. There is currently no other textbook which offers the above information and guidance specifically for nurses and allied health professionals. As such this book will appeal to all nurses and health professionals working within the neonatal palliative care specialty in a global context.
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing remains the most comprehensive treatise on the art and science of palliative care nursing available. Dr. Betty Rolling Ferrell and Dr. Judith A. Paice have invited 162 nursing experts to contribute 76 chapters addressing the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs pertinent to the successful palliative care team. Organized within 7 Sections, this new edition covers the gamut of principles of care: from the time of initial diagnosis of a serious illness to the end of a patient's life and beyond. This fifth edition features several new chapters, including chapters on advance care planning, organ donation, self-care, global palliative care, and the ethos of palliative nursing. Each chapter is rich with tables and figures, case examples for improved learning, and a strong evidence-based practice to support the highest quality of care. The book offers a valuable and practical resource for students and clinicians across all settings of care. The content is relevant for specialty hospice agencies and palliative care programs, as well as generalist knowledge for schools of nursing, oncology, critical care, and pediatric. Developed with the intention of emphasizing the need to extend palliative care beyond the specialty to be integrated in all settings and by all clinicians caring for the seriously ill, this new edition will continue to serve as the cornerstone of palliative care education.
Pain Management in Primary Care by
Covers the entire scope of pain management with evidence-based guidance Written specifically for APRNs and PAs, this evidence-based text delivers practical guidance on how to assess, treat, and manage patients with pain in the primary care and family practice setting. Written by pain management experts well versed in both pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic therapies, the text encompasses the entire scope of pain management. Following an overview of the sources and physiology of pain, Pain Management in Primary Care delineates a multidimensional assessment approach and guides readers in developing a patient care plan. With an emphasis on strategies for safe prescribing, an extensive portion of the book addresses regulatory considerations, special populations, and thorough coverage of how to safely prescribe opioids. This includes risk screening, proper management, and identification and treatment of withdrawal. Woven throughout is a focus on the importance of interprofessional communication and collaboration in effective pain management. The text also provides concise, easy-to-reference information about medications, supplements, and non-opioid therapeutics. Abundant case scenarios and clinical pearls help readers apply knowledge to their own practice. Key Features: Covers the entire scope of pain management with evidence-based guidance on assessment, treatment, and pain managementEmphasizes strategies for safely prescribing medicationsIncludes detailed information on non-opioid and over-the counter-medications, opioids, and interventional pain management optionsProvides risk-screening tools and tips for proper selection, titration, and tapering of medicationsDescribes how to identify and treat opioid withdrawalIllustrates application of knowledge to practice with case scenarios and clinical pearlsPurchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
ISBN: 9780826147332Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients, 2d.ed. by
Kathleen Ouimet Perrin, Caryn A. Sheehan, Mertie L. Potter
ISBN: 9781284209877
Primary Care Pain Management by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Authored by experts in pain medicine and internal medicine at the University of California, Davis, Primary Care Pain Management delivers just the right amount of clinically relevant information for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Addressing safe and effective pain management in the primary care setting, it follows a user-friendly, high-yield format for quick reference at the point of care, helping you understand the full range of options for treating patients with chronic and acute pain. Presents information in a highly templated, full-color format, with an abundance of tables and algorithms throughout. Covers opioid consent, agreement, and prescribing; nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; neuropathic pain medications; interventional pain management; physical therapy; complementary modalities; integrative medicine, and more. Includes a "When to Refer" section in every chapter, providing you with a list of questions and key points that could indicate a need for referral to a specialist or surgeon. Emphasizes compassionate care and continuity of care - both key issues in an area that is often emotionally difficult for patients and caregivers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496378804Publication Date: 2019-09-18
