eBooks
Circuit Breaking : Using Neuroscience-Informed Psychotherapy to Treat Substance Abuse by
Circuit Breaking presents a paradigm shift from traditional forensic and medical treatments for psychoactive substance abuse. This new paradigm teaches therapists and students that a three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse is the etiological cause of psychoactive substance abuse. Therapists learn how to teach people in treatment to change neurocircuitry within their brains enabling a sustained and successful recovery. This neuroscience-informed, non-disease-oriented treatment approach, inspired by evidence-based research, indicates that positive neuroplastic changes within one's brain and cognitive change within one's mind creates an opportunity for people to cease abusing psychoactive substances. An example of improper and moralistic treatment for impoverished people and people of color occurs when jail or prison becomes their treatment. For middle and upper-class people, mental health practitioners ascribing to the medical model view them as having a disease that causes their abuse of psychoactive substances. These people are propagandized that they have a lifelong chronic illness needing episodic stays in rehab facilities, intensive outpatient treatment programs, detox facilities, and/or attendance in 12-step programs. Circuit Breaking provides a step-by-step guide on how to track daily frequencies of wanting (craving) to reveal activity of an underlying three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse. By combining cognitive-behavioral interventions, mindfulness-based interventions, brief motivational interviewing techniques, and harm reduction interventions a therapist enables people to learn how to achieve a recovery process that culminates in being recovered. This occurs by extinguishing the underly neurocircuitry driving abuse of psychoactive substances. Using this integrative approach, therapists select techniques and interventions based on individual needs rather than a generic psychotherapeutic approach applied equally to all people being treated. Case vignettes throughout Circuit Breaking show the various ways different people experience neuroscience-informed psychotherapy and harm reduction interventions.
ISBN: 9780197575031
Compulsive Eating Behavior and Food Addiction by
Compulsive Eating Behavior and Food Addiction: Emerging Pathological Constructs is the first book of its kind to emphasize food addiction as an addictive disorder. This book focuses on the preclinical aspects of food addiction research, shifting the focus towards a more complex behavioral expression of pathological feeding and combining it with current research on neurobiological substrates. This book will become an invaluable reference for researchers in food addiction and compulsive eating constructs. Compulsive eating behavior is a pathological form of feeding that phenotypically and neurobiologically resembles the compulsive-like behaviors associated with both drug abuse and behavioral addictions. Compulsive eating behavior, including Binge Eating Disorder (BED), certain forms of obesity, and 'food addiction' affect an estimated 70 million individuals worldwide.
ISBN: 9780128162071Publication Date: 2019-07-24
Ending the Crisis: Mayo Clinic's Guide to Opioid Addiction and Safe Opioid Use by
What if we could help loved ones misusing opioids and support them as they seek treatment? In Ending the Crisis, addiction medicine specialist Dr. Holly Geyer goes beyond the science of addiction to offer those struggling with opioids a real solution. Developed by trusted Mayo Clinic experts, this empowering and accessible book contains vital information about opioids and addiction, as well as practical tools for recovery, and impactful personal stories from those who've lived through the experience. Recovery is a marathon, not a sprint. Key topics include: Managing pain and using prescribed opioids safely Understanding addiction and opioid use disorder, The intervention: a play-by-play example Treatment programs and help taking the first step Helping loved ones recover from opioid use disorder Opioid overdose: how you can save a life. "The opioid epidemic is a story about all of us. It's about the people we love, the people we've lost and the people we fear losing. Whether the stories we have shared come from friends, family, or total strangers, they're all passed on with a purpose: to educate and plead for change, to pave the path for a different tomorrow."
Food and Addiction, 2nd ed. by
Food and Addiction: A Comprehensive Handbook, Second Edition brings scientific order to the issue of food and addiction, spanning multiple disciplines to create the foundation for what is a rapidly advancing field and to highlight needed advances in science and public policy. It assembles leading scientists and policy makers from fields such as nutrition, addiction, psychology, epidemiology, and public health to explore and analyze the scientific evidence on the addictive properties of food. It provides complete and comprehensive coverage of all subjects pertinent to food and addiction, from how the brain processes food reward and the role of the gut-microbiome in addictive eating, to diagnostic criteria for food addiction, the contribution of industry tactics to the creation of addictive foods, and behavioral, neurological, and pharmacologic interventions, as well as the clinical, public health, legal, and policy implications of recognizing the validity of food addiction. Each chapter reviews the available science and notes needed scientific advances in the field.
ISBN: 9780190671051Publication Date: 2024-08-16
Habits: Their Definition, Neurobiology, and Role in Addiction by
This book explores the multiple facets of habit from diverse and complementary theoretical frameworks. It provides a complete overview of the cognitive, computational, and neural processes underlying the formation of distinct forms of habit. The objective of the book is to cover (1) the multiple definitions of the habit construct and the relation between different habit-related concepts, (2) the underlying brain circuits of habits, and (3) the possible involvement of habits in psychiatric disorders such as alcohol and substance use disorder. This book will be of interest to all researchers in behavioral and computational neuroscience, psychology, and psychiatry who are interested in associative learning and decision making, under normal and pathological conditions.
ISBN: 9783031558894
eBooks
Neurocircuitry of Addiction by
People use drugs for many different reasons, including the pursuit of "high," social factors and self-medication of other conditions. Many millions of people are addicted to at least one substance, and the cost of addiction is immense, at both the individual and societal levels. Neurocircuitry of Addiction is the first book of its kind, with a focus on addiction neuroscience from a neural circuit perspective. This book begins with a primer on circuit-based neuroscience that equips the reader with an understanding of the applications described throughout the book. Each subsequent chapter positions a different brain region at the "center" of addiction neurocircuitry and goes on to describe the anatomical connectivity of that brain region, how those circuits are affected by drug exposure, and the role of those circuits in controlling addiction-related behaviors. All chapters of this book are written by content experts for a target audience that has some basic neuroscience background, but no prior in-depth knowledge regarding the neurocircuitry of addiction.
ISBN: 9780128234532Publication Date: 2022-12-02
Nicotine and Other Tobacco Compounds in Neurodegenerative and Psychiatric Diseases by
Nicotine and Other Tobacco Compounds in Neurodegenerative and Psychiatric Diseases: Epidemiological Data on Smoking and Preclinical and Clinical Data on Nicotine provides a comprehensive summary of the epidemiological data on smoking and several neurological disorders, including Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Tourette's syndrome, schizophrenia, anxiety, depression and ADHD, as well as preclinical and clinical data on the effects of nicotine. Despite the obvious and undisputed harmful nature of smoking, evidence suggests that some tobacco and tobacco smoke-derived constituents may offer neuroprotective effects, possibly in combinations, rather than individually. This unprecedented book describes the complex relationships between smoking and neurological disease and the bioactive compounds found in tobacco. It provides a comprehensive review of nicotine and other compounds found in tobacco plant, with scientific evidence of neuroprotective and anti-inflammatory effects that may act in conjunction with nicotine to exert neuroprotective effects observed in smokers. By presenting findings beyond harmful cigarette smoke effects, attention can be drawn to individual compounds of tobacco that may serve as inspiration for further therapy development.
ISBN: 9780128129227Publication Date: 2018-01-03
Substance Abuse and the Family: Assessment and Treatment, 2nd ed. by
Reiter examines addiction through a family systems lens which considers a range of interconnected contexts, such as biology and genetics, family relationships, and larger systems. Chapters are organized around two sections: Assessment and Treatment. Examining how the family system organizes around substance use and abuse, the first section includes contributions on the neurobiology and genetics of addiction, as well as chapters on family diversity, issues in substance-using families, and working in a culturally sensitive way. The second half of the book explores various treatment options for individuals and families presenting with substance abuse issues, providing an overview of the major family therapy theories, and chapters on self-help groups and the process of family recovery. The second edition has many useful additions including a revision of the family diversity chapter to consider sexual and gender minorities, brand new chapters on behavioral addictions such as sex and gambling, and a chapter on ethical implications in substance abuse work with families. Additional sections include information on Multisystemic Therapy, Behavioral Couples Therapy, Motivational Interviewing, and Twelve-Step Facilitation. Each chapter now contains a case application to help demonstrate treatment strategies in practice. Intended for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as beginning practitioners, Substance Abuse and the Family, 2nd Ed. remains one of the most penetrating and in-depth examinations on the topic available. iversity chapter to consider sexual and gender minorities, brand new chapters on behavioral addictions such as sex and gambling, and a chapter on ethical implications in substance abuse work with families. Additional sections include information on Multisystemic Therapy, Behavioral Couples Therapy, Motivational Interviewing, and Twelve-Step Facilitation. Each chapter now contains a case application to help demonstrate treatment strategies in practice. Intended for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as beginning practitioners, Substance Abuse and the Family, 2nd Ed. remains one of the most penetrating and in-depth examinations on the topic available.
ISBN: 9781138625877Publication Date: 2019-06-12
Tobacco Dependence: A Comprehensive Guide to Prevention and Treatment by
This book is a guide to pharmacotherapy treatment of tobacco dependence. The 2020 American Thoracic Society clinical practice guidelines on treating tobacco dependence serves as the cornerstone for this work with its robust discussion of recommended treatment options and how to tailor treatment to specific patient populations. Tobacco dependence remains a major health concern for many adults and given the dramatic increase of youth electronic cigarette use, clinicians need a singular resource to treat these different populations. This book addresses that by following the three main points of how to best address the adverse impact of tobacco use on public health: 1) prevent initiation of tobacco use; 2) understand mechanisms of addiction; 3) effectively treat tobacco dependence. The book begins by describing the current patterns of product use, the adverse impact of tobacco on global health, and tobacco-related health disparities. Authors discuss both combustible andelectronic tobacco products, as well as current research on the adverse impact of vaping and associated flavorings including menthol, role of the e-cigarette in cessation, and treatment of adolescent nicotine dependence. Chapters conclude with a discussion of specific tobacco control policies to improve overall public health. This is an ideal guide for pulmonologists, pediatricians, primary care physicians and other specialty providers who see patients with nicotine dependence. This book is also of interest to public health professions to help inform public health campaigns and treatment offerings to reduce overall tobacco product use through prevention and treatment.
ISBN: 9783031249143
