Artificial Intelligence: Pulmonary Medicine / Thoracic Surgery

3D Lung Models for Regenerating Lung Tissue by Gunilla Westergren-Thorsson; Sara Rolandsson Enes, 2022 3D Lung Models for Regenerating Lung Tissue is a comprehensive summary on the current state of art 3D lung models and novel techniques that can be used to regenerate lung tissue. Written by experts in the field, readers can expect to learn more about 3D lung models, novel techniques including bioprinting and advanced imaging techniques, as well as important knowledge about the complexity of the lung and its extracellular matrix composition. Structured into 15 different chapters, the book spans from the original 2D cell culture model on plastic, to advanced 3D lung models such as using human extracellular matrix protein. In addition, the last chapters cover new techniques including 3D printing, bioprinting, and artificial intelligence that can be used to drive the field forward and some future perspectives. This highly topical book with chapters on everything from the complexity of the lung and its microenvironment to cutting-edge 3D lung models, represents an exciting body of work that can be used by researchers during study design, grant writing, as teaching material, or to stay updated with the progression of the field.

Application of Artificial Intelligence in Early Detection of Lung Cancer by Madhuchanda Kar; Jhilam Mukherjee; Amlan Chakrabarti et al, 2024 Application of Artificial Intelligence in Early Detection of Lung Cancer presents the most up-to-date computer-aided diagnosis techniques used to effectively predict and diagnose lung cancer. The presence of pulmonary nodules on lung parenchyma is often considered an early sign of lung cancer, thus using machine and deep learning technologies to identify them is key to improve patients' outcome and decrease the lethal rate of such disease. The book discusses topics such as basics of lung cancer imaging, pattern recognition techniques, deep learning, and nodule detection and localization. In addition, the book discusses risk prediction based on radiological analysis and 3D modeling. This is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, graduate students, radiologists, and members of biomedical field who are interested in the potential of AI technologies in the diagnosis of lung cancer.

Developing the Digital Lung: From Lung CT to Clinical AI by John D. Newell, 2024 Reflecting recent major advances in the field of artificial intelligence, Developing the Digital Lung, From First Lung CT to Clinical AI, by Dr. John Newell, is your go-to reference for all aspects of applied artificial intelligence in lung disease development, including application to clinical medicine. It provides a unique overview of the field, beginning with a review of the origins of artificial intelligence in the mid-1970s and progressing to its application to clinical medicine in the early 2020s. Organized based on the four stages of development, this practical, easy-to-use resource helps you effectively apply artificial intelligences to lung imaging. Traces the development of precise quantitative CT of diffuse lung disease through the use of applied AI, leading to faster effective diagnosis of patients with lung disease.  Reviews CT manufacturers, models and scanning protocol used to produce the 3D digital maps of the lungs.  Discusses how the data processed by AI algorithms can produce measures of emphysema, air trapping, and airway wall thickening in subjects with COPD and measures of pulmonary fibrosis and traction bronchiectasis in idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF).  Demonstrates the differences between reactive machine AI and limited memory AI methods.  Includes comprehensive case studies and current information on cloud computing.  An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. 

Encyclopedia of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms, 2nd ed. by Clete Kushida, 2023 Encyclopedia of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms, Second Edition, Six Volume Set is the most comprehensive work on sleep and circadian rhythms. This completely revised new edition, comprised of contributions from 450 renowned authorities in the field, covers what is new and known in the field. In addition to thorough coverage of the basics (physiology, sleep disorders etc.), this new edition includes a thorough examination of circadian rhythms that manage the sleep-wake cycle. Although this area is highly intertwined with sleep, it is a scientific discipline in and of itself, and will broaden the appeal of this work to health care providers and scientists. Other sections of interest explore consumer wearable devices to track sleep and circadian rhythms, artificial intelligence algorithms to detect sleep and abnormal sleep-related conditions, and new technology to treat sleep and circadian rhythm disorders. This book will be an ideal and primary reference resource for students, trainees, technologists, basic/clinical scientists, physicians, advanced practice providers, psychologists, nurses, and other medical and research personnel who want to explore any topic within the sleep and circadian rhythm field. Provides the largest, most comprehensive publication in the field of sleep and circadian rhythms for non-specialists and readers from undergraduate level upwards, as well as advanced health care providers Covers the latest, most up-to-date knowledge regarding sleep and circadian rhythms and contains material that reflects the newest technology in the field Presents a new edition of the winner of the 2013 Prose Award for Multivolume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers Includes rich illustrations that can be used as teaching aids, along with multimedia