Preventive Medicine: Hematology / Oncology

Artificial Intelligence and Precision Oncology by Zodwa Dlamini, 2023 This book highlights the use of artificial intelligence (AI), big data and precision oncology for medical decision making in cancer screening, diagnosis, prognosis and treatment. Precision oncology has long been thought of as ideal for the management and treatment of cancer. This strategy promises to revolutionize the treatment, control, and prevention of cancer by tailoring tests, treatments and predictions to specific individuals or population groups. In order to accomplish these goals, vast amounts of patient or population group specific data needs to be integrated and analysed to be able to identify key patterns or features which can be used to define or characterize the disease or the response to the disease in these individuals. These patterns or features can be as varied as molecular patterns or features in medical images. This level of data analysis and integration can only be achieved through the use of AI. The book is divided into three parts starting with a section on the use of artificial intelligence for screening, diagnosis and monitoring in precision oncology. The second part: Artificial intelligence and Omics in precision oncology, highlights the use of AI and epigenetics, metabolomics, microbiomics in precision oncology. The third part covers artificial intelligence in cancer therapy and its clinical applications. It also highlights the use of AI tools for risk prediction, early detection, diagnosis and accurate prognosis. This book, written by experts in the field from academia and industry, will appeal to cancer researchers, clinical oncologists, pathologists, medical students, academic teaching staff and medical residents interested in cancer research as well as those specialising as clinical oncologists.

Cancer: How Lifestyles May Impact Disease Development, Progression, and Treatment by Hymie Anisman; Alexander W. Kusnecov, 2022 Cancer: How Lifestyles May Impact Disease Development, Progression, and Treatment explores different processes that influence the efficacy of treatments and what lifestyle and behavioral modification options are available to patients to improve therapy responses, with a focus on addressing their strengths and weaknesses. The book discusses mechanisms by which particular lifestyles may affect cancer processes, including various aspects of immune functioning, inflammatory and energy-related processes, reactive oxygen species, hormonal and neurotransmitter mechanisms, the role of neurotrophins, and microbial effects. Considerable attention is devoted to the impact of psychosocial processes that indirectly affect disease occurrence, and to behavioral change methods.

Cancer: Oxidative Stress and Dietary Antioxidants, 2nd ed. by Victor R. Preedy; Vinood B. Patel, 2021 Cancer: Oxidative Stress and Dietary Antioxidants, Second Edition, covers the science of oxidative stress in cancer and the potentially therapeutic usage of natural antioxidants in the diet or food matrix. The processes within the science of oxidative stress are described in concert with other processes, such as apoptosis, cell signaling, and receptor-mediated responses. This approach recognizes that diseases are often multifactorial and that oxidative stress is a single component. Other sections cover new organ site tumors--skin and liver cancer, the role of polymorphisms, cytochrome p450s, COX gene, fatty acids, apoptosis, T cells and mitochondria, prevention/protection with anthocyanins, esculetin, nanoparticles, and more. This book is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, nutritionists and other members of the biomedical field who are interested in enhancing treatment outcome, improving the quality of life of patients, and developing new treatments in the fight against cancer.

Cancer Biomarkers: Clinical Aspects and Laboratory Determination by Lakshmi V. Ramanathan; Martin Fleisher; Michael J. Duffy, 2022 Cancer Biomarkers: Clinical Aspects and Laboratory Determination provides a comprehensive overview of current biomarkers for cancer detection, monitoring and recurrence, focusing on emerging technologies, impacts on the field, and selected biomarkers currently used in clinical practice. The content highlights current laboratory tests used in the management of adult and pediatric cancer patients. In addition, it investigates the role of Circulating Tumor Cells and circulating tumor DNA as biomarkers in cancer management as well as cytokines in monitoring response to CAR T therapies. This title is a perfect reference for clinical pathologists, laboratory scientists, medical technologists, physicians specializing in oncology, internal medicine, family practice and transplant medicine, resident physicians, medical students, nurse practitioners and clinical chemists.

Cancer Syndromes by Douglas Riegert-Johnson; Lisa A. Boardmann; Timothy Hefferon et al, 2009 Cancer Syndromes is a comprehensive multimedia resource for selected single gene cancer syndromes. Syndromes currently included are Peutz-Jeghers syndrome, juvenile polyposis, Birt-Hogg-Dubé syndrome, multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 and familial atypical multiple mole melanoma syndrome. For each syndrome the history, epidemiology, natural history and management are reviewed. If possible the initial report in the literature of each syndrome is included as an appendix. Chapters are extensively annotated with figures and movie clips.

Diagnosis and Management of Hereditary Cancer by John W. Henson; Robert G. Resta, 2021 Many hereditary cancer syndromes are linked to alterations in single genes. Detection and clinical interpretation of these alterations can guide cancer risk reduction for patients and their families through screening, prophylactic measures, and other strategies. Diagnosis and Management of Hereditary Cancer summarizes hereditary syndromes and their associated cancers and genes. The information is presented in 50 practice-enhancing tables that relate clinical, genetic, diagnostic, and management aspects in a manner that has previously not been available in a single reference. Intended to guide the specialist as well the novice, this volume will elevate the care of hereditary cancer patients and their families.

Encyclopedia of Hereditary Cancer by John W. Henson, 2024 Encyclopedia of Hereditary Cancer: A Desktop Reference gives insights into this young and rapidly expanding field that combines oncology and genetics to achieve risk reduction, early detection, family risk management, and identification targeted treatments. While genetics and oncology are both well-developed knowledge areas, their combination in hereditary cancer yields an opportunity for new works that systemize knowledge for current researchers, practitioners, and students. The book exams 371 topics through the lens of hereditary cancer. There are no similar books that presents information in this manner. This reference work contains a complete list of terms and definitions which can be easily reference by researchers and clinicians working in this field.

Epigenetic Cancer Therapy, 2d ed. by Steven Gray, 2023 Epigenetic Cancer Therapy, Second Edition provides a comprehensive discussion of healthy and aberrant epigenetic biology, along with new discoveries to improve our understanding of cancer epigenetics and therapeutics. The book encompasses large-scale intergovernmental initiatives, as well as recent findings across cancer stem cells, rational drug design, clinical trials, and chemopreventative strategies. As a whole, the work articulates and raises the profile of epigenetics as a therapeutic option in the future management of cancer. Since the publication of the first edition of this book, the field of epigenetics has undergone significant change. New epigenetic therapies have been designed and approved for clinical use. Our knowledge of the plasticity of the epigenome in cancer and disease has expanded dramatically, with increasing evidence linking pollution to epigenetic changes in cancer development. This second edition has been fully updated to address these changes, along with promising therapeutic programs such as CRISPR/Cas9 mediated approaches, CAR-T based therapies, epigenetic priming, histone modifications, and similar, transformative advances across synthetic biology and cellular engineering.

Genomic and Precision Medicine: Oncology, 3rd ed. by Geoffrey S. Ginsburg; Huntington F. Willard; Cheryl L. Willman et al, 2022 Genomic and Precision Medicine: Oncology, Third Edition focuses on the applications of genome discovery as research points to personalized cancer therapies. Each chapter is organized to cover the application of genomics and personalized medicine tools and technologies to a) Risk Assessment and Susceptibility, b) Diagnosis and Prognosis, c) Pharmacogenomics and Precision Therapeutics, and d) Emerging and Future Opportunities in the field.

The Link Between Obesity and Cancer by Raman Mehrzad, 2022 The Link between Obesity and Cancer provides a comprehensive review on the relationship between obesity and cancer, presenting global perspectives on obesity and cancer incidence that are followed by in-depth discussions on cancers for which we have new evidence of a causal relationship with obesity. Readers will gain fundamental knowledge on which cancer types are related to obesity. In addition, this updated resource provides significant knowledge for clinicians on when to act, along with specific management guidelines for patients, as well as how to understand potential risk factors and how to directly or indirectly minimize these risks. The book also provides never-before-published scientific data for any researcher in the field, identifying molecular mechanisms and links behind the development of malignancy and promoting research in new and effective target pathways in developing therapeutic strategies.

MD Anderson Manual of Psychosocial Oncology by James D. Duffy; Alan Valentine, 2011 A practical and comprehensive guide to fostering behavioral and emotional health in cancer patients - from one of the world's leading cancer treatment centers 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is a very helpful guide for continuity of care in addressing these often silent issues with cancer patients. It also will assist in the often difficult conversations that need to take place with these patients, such as poor prognosis, failed treatment, or noncompliance."--Doody's Review Service Reflecting the collective expertise of more than forty contributors, most from the renowned MD Anderson Cancer Center, this manual addresses key psychological and behavioral issues that should be considered when treating cancer patients, including special populations such as children and the elderly. Coverage includes: Communicating with patients and family Distress and cancer Assessment and management of psychological symptoms, including mood disorders, anxiety, fatigue, substance abuse, and delirium Family and cultural issues, including spirituality and religion and supporting the caregiver Integrative medicine Physical medicine and rehabilitation Grief and end-of-life issues, including non-pharmacologic interventions and palliative medicine Healthcare professional wellbeing MD Anderson Manual of Psychosocial Oncology is designed to be a practical guide for clinicians and allied professionals in the day-to-day practice of psychosocial oncology, which is an essential component of the comprehensive care of cancer patients and their caregivers.

Nutrition and Cancer by Lorenzo Galluzzi; Aitziber Buque Martinez, 2022 Nutrition and Cancer, Volume 373 presents a collection of chapters that describe the effect of different metabolic situations, their contribution to metabolic modulation, and their impact on tumor growth. Specific chapters in this release include Impact of obesity on cancer progression and treatment, Impact of dietary protein on cancer progression and treatment, Fasting mimicking diet and cancer therapy, Fasting and cancer responses to chemotherapy, Dietary polyamines and cancer, Ketogenic diets and cancer therapy, and Nutritional and metabolic approaches to target OXPHOS and glycolysis in cancer cells.

Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by Carin A. Hagberg; Joseph L. Nates; Berhard P. Riedel et al, 2023 More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®. Discusses newer cancer therapies and their perioperative implications, functional assessment and prehabilitation, enhanced recovery programs in cancer care, challenges with novel cancer therapies in the care of the critically ill cancer patient, chronic and interventional pain management in patients with cancer, and more. An educational resource and clinical reference for surgeons, anesthesia practitioners, hospitalists, internists, pain physicians, intensivists, basic science researchers, and all clinicians involved in the acute care of surgical patients with cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs, 4th ed. by MiKaela M. Olsen; AnnMarie L. Walton; Oncology Nursing Society Staff, 2024 "The fourth edition of Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs provides nurses with the latest details and procedures needed to keep safe in the workplace"--