Preventive Medicine: Nursing

Clinical Consult to Psychiatric Mental Health Management for Nurse Practitioners, 3rd ed. by Jacqueline Rhoads, 2025 A well-organized, information-packed resource for developing systematic mental health care protocols Compiled by expert practitioners of psychiatric care, this popular quick-reference text for NPs who treat patients with mental disorders provides complete clinical guidelines for diagnosis, treatment options, patient monitoring, and psychopharmacological management. The third edition been expanded and redesigned to present comprehensive assessment and treatment coverage for each disorder. This revision also is updated to reflect 2022 DSM-V-TR standards. The text presents current research and protocols for applied clinical practice and pharmacology knowledge. Faculty will welcome comprehensive case studies to help students develop sound clinical judgment. The text's consistent structure and bulleted format helps readers access essential diagnostic criteria and differential diagnoses for each disorder. It presents a broad range of therapeutic interventions for managing disorders and covers common psychotropic medications, including when to prescribe them and how to choose among them. New and seasoned primary care providers alike will find reliable guidelines to inform practice and improve patient outcomes. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers.  New to the Third Edition: Updated to reflect 2022 DSM-V-TR standards New structure and design presents expanded assessment and treatment protocols for each disorder to promote clinical judgment and decision-making Includes comprehensive case studies that faculty can use to improve student clinical judgment Key Features: Offers speedy access to key crucial diagnostic and therapeutic information in bulleted format Provides current evidence-based guidelines for making differential diagnoses, treatment, and monitoring decisions Includes guidelines for ordering and monitoring lab evaluations and information on clinical preventive services Offers billing codes to expedite insurance claims and reimbursements Provides drug tables for each disorder to guide pharmacologic interventions Addresses adult health with special considerations for older adults Presents at-a-glance algorithms for diagnosing psych-mental health conditions

Community and Public Health Education Methods, 5th ed. by Robert J. Bensley; Jodi Brookins-Fisher, 2025 Updated to keep pace with this ever-evolving field, the fifth edition of Community and Public Health Education Methods: A Practical Guide teaches students to effectively communicate health education messages and positively influence the norms and behaviors of both individuals and communities. Written by and for health education specialists, this text explores the methods used by health educators, including didactic techniques designed to guide others toward the pursuit of a healthy lifestyle. Divided into four sections, this well-organized guide begins with a focus on building the foundation for selecting and applying community and public health education methods. It then explores acquiring tools necessary for applying community and public health education and health promotion strategies. Section III examines health communication and media, including exploring social marketing concepts, applying health communication skills, using social media, and exploring digital media strategies. The final section focuses on community and advocacy level methods. 3 new chapters! Applying a Health Literacy Framework (4); Applying Motivational Interviewing Techniques (7); and Exploring Digital Media Strategies (11)Coverage of the latest industry standards, guidelines, and competencies, including the HESPA II CHES competencies. Wholly revised chapter on legislative advocacy Discussion of health promotion and various techniques including multi-level and multicomponent interventions. Practical examples throughout, including many on COVID-19 Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text and available stand-alone) for convenient online and offline access to the enhanced digital text. Health Education and Promotion courses found within the departments of Health Science and Public Health, including Health Education Methods Health Education Planning Health Education Planning and Implementation Health Education Strategies Health Promotion Planning Health Promotion Methods © 2025 | 375 pages

Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing, 3rd ed. by Vidette Todaro-Franceschi, 2025 Praise for Past Editions "This book is a vital read for individuals and the collective nursing profession... I encourage those who are concerned about the collective nursing profession, about what nurse educators are teaching students, about healthcare's high staff turnover and poor patient quality outcomes to consider reading and using this book." - M. R. Morrow, RN, PhD., Nursing Science Quarterly "This book addresses the issue that all nurses eventually face at one time or another in their career, a loss of passion. The author takes readers on a journey to recapture their passion...Every nurse should read this book." -V. Hedderick, Doody's Review Service As relevant today as it was when the first edition was published in 2012--likely even more so after the devastation of COVID 19--Dr. Vidette Todaro-Franceschi delves deeper into issues surrounding professional quality of life (PQOL) for nurses and the intricate connection to caliber of care and healthcare outcomes. She offers new insights on compassion fatigue, burnout, moral distress, caring for the dying, PTSD, and workplace bullying and violence noting that while the COVID-19 pandemic has grossly exacerbated existing problems in the workplace it has also created a "perfect storm" for nurses to regain a sense of the meaning and purpose of their work. Written by an acknowledged expert in end-of-life education, professional quality of life, and clinical leadership, this book will help empower nurses so that they can create a healthier, more compassionate work environment. Supported by research but written from a holistic and personal perspective, the text includes real-life examples, strategies, and exercises that will help readers to identify negative patterns and explore ways to recapture the joy in their work lives. New to the Third Edition: Integrates the impact of COVID-19 on the nursing profession throughout Provides new information on enhancing PQOL for nurses Includes new real-life examples from multiple nursing disciplines Key Features: Articulates an ethic of care developed from a transdisciplinary perspective Offers a framework--the ART© model, for mindful healing, living and working Shares real-life examples from critical care, end-of-life, oncology, and other clinical areas Provides a template for nurses, nurse educators and leaders to address critical issues affecting nursing workforce health, happiness and the work environment Includes a Nurse Leaders Resource Kit to assist staff with improving PQOL

Complementary Therapies in Nursing: Promoting Integrative Care, 9th ed. by Ruth Lindquist; Mary Fran Tracy; Mariah Snyder, 2023 The ninth edition of this acclaimed resource is completely updated to deliver the newest evidence-based research and practice guidelines for commonly used complementary therapies in nursing. The book delivers new and expanded international content including information highlighting indigenous culture-based therapies and systems of care. It features many recent advances in technology including digital resources facilitating effective delivery, monitoring, and measurement of therapy outcomes. This resource presents evidence for using complementary therapies with populations experiencing health disparities and describes a new approach to use of complementary therapies for nurses' and patients' self-care. State-of-the-art information also includes expanded safety and precaution content, updated legal concerns in regulation and credentialing, a discussion of challenges and strategies for implementing therapies and programs, and a completely new chapter on Heat and Cold Therapies. The ninth edition continues to provide in-depth information about each complementary therapy, as well as the scientific basis and current evidence for its use in specific patient populations. Consistent chapter formats promote ease of access to information, and each therapy includes instructional techniques and safety precautions. New to the Ninth Edition: Expanded information related to technology and digital resources to foster effective delivery, monitoring, and measuring therapy outcomes New and expanded international content highlighting indigenous culture-based therapies and systems of care New information on integrating therapies in practice with abundant case examples Examples of institution-wide or organization-wide complementary therapy programs New chapter on Heat and Cold Therapies All new content on the use of therapies for Self-Care Key Features: 80 prominent experts sharing perspectives on complementary therapies from over 30 countries Chapters include a practice protocol delineating basic steps of an intervention along with measuring outcomes Consistently formatted for ease of use Presents international sidebars in each chapter providing rich global perspectives

Dossey and Keegan's Holistic Nursing, 8th ed. by Mary A. Blaszko Helming; Deborah A. Shields; Karen M. Avino et al, 2022 Dossey & Keegan's Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Eighth Edition covers basic and advanced concepts of holism, demonstrating how holistic nursing spans all specialties and levels. This text is distinguished by its emphasis on theory, research, and evidence-based practice essential to holistic nursing. Students and professionals alike need a comprehensive, up-to-date text to guide them in learning holistic nursing concepts and how to integrate those concepts into clinical practice and their daily lives. This approach prepares students and professionals to incorporate a holistic philosophy in both their work and personal lives to better communicate with patients and provide whole-person patient care. Sections are aligned with the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA) Core Values to guide the reader through foundations of holistic nursing Include updates related to the 3rd edition of AHNA/ANA Holistic Nursing Scope and Standards (2019) Expanded content on self-reflection and self-care Revised chapter on Professional Development Across the Lifespan expands on the integration of holism into education and practice Advanced Practice Nursing section includes additional topics such as leadership and approaches for chronic health challenges to encourage continued holistic practice by advanced practice nurses Case studies incorporated throughout chapters help readers make the connections to put holistic theories and concepts into practice Navigate Advantage Access Holistic Nursing, Integrative Nursing, Theoretical Foundations in Nursing, Complimentary & Alternative Therapies, Health & Wellness, Community Health, Transcultural Health © 2022 | 950 pages

Emerging Practices in Telehealth: Best Practices in a Rapidly Changing Field by Andrew M. Freeman; Ami B. Bhatt, 2023 Emerging Practices in Telehealth: Best Practices in a Rapidly Changing Field is an introduction to telehealth basics, best practices and implementation methods. The book guides the reader from start to finish through the workflow implementation of telehealth technology, including EMRs, clinical workflows, RPM, billing systems, and patient experience. It also explores how telehealth can increase healthcare access and decrease disparities across the globe. Practicing clinicians, medical fellows, allied healthcare professionals, hospital administrators, and hospital IT professionals will all benefit from this practical guidebook.

Epidemiology for the Advanced Practice Nurse by Demetrius James Porche, 2023 Written by nurses for nurses, this graduate-level text disseminates the core principles of epidemiology within a population health framework and provides practical knowledge nurses can use to analyze and improve healthcare in the community. Informed by the evolution of epidemiological science resulting from the Covid-19 pandemic, this book demonstrates how epidemiology can have a profound impact on health. It showcases a variety of settings and epidemiological roles demonstrating the importance and practicality of this discipline. Clear and concise, this text explains the basics of population health followed by epidemiology concepts and designs. It is distinguished by its application-based case studies, analytical tools of epidemiology, and calculations, which foster skill development and necessary familiarity of the subject. Also included is an important Biostatistics Primer, relevant content from Healthy People 2030, and an "Epidemiology in Practice" section focusing on examples from different epidemiology arenas. Key Features: Includes application-based cases, tools, and calculations throughout to help students develop practical epidemiologic skills Provides background and understanding of health disparities and determinants of health Includes relevant information from Healthy People 2030 Includes discussion questions, learning objectives, terminology review, tables, and figures in each chapter Delivers up-to-date information on epidemiology in the time of Covid-19 Includes access to an Instructor's Manual with additional case studies

Evidence-Based Practice Improvement: Merging Evidence-Based Practice and Quality Improvement by Rona Levin; Bonnie Lauder, 2025 Describes a superior model to guide empirical practice improvement projects This unique text provides the academic and clinical healthcare communities with a tested, practical, and successful model (EBPI+) to steer evidence-based practice improvement projects. The model--tested in multiple clinical settings--is distinguished from similar prototypes by its integration of the best EBP and quality/performance improvement principles (QI), resulting in a highly practical and comprehensible model for guiding students' and clinicians' work to improve quality outcomes in healthcare. The book emphasizes the need for collaboration among all stakeholders, particularly those in different disciplines with different perspectives, to provide greater clarity and enhance improvement work in a clinical agency. It features a blueprint for guiding healthcare improvements based on evidence that incorporates potential changes of direction midstream. The book also introduces tools for the evaluation of organizational commitment, stakeholder choice, and sustainability of improvement projects. Section One of the text focuses on the background and development of the original EBPI model, followed by, in Section Two, an elaboration of the components of the new enhanced model, EBPI+. Chapter authors in Section Three describe how they used the components of the EBPI model, discussing lessons learned from its use. This section, connecting the theoretical basis for this work with real-world applications, includes a template that readers can use to facilitate their own projects. The final section investigates future approaches to improvement work. Comprehensive appendices provide useful tools for students and clinicians to use in developing, implementing, and evaluating any EBPI+ projects. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Describes a practical and successful model incorporating the best of EBP and QI approaches (EPBI+) for improving quality outcomes in healthcare Incorporates a strong focus on how to determine and engage project stakeholders and provides tools for effective decision making Delineates specific methods to develop protocols for a small test of change prior to larger pilot studies Delivers approaches/strategies for monitoring and evaluating sustainability Discusses how to assess organizational commitment and conduct stakeholder analyses Creates examples that use each component of EBPI+ as a template for readers Emphasizes the "how to" of implementation more than other competitive models

The Fifteen Minute Hour: Efficient and Effective Patient-Centered Consultation Skills, 6th ed. by Marian Stuart; Joseph Lieberman, 2019 The Fifteen Minute Hour is well-established as a classic text, providing invaluable support for primary care practitioners aiming to increase patient satisfaction without adding significantly to the length of a visit. This sixth edition continues to emphasise a patient-centred approach to help practitioners enhance the therapeutic relationship with their patients. With a renewed focus on wellness and health promotion, the book offers simple and effective techniques to solve or prevent psychological and behavioural problems manifested in the consultation. The Fifteen Minute Hour has become essential reading around the world, and this sixth edition is completely updated with brand new case material based on real-world consultations, additional techniques for managing chronic conditions including pain, and new references substantiating the efficacy of the authors' methods.

Health Promotion: Translating Evidence to Practice by Marilyn Frenn; Diane K. Whitehead, 2021 Take an evidence-based approach to health promotion across the lifespan and clinical specialties. Written for NPs and advanced practitioners, this text provides coaching in how to read, evaluate, and apply the best evidence to health promotion plans for individuals and their families to help them prevent or manage chronic and acute diseases and disorders. Step-by-step, a who's who of educators, researchers, and practitioners explore the models and skills you need to help your patients, including those with multiple co-morbidities, while evaluating medical evidence that changes rapidly, or may be unclear. You'll also be prepared for the health promotion questions on certification exams.

Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts by Loureen Downes; Lilly Tryon, 2025 Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts is a unique new resource that is not afraid to address lifestyle concepts that can change the trajectory of healthcare in the United States and globally. It provides practical, evidence-based approaches to reduce the pandemic of preventable lifestyle-related chronic diseases such as heart disease, hypertension, some strokes, type 2 diabetes, obesity, and multiple types of cancer. It provides nurse practitioners and physician assistants with the lifestyle management tools needed to contribute to a higher level of care to promote health and prevent disease.The authors take a deep dive into the literature regarding lifestyle concepts and practical management of lifestyle-related chronic diseases. They discuss the root causes of diseases and approaches for patient-centered care, strategies for health promotion reimbursement, and trending telehealth delivery of health care. Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts is the only resource that provides evidence-based, practical approaches to encouraging patient adherence to healthy behaviors. "This book is a greatly needed resource that should be a staple for all health professionals, educators, and learners. It contains essential content to improve population health and well-being through health promotion and healthy lifestyle behaviors. The A-SMART lifestyle prescriptions for health promotion are well organized into the significant lifestyle behaviors that prevent chronic conditions. One of the many strengths of this text is that it is practical and relatable. The chapters on health promotion billing and reimbursement as well as information technology and provider self-care are terrific additions."-Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN from the Foreword Vice President for Health Promotion, University Chief Wellness Officer, Professor of Evidence-Based Practice, College of Nursing, Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry, College of Medicine, National Institute for EBP, Ohio State University Evidence-based content maps to the revised AACN Essentials with a focus on person-centered care, population health, and interprofessional partnerships. Includes practical steps for starting the conversation with patients about how to enhance their healthy behaviors. An Application Activity in every chapter asks students to reflect on a topic and provide a practical approach to address an issue. Every new print copy includes access to Navigate Essentials with Interactive Lectures featuring practical tips and critical thinking prompts to help patients implement lifestyle concepts for Obesity, Diabetes, Cardiac Disease, Chronic Pain, and Mental Health. Instructor resources include Slides in PowerPoint format, Case Studies, and Weblinks. Primary courses include: Core Advanced Health Promotion or Wellness, Managing Care, Disease Prevention, Advanced Health Assessment, Theories and Concepts of Health Behavior and Health Promotion, Clinical Prevention & Population Health. This text fits within the Revised AACN Essentials Domain 3: Population Health. © 2025 | 688 pages

Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd ed. by American Holistic Nurses; American Nurses Association, 2019 The premier resource for today's holistic nurses, Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This new edition of the publication contains information on core role accountabilities, role qualifications, ethics in holistic nursing, along with trends, issues and opportunities that every holistic nurse must know. Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition covers the full extent of holistic nursing practice needs in any setting or role and at any level of influence and authority. This specialty's core accountabilities illustrate that depth and breadth of practice: Safety, quality, and risk management Patient and population health advocacy Clinical care delivery and optimal patient outcomes Healthy work environments Strategic, financial, and human resource management Legal and regulatory compliance Networking, partnering, and collaborating Accountability/advocacy for their employees The publication also addresses 17 updated national standards, which offer a framework for evaluating practice outcomes and goals, as well as for what is expected of all gerontology nurses, and its scope of practice specifies the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. This new book is a must-have for the aspiring or practicing holistic nurse, or any registered nurse.

Holistic Pain Management in Pregnancy: What RNs, APRNs, Midwives, and Mental Health Professionals Need to Know by Theresa Mallick-Searle, 2022 This book presents a patient centric, holistic view and management strategy for registered nurses, advanced practice nurses and midwives to care for the pregnant female, including considerations in pregnancy planning. There is a significant gap in information about holistic care and nursing considerations of the pregnant female with regards to pain management, which this book fills.  It develops on the preparation before pregnancy, as nutrition or exercise, on behavioural management of pain with the impact of anxiety and different therapies. The book examines the musculoskeletal pain, the headache and fibromyalgia occurring during pregnancy. It also informs on the nutraceuticals in pregnancy, the use of opioids and of nerve blocks. This book finally explores complementary treatments during pregnancy. Case-studies are presented for improved understanding and to provide a real-world perspective.  This book, written by nursing and psychology experts in their fields of specialty practice, will appeal to nurses and midwives working with pregnant women or planning to have a baby.

Mental Health Nursing by Linda M. Gorman; Robynn Anwar, 2022 Here's the must-know information LPN/LVN students need to care for patients with mental health disorders where they'll encounter them?in general patient care settings. An easy-to-read, conversational writing style shows you how to recognize and respond to the most important mental health issues. You'll also explore important communication techniques, ethical and legal issues, and alternative and complementary treatments. Coverage of nursing interventions, basic psychiatric nursing skills, and psychopharmacology prepares you for the NCLEX-PN® exam and clinical practice.

Pathophysiology, Physical Assessment, and Pharmacology by Janie Best; Grace Buttris; Annette Hines Integrate the 3Ps for a real-world, holistic approach to nursing care. This first-of-its-kind text integrates the 3 Ps--pathophysiology, pharmacology, and physical assessment--into an integrative whole that reflects the real-world of how students learn and nurses practice. This groundbreaking approach promotes a deeper understanding of these three essential and often challenging content areas, paralleling the importance of integration in the planning, delivery, and evaluation of nursing care. Its lifespan approach features six major population-based sections cover the key conditions and disorders that nurses are likely to encounter in practice, reviewing the important pathophysiology, pharmacology, and physical exam and assessment information relative to each disorder. Each section concludes with a case study that presents a new disorder relative to the population in that section, reinforcing the authors' application-focused approach and developing must-have critical-thinking skills.

Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine by Sally Rampersad; Cindy B. Katz; Sally E. Rampersad, 2023 An accessible and richly illustrated guidebook to the most important methodologies and frameworks for improving safety and quality, written specifically for clinicians in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine. The book begins with chapters on design and the use of simulation to set the stage for successful quality improvement (QI) efforts before providing an in-depth look at the individual tools, reporting and use of databases. The following chapters then discuss the use of these tools and theories in practical projects. Finally, the book considers the difficult topic of people, communication and behaviour, importantly addressing the human factors that can make or break QI efforts. The book skilfully blends expert knowledge and valuable examples from years of experience and trials from varied providers to demonstrate the successful paths to improve patient outcomes. For clinicians, nurses and trainees in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine seeking tools and strategies to lead and participate in QI projects.

Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual, 4th ed. by Patricia M. Schoon; Carolyn M. Porta, 2024 Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street Model for Nurses has proven to be one of the most important public health texts for students and practitioners alike. Focused on developing evidence-based public health nursing practice in diverse settings, and built on the framework of the Henry Street Consortium's 13 competencies for population-based, entry-level public health nursing, this new, full-color fourth edition is fully revised and updated to support readers'exploration of the field of public health nursing and the unique responsibilities and challenges that come with being a public health nurse.

A Population Health Approach to Health Disparities for Nurses by Faye A. Gary; Marilyn J. Lotas, 2023 Offers vivid narratives illuminating the challenges and opportunities health professionals and policymakers face Distinguished by abundant patient and health provider narratives highlighting the impact of health disparities on health outcomes worldwide, this scholarly yet practical text prepares RN-BSN, DNP, and PhD students to work toward improving community health for a variety of underserved and vulnerable populations. Grounded in the population health approach addressed in AACN Essentials, the text delivers practical steps nurses can take to address population health goals, including the improvement of quality of care, access to healthcare, improved outcomes, and cost management. The resource is also unique in its reflection of the interconnected points of view of the patient, the provider, and the health system. Written by lawyers, physicians, social workers, statisticians and economists, psychologists, ethicists, finance experts, population health specialists, anthropologists, and nurses, the text emphasizes an interdisciplinary approach to learning and all components of health care--delivery of care, policy, research, and teaching. It examines demographic differences, chronic and acute health conditions, and the health needs of the unserved/underserved across the life cycle. The book emphasizes the importance of understanding the social determinants of health and discusses ways to address health disparities through changes in public policy, attitudes, beliefs, education, research, and advocacy. Objectives, key terms, discussion questions, and exercises facilitate group discussion about best practices. Key Features: Delivers practical knowledge with detailed narratives and case studies of specific populations from experienced interprofessional authors Highlights the interwoven perspectives of patients, health providers, and health systems to promote cultural competence Pinpoints health disparities including a discussion of COVID-19 Presents selected historical landmarks and cases that influence population health outcomes among vulnerable groups Interdisciplinary approach includes the perspectives of other health and social science disciplines

Perioperative Quality Improvement by Carol J. Peden; Lee A. Fleisher; Michael Englesbe, 2023 Quality improvement (QI) principles are increasingly important in every area of today's healthcare, encompassing efforts to make healthcare delivery safer, more effective, patient-centered, timely, equitable, and efficient. Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key international opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analyzing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations. Covers key topics such as patient-centered care, equity, shared decision making, process mapping, and sustainability. Addresses the critical areas of structure, process and outcome with a focus on perioperative care and relevant case studies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Principles of Perioperative Safety and Efficiency by Jamal J. Hoballah; Haytham M. A. Kaafarani; Georgios Tsoulfas, 2024 Perioperative safety continues to be a global challenge. It is estimated that approximately 200 million surgical procedures are performed annually worldwide, and despite various national and global safety initiatives, perioperative adverse event rates remain alarmingly high. Although hospitals and governmental agencies impose safety standards and certification by organizations such as the Joint Commission, which can address issues of perioperative safety, many hospitals in developed, developing or underdeveloped countries lack the resources or knowhow to decrease perioperative adverse events. There is a great opportunity for improving perioperative safety worldwide especially in underdeveloped or developing countries. Filling a gap in the literature, this book teaches healthcare providers the basic principles of perioperative safety and efficiency, including checklists and processes to reduce adverse events. Presented here are the basics of intraoperative monitoring and safety measures to reduce patient adverse events, including wrong site surgery, electric burn injury, deep venous thrombosis, surgical site infection and foreign body retention. Emphasis is given toward developing awareness into measures preventing occupational injuries, such as sharp injury, radiation exposure, laser exposure and smoke hazard. It also addresses dealing and reporting adverse events and disruptive behaviors in the operating rooms as well as new measures for enhanced recovery following surgery and anesthesia. Principles of Perioperative Safety and Efficiency is a valuable resource and reference for all operating room personnel including surgeons, surgical residents, medical students and nurses.

Psychiatric Mental Health Assessment and Diagnosis of Adults for Advanced Practice Mental Health Nurses by Kunsook S. Bernstein; Robert Kaplan, 2023 This text provides a comprehensive and evidence-based introduction to psychiatric mental health assessment and diagnosis in advanced nursing practice. Taking a clinical, case-based approach, this textbook is designed to support graduate nursing students who are studying psychiatric mental health nursing as they develop their reasoning and decision-making skills. It presents: Therapeutic communication and psychiatric interviewing techniques, alongside basic psychiatric terminologies. The major psychiatric diagnoses, drawing on the DSM-5. A step-by-step guide to conducting a comprehensive psychiatric mental health assessment. Case examples demonstrating assessment across major psychopathologies. Good practice for conducting mental health evaluations. This is an essential text for all those undertaking psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner programs and a valuable reference for advanced practice nurses in clinical practice.

Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs, 4th ed. by MiKaela M. Olsen; AnnMarie L. Walton; Oncology Nursing Society Staff, 2024 "The fourth edition of Safe Handling of Hazardous Drugs provides nurses with the latest details and procedures needed to keep safe in the workplace"--

Surgical Notes by Susan D. Sheets, 2020 The OR Survival Guide From aseptic technique to effective communication and everything in between, here's the on-the-spot guidance you need to succeed in the OR in a pocket-sized, quick reference format. Consult it at the start of your day or between cases to jog your memory and build your confidence. Refresh your knowledge of the essentials of aseptic technique, surgical conscience, anatomy, basic set-up, instruments, and sutures. Be ready for challenging situations with tips for communicating effectively in the OR. Anticipate need and attune your critical thinking to be able to set up your back table and mayo stand quickly and efficiently, count effectively, and communicate well with your team. A Must Have in the OR "This little book is amazing. I've only had it a week and I absolutely love it. It has great tips and pointers that I've referred to many times throughout my day in the OR as a new nurse. The anatomy, prep and suture pages are my favorite-there is so much information on everything. Anything you write down with pen is erasable as well. I've showed my coworkers and many are going to buy it, even the seasoned nurses."--Kathaleen, Online Reviewer I absolutely love it. It very helpful and i love how. I'm a CST and this is the pocket book to have on you at all times!!!! I absolutely love it. It very helpful and i love how it breaks it down. So easy to understand."--Stefany, Online Reviewer Perfect! "Covers the basics. A must for a surgical technologist."--Online Reviewer

Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses by Julie K. Briggs, 2021 Assess the nature and severity of callers'' symptoms quickly and confidently, with Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, 6th Edition. More than 200 alpha-organized protocols address a wide range of symptoms, disorders and medical emergencies, while the flow chart format leads callers to provide vital Yes or No answers to appropriate questions. This comprehensive manual - a must-have for nurses both new and experienced - offers accurate care recommendations even when client information is limited. Follow expert direction and make quick, accurate assessments ... NEW and updated protocols offer current best practices and reflect changes in access to medications and health care Protocols address adult, pediatric, geriatric, maternal/child, home health concerns, current health issues, and communicable disease outbreaks NEW protocols include arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), elder abuse, stroke symptoms, and Zika virus Post-operative conditions and considerations have been added to numerous protocols Expanded appendices include altered mental status, PTSD, suicide prevention, and emergency preparedness Alpha-organized protocols help you quickly locate topics by symptom or condition Table of contents by body system helps you quickly locate topics by body system, body part or set of related symptoms Peer-reviewed by nursing experts Easy-to-follow question-asking flow chart - Yes or No answers lead to specific care recommendations Ideal guidance for all nurses, particularly those in triage and ambulatory practice Sorts life-threatening problems from those not requiring physician or emergency care Increases consistency of advice and documentation Nurse Alerts - help the nurse identify potentially life-threatening conditions related to the symptoms and provides additional information to consider when choosing a protocol or triaging the caller's concern Symptoms alpha-organized and grouped by level of urgency, addressing injuries, trauma, pain, swelling and other symptoms for: Body part problems Body system problems Chronic and infectious diseases Behavioral problems Pediatric-specific problems Maternal/obstetric specific problems or conditions Sections under every symptom or condition include: Key Questions to ask caller Other Protocols to Consider Reminder - what to note for proper documentation Assessment - Yes or No questions to determine the urgency of symptoms or conditions Actions - clear direction following Yes or No answers to questions Immediate actions - proven protocols that refer caller to emergency, physician, or at-home care instructions Home Care Instructions - comprehensive actions to take before emergency care, before appointment, or at-home care Emergency Instructions - in-the-moment first aid Report the Following Problems - what caller should tell their personal or ER physician Seek Emergency Care Immediately - if certain symptoms occur Reminder to determine if caller agrees with the advice provided and if not, reevaluate Must-have resource for medical offices, clinics, schools, community referrals, emergency departments, urgent care centers, home health agencies and managed healthcare providers About the Author Julie Briggs, RN, BSN, MHA, has an extensive background in Emergency Nursing, Management, Telephone Triage, Emergency Preparedness, Utilization Review and Quality Management. She is currently providing consulting and training services. She has been employed by Providence Health and Services in Portland, Oregon for the past 15 years in the capacity of Medical Management RN Care Coordinator and as the Manager of the Emergency Department at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center. Additionally, she served in the role of Director for multiple units including the Emergency Department, Critical Care, Cardiac Cath Lab, Ambulatory Care, and Radiology for 13 years at Good Samaritan Medical Center in Puyallup, Washington. She has authored numerous books in Telephone Triage, Emergency Nursing Triage, and Homemaker/Home Health Aide Training.

Women's Healthcare in Advanced Practice Nursing, 3rd ed. by Ivy M. Alexander; Versie Johnson-Mallard; Elizabeth A. Kostas-Polston et al, 2024 Holistically addresses women's health, encompassing the needs of transgender and nonbinary individuals and considering ethnicity, social class, and disability/ableness Delivering incisive and comprehensive information on the healthcare needs of women, transgender, and nonbinary persons, the third edition of this distinguished text incorporates a strong focus on the provision of high value, equitable, and unbiased care. It expands research and clinical frameworks for understanding women's health to encompass transgender and nonbinary persons and places women's health within a holistic perspective considering ethnicity, social class, and disability/ableness. All chapters are significantly updated with new evidence-based research, clinical updates and guidelines, drug information, Covid-related information, racism, and health disparities. This text also covers current and pertinent health topics such as substance use and abuse, mental health, early pregnancy decision-making, and LGBTQ+ care, as well as abundant integrated information on care of transgender and nonbinary individuals, and enhanced information on pregnancy and primary care issues that disproportionately affect females. The book is organized for ease of use and is comprised of three distinct but interrelated sections on theoretical frameworks to guide approach and care, health promotion and prevention, and managing health conditions. Rich instructor resources include mapping content to AACN Essentials, case studies, a test bank, and PowerPoint slides. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: Focuses on providing equitable, unbiased care for all women including transgender and nonbinary individuals Updated with new evidence-based research, clinical updates and guidelines, drug information, Covid-related information, and racism and health disparities information Expanded information on care of transgender individuals Enhanced content on pregnancy and related issues Four-color presentation to enhance readability Incorporates content in WHNP and CNM national certification examination blueprints Key Features: Distills cutting-edge information on women's health issues through a sociocultural framework Edited by renowned scholar/educators for AP nursing students Organized to provide easy retrieval of clinical information Addresses genetics, LGBTQ+ health, endocrine-related problems, health considerations for women caregivers, dementia care, and more Includes relevant web resources and apps in each chapter Provides extensive instructor toolkit to foster critical thinking

Wright and Leahey's Nurses and Families: A Guide to Family Assessment and Intervention, 8th ed. by Zahra Shajani; Diana Snell, 2023 The ideal "how-to" book for harnessing the power of the nurse-family relationship! Use the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to assess families effectively and know when and how to intervene to reduce suffering and promote health. They are easy to-apply and practical models for nurses working with a wide variety of complex issues and family structures. You'll develop the knowledge you need to prepare, conduct, and document family interviews while you also hone your skills to use questions more effectively. You'll also learn how to avoid the three most common errors in family nursing and how to conduct a 15-minute interview. Revised & Updated! Applications of the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to today's complex health care environments and the evolving family New & Expanded! Coverage of diverse groups, pluralism, and cultural dynamics Expanded! Focus on the family within society and the challenges facing families today, including the pandemic and post-pandemic outcomes, bullying, violence, crime, and drugs Expanded! Content on nursing interventions to improve outcomes for the person with the disorder or illness by improving family engagement and effectiveness Detailed clinical guidelines for preparing, conducting, and documenting a family interview Clinical case examples that reflect the diversity of families in society today and the issues encountered in a variety of practice settings, including hospital, primary care, school, community, outpatient, and the home Case scenarios with reflective questions that use the nursing process and illustrate the connection between the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models.