Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of Medicine Websites
Balm of America: Patent Medicine Collection
The Smithsonian Institution began to collect objects related to health and medicine in 1881. It first obtained examples of patent medicines in 1930, acquiring packages of Haarlem Oil (or Dutch Drops), Dr. John Hooper’s Female Pills, and Roche’s Herbal Embrocation. Since then the Smithsonian’s collection of patent medicines has expanded to over 4,000 products, dating from the 19th century to the present day.
National Library of Medicine History of Medicine Collection
NLM-sponsored links to libraries with significant history of medicine collections, and other historical resources
Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine
"The Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL continues to build on its proud tradition of excellence in furthering the academic study of the history of medicine and an awareness of its importance." (From the website.)
Medical Humanities at New York University
"This site, established in 1994 at New York University School of Medicine, is dedicated to providing a resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others who are interested in the work of medical humanities." (Quoted from the website.)
History of the Health Sciences World Wide Web Links
Sponsored by the History of the Health Sciences Section of the Medical Library Association. Includes links to organizations, databases, bibliographies, listservs, newsgroups, and journals.
Osler Library Prints Collection
Over 2,500 visual documents related to the history of medicine that spans several centuries, countries, and artistic media.
History of Medicine Finding Aids Consortium
The Consortium now indexes over 3,600 finding aids from 35 institutions.
Medical Heritage Library
The MHL, a specialized research collection stored in the Internet Archive, currently includes nearly 60,000 digital rare books, serials, audio and video recordings, and ephemera in the history of medicine, public health, biomedical sciences, and popular medicine from the medical special collections of 22 academic, special, and public libraries.
Morton's Medical Bibliography Fifth Edition (Garrison-Morton)
This standard reference work for the history of medicine, biology, and dentistry was originated by Fielding H. Garrison, and expanded and revised through four editions by Leslie T. Morton. It was further revised and expanded by Jeremy M. Norman for the fifth edition. The fifth edition, published in 1991, was the last edition in book form; it contained nearly 9000 entries, most of which were annotated. This web version incorporates interactive features and other enhancements which significantly improve usability.
Online Researching Tools
History of Medicine Finding Aids Consortium
A search-and-discovery tool for archival resources in the health sciences that are described by finding aids and held by various institutions throughout the United States.
History of Medicine: Online Syllabus Archive
NLM Online Syllabus Archive (lists course outlines and contents from various institutions).
The world's largest collection of syllabi in the history of medicine. This valuable site can be searched by Professors, Titles, Institutions, and Subjects.
How to Research and Write a Medical History Paper
This is an excellent site that is a primer for individuals who would like to research and write a historical paper. The site includes links to several useful reference sources.
Index Catalogue of the Surgeon General's Office
National Library of Medicine's digital version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office in 5 series.
Contains more than a thousand academic journals, over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources: including the areas of history & biological sciences. (Available through Mayo intranet subscription only.)
Medical History (Journal)
Full journal contents published by the Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine.
WorldCat OCLC FirstSearch
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Mayo Archives Xplorer (MAX)
The online catalog of the Mayo Clinic Archival Collections and some History of Medicine Collections.
Media Support Services - Digital Assets MAUD
A public database housing historical and contemporary images taken by Mayo editorial (not medical) photographers.
History of Medicine at Mayo
Have a Recommendation?
If you'd like to suggest a History of Medicine website or online resource for this page, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org