Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACSM's Nutrition for Exercise Science by New from the American College of Sports Medicine! This clear and highly applied overview of exercise nutrition illustrates difficult concepts using real-world examples and case studies that allow students to put learning into practice. Well-known author Dan Benardot draws on his vast experience as an instructor, scientist, and practitioner to craft an engaging and factual resource that makes the nutrition of exercise science accessible. Written at a level appropriate for both exercise science majors and non-majors, this practical book is packed with helpful in-text learning aids and stunning visuals that bring concepts to life. As an ACSM publication, this text offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. eBook available. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. Case studies with discussion questionsin every chapter show real-world application of the science of nutrition.Important Factors to Considerboxesthroughout chapters summarize key points. Practical advice and clear explanationsin every chapter prepare students for effective practice. In-text learning aids,includingChapter Objectives,boxedKey Terms,bulletedChapter Summaries, and multiple-choiceChapter Questions,help students master the content of the course.Practical Application Activityboxesthat challenge students to get actively involved with the content include such activities as using a nutrition tracker to assess their diet for a full day and analyze their energy balance.
Call Number: RC1235 .B46 2019
Introduction to Sports Medicine and Athletic Training by France's INTRODUCTION TO SPORTS MEDICINE AND ATHLETIC TRAINING, 3rd Edition, equips you with a solid understanding of the functional concepts of the human body and then teaches you how to apply that knowledge to real-life practice. It combines comprehensive coverage of Nutrition, Sports Psychology, Kinesiology and therapeutic modalities with the latest research, concussion protocols and guidelines for First Aid, CPR and AED. An all-new section is devoted to athletes with disabilities and their right to participate, and an entire chapter is dedicated to special challenges that athletes face. Vivid illustrations, photos, artwork and diagrams bring chapter concepts to life. In addition, insight into a wide range of careers in the Sports Medicine field helps you plan for the future. It's the ideal text for anyone interested in athletics and the medical needs of athletes.
Call Number: RC1210 .F73 2019
Sports and Exercise Nutrition by This edition of McArdle, Katch, and Katch's respected text reflects the most recent, evidence-based information on how nutrition affects exercise and sports performance. Using high quality research to illustrate teaching points, the authors provide detailed yet accessible coverage of the science of exercise nutrition and bioenergetics, along with valuable insights into how the principles work in the real world of physical activity and sports medicine. New content, new research citations, and new case studies throughout help prepare students for a successful career in exercise science. eBook available . Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. New coverage. The authors provide new and expanded coverage of such key topics as special populations (diabetes, vegan), micronutrients, and exercise and nutrient prioritization. New activities and assignments direct students to the USDA's Super Tracker, where they can follow a personalized nutrition and physical activity plan and track their food intake and physical activities. New Case Studies. Each chapter contains case studies that connects personal health and exercise nutrition. Studies include real world examples that highlight application of dietary guidelines, weight control, body composition assessments, and practical physical activity recommendations. Striking full-color art program featuring more than 500 figures and images to bring the content to life . An accessible handbook approach makes detailed and challenging material more accessible. Focused organization. The book starts with coverage of the basic science of nutrition, builds on that, and ultimately applies the content to diverse exercise science contexts. Built-in learning aids . In every chapter, Test Your Knowledge assessments, Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition boxes, Connections to the Past features, Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition activities, Section Summaries, and Additional Insights help students master key content. FYIs interspersed throughout the text help bring timely examples to expand on information in the text. References include links to current research to help students expand on their knowledge and learning.
Call Number: TX361.A8 M38 2019