Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACSM's Clinical Exercise Physiology by ACSM's Clinical Exercise Physiology adapts and expands upon the disease-related content from ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th Edition, to create a true classroom textbook. This new resource offers research-based coverage of more than 35 conditions commonly seen in practice--from a host of cardiovascular disorders to immunological/hematological disorders. Condition chapters are organized by disease types and then divided into sections that cover specific conditions from a pathological and etiological perspective. To provide a complete view of clinical exercise physiology, the book also covers important considerations and foundational elements, such as screening, pharmacology, and electrocardiography. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, the text offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. Complete alignment with the latest ACSM's Guidelines ensures focused coverage of all essential topics. Evidenced-based coverage of over 35 conditions provides the most extensive coverage of diseases available for the course. A standard format in the conditions chapters (introduction, condition, pathology, clinical applications, case study, summary, and comorbidities case studies) makes specific information easy to find. A chapter on exercise genomics provides an overview of this new field and its potential clinical applications, while a separate chapter on electrocardiography provides a solid foundation for those who need to read and interpret EKGs. Special considerations beyond the conditions, such as comorbidities, the exercise environment, legal considerations, lifespan considerations, pharmacology, etc.) ensure complete coverage of clinical exercise physiology. In-text learning aids, including chapter-opening summaries and learning objectives, end-of-chapter review questions and case studies with questions for classroom discussion, help students prepare for practice.
Call Number: RC1201 .A27 2019
Acute and Emergency Care in Athletic Training by Athletic trainers are often the first ones on the scene when an individual sustains an acute injury. Therefore, knowing how to assess injuries and illnesses and begin treatment quickly is of vital importance for aspiring athletic trainers. Acute and Emergency Care in Athletic Training With Web Study Guide teaches students how to recognize and manage emergency conditions so they can provide appropriate patient care between the field and the emergency department. Authors Michelle Cleary and Katie Walsh Flanagan take an interdisciplinary approach, drawing from literature, position statements, and guidelines from numerous professional health care organizations to offer current evidence-based clinical best practices. The book's comprehensive coverage adheres to and incorporates guidelines from the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) and the Board of Certification (BOC), and it is one of the first textbooks to align with the competencies outlined in the CAATE 2020 standards. To prepare students to effectively provide appropriate care before getting an injured or ill athlete to the hospital, Acute and Emergency Care in Athletic Training includes the following learning aids: Case studies in the web study guide offer practical scenarios that will facilitate critical thinking and decision-making skills. Clinical Skills sidebars guide students through the process of completing specific tasks such as splinting, wound care, and airway maintenance. Red Flag sidebars indicate areas where significant caution is warranted. Decision-making algorithms and decision trees lead students through selecting the most appropriate treatment option based on a patient's signs and symptoms. Key terms are boldfaced in the text and are defined in the glossary section. With a full-color presentation and more than 280 photos and illustrations, the text takes a systematic approach to acute and emergency care, with the content divided into two parts. Part I provides critical information on prevention and risk management strategies, including developing an emergency action plan, conducting an emergency examination, and administering emergency medications. Part II then provides the basics of emergency evaluations, describing how to examine, treat, and manage common acute injuries and illnesses to limit the severity of these potentially life-threatening conditions. To aid instructors using Acute and Emergency Care in Athletic Training in the classroom, there is a full array of ancillaries, including a test package, an instructor guide with sample answers to the case study questions, and a presentation package plus image bank. When an athlete is injured on the field of play, time is of the essence. Acute and Emergency Care in Athletic Training is an invaluable resource for training and preparing the initial responders to recognize critical situations and treat the acutely injured or ill patient.
Call Number: RD97 .C64 2020x
Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics by This is the clearest and most straightforward biomechanics textbook currently available. By breaking down the challenging subject of sport and exercise biomechanics into short thematic sections, it enables students to grasp each topic quickly and easily, and provides lecturers with a flexible resource that they can use to support any introductory course on biomechanics. The book contains a wealth of useful features for teaching and learning, including clear definitions of key terms, lots of applied examples, guides to further reading, and revision questions with worked solutions. It has been significantly expanded to encompass rapidly developing areas, such as sports equipment design and modern optoelectronic motion analysis systems, and it includes a number of new sections that further develop the application of biomechanics in sports performance and injury prevention. A new companion website includes a test bank, downloadable illustrations and, where appropriate, suggestions for learning outcomes and/or lab-based sessions for lecturers. Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics has been an invaluable course companion for thousands of students and lecturers over the last decade. Engaging, direct, and now fully refreshed, it is the only biomechanics textbook you¿ll ever need.
Call Number: QP303 .G755 2019