Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please Note: If one of the feeds does not display properly, please refresh your browser. You may need to refresh more than once.
Wall Street Journal Articles
Harvard Business Review Articles
Fundamental Texts in the Mayo Clinic Collection - Project Management
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by The PMBOK® Guide-Sixth Edition - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the Sixth Edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge--including discussion of project management business documents--and information on the PMI Talent Triangle(tm) and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Innovation Project Management by Actionable tools, processes and metrics for successfully managing innovation projects Conventional project management methods are oftentimes insufficient for managing innovation projects. Innovation is lost under the pre-determined scope and forecasted environments of traditional project management. There is tremendous pressure on organizations to innovate, and the project managers responsible for managing these innovation projects do not have the training or tools to do their jobs effectively. Innovation Project Management provides the tools, insights, and metrics needed to successfully manage innovation projects--helping readers identify problems in their organization, conceive elegant solutions, and, when necessary, promote changes to their organizational culture. There are several kinds of innovation--ranging from incremental changes to existing products to wholly original processes that emerge from market-disrupting new technology--that possess different characteristics and often require different tools. Best-selling author and project management expert Harold Kerzner integrates innovation, project management, and strategic planning to offer students and practicing professionals the essential tools and processes to analyze innovation from all sides. Innovation Project Management deconstructs traditional project management methods and explains why and how innovation projects should be managed differently. This invaluable resource: Provides practical advice and actionable tools for effectively managing innovation projects Offers value-based project management metrics and guidance on how to establish a metrics management program Shares exclusive insights from project managers at world-class organizations such as Airbus, Boeing, Hitachi, IBM, and Siemens on how they manage innovation projects Explores a variety of types of innovation including co-creation, value-driven, agile, open versus closed, and more Instructors have access to PowerPoint lecture slides by chapter through the book's companion website Innovation Project Management: Methods, Case Studies, and Tools for Managing Innovation Projects is an essential text for professional project managers, corporate managers, innovation team members, as well as students in project management, innovation and entrepreneurship programs.
Making Things Happen by In the updated edition of this critically acclaimed and bestselling book, Microsoft project veteran Scott Berkun offers a collection of essays on field-tested philosophies and strategies for defining, leading, and managing projects. Each essay distills complex concepts and challenges into practical nuggets of useful advice, and the new edition now adds more value for leaders and managers of projects everywhere. Based on his nine years of experience as a program manager for Internet Explorer, and lead program manager for Windows and MSN, Berkun explains to technical and non-technical readers alike what it takes to get through a large software or web development project. Making Things Happen doesn't cite specific methods, but focuses on philosophy and strategy. Unlike other project management books, Berkun offers personal essays in a comfortable style and easy tone that emulate the relationship of a wise project manager who gives good, entertaining and passionate advice to those who ask. Topics in this new edition include: How to make things happen Making good decisions Specifications and requirements Ideas and what to do with them How not to annoy people Leadership and trust The truth about making dates What to do when things go wrong Complete with a new forward from the author and a discussion guide for forming reading groups/teams, Making Things Happen offers in-depth exercises to help you apply lessons from the book to your job. It is inspiring, funny, honest, and compelling, and definitely the one book that you and your team need to have within arm's reach throughout the life of your project. Coming from the rare perspective of someone who fought difficult battles on Microsoft's biggest projects and taught project design and management for MSTE, Microsoft's internal best practices group, this is valuable advice indeed. It will serve you well with your current work, and on future projects to come.
Results Without Authority by For project managers looking to establish credibility and drive winning results, author Tom Kendrick's groundbreaking system provides the key to leading cross-functional, outsourced, and other types of teams through every stage of the project cycle. Results without Authority is the definitive book on control--teaching the three principal levels of control, including project process, influence, and metrics, among other important areas. Readers learn the surefire way to keep projects moving forward: by relying only on these factors. The book's completely updated second edition includes new information on agile methods and evolving project management tools, strategies for working with virtual teams, analytical versus "blink" decision processes, the use (and misuse) of social media in project environments, and the myth of multitasking. For project leaders lacking clear-cut authority, getting everyone on board--and keeping them there--can be a challenge. Whether you're managing small, team-level projects or major organizational initiatives, Results without Authority is the must-have guide to getting the best outcomes for your company.
Team of Teams by What if you could combine the agility, adaptability, and cohesion of a small team with the power and resources of a giant organization? THE OLD RULES NO LONGER APPLY . . . When General Stanley McChrystal took command of the Joint Special Operations Task Force in 2004, he quickly realized that conventional military tactics were failing. Al Qaeda in Iraq was a decentralized network that could move quickly, strike ruthlessly, then seemingly vanish into the local population. The allied forces had a huge advantage in numbers, equipment, and training--but none of that seemed to matter. TEACHING A LEVIATHAN TO IMPROVISE It's no secret that in any field, small teams have many advantages--they can respond quickly, communicate freely, and make decisions without layers of bureaucracy. But organizations taking on really big challenges can't fit in a garage. They need management practices that can scale to thousands of people. General McChrystal led a hierarchical, highly disciplined machine of thousands of men and women. But to defeat Al Qaeda in Iraq, his Task Force would have to acquire the enemy's speed and flexibility. Was there a way to combine the power of the world's mightiest military with the agility of the world's most fearsome terrorist network? If so, could the same principles apply in civilian organizations? A NEW APPROACH FOR A NEW WORLD McChrystal and his colleagues discarded a century of conventional wisdom and remade the Task Force, in the midst of a grueling war, into something new: a network that combined extremely transparent communication with decentralized decision-making authority. The walls between silos were torn down. Leaders looked at the best practices of the smallest units and found ways to extend them to thousands of people on three continents, using technology to establish a oneness that would have been impossible even a decade earlier. The Task Force became a "team of teams"--faster, flatter, more flexible--and beat back Al Qaeda. BEYOND THE BATTLEFIELD In this powerful book, McChrystal and his colleagues show how the challenges they faced in Iraq can be relevant to countless businesses, nonprofits, and other organizations. The world is changing faster than ever, and the smartest response for those in charge is to give small groups the freedom to experiment while driving everyone to share what they learn across the entire organization. As the authors argue through compelling examples, the team of teams strategy has worked everywhere from hospital emergency rooms to NASA. It has the potential to transform organizations large and small.
Fundamental Texts in the Mayo Clinic Collection - Business Analysis
Business Model Generation by Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"
A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (Babok Guide) by A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge(R) (BABOK(R) Guide) is the only globally recognized standard of practice for business analysis. Developed through a rigorous consensus-driven standards process, the BABOK(R) Guide incorporates the collective wisdom and experience of experts in the field from around the world. Previous editions have guided hundreds of thousands of professionals in their work, and it has been adopted by hundreds of enterprises as the basis of their business analysis practice. This latest version of the guide extends its scope beyond business analysis in projects to address agile development, business process management, business intelligence, and business architecture. This thoroughly revised and updated version includes: - A concept model that unifies ideas and terminology across business analysis disciplines. - Restructured knowledge areas to support business analysis at every level from small tactical initiatives to major business transformations. - Five perspectives covering the most prominent business analysis disciplines and demonstrating how to apply the knowledge areas in different situations. - Coverage of new business analysis techniques that have gained wide acceptance in the community. - Updated and revised content in every knowledge area and more Whether you are considering starting a career in business analysis, or you are an experienced professional in the field, the BABOK(R) Guide is your key resource to help you and your stakeholders discover opportunities for business success, deliver successful organizational change, and create business value.
Leading Change by John Kotter's now-legendary eight-step process for managing change with positive results has become the foundation for leaders and organizations across the globe. By outlining the process every organization must go through to achieve its goals, and by identifying where and how even top performers derail during the change process, Kotter provides a practical resource for leaders and managers charged with making change initiatives work. Needed more today than at any time in the past, this immensely relevant bestselling business book serves as both visionary guide and practical toolkit on how to approach the difficult yet crucial work of leading change in any type of organization. Reading this highly personal book is like spending a day with the world's foremost expert on business leadership. You're sure to walk away inspired--and armed with the tools you need to inspire others. Published by Harvard Business Review Press.
Driving Digital Strategy by Digital transformation is no longer news--it's a necessity. Despite the widespread threat of disruption, many large companies in traditional industries have succeeded at digitizing their businesses in truly transformative ways. The New York Times, formerly a bastion of traditional media, has created a thriving digital product behind a carefully designed paywall. Best Buy has transformed its business in the face of Amazon's threat. John Deere has formed a data-analysis arm to complement its farm-equipment business. And Goldman Sachs and many others are using digital technologies to reimagine their businesses. In Driving Digital Strategy, Harvard Business School professor Sunil Gupta provides an actionable framework for following their lead. For over a decade, Gupta has studied digital transformation at Fortune 500 companies. He knows what works and what doesn't. Merely dabbling in digital or launching a small independent unit, which many companies do, will not bring success. Instead you need to fundamentally change the core of your business and ensure that your digital strategy touches all aspects of your organization: your business model, value chain, customer relationships, and company culture. Gupta covers each aspect in vivid detail while providing navigation tips and best practices along the way. Filled with rich and illuminating case studies of companies at the forefront of digital transformation, Driving Digital Strategy is the comprehensive guide you need to take full advantage of the limitless opportunities the digital age provides.
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by In The Five Dysfunctions of a Team Patrick Lencioni onceagain offers a leadership fable that is as enthralling andinstructive as his first two best-selling books, The FiveTemptations of a CEO and The Four Obsessions of anExtraordinary Executive. This time, he turns his keen intellectand storytelling power to the fascinating, complex world ofteams. Kathryn Petersen, Decision Tech's CEO, faces the ultimateleadership crisis: Uniting a team in such disarray that itthreatens to bring down the entire company. Will she succeed? Willshe be fired? Will the company fail? Lencioni's utterly grippingtale serves as a timeless reminder that leadership requires as muchcourage as it does insight. Throughout the story, Lencioni reveals the five dysfunctions whichgo to the very heart of why teams even the best ones-oftenstruggle. He outlines a powerful model and actionable steps thatcan be used to overcome these common hurdles and build a cohesive,effective team. Just as with his other books, Lencioni has writtena compelling fable with a powerful yet deceptively simple messagefor all those who strive to be exceptional team leaders.
Publication Date: 2002-04-11
Contact for Updates
To suggest updates to this page, please contact Catherine Bachman: firstname.lastname@example.org