eBooks
Applied Anatomy in Liver Resection and Liver Transplantation, 2nd ed. by
This book has 20 chapters which cover a full range of knowledge about liver anatomy before one embarks on carrying out a liver operation on a patient. The knowledge ranges from external to internal anatomy of the liver, from pure anatomy to its application in liver operations, from vascular infiow/outflow of the liver to techniques used in reducing intraoperative blood loss, from Couinaud's liver segments to segment- based liver resection, and from the different approaches to liver resectional techniques to the different types of liver transplantation. The particular feature of this book is the heavy use of diagrams which makes reading easier. Surgeons in liver resection and liver transplantation in will find this book of value as a reference book.
ISBN: 9789811608001
Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery and Liver Transplantation: A Comprehensive Guide, with Video Clips by
This book describes and illustrates surgical procedures in the field of hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery and liver transplantation, including important cutting-edge techniques. Written by master surgeons from the Korean Association of Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery, it will be invaluable for all who are embarking on a career in this field or are seeking to improve their surgical skills. The three sections of the book focus on liver surgery, gallbladder and biliary surgery, and pancreatic surgery. A wide range of operative procedures are covered, including different techniques of hepatectomy, deceased and living donor liver transplantation, cholecystectomy, resection of choledochal cysts, procedures appropriate in the contexts of hilar and extrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma, pancreatectomy, and pancreaticoduodenectomy. Attention is drawn to essential tips and tricks, and each chapter includes video clips of the described procedures in addition to high-quality surgical photos and illustrations.
ISBN: 9789811619960
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology Board Review by
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology Board Review Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: Board Review with Multiple Choice Questions is the only source you will need to pass the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) transplant hepatology examination. Written by two highly experienced hepatologists, this indispensable study guide covers all the main topics tested on the exam: pre-transplant, perioperative, post-transplant, and transplant immunology. 261 multiple-choice questions with answers, including questions based on the authors' real-life cases, are designed to mimic the clinical scenarios you will encounter in hepatology practice. Questions testing your medical knowledge, clinical insight, and management skills are supported by brief topic overviews, key references, high-quality images, pathology slides, and cholangiograms. Throughout the book, "Pearls" and "Must-Know Facts" sections emphasize testable points that are likely to appear on the ABIM board examination. The first hepatology-specific study aid of its kind, Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: Board Review with Multiple Choice Questions is a must-have for medical professionals preparing for the hepatology boards, as well as practicing gastroenterologists and hepatologists who want to refresh their knowledge and test their proficiency in both fundamental and advanced hepatology topics.
ISBN: 9781119853527Publication Date: 2023-01-18
The Liver Graft Before Transplantation: Defining Outcome after Liver Transplantation by
The Liver Graft Before Transplantation: Defining Outcome After Liver Transplantation provides a comprehensive overview of pre-transplant assessment and conditioning of liver grafts to guide the best strategy for successful transplantation for better outcomes for patients. Sections provide an overview of the history and indications for liver transplantations as well as coverage of current practices used in transplantation. Next donor and liver graft assessment are discussed with specific coverage of diseases that carry a risk of recurrence after liver transplantation, including hepatocellular carcinoma, NASH, primary biliary cholangitis, primary sclerosing cholangitis, and viral hepatitis. Finally, the impact of the use of suboptimal liver grafts and clues to make the right trade-of between benefit and risk are discussed. This is the perfect reference for clinicians who need a comprehensive, clinically relevant overview of pre-transplant assessment and conditioning of liver grafts and want to know what to expect in future years. Provides a comprehensive overview of pretransplant assessment and conditioning of liver grafts in one reference Provides the latest information in the rapidly evolving field of machine perfusion Includes expert opinions that help readers understand and anticipate issues to be addressed regarding the donor and the allograft before transplantation.
ISBN: 9780323996563Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Liver Transplantation: Clinical Assessment and Management, 2nd ed. by
Explore this practical and step-by-step guide to managing liver transplant patients from leading international clinicians in Hepatology; The newly revised Second Edition of Liver Transplantation: Clinical Assessment and Management delivers expert clinical guidance on best practices in managing the care of liver transplant patients. Authors are all experts in their field and cover a world-wide perspective. Organized in an accessible, stepwise fashion and packed with text features such as key points, the book covers all critical areas of each stage of the liver transplant journey, from assessment, to management on the list, to long term care. Readers will learn when to refer a patient for liver transplantation, how to assess a potential liver transplant recipient, learn the principles of the procedure and the long term management of the transplant recipient. Liver Transplantation provides the entire hepatology and surgical team the information required for a sound understanding of the entire procedure, from pre- to post-operative care and management. Clinically oriented and management-focused, the book is far more accessible than the liver transplant sections in traditional hepatology textbooks. Readers will also enjoy: A thorough discussion of when to refer a patient for liver transplantation, including general considerations and the use and abuse of prognostic models An exploration of the selection, assessment, and management of patients on the transplant list, including how to manage a patient with chronic liver disease while on the waiting list A treatment of liver transplantation for acute liver failure (ALF), including assessment and management of ALF patients on the transplant waiting list A discussion of care of the liver transplant recipient after the procedure in the short and long term Perfect for gastroenterologists, hepatologists, and surgeons and other health care professionals managing patients with liver disease who are awaiting, undergoing and following liver transplantation, Liver Transplantation: Clinical Assessment and Management will also earn a place in the libraries of medical students, residents, internal medicine physicians, and GI/Hepatology trainees and all health care professionals providing clinical care to people with liver disease, before, during and after transplantation.
Publication Date: 2021-02-25
Liver Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
A concise, illustrated guide to the operative techniques and medical management of liver transplantation Filled with more than 1,000 images, illustrations, and bulleted text, this invaluable book provides a highly visual approach to liver transplantations for surgeons, gastroenterologists, hepatologists, and other healthcare professionals who treat patients with acute and chronic liver failure that requires full or partial transplantation.;You'll find coverage of all the topics relevant to liver transplantation, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. This book will serve as a guide to residents, fellows, and senior physicians. It is easy to read, simple, and practical; FEATURES. Over 1,000 high quality images and illustrations Ethical considerations of organ transplantation Essentials of liver disease Pre- and post-operative patient management Donor considerations Quality of life issues Operative techniques Pathology and imaging, and more
Liver Transplantation and Hepatobiliary Surgery: Interplay of Technical and Theoretical Aspects by
In the past, liver resections and liver transplantations were performed by different surgical teams, with very little interplay between the two. However, the evolution toward more complex operations called for an increasingly intense interaction between these surgical techniques: split liver and living donor liver transplantation have become popular in the transplant community, utilizing the Coinaud segmental anatomy in a very sophisticated way, while portal and arterial resection and reconstruction have become indispensable methods for treating Klatskin tumors infiltrating the hepatic hilum. This book offers a complete overview of the connections between liver transplantation and hepatobiliary surgery. It focuses on ex situ techniques for resection of tumors at the suprahepatic confluence, with or without venous reconstruction, and on total vascular exclusion of the liver with the aid of a venovenous bypass that should be a surgical option for referral centers in hepatopancreatobiliary surgery. By taking into consideration the development of minimally invasive liver surgery, it will introduce readers to a variety of new perspectives such as: vascular exclusion techniques with or without extracorporeal circulation, hemodynamic implications and lessons learned from liver transplant surgery, and technical details on pediatric transplantation and its informative role in modern biliary tract surgery.
ISBN: 9783030197629
Mathematical Approaches to Liver Transplantation by
Mathematical Approaches to Liver Transplantation provides mathematical approaches to the optimization of liver graft distribution. Through mathematical and computational methods, several aspects related to organ allocation are tackled, with possible solutions presented. The book discusses topics such as patient selection for liver transplantation, transplantation procedures, dynamics of organs waiting list, improvement on grafts allocation, live donors and MELD scale. The content focuses on liver transplantation, however the mathematical approaches presented can be successfully replicated to different organs. This book is a valuable source for mathematical biologists, bioinformaticians, and several members of biomedical field who are involved in decision-making related to organs transplantation.
ISBN: 9780128174364Publication Date: 2020-03-19
eBooks
Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
With 600 photos and illustrations--this highly visual, concise guide provides everything you need to know about transplanting the kidney and pancreas The kidney is are the most commonly transplanted organ, and the liver is the second most-common (80% of pancreas transplantations are done in combination with kidneys). Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation provides a concise, visual approach to learning through hundreds of high-quality operative images and bulleted text--everything you need to successfully perform operations on and medically manage these vital organs. It covers every relevant topic, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. Each chapter provides an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, pre- and post-operative patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.
Pediatric Liver Transplantation by
Written and edited by global leaders in the field, Pediatric Liver Transplantation: A Clinical Guide covers all aspects of treatment and management regarding this multifaceted procedure and unique patient population. This practical reference offers detailed, focused guidance in a highly templated, easy-to-consult format, covering everything from pre-transplantation preparation to surgical techniques to post-operative complications. Provides an in-depth understanding of all aspects of pediatric liver transplantation, ideal for pediatric hepatologists, pediatric transplant surgeons, and others on the pediatric transplant team. Covers all surgical techniques in detail, including split graft, living related, auxiliary, and domino. Discusses pediatric liver transplantation consideration for an increasing number of additional metabolic, hematologic and renal conditions; breakthroughs in grafting and stem cell therapy; and techniques and present role of hepatocyte transplantation. Uses a quick-reference templated format; each chapter includes an overview, pathophysiology, conventional management, controversies, and bulleted summary of key take-aways. Includes state-of-the-art mini-reviews based on updated references and author experience throughout the text. Features a full-color design with numerous algorithms, figures, and radiological and histopathological photos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Abdominal Organ Transplantation by
Pediatric abdominal organ transplantation is a complex procedure that requires a multidisciplinary team to ensure that outcomes are consistently excellent. This book highlights the surgical point of view of the surgical aspects of multiorgan transplantation. It is intended to deepen the knowledge of these types of transplants for medical students, nurses, doctors, and anaesthetists. This book will serve to expand the understanding of the general concepts of pediatric abdominal transplantation, focusing on the indications, surgical techniques, and complications of each type of graft for all multidisciplinary team members.
ISBN: 9781003849285
Textbook of Liver Transplantation: A Multidisciplinary Approach by
Liver transplantations require a complex and varied, multidisciplinary approach involving not only hepatologists and surgeons but also pathologists, psychologists, professional educators, nurses and, in the case of young patients, also pediatricians and development experts. This textbook provides an overview of the management problems involved in liver transplantation for acute and chronic liver disease, pediatric liver transplantation and the psychosocial aspects of liver transplantation. A closing chapter, focusing on the developments and future prospects in liver transplantation, outlines the potential offered by donors after cardiac death, cell therapies and organogenesis. The multidisciplinary approach is also maintained in the selection of authors, all experts actively engaged in the various disciplines involved in liver transplantations. This aspect, together with its precise and didactic descriptions of all phases of liver transplantation for chronic and acute diseases – from managing waiting lists to post-transplant complications – make the book a valuable tool for fellows, trainees, and specialists in the field seeking accurate framework for liver transplantation in its many facets.
ISBN: 9783030829308
Transplantation of the Liver, 3rd ed. by
Drs. Busuttil and Klintmalm present Transplantation of the Liver, 3rd Edition, which has been thoroughly revised to offer you the latest protocols, surgical approaches, and techniques used in this challenging procedure. Encompassing today's expert knowledge in the field, this medical reference book is an ideal single source for authoritative, up-to-date guidance on every imaginable aspect of liver transplantation. "They have, in fact, succeeded in raising the bar yet again and making their work product even better in the third edition of Transplantation of the Liver." Forewords by, Thomas E. Starzl, June 2015 Access valuable pearls, pitfalls, and insights from Dr. Ronald Busuttil and Dr. Goran Klintmalm, two of the world's preeminent experts in liver surgery. Understand today's full range of transplantation techniques with complete step-by-step descriptions of each, and access the background information and management options for each hepatic disease entity. Take advantage of detailed discussions of everything from pathophysiology and patient and donor selection, to transplantation anesthesia and operative procedures; immunosuppression; postoperative care; and ethical issues. Overcome your toughest challenges in liver transplantation. Many new and thoroughly revised chapters include: Deceased Organ Donation after Cardiac and Brain Death; Liver Transplantation for Non-Alcoholic Steatohepatitis; Extended Criteria Donors; Best Techniques for Biliary and Vascular Reconstruction in Living Donor Transplantation; Small for Size Syndrome; Dual Grafts for Transplantation; Arterial Reconstructions-Pitfalls; Transition of Pediatric Patients to Adulthood; Immunosuppressive Biologic Agents; Long Term Toxicity of Immunosuppressive Therapy; Stem Cell and Liver Regeneration; and Extracorporeal Perfusion for Resuscitation of Marginal Grafts. Stay current in your field and optimize patient outcomes with coverage of the most recent advances in living donor transplantation, pediatric transplantation, and gene and stem cell therapy. Access the latest information on anti-rejection/immunosuppressive drugs, as well as comprehensive discussions of each drug or combination of drugs used to suppress immune system. Effortlessly search the entire text online at Expert Consult.
Transplantation of the Pancreas, 2nd ed. by
Now in its fully revised and expanded second edition, this textbook remains the definitive resource on pancreas transplantation. Enlarged, updated and improved, it consists of 93 chapters over 11 sections, with chapter authors who are recognized international leaders in their fields and represent institutions from five continents. Since the publication of the original edition in 2004, substantial progress has been made in the field of pancreas transplantation, specifically in regard to standardization of operative techniques and immunosuppression; significant improvements in patient and graft survival rates; and improved diagnosis and therapy of graft rejection and recurrence of disease. Pancreas transplants are no longer primarily performed in the USA and Europe for Type 1 diabetes mellitus; over the past 15 years, they have been performed with increasing frequency worldwide and also for Type 2 diabetes mellitus. The new edition of this textbook covers all aspects of pancreas transplantation: indications, recipient categories, surgical donor and recipient techniques, living donor transplantation, postoperative management and follow-up, post-transplant complications and malignancies, immunosuppression, treatment and diagnosis of rejection, impact on endocrine function and secondary complications of diabetes, recurrence of disease, quality of life, economic issues and overall outcome results. In addition, state-of-the art chapters focus on the classification, epidemiology and pathogenesis of Type 1 and 2 diabetes mellitus as well as on other beta-cell replacement therapies including islet auto- and allo-transplantation. This textbook is the primary reference on pancreas transplantation for transplant surgeons (established and in-training), pancreas and HPB surgeons, diabetologists, endocrinologists, gastroenterologists, pancreatologists and other health professionals with a focus on transplantation and diabetes (cardiologists, neurologists, urologists, ophthalmologists).
ISBN: 9783031209994
