eBooks
Dietary Interventions in Gastrointestinal Diseases: Foods, Nutrients, and Dietary Supplements by
Dietary Interventions in Gastrointestinal Diseases: Foods, Nutrients and Dietary Supplements provides valuable insights into the agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions in the gastrointestinal system. It provides nutritional treatment options for those suffering from gastrointestinal diseases including Crohn's Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Ulcerative Colitis and Allergies, among others. Information is presented on a variety of foods, including herbs, fruits, soy and olive oil, thus showing that changes in intake can change antioxidant and disease preventing non-nutrients and affect gastrointestinal health and/or disease promotion. This book serves as a valuable resource for biomedical researchers who focus on identifying the causes of gastrointestinal diseases and food scientists targeting health-related product development.
ISBN: 9780128144688Publication Date: 2019-01-16
Dietary Interventions in Liver Disease: Foods, Nutrients, and Dietary Supplements by
Dietary Interventions in Liver Disease: Foods, Nutrients, and Dietary Supplements provides valuable insights into the agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions in the liver. It provides nutritional treatment options for those suffering from liver disease. Information is presented on a variety of foods, including herbs, fruits, soy and olive oil, thus illustrating that variations in intake can change antioxidant and disease preventing non-nutrients that affect liver health and/or disease promotion. This book is a valuable resource for biomedical researchers who focus on identifying the causes of liver diseases and food scientists targeting health-related product development.
ISBN: 9780128144664Publication Date: 2019-01-16
Essentials of Nutrition in Medicine and Healthcare: A Practical Guide by
Good nutrition is essential for health and the treatment of disease. This new handbook aims to provide students, doctors and healthcare professionals with essential information to apply medical nutrition theory in their everyday practice.
Essentials of Nutrition in Medicine and Healthcare: A Practical Guide takes a systems-based approach to medical nutrition. It includes the pathophysiology of nutrition-related disease as well as the clinical application of nutrition theory in disease management and the role of nutrition in public health. It covers the basics of physiology and biochemistry, including relevant drug-nutrient interactions.
This will be an invaluable asset for all those not already trained in clinical and public health nutrition who wish to understand more about nutrition and its role in the management and prevention of disease.
eBooks
Neonatology Questions and Controversies: Gastroenterology and Nutrition, 4th ed. by
Dr. Richard Polin’s Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the toughest challenges facing physicians and care providers in clinical practice, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today’s practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient.
The thoroughly updated, full-color, 4th Edition of Gastroenterology and Nutrition:
Provides in-depth clinical overviews of both common and rare neonatal GI and nutritional disorders, offering guidance based on the most up-to-date understanding of underlying pathophysiology. Places emphasis on controversial areas that can entail different approaches. Features the most current clinical information throughout, including the dynamic composition of human milk for precision nutrition, how the developmental biology of the GI tract relates to optimizing nutrition for the most vulnerable infants, interactions of the gut with the brain and other organs, associations between the GI tract and nutritional health and disease with individual nutrients, microbes, and metabolites, and more. Covers rapidly emerging technologies such as artificial intelligence and multiomics for predictive analytics, as well as in augmenting our understanding of mechanisms of pathophysiology. Discusses how diagnoses such as sepsis, bronchopulmonary dysplasia, and central nervous system disorders relate to a breakdown of homeostasis in the intestinal tract. Utilizes a consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily, and contains numerous charts, graphs, radiographic images, and photographs throughout. Offers the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care.
Outpatient Nutrition Care: GI, Metabolic and Home Nutrition Support, 2nd ed. by
As the number of patients receiving home care nutrition support increases, proper assessment and management of this therapy is crucial, and clinicians need to practice at an advanced level. This new edition provides practical nutrition care information for professionals working with individuals outside of the hospital including registered dietitians, nurses, pharmacists, and physicians. It covers screening, assessing, and treating malnutrition; out-patient nutrition care in diabetes, cardiovascular disease, gastrointestinal disease, and home enteral and parenteral nutrition. Each chapter describes the disease process as well as the management of the disease or therapy. Key Features: Presents practical information on proper nutrition care of individuals in the outpatient setting and those receiving home nutrition support. New information on GI tests and procedures; gastroparesis/pancreatitis, parenteral lipids, and bariatric surgery. Expanded chapter on short bowel syndrome chapter and malabsorptive disorders. Additional information on feeding options including an overview of oral, oral supplements, enteral and parenteral nutrition. Teaches the user additional information on diseases processes and as well as the management of the disease or therapy.
ISBN: 9780367338732Publication Date: 2023-11-13
Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide to Practice, 2nd ed. by
The latest edition of this textbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of the major issues specific to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition. The textbook begins with a section on gastroenterology and nutrition that presents the overall scope of issues encountered in children suffering from disorders of the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas, and/or presenting nutritional issues, as well as current and future prospects on the use of prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics. The second section is centered around hepatology, reviewing congenital and acquired disorders of the biliary tract and liver, as well as analyzing available diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and future perspectives. Written by experts in the field, Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide, Second Edition is an indispensable resource for students, trainees, and clinicians, sure to distinguish itselfas the definitive reference on this topic.
