Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- Academy of Nutrition and DieteticsGuidelines and Positions
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health PromotionDietary Guidelines for Americans
- ClinicalKey | Nutrition Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Core eBooks
Adult Malnutrition: Diagnosis and Treatment by
This book is the only single source of comprehensive information on malnutrition, a key point of focus for the dietetics field. This book will provide the reader with the knowledge required to diagnose and treat malnutrition in a variety of people in multiple care settings. Authored by clinical experts in malnutrition, each chapter will be written by nutrition professionals with expertise in different aspects on malnutrition.
ISBN: 9781032011868Publication Date: 2022-10-21Adult Nutrition Care Manual
The Adult Nutrition Care Manual® (NCM®) provides research-based nutrition information written by expert Registered Dietitian Nutritionists who are specialists in adult clinical nutrition.- The PNCM® is authored by the Pediatric Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group (PNPG) of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- The SNCM® is authored by the Sports and Human Performance Nutrition (SHPN) Dietetic Practice Group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare by
Proven methods for diagnosing and managing nutritional changes in patients with chronic diseases and conditions Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare fills the well-recognized evidence-practice gap between the nutrition knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed for nutrition care and the nutrition education provided by medical schools. Focusing on nutrition and dietetics, it walks you through the process of maintaining patients' energy balance while also providing sufficient nutrients, such as protein, vitamins, and minerals. Evidence-based chapters address the effects of diet on health and a comprehensive array of illnesses. Essentials of Clinical Nutrition for Healthcare is organized into three major sections: The fundamentals of nutrition and how it applies to clinical practice, including nutrition through the lifespan and personalized nutrition Diverse scenarios on how nutritional state and metabolism behave in a morbid condition Expert advice for counseling and coaching for behavior change to impact patients' lifestyles Covering specific topics ranging from cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes, and hypertension to depression, anxiety, and dementia, Essentials of Clinical Nutrition for Healthcare provides everything you need to know to stay ahead of the curve on this important topic.
ISBN: 9781264581887Publication Date: 2024-07-05
Essentials of Nutrition in Medicine and Healthcare by
Good nutrition is essential for health and the treatment of disease. This new handbook aims to provide students, doctors and healthcare professionals with essential information to apply medical nutrition theory in their everyday practice.
Essentials of Nutrition in Medicine and Healthcare: A Practical Guide takes a systems-based approach to medical nutrition. It includes the pathophysiology of nutrition-related disease as well as the clinical application of nutrition theory in disease management and the role of nutrition in public health. It covers the basics of physiology and biochemistry, including relevant drug-nutrient interactions.
This will be an invaluable asset for all those not already trained in clinical and public health nutrition who wish to understand more about nutrition and its role in the management and prevention of disease.
ISBN: 9780702080418
Nutrition Across Life Stages, 2nd ed. by
Good nutrition is a critical component at every stage of life. Nutrition Across Life Stages, Second Edition covers topics applicable and relevant for entry-level Nutrition and Dietetics students who are focusing their study on nutritional requirements and challenges during each life stage. The text clearly and comprehensively presents the impact of nutrition on people across the life cycle, moving through each life stage by first highlighting normal nutritional needs before delving into the implications of nutrition for health and disease at each particular stage of life.Each new print copy includes a 365-day Navigate eBook access. Instructor resources include test bank, slides in PowerPoint format, image bank, and instructor's manual with learning objectives, chapter outlines, answers to in-text questions, and more.
ISBN: 9781284207323Publication Date: 2022-02-16
Nutrition Counseling and Education Skills: a Practical Guide, 8th ed. by
Collaboratively written members of the Nutrition Educators of Dietetic Preceptors (NDEP) of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics under the editorship of Judith A. Beto, Nutrition Counseling and Education Skills: A Practical Guide helps students and dietetic practitioners develop the communications, counseling, interviewing, motivational, and professional skills they'll need as Registered Dietitian professionals. Throughout the book, the authors focus on effective nutrition interventions, evidence-based theories and models, clinical nutrition principles, and knowledge of behavioral science and educational approaches.Key features:- Offers enhanced case studies and hands-on activities that allow students to put concepts into practice, and relate specifically to real world situations RDNs will face- Demonstrates the shift to online/hybrid modes of education and counseling, exploring telehealth, digital presentation tools, social media, and more.- Provides a focus on the dietary patterns of people vs. simply concentrating on BMI- Meets the newest ACEND accreditation standards, covering CP, DI, and DPD requirements for ACEND accredited programs. - Includes the latest USDA Dietary Guideline for Americans 2020-2025 and data throughout, and provides the Australian and Canadian dietary guidelines within the digital appendices.- Offers four new videos that demonstrate nutrition and counseling and encourage role play- Features unparalleled instructor resources, which include a test bank with 200+ questions, PowerPoint slides, instructor manual, and over 100 supplemental forms.
ISBN: 9781284238532Publication Date: 2023-02-02
Nutrition Essentials: Practical Applications by
Perfect for the introductory, non-majors course, Nutrition Essentials: Practical Applications, equips students with the knowledge and know-how to navigate the wealth of health and nutritional information (an misinformation) available to them, and determine how to incorporate it into their everyday lives. Throughout the text, this acclaimed author team delivers current, science-based information in a format accessible to all students, while urging them to take responsibility for their nutrition, health, and overall well-being. With a wealth of teaching and learning tools incorporated throughout the text, Nutrition Essentials empowers readers to monitor, understand, and affect their own nutritional behaviors!
ISBN: 9781284251906Publication Date: 2022-10-13
Treating Food Allergies with Modern Medicine by
Treating Food Allergies with Modern Medicine is a comprehensive, empowering source of practical knowledge for individuals, parents, caregivers, and others who are dealing with, or need to be prepared to deal with, food allergies and how to best treat them.
ISBN: 9798885900225
Education
- Academy of Nutrition and DieteticsContinuing Professional Education
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at:
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.