Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines, 3rd ed. by
Each chapter defines the problem, how often it occurs, and what leads to the problem. To aid in assessment, the book includes the physical examination landmarks as well as diagnostic tests that might be needed. A plan of care is offered with several different alternatives for treatment and then notes what type of follow-up is needed. This would be a great resource for anyone working in the field of geriatrics...Score: 92 - 4 Stars! --Doody's Reviews This hands-on text and clinical reference--used by thousands of NP students and practitioners alike--delivers national practice guidelines and professional standards of care to help clinicians deliver optimal primary care to adult and older adult patients. The new third edition, featuring the expert input of two renowned Adult-Gerontology practitioners, updates all chapters, teaching guides, and illustrative charts and provides new charts to enhance readability. Fresh content includes information on Sjogren's syndrome; reactive arthritis; elder abuse; LGBTQ health; concussion assessment; joint pain, bursitis, and fractures; peripheral neuropathy; and perimenopause/menopause. The third edition also includes the updated Beers Criteria and covers COVID-19 treatment and vaccines. Ideal for quick reference and as a study guide, the text presents the most up-to-date guidelines in a consistent, easy-to-read, bulleted format. Conveniently organized by body system, it features detailed content on the physical examination and diagnostic testing, information on health promotion, guidelines of care, dietary information, common procedures, national patient resources, and popular Client Teaching Guides--available in print and digital format--that serve as both patient handouts and concise study tools. Clinical points throughout the text highlight critical practice considerations. The book, with its great breadth and depth of information, will be a welcome companion for NP students as they transition to professional practice and beyond. Purchase includes access to eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: Completely updated content including patient teaching guides and charts New charts added to enhance comprehension Coverage of Sjogren's syndrome; reactive arthritis; elder abuse; LGBTQ health; concussion assessment; joint pain, bursitis, and fractures; peripheral neuropathy, and perimenopause/menopause Latest guidelines on COVID-19 treatment and vaccines Updated Beers Criteria Current CDC recommendations on vaccines and cancer screening Key Features: Offers consistent guidelines for over 275 disorders Presents practice guidelines organized by body system Lists disorders alphabetically for easy access Highlights key considerations for practice Delivers individual care considerations for adult, geriatric, and pregnant patients Provides Client Teaching Guides serving as both take-home teaching supplements for patients and a concise study tool for students
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Core eBooks
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8th ed. by
The leading text on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive guide combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering unmatched coverage of this area of medicine. Anchored in evidence-based medicine and patient-centered practice, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology presents the most up-to-date, medical information available. This updated eighth edition reflects the continued growth and increasing sophistication of geriatrics as a defined medical discipline. The book focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older adults. In addition, it provides valuable insights into the simultaneous management of multiple conditions, including psychological and social issues and their interactions, an intrinsic aspect of geriatric patient care. Features: A greater emphasize on the growing knowledge base for key topics in the field, including gerontology, geriatrics, geriatric conditions, and palliative medicine NEW chapters on: Social Determinants of Health, Health Disparities and Health Equity Age Friendly Care Geriatrics Around the World The Patient Perspective Substance Use and Disorders Applied Clinical Geroscience Managing the Care of Patients with Multiple Chronic Conditions UPDATED contributions from a respected and diverse team of geriatricians and subspecialists to reflect clinical breakthroughs and advances NEW: Extensive coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on vulnerable older adults Updated Learning Objectives and Key Clinical Points Hundreds of full-color images A Doody's Core Title for 2022!
ISBN: 9781260464450Publication Date: 2022-06-13
Brocklehurst's Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by
The leading reference in the field of geriatric care, Brocklehurst's Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8th Edition, by Drs. Howard M. Fillit, Kenneth Rockwood, and John B. Young, provides a contemporary, global perspective on topics of importance to today's gerontologists, internal medicine physicians, and family doctors. An increased focus on frailty, along with coverage of key issues in gerontology, disease-specific geriatrics, and complex syndromes specific to the elderly, makes this 8th Edition the reference you'll turn to in order to meet the unique challenges posed by this growing patient population. Consistent discussions of clinical manifestations, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and more make reference quick and easy. More than 250 figures, including algorithms, photographs, and tables, complement the text and help you find what you need on a given condition. Clinical relevance of the latest scientific findings helps you easily apply the material to everyday practice. A new chapter on frailty, plus an emphasis on frailty throughout the book, addresses the complex medical and social issues that affect care, and the specific knowledge and skills essential for meeting your patients' complex needs. New content brings you up to date with information on gerontechnology, emergency and pre-hospital care, HIV and aging, intensive treatment of older adults, telemedicine, the built environment, and transcultural geriatrics. New editor Professor John Young brings a fresh perspective and unique expertise to this edition.
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition by
The leading introductory textbook on geriatrics - completely updated and revised. A Doody's Core Title for 2019 Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics is an engagingly written, up-to-date introductory guide to the core topics in geriatric medicine. Since 1984, its goal has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient. Presented in full-color, this classic features a strong focus on the field's must-know concepts, from the nature of clinical aging to differential diagnosis of important geriatric syndromes to drug therapy and health services. The Eighth Edition has been completely revised to provide the most current updates on the assessment and management of geriatric care. FEATURES: Numerous tables and figures that summarize conditions, values, mechanisms, therapeutics, and more. Thorough coverage of preventive services and disease screening. Eight chapters devoted to general management strategies. Important chapters on ethical issues and palliative care. Appendix of Internet resources on geriatrics Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition is the best resource available to help healthcare professionals provide the innovative, cost-effective, and person-centered care that older people and their caregivers deserve.
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics by
Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references. Features an interdisciplinary perspective to provide team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. Contains a new chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Medicine in Older Adults, as well as completely revised or rewritten chapters on rehabilitation, infectious disease, and urinary incontinence. Provides up-to-date information on key topics such as opioid management and polypharmacy, the "geriatric emergency room,? cultural humility in the care of older adults, and the five signs of problematic substance abuse. Includes key learning objectives and USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Online extras include dizziness, gait, and balance video resources, a dermatology quiz, and a Cognitive Status Assessment with tests and patient teaching guides. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine by
Practically focused and evidence based, Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine compiles the essential information needed by rapid response teams (RRT) for early intervention at the bedside of an acutely ill patient. This portable resource is ideal for hospitalists and other members of the RRT, offering step-by-step coverage of the assessment and stabilization information most needed at the time of emergency. Addresses the most common rapid response situations in a brief, highly templated, and bulleted format designed for quick reference at the point of care. Step-by-step coverage includes: Which stabilization measures to implement; Which tests to order and why; Which medications to administer, including dosage; Which specialists to consult for further interventions. A must-have reference for hospitalists, intensivists, ICU nurses, and other rapid response team members, including those working in rural settings with few intensivists specialists available for consults. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Geriatric Emergent/Urgent and Ambulatory Care: The Pocket NP, 2nd ed. by
Now in its second edition, this reference guide for nurse practitioners and other health care providers in emergency, medical, screening, fast track, and/or geriatric settings continues to provide ultra-quick access to key assessment and management information.
The Pocket NP delivers a wealth of information for assessment and management of the most-commonly encountered problems in fast-track settings. Arranged in a logical head-to-toe format, it includes the history, physical examination, and essential medical decision-making considerations needed to walk you step-by-step through a typical patient encounter.
Assessing Capacities of Older Adults by
This book uses detailed case examples to demonstrate how to address practical and ethical challenges when evaluating capacities of older adults with neurocognitive disorders.
ISBN: 9781433831546Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Functional Performance in Older Adults, 4th ed. by
Support the very best health, well-being, and quality of life for older adults!
Here’s the ideal resource for rehabilitation professionals who are working with or preparing to work with older adults! You’ll find descriptions of the normal aging process, discussions of how health and social factors can impede your clients’ ability to participate in regular activities, and step-by-step guidance on how to develop strategies for maximizing their well-being.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by
The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this acclaimed annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 converts lengthy and cumbersome text into a practical, relevant collection of available options for busy clinicians. This go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Each topic is carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine and the text is presented in a convenient, easy-to-navigate outline and tabular format. * Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities * NEW: Updates reflecting the review of more than 150 guidelines * NEW: Updates to guidelines for screening/prevention of ASCVD; anxiety disorders in children, pediatric obesity, chronic pain, neonatal hyperbilirubinemia; and osteoarthritis * NEW: Numerous topics have been added, including screening and prevention of eating disorders, COVID vaccination in pregnancy, prevention of pelvic floor dysfunction, management of chest pain, left ventricular thrombus, delirium * Guideline Discordance tables highlight when major guidelines do not mirror each other * Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and the text is enhanced by a convenient outline and tabular format * Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use
- Nutrition Care Manual | Older Adult Nutritionfrom the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Mayo Clinic Resources
____________________
Mayo Clinic Intranet Sites
Geriatrics – Department of Medicine – ARZ
Geriatrics – Southwest Wisconsin
Division of Community Internal Medicine, Geriatrics & Palliative Care - MW
Senior Services in Southeast Minnesota
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: