AskMayoExpertThis link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
Mayo FormularyThis link opens in a new windowList of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick GuideWe designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
AccessEmergencyMedicineThis link opens in a new windowCollection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
AccessMedicineThis link opens in a new windowReference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
AccessPediatricsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Ferri's Best Test: a Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging by Fred F. Ferri, 2023Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024 by Fred F. Ferri, 2024This book is intended to be a clear and concise reference for physicians and allied health professionals. Its user-friendly format is designed to provide a fast and efficient way to identify important clinical information and to offer practical guidance in patient management. The book is divided into five sections and an appendix, each with emphasis on clinical information.
The tremendous success of the previous editions and the enthusiastic comments from numerous colleagues have brought about several positive changes over time. This is the 26th edition of Ferri’s Clinical Advisor , a bestseller nationally and internationally and now available in multiple languages. Each section has been significantly expanded from prior editions, bringing the total number of medical topics covered in this book to more than 1200. New illustrations, tables, and boxes have been added to this edition to enhance recollection of clinically important facts. The expedited claims submission and reimbursement ICD-10CM codes are included in all topics.
Ferri's Practical Guide by Fred F. Ferri, 2014For nearly 25 years, Ferri's concise, pocket-sized resource has served as the go-to reference for practical, clinical information among students, residents, and other medical professionals. Formerly known as Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient, this volume continues to provide a fast, effective, and efficient way to identify the important clinical, laboratory, and diagnostic imaging information you need to get through your internal medicine clerkship or residency "...useful for those planning an elective or clinical work in the USA or countries with a similar approach to health care". Reviewed by: Jacob F de Wolff, on behalf of British Journal of Hospital Medicine Date: October 2014 Benefit from the expert guidance of Dr. Fred Ferri, a leading teacher, clinician, and author. Confidently manage patients with the latest clinical information, drug therapies, and lab tests. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with this updated and streamlined title, which still stays true to the Ferri name. Quickly find important information with content organized into three major sections: Section I, titled "Surviving the Wards," contains information on charting, laboratory evaluation and formulary; Section II provides the differential diagnosis of common signs and symptoms likely to be encountered in the acute care setting; Section III has been completely revised and subdivided into 11 specialty specific diseases and disorders. Carry just the sections you need, add personalized materials, and keep everything together and safe with an improved ring binder and design. Access the full text and procedural videos online at Expert Consult.
ClinicalKeyInteractive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
GuidelineCentralOver 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat,
prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 by Jacob A. David, 2023The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Features NEW: Highlights instances where major guidelines conflict. Formatted for easy fact-finding in both print and digital platforms. Organized by screening, prevention, and treatment. Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine. Text is enhanced by a convenient outline format. Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use.
NIH Clinical Trials ListingThis link opens in a new windowProvides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by Richard P. Usatine; Mindy Ann Smith; E. J. Mayeaux et al, 2019The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2022! "The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, Third Edition, will be an invaluable addition to busy physicians' clinical libraries. Its wide-ranging topics covering the gamut of family medicine are thoroughly covered and efficiently organized for point-of-care use. This, as well as its useful and exceptional photographs, will make it a resource the clinician will reach for again and again during evaluation of unfamiliar conditions. Residents and students will find it particularly useful as they systematically broaden their experiences and fund of knowledge--well done! " --Family Medicine The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Family Medicine, 5th Edition by Jeannette E. South-Paul; Samuel C. Matheny; Evelyn L. Lewis, 2020Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide. An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants Features Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues
Family Medicine by Paul M. Paulman; Robert B. Taylor; Audrey A. Paulman et al, 2022Since the publication of the 7th edition of this book, there has been a remarkable increase in information in several clinical areas, including cardiology, immunology and oncology. This rapid knowledge expansion has led to practice changes for family physicians and other primary care providers. Patients are now discharged from tertiary care hospitals to their home communities with life sustaining left ventricular assist "heart pumps". Hepatitis C, once an incurable illness, is now routinely cured. Oncology treatment regimens are increasingly becoming ambulatory and individualized. The decreased cost and increasing availability of health monitoring devices will make it possible for physicians to remotely check on the health status of their patients in their homes. With the ongoing and worsening shortage of family physicians across the US, the practice model for family medicine in the future may tend toward a family physician supervising a cast of mid-level providers as they care for a panel of patients, versus the physician providing the majority of care. All of these changes will require practice pattern changes and a need for up to date sources of information for the family physician. In addition, the "family" of family medicine academic organizations is undertaking a major review of the practice, training, funding and evaluation of all aspects of family medicine. Eight family medicine organizations have launched the "Family Medicine for America's Health" (FMAHealth) with the expressed purpose "to strategically align work to improve practice models, payment, technology, workforce and education, and research to support the triple aim". This project has moved past the study phase and will soon move to the implementation phased. This book is organized into short, focused chapters almost exclusively dedicated to topics relevant to daily practice. All lead authors are themselves accomplished family physicians who can specifically address the needs, concerns, and interests of this crucial profession. As one of the key reference textbooks for family medicine, it is very important to provide the most up-to-date knowledge to support learners and practitioners of family medicine in the face of rapidly expanding clinical knowledge and the extensive self-examination of family medicine. Family Medicine: Principles and Practice, 8th Edition, is a must-have reference for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurse practitioners and physician assistants with an active role in patient care.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Grant C. Fowler, 2020Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Primary Care Medicine by Allan H. Goroll; Albert G. Mulley, 2021Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
Textbook of Family Medicine by Robert E. Rakel; David P. Rakel, 2016This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Conn's Current Therapy 2023 by Rick D. Kellerman; David P. Rakel, 2023Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn's Current Therapy presents today's evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2023 edition is an excellent resource for a wide range of healthcare professionals, including primary care, subspecialists, and allied health, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new chapters on leg edema and venous stasis, multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C), monoclonal antibodies, and genetic testing. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors and two new associate editors, Drs. Joel J. Heidelbaugh and Ernestine M. Lee, who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow et al, 2024The #1 annually updated general medical text -presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine. For more than six decades, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables readers to find the answers they need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 reflects the latest developments in medicine, guidelines, references, and more. You'll find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. This trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care and includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 features: A comprehensive approach to patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of drug treatment tables for quick access to indexed trade names Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images Year in Review highlighting the many topics with significant clinical changes over the last year Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present complex information in an at-a-glance style Hundreds of full-color photos and illustrations New to this edition: Latest USPSFT recommendations for cardiovascular risk prevention Significant new opioid prescribing guidelines from the CDC Clarification on the distinction between uncontrolled hypertensive and hypertension emergency Latest classification of lymphomas released by the WHO Recommendations for the initiation and titration of treatment for chronic hypertension in pregnancy Current treatment guidelines and medications for H pylori infection Classification of the role, dosing, and potential risks of JAK inhibitors and anti-23 antibody (Risankizumab) in the treatment of IBD Updates that underscore the growing utility of combination treatments for high LDL levels, especially among high and very high-risk patients The WHO revision of the pathological classification of renal cell carcinoma to assist with prognosis prediction and treatment decisions
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics by Gregg A. Warshaw; Jane F. Potter; Richard J. Ham et al, 2022Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references. Features an interdisciplinary perspective to provide team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. Contains a new chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Medicine in Older Adults, as well as completely revised or rewritten chapters on rehabilitation, infectious disease, and urinary incontinence. Provides up-to-date information on key topics such as opioid management and polypharmacy, the "geriatric emergency room,? cultural humility in the care of older adults, and the five signs of problematic substance abuse. Includes key learning objectives and USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Online extras include dizziness, gait, and balance video resources, a dermatology quiz, and a Cognitive Status Assessment with tests and patient teaching guides. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics Paperback by Jonas Noe; Arvind Rengarajan; Xiaowen Wang et al, 2020Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Established for more than 75 years, The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics, 36th Edition , provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of every area of medicine and the core subspecialties--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. Discover why housestaff and faculty worldwide depend on this best-selling resource for day-to-day clinical practice in internal medicine. Offers brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Presents valuable content in a concise, practical format that includes easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, algorithms, dosing, and treatment information. Provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance--all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Edited by Internal Medicine Chief Residents from the Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. The Washington Manual is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by LWW under license from Washington University. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e by Louise Walter; Anna Chang, 2021The highly rated geriatrics guide has been updated and streamlined, getting you up to speed on everything you need to know--quickly and efficiently One of the top-selling geriatrics guides in medicine, Current Diagnosis & Treatment:Geriatrics now covers the unique challenges clinicians are facing today,such as policies concerning special populations, care in collaboration with teams, and working within healthcare systems. Presented by a top-ranked group of internationally renowned experts, this concise and authoritative guide delivers everything you need to know about assessment, care, conditions, diseases, and symptoms of geriatric patients; provides a new focus on policy, society, and the global environment;and includes new chapters on assisted-living settings, HIV and aging, and aid in dying.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12th Edition by Alan H. DeCherney; Ashley S. Roman; Lauren Nathan et al, 2019An up-to-date clinically focused text written to answer even the most difficult obstetrics and gynecology question A Doody's Core Title for 2021! The single-source OB/GYN resource acclaimed for its currency, comprehensiveness, and strong focus on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management Expanded and extensively updated to reflect the latest research and advances - including the concepts of precision medicine Of value to medical students, residents, and practicing physicians who will find this an outstanding guide to the management of common and uncommon conditions Ready-to-apply coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes Strong emphasis on disease prevention and evidence-based medicine Hundreds anatomic drawings, image studies, diagrams, charts, and graphs NEW CHAPTER on Benign Disorders of the Uterine Corpus; Cardiac Disorders in Pregnancy and Pulmonary Disorders in Pregnancy are now two separate chapters for more detailed, focused coverage of these important topics Quick-access design facilities use at the point of care
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition by Maya Bunik; William W. Hay; Myron J. Levin et al, 2022The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition: Color insert for dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious disease, and other chapters Optimized digital edition for improved search
Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider by Reid A. Waldman; Jane M. Grant-Kels. 2022Designed for today's busy family physicians, Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider is an easy-to-use reference covering the diagnosis and management of commonly seen dermatologic conditions. It provides practical, everyday guidance for quick reference at the point of care, including management pitfalls, clinical warning signs, specific treatment recommendations, and much more. Packed with need-to-know information, this unique resource is invaluable both when you are confident in your diagnosis and need guidance on next steps, or when you need step-by-step assistance on initial management in the absence of a definitive diagnosis. Highlights common management pitfalls, how to rule out acutely dangerous entities, and clinical warning signs requiring urgent referral. Provides specific treatment recommendations including which level of therapy is necessary, clear instructions on how to prescribe, and what to watch for. Includes numerous treatment algorithms throughout, as well as a differential diagnosis overview list in every chapter with cross-references to the corresponding page. Contains helpful information on patient education as well as answers to commonly asked patient questions. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting by Robert C. Smith; Dale D'Mello; Gerald G. Osborn et al, 2019An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
Essential Orthopaedics by Mark D. Miller; Jennifer Hart; John M. MacKnight, 2020The vast majority of orthopaedic care takes place not in the orthopaedic surgeon's office or operating room but in various primary care settings. Essential Orthopaedics, 2nd Edition, provides concise, practical guidance from noted authority Dr. Mark D. Miller, along with a stellar editorial team and numerous contributors from both orthopaedics and primary care. Using a templated, bulleted format, it delivers the information you need on diagnosis, management, and appropriate referrals for adult and pediatric patients. It's the perfect, everyday orthopaedic reference for primary care physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, and athletic trainers in the clinic or training room. Offers expert insight to help you confidently diagnose and treat sprains, fractures, arthritis and bursitis pain, and other musculoskeletal problems, or refer them when appropriate. Covers topics of high importance in orthopaedic care: anatomy and terminology, radiologic evaluation of orthopaedic conditions, principles of fracture management, and special considerations for the obese, the elderly, athletes, those with comorbidities, and other patient populations. Features 40 videos covering injections, physical examinations, common procedures, and more. Includes 12 new chapters with current information on physical exam of the hip and pelvis, femoroacetabular impingement (FAI), athletic pubalgia, state-of-the-art surgical techniques, and new imaging information, particularly in the area of musculoskeletal ultrasound. Provides new ICD-10 codes for common orthopaedic conditions. Features diagnostic algorithms, specific steps for treatment, and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Fracture Management for Primary Care and Emergency Medicine by M. Patrice Eiff; Robert L. Hatch, 2020Evaluate and treat common fractures and know when to refer uncommon ones to a specialist. This quick, practical resource presents detailed illustrations, video, and current best evidence for imaging and treating fractures so you can make accurate identifications and manage patients with confidence. Quickly find the information you need through a systematic, logical approach to each fracture. Accurately identify fractures through an extensive selection of imaging examples. Apply splints and reduce dislocations successfully thanks to detailed descriptions, illustrations, and narrated video. Tap into the latest best practices through evidence-based coverage and updated references. Effectively manage emergency situations using guidelines for emergent referral, greater detail regarding methods for closed reductions for fractures and dislocations, and more. Benefit from expanded content specifically for the emergency medicine setting, including CT, MRI, and ultrasound imaging, procedural sedation, and discharge reassessment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Primary Care by Geoffrey S. Ginsburg; Huntington F. Willard ; Sean P. David, 2017Genomic and Precision Medicine: Primary Care, Third Edition is an invaluable resource on the state-of-the-art tools, technologies and policy issues that are required to fully realize personalized health care in the area of primary care. One of the major areas where genomic and personalized medicine is most active is the realm of the primary care practitioner. Risk, family history, personal genomics and pharmacogenomics are becoming increasingly important to the PCP and their patients, and this book discusses the implications as they relate to primary care practitioners.
Medicinal Herbs in Primary Care by Jean M. Bokelmann, 2022Written specifically for the conventional medical healthcare provider, Medicinal Herbs in Primary Care forms an integral part of the primary care tool belt. Through a series of system-based disease tables, this unique title provides quick, authoritative guidance for the busy practitioner whose patient is requesting guidance on medicinal herbs. The disease tables are supported by herbal monographs that provide expanded details of the available preclinical and clinical evidence laid out in a system-based sequence. Together with the section on herbal basics, this practical reference contains the information today's medical healthcare providers need to develop familiarity with and confidence in the prescription of medicinal herbs. Provides quick answers and evidence-based prescribing guidance for medicinal herbs while also addressing complexities and co-morbidities in patient care. Features 48 system-based disease tables that identify herbs based on strength of evidence and indicate the scope of potential benefits for other conditions the patient may have. Includes 55 monographs for the most common medicinal herbs, with safety and precaution guidelines, summaries of preclinical and clinical trials, chemical constituents and actions, and prescription options for each. Contains an introductory section on the basics of medicinal herbs that dispels common misconceptions regarding herbal medicine. Discusses key topics such as herb-drug interactions, and includes information on SARS-COV-2 where appropriate. Uses typical medical abbreviations throughout for ease of use, and provides a glossary of terms for non-medical and alternative health care providers. Helps conventional medical practitioners partner with patients to determine safe herbal options when appropriate, and ensure safety and efficacy of herbal use. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Patients' LibrariesThe Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine LibraryThe W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowStrong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Case Files Family Medicine 5th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Donald Briscoe; Bruce S. Britton et al, 2020.REAL-LIFE CASES SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS FOR YOUR CLERKSHIP AND THE SHELF EXAM Case Files: Family Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in patient care. Each case begins with a vignette accompanied by relevant open-ended questions designed to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to family medicine. The answers that follow emphasize mechanisms and underlying principles. This sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life family medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition by Jason K. Wilbur; Mark Graber; Brigit Ray, 2019An engagingly written case-based review for the Family Medicine Board Examination and the USMLE Step 3 Widely recognized as the ideal study guide for the primary and recertification exams in family medicine and licensure exams, Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition has been updated throughout to maintain currency and freshness--including new bits of humor that make the book fun to read and studying more enjoyable. Featuring hundreds of progressive cases, this acclaimed review has been applauded by residents and students for its "building-block approach" to learning that assures readers understand one subject before moving on to the next. The Fifth Edition has also been enhanced with cutting-edge coverage of topics such as health maintenance, decision-making, and metacognition. *More than 350 progressive case studies that reflect the realities of clinical practice and prepare readers for the exams *A 200-question final exam with answers referenced to pages in the book *Detailed answer explanations for most questions that explain not only why an answer is right, but why the other answers are wrong *Comprehensive coverage of ALL topics on the boards and recertifying exam *Super-effective learning aids such as Quick Quizzes, learning objectives, clinical pearls, and more *Color photographs of conditions most easily diagnosed by appearance *Written not only to help pass exams, but to also update knowledge of family medicine with state-of-the-art information *An outstanding refresher for primary care physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links