eBooks
Advancing Older Adults' Well-being by
This book introduces part of the advances of the aging research conducted by Dr. Yang Wang and his collaborators since 2022. It covers several topics related to older adults, including their psychological and social well-being, their role as caregivers and care receivers, the impact of the maltreatment experience in early life, and how witnessing elder abuse could influence children. This book is composed of nine research articles and manuscripts. Most of the studies were conducted in China or USA, using nationally representative sample. This book is a valuable resource for readers who care about older adults' well-being and the advancement of it.
ISBN: 9789819735693
Aging: From Fundamental Biology to Societal Impact by
Aging: From Fundamental Biology to Societal Impact examines the interconnection of the cellular and molecular basis of aging and societal-based challenges and innovative interventions. Sections take a societal-based angle on aging, describing several flagship initiatives for healthy living and active aging in different regions, cover the biology of aging which includes the hallmarks of aging, explain the pathophysiology of aging, describing different comorbidities associated with aging and possible interventions to decrease the impact of aging, and envision future and innovative measures to tackle aging-related morbidities. Contributions from an interdisciplinary panel of experts cover such topics as the biology of aging to physical activity, nutrition, psychology, pharmacology, health care, social care and urban planning.
ISBN: 9780128237618Publication Date: 2022-09-23
Elder Abuse: Forensic, Legal and Medical Aspects by
Elder Abuse: Forensic, Legal and Medical Aspects focuses on the psychological, financial and physical abuse and neglect that is widespread in elder abuse across socioeconomic levels. It provides expert information on forensic and legal topics that professionals need to understand to confront these crimes. The topics included are those most important in the detection and prosecution of elder abuse. Identification and epidemiology are discussed, as are types and presentations of abuse. Written at a level for both professionals and students who wish to gain a broader understanding of specific forensic topics in elder maltreatment, this book is an ideal source.
ISBN: 9780128157794Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Handbook of the Biology of Aging by
Handbook of the Biology of Aging, Ninth Edition, provides a comprehensive synthesis and review of the latest and most important advances and themes in modern biogerontology. The book focuses on the trend of 'big data' approaches in the biological sciences, presenting new strategies to analyze, interpret and understand the enormous amounts of information being generated through DNA sequencing, transcriptomic, proteomic, and metabolomics methodologies applied to aging related problems. Sections cover longevity pathways and interventions that modulate aging, innovative tools that facilitate systems-level approaches to aging research, the mTOR pathway and its importance in age-related phenotypes, and much more.
ISBN: 9780128159620Publication Date: 2021-01-22
Loneliness in Older Adults by
Loneliness in Older Adults: Effects, Prevention, and Treatment analyzes loneliness as a complex phenomenon, taking into account the most recent contributions from neuroscience, psychology, medicine and sociology. This volume describes this phenomenon from an interdisciplinary point of view, with special emphasis on older people from a plural and heterogeneous perspective: older people in general, older immigrants, older women, older LGTBI, etc. Faced with the impact of this emerging issue, this book provides a comprehensive knowledge of loneliness, contributing scientific knowledge to the practice of evidence. Tools are also provided for professionals, providing intervention protocols with debates and proposals, and effective digital resources to combat it. Tables, images, and tools guide students, academics, and professionals step-by-step in solving the cases raised, through an integrated practice. There is no work that develops this theme from such a plural and pragmatic perspective, covering all the dimensions of loneliness in each of the thematic axes: psychological, neurological, social, and health. Readers are provided feedback for all the knowledge for a comprehensive scientific knowledge based on evidence and given the necessary instrumental skills related to being social and the functioning of our brain. This book is aimed at a very plural audience of researchers, academics and professionals in the social and behavioral sciences including psychologists, sociologists, social workers, anthropologists, and also professionals in the health sciences, among others.
A Multidisciplinary Approach to Managing Swallowing Dysfunction in Older People by
A Multidisciplinary Approach to Managing Swallowing Dysfunction in Older People provides comprehensive coverage on oropharyngeal dysphagia (OD), focusing on older patient phenotypes. The book provides the knowledge needed for translational researchers and professionals to aid in the detection, diagnosis, treatment and management of OD, ultimately improving patient quality of life. OD has been recently considered a geriatric syndrome because of its high prevalence, the increase of life-expectancy and the need to be managed by a multidisciplinary approach. This reference takes a novel approach to OD, covering all aspects as a geriatric syndrome, examining a complicated and multi-level topic in a succinct way. Contents include the most innovative information available in current literature combined with practical applications to improve the diagnosis and treatments of OD as a geriatric syndrome. This is the perfect reference for translational researchers, physicians and healthcare professionals dealing with OD.
ISBN: 9780323916868Publication Date: 2024-04-03
eBooks
Music and the Aging Brain by
Music and the Aging Brain describes brain functioning in aging and addresses the power of music to protect the brain from loss of function and how to cope with the ravages of brain diseases that accompany aging. By studying the power of music in aging through the lens of neuroscience, behavioral, and clinical science, the book explains brain organization and function. Written for those researching the brain and aging, the book provides solid examples of research fundamentals, including rigorous standards for sample selection, control groups, description of intervention activities, measures of health outcomes, statistical methods, and logically stated conclusions.- Summarizes brain structures supporting music perception and cognition- Examines and explains music as neuroprotective in normal aging- Addresses the association of hearing loss to dementia- Promotes a neurological approach for research in music as therapy- Proposes questions for future research in music and aging
ISBN: 9780128174234Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Physical Activity and the Aging Brain by
Physical Activity and the Aging Brain: Effects of Exercise on Neurological Function is a complete guide to the manifold effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain. Cognitive decline and motor impairment, onset of diseases and disorders, and even changes in family structure and social settings that occur as we age can all impact activity levels, yet continued physical activity is crucial for successful neurological functioning. This book examines the role that exercise and physical activity play in halting or modulating the deleterious effects of these numerous aging concerns by first examining the current state of research into how exercise manifests physical changes in the brain. It then discuss how physical activity combines with other lifestyle factors to benefit the aging brain, including nutrition, computerized brain training, and social engagement. Most significantly, it also covers how physical activity can serve as therapy to help alleviate the symptoms of various neurological diseases impacting aging populations, with particular emphasis on Alzheimer's disease and age-related cognitive decline. The book provides broad coverage of the effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain, its therapeutic effects, and the many factors that influence the aging process.
ISBN: 9780128050941Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by
A comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step methodology for mastering every aspect of the medical interview. Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships. The most evidence-based guide available on the topic, Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition applies the proven 5-step approach, which integrates patient- and clinician-centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and use of color to highlight key points, and pedagogy includes learning an practice exercises in each chapter.
Understanding End of Life Practices: Perspectives on Communication, Religion and Culture by
This book is an exploration of issues that are essential in end of life care. Understanding end of life practices across cultures and religions is important in the delivery of patient centered end of life care. This book helps clinicians and non-clinicians understand the various end of life practices in their vast patient populations, further contributing to providing empathetic and compassionate end of life care to patients. With the advent of many new options at the end of life, this book also explores the modern day approaches to end of life often sought by patients when faced with disease progression and adversity.
ISBN: 9783031299223Publication Date: 2023-10-19
