Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
2024 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy, 30th ed. by
Completely updated and revised, the 30th edition of this best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens. Free updates are available at aap.org/Nelsons. New in the 30th Edition Updated multiple drug-resistant gram-negative pathogens treatment recommendations with newly approved antibiotics Newer antibiotics, beyond vancomycin, to treat MRSA infections Updates on children's influenza, COVID-19, and enterovirus treatments Updates on travelers' diarrhea Latest guidelines for treatment of invasive pediatric fungal infections New guidelines for treatment of pediatric bacterial arthritis Recommendations on hepatitis C virus and cytomegalovirus treatment options; CHAPTERS INCLUDE Antimicrobial Therapy According to Clinical Syndromes Antimicrobial Therapy for Neonates Choosing Among Antibiotics Antifungal Agents Antiviral Agents Antiparasitic Agents Preferred Therapy for Specific Bacterial and Mycobacterial Pathogens; Fungal Pathogens; Viral Pathogens; and Parasitic Pathogens Approach to Antibiotic Therapy for Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative Bacilli and Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus Systemic and Topical Antimicrobial Dosing and Dose Forms Sequential Parenteral-Oral Antibiotic Therapy (Oral Step-Down Therapy) for Serious Infections Antimicrobial Prophylaxis/Prevention of Symptomatic Infection Approach to Antibiotic Allergies Antibiotic Stewardship Antibiotic Therapy for Children With Obesity And more...
ISBN: 9781610026970Publication Date: 2024-02-01
The Harriet Lane Handbook, 23rd ed. by
The product of their efforts was a concise yet comprehensive handbook that became an indispensable tool for the residents of the Harriet Lane Home. Ultimately, Robert Cooke (department chief, 1956–1974) realized the potential of the Handbook and the fifth edition was published for widespread distribution by Year Book. Since that time, the handbook has been regularly updated and rigorously revised to reflect the most up-to-date information and available clinical guidelines. It has grown from a humble Hopkins resident “pearl book” to become a nationally and internationally respected clinical resource
- Clinical Overviews Pediatrics | Clinical Key Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overviews
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- American Academy of PediatricsClinical Practice Guidelines
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesPediatrics
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Clinical Trials
- Mayo Clinic Clinical Trials Search by CONDITION, TREATMENT OR DRUG NAME
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Education
- American Academy of Pediatrics PediaLink (AAP login required) PediaLink: AAP Education (login required) - Your gateway to trusted, high-quality education in pediatrics, offering a rich gallery of live, virtual, and online learning experiences thoughtfully tailored for personalized learning at every career stage.
Applied Knowledge in Paediatrics: MRCPCH Mastercourse by
The essential guide to passing the MRCPCH Applied Knowledge in Practice (AKP) exam. Closely aligned to the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) theory examination syllabus and also reflective of current UK practice. Applied Knowledge in Paediatrics will leave the reader with a sound knowledge of all the core topics relevant to paediatrics and child health. It will also provide a useful study aid for those undertaking the MRCPCH Applied Knowledge in Practice examination. The book covers how and why illnesses develop in children and young people, the appropriate investigations and treatment required, the urgency of implementation and the impact of the disease process on the child and their family. This comprehensive text is edited by Dr Martin Hewitt, a Senior Theory Examiner for the AKP examination, and Dr Roshan Adappa a Senior clinician and postgraduate trainer, with expert input from more than 60 paediatric specialists. 33 chapters provide comprehensive information of all areas of paediatric practice. Directly aligned to the Applied Knowledge in Practice syllabus and examination 50 sample questions along with answers and reasoning explaining each of the answer options Chapter on how to prepare for the RCPCH AKP examination Clinical scenarios in each chapter outlining difficult clinical problems and proposed management plans Clinical images to aid understanding Level of detail to support clinical practice of paediatricians with 12-18 months experience
Case Files: Pediatrics, 6th ed. by
Sixty high-yield pediatrics cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Pediatrics teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book. Updated to reflect the most current high-yield clerkship topics and the latest in medical management and treatment
First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship, Fifth Edition by
Master all the high-yield information required to pass the pediatrics clerkship and the shelf exam First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship is the all-in-one content resource for acing the pediatrics rotation and shelf exam. This popular guide has been heavily revised with a new and updated focus on the most salient high-yield facts, along with clear background information where needed. Content has been streamlined to include only the most important facts to help you focus on--and learn--critical information. More than 100 supporting photos and illustrations New chapters on adolescent medicine and oncology Content has been thoroughly revised and updated, with notable changes made to the following content areas: newborn, emergency medicine and psychiatry New illustrations, flow charts, and other visuals Mini-cases begin discussions on major disorders to lay a clinical foundation to the presentation Special features include specific tips on how to succeed on rotations and on the shelf exam All content has been thoroughly reviewed for accuracy and relevance
ISBN: 9781264264490Publication Date: 2023-02-15
Pediatric Secrets, 7th ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Written by Drs. Richard A. Polin and Mark F. Ditmar, Pediatric Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Sleep Pearls by
Following in the steps of the bestselling Sleep Medicine Pearls, this practical resource provides authoritative guidance on the evaluation and management of common pediatric sleep medicine problems using concise clinical vignettes. Experts in this rapidly growing field, led by Drs. Lourdes M. DelRosso, Richard B. Berry, Suzanne E. Beck, Mary H. Wagner, and Carole L. Marcus, provide a hands-on, case-based approach, perfect for physicians studying for the sleep boards, fellows learning sleep medicine, and physicians who see children in their practice. Presents: Over 95 cases review key elements in the evaluation and management of a wide variety of pediatric sleep disorders.
Core eBooks
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition by
The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition: Color insert for dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious disease, and other chapters Optimized digital edition for improved search
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 22nd ed. by
The 22nd edition of Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics continues its tradition as an essential resource for general pediatric providers as well as pediatric subspecialists as they rely on the most current and modern approaches to diagnose and treat infants, children, and adolescents throughout the world. The 22nd edition has been thoroughly revised and updated by expert contributors and experienced editors to help the reader keep up with the huge advances in clinical care derived from basic, clinical, and population-based research. The promise that translational medicine will improve the lives of children has become a daily reality for most but not all children. Knowledge of human development, behavior, and diseases from the molecular to sociologic levels has led to greater understanding of health and illness in children and to substantial improvements in health quality for those who have access to health care. These exciting scientific advances also provide hope to effectively address prevention and treatment of new and emerging diseases threatening children and their families.
The field of pediatrics encompasses advocacy for all children throughout the world and must address societal inequalities of important resources required for normal development, as well as protection from natural and man-made disasters. Unfortunately, many children throughout the world have not benefited from the significant advances in the prevention and treatment of health-related problems. For medical advances to benefit all children and youth, good clinical practice must always be coupled with effective advocacy to overcome unconscious and systemic biases, lack of political will, and misplaced priorities.
This new edition of Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics attempts to provide the essential information that primary care and medical specialists, house staff, medical students, and all other care providers involved in pediatric health care throughout the world need to understand to effectively address the enormous range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems that our children and youth face. Pediatric subspecialists will benefit from the details of coexisting disorders often seen in their patients. Our goal is to be comprehensive yet concise and reader friendly, embracing both new advances in clinical science and the time-honored art of pediatric practice.
The 22nd edition is reorganized and revised from the previous edition. There are many additional chapters of new diseases, as well as substantial expansion or significant modification of others. In addition, many more tables, photographs, imaging studies, and illustrative figures, as well as up-to-date references, have been added.
ISBN: 9780323883054
Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23rd ed. by
Renowned for its balance of clinical features and treatment of disease with underlying biological principles, this classic sourcebook has helped generations of pediatricians optimize their care of infants, children, and adolescents. The Twenty-Third Edition of Rudolph's has been completely restructured and streamlined thanks to an all-new team of editors whose goal was to reinvent this classic with today's busy practitioner in mind. Presented in full color, the Twenty-Third Edition provides an up-to-date, in-depth survey of pediatric medicine unmatched by any other text. With its algorithmic approach to pediatric systems, the book facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of both common and uncommon pediatric illnesses; and it reflects new technologies and advances in molecular medicine that continue to evolve with current thinking about normal childhood development and pediatric disease processes.
Gomella's Neonatology, Eighth Edition by
The field's most trusted and comprehensive guide to treating common and rare problems in newborns. Gomella's Neonatology makes it easy to quickly retrieve information and includes sections on procedures and drug administration. The volume of information in this field has exploded over the last several decades and physicians, especially trainees, need a quick, dependable reference to inform their clinical decisions. Compared to other softcover neonatal handbooks, this is my favorite, and it has become the most widely used book in the NICUs that I have visited. It is no longer a small pocket-sized book, but its unique attribute of being both comprehensive and concise makes it the preferred reference in this area. The section of "On-Call" problems is invaluable to residents, and they are now frequently searching for the latest edition in our unit.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th ed. by
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
ISBN: 9780323775625Publication Date: 2022-02-28
Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 8th ed. by
Offering unparalleled coverage of infectious diseases in children and adolescents, Feigin & Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases 8th Edition, continues to provide the information you need on epidemiology, public health, preventive medicine, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and much more. This extensively revised edition by Drs. James Cherry, Gail J. Demmler-Harrison, Sheldon L. Kaplan, William J. Steinbach, and Peter J. Hotez, offers a brand-new full-color design, new color images, new guidelines, and new content, reflecting today's more aggressive infectious and resistant strains as well as emerging and re-emerging diseases Discusses infectious diseases according to organ system, as well as individually by microorganisms, placing emphasis on the clinical manifestations that may be related to the organism causing the disease. Provides detailed information regarding the best means to establish a diagnosis, explicit recommendations for therapy, and the most appropriate uses of diagnostic imaging. Features expanded information on infections in the compromised host; immunomodulating agents and their potential use in the treatment of infectious diseases; and Ebola virus. Contains hundreds of new color images throughout, as well as new guidelines, new resistance epidemiology, and new Global Health Milestones. Includes new chapters on Zika virus and Guillain-Barré syndrome. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neinstein's Adolescent and Young Adult Health Care, 7th ed. by
Neinstein's Adolescent and Young Adult Health: A Practical Guide, 7th Edition is your go-to resource for practical, authoritative guidance. The fully updated seventh edition, edited by Drs. Debra K. Katzman, Catherine M. Gordon, S. Todd Callahan, Richard J. Chung, Alain Joffe, Susan L. Rosenthal, and Maria E. Trent, offers a comprehensive view of the interdisciplinary nature of the field and is inclusive of the wide variety of health professionals who care for adolescents and young adults. This award-winning text features a full-color design, several new chapters, numerous algorithms, bulleted text throughout for quick reference at the point of care, and fresh perspectives from new editors--making it ideal for daily practice or certification examination preparation. Features significant revisions and new content on opioid use, vaping, gun violence, survivors of childhood cancer and other chronic illnesses, COVID, and more. Includes new chapters on Palliative Care and End of Life, Quality Improvement, Research, and Healthcare for Minoritized, Disenfranchised, and Marginalized Adolescents and Young Adults. Includes key topics such as technology use, the care of transgender adolescents and young adults, reproductive health, sports medicine, college health, and more Features a globally diverse editorial team and authors who are experts in their respective areas and who reflect the demographics of this wide-ranging field Offers comprehensive, evidence-based content from cover to cover, as well as numerous resources and websites on nearly every topic, where professionals, adolescents and young adults, and parents can find up-to-date information Continues to be a highly useful resource for pediatricians, family practitioners, gynecologists, internists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, residents, medical students, and fellows practicing in traditional primary care and specialty settings serving adolescents and young adults, as well as in school-based and college health centers, juvenile detention centers, emergency departments, urgent care centers and any other facility that provides care to this population." Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis: Common Diseases and Their Mimics, 2nd ed. by
Patients don't present with a disease; they present with symptoms. Using a practical, symptom-based organization Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis: Common Diseases and their Mimics, 2nd Edition, authoritative guidance on differential diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders in children and adolescents, and covers the symptoms you're likely to see in practice their mimics, and common disorders.
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 5th ed. by
The fifth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 165 pediatric infectious diseases.
Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with more than 1,350 finely detailed color images, combined with step-by-step guidance.
Other eBooks
Assessment and Treatment of Infant Sleep by
The first 2 years of life in humans are critical for the development of functions and skills that can determine a lifelong trajectory of well-being. Infants experience significant growth and maturation during this period, which requires a nurturing environment, adequate energy intake, and healthy sleep. The latter is affected by sleep duration and timing, sleep consolidation, and regulation, as well as medical conditions affecting sleep or those related to breathing, movements, or other factors. Disrupted sleep health has been associated with delayed developmental milestones, failure to thrive, overall poor physical and mental health, impaired family functioning and parental quality of life, and more—all of which emphasize the utmost importance of this subject.
As clinicians and clinical researchers specializing in pediatric sleep and working in academic settings, we have had the privilege of meeting many colleagues during their training and at conferences and had numerous discussions about the lack of resources available for this age group. Importantly, these discussions led to the realization that a book including an integrative view on medical, developmental, and behavioral topics on sleep during early childhood was needed. With this text, we hope to fill that gap by offering a comprehensive, evidence-based resource that includes the latest research and clinical knowledge about important topics in infant sleep for trainees, researchers, and clinicians.
ISBN: 9780323827591
Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics, 5th ed. by
Addressing the major advances in biomedical, psychological, social, and environmental sciences over the past decade, Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics, 5th Edition, remains the reference of choice for professionals in a wide range of fields, including medicine and health care, education, social service, advocacy, and public policy. This foundational, pioneering resource emphasizes children's assets and liabilities, not just categorical labels; Comprehensive in scope, it offers information and guidance on normal development and behavior, psychosocial, and biologic influences on development, developmental disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, and mental health conditions. It also discusses tools and strategies for diagnosis and management, including new assessments that can be used in telehealth encounters. Offers highly practical focus, emphasizing clinical approaches to evaluation, counseling, treatment, and ongoing care. Provides new or expanded information on theoretical foundations of human development and behavior; trauma, adverse childhood events, and resilience across the life span; mechanisms of genetic, epigenetic, and neurological conditions; and principles of psychological assessment, including a broad array of evaluation approaches. Discusses management and treatment for developmental and behavioral conditions, spanning common factors, cognitive behavior therapies, rehabilitative services, integrative medicine, and psychopharmacology. Contains up-to-date chapters on celebrating socio-cultural diversity and addressing racism and bias, acute stress and post-traumatic stress disorder in youth, sexuality and variation, and alternatives to restrictive guardianship. Begins each chapter with a colorful vignette that demonstrates the importance of the human dimensions of developmental-behavioral pediatrics. Offers viewpoints from an interdisciplinary team of editors and contributors, representing developmental-behavioral pediatrics, general pediatrics, psychiatry, psychology, occupational and physical therapy, speech-language pathology, and law. Provides the latest drug information in the updated and revised chapters on psychopharmacology.
Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics, 6th ed. by
This sixth edition of the acclaimed and award-winning 'Sunflower book' comprehensively covers the undergraduate curriculum in paediatrics and child health. Topics are made accessible with numerous colour images, diagrams and case studies, and revision is facilitated by key points and summary boxes. This has made the book a firm favourite of medical students as well as trainees approaching clinical speciality exams, both in the UK and internationally. Highly illustrated with hundreds of colour images and diagrams to assist learning. Case studies to explain important or complex clinical problem Key learning points: the editors identify the most clinically relevant facts. Summary boxes to aid revision.
Netter's Pediatrics, 2nd ed. by
Both an ideal learning tool for students and a superb resource for patient education, Netter's Pediatrics, 2nd Edition, is a rich visual aid featuring more than 500 images by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others working in the classic Netter style. The uniquely aesthetic and accurate artwork is accompanied by up-to-date text contributed primarily by physicians at the prestigious Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, all designed to work together to help you diagnose and care for children with common clinical conditions. New chapters, new features, and new online access makes this pediatrics resource a must-have for pediatric rotations, when studying for exams, or when preparing for patient consultations.
Offers at-a-glance information for a quick overview of common pediatric issues―from nutrition, allergy, infectious disease, and adolescent medicine to cancer and heart disease.
Depicts key details for each condition with 500 detailed, crystal-clear images provided by Dr. Frank H. Netter, Dr. Carlos Machado, and others working in the Netter tradition.
Features new clinical vignettes at the start of each chapter.
Includes numerous new chapters including transgender health, feeding and nutrition, device and technology management, endocrine dysnatremias, syndromic intellectual disability, and mitochondrial disorders.
Provides access to more than 20 printable patient education brochures online.
Pediatric Nutrition for Toddlers, School-aged Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults: A Clinical Support Chart by
This new point-of-care pediatric nutrition resource provides practitioners with a valuable and easy-to-use reference when evaluating and managing a pediatric patient’s nutritional intake and habits. In-depth tables and charts provide specific metrics to assist the clinician, broken out by age-group, activity level, biochemical value, specific nutrient, food group, and more.
The chart can be kept on hand throughout the clinical day to support the assessment of toddlers, school-aged children, adolescents, and young adults.
Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th ed. by
From the latest vaccination evidence, recommendations, and protocols . . . to new vaccine development and the use of vaccines in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th Edition, covers every aspect of vaccination. Now completely revised and updated from cover to cover, this award-winning text continues to provide reliable information from global authorities, offering a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Contains all-new chapters on COVID-19, vaccine hesitancy, and non-specific effects of vaccines, as well as significantly revised content on new vaccine technologies such as mRNA vaccines, emerging vaccines, and technologies to improve immunization. Presents exciting new data on evolution of adjuvants across the centuries, dengue vaccines, human papillomavirus vaccines, respiratory syncytial virus vaccines, tuberculosis vaccines, and zoster vaccines. Provides up-to-date, authoritative information on vaccine production, available preparations, efficacy and safety, and recommendations for vaccine use, with rationales and data on the impact of vaccination programs on morbidity and mortality. Provides complete coverage of each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, as well as epidemiology and public health and regulatory issues. Keeps you up to date with information on each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Covers vaccine-preventable diseases, vaccine science, and licensed vaccine products, as well as product technologies and global regulatory and public health issues. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles of Neonatology, 1st ed. by
Written by leading global experts in the field, Principles of Neonatology provides those on the NICU team with clinically focused, evidence-based guidance in an easy-to-access format. Chapters cover the key topics of greatest and most frequent concern to clinicians treating newborns, delivering current, data-driven management and treatment advice in a single source relevant to the seasoned practitioner, fellow, or trainee. A highly templated format makes it easy to find exactly the information you need.
Lavishly illustrated with photos, radiographs, drawings, and charts and graphs that clarify key concepts in a helpful and accessible way.
Evidence-based focus ensures that only the most reliable treatment protocols and clear-cut, data-driven guidance are included.
Coverage of all relevant topics in the NICU: skin lesions, congenital anomalies, architecture/development of neonatal intensive care units, pain control, anesthesia for newborn infants, and much more.
Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis by
Thousands of high-quality clinical photographs paired with authoritative clinical content make Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis the trusted, go-to resource for residents and physicians alike. In this thoroughly revised 8th Edition, Drs. Basil J. Zitelli, Sara C. McIntire, Andrew J. Nowalk, and Jessica Garrison, provide a much-needed visual perspective on pediatric illness, helping you hone your visual examination skills and improve your diagnostic accuracy. Features more than 3,000 color photographs supplemented by clear explanatory text, laboratory tests, tables, algorithms, imaging, and approximately 25 clinical videos. Emphasizes pertinent historical factors, examination techniques, visual findings, and diagnostic methods. Provide meticulously updated content throughout, including an extensively revised ophthalmology chapter. Discusses key topics in pediatrics such as development, child abuse, and adolescent gynecology. Covers both common and uncommon disorders, making it an excellent resource not only for clinical diagnosis, but also for studying for the pediatric boards. Lists actionable and practical references, bibliographies, and resources at the end of each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Covers the world's literature in psychology and the behavioral sciences including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics and medicine.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: