AskMayoExpertThis link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick GuideWe designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
DDx AccessMedicineDiagnosaurus provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. By using the various indexes, you can choose to view entries by organ system, or select to view the list of symptoms only, the list of diseases only, or all of the entries. For example, if you wish to review the causes of a patient's chief complaint, simply select the symptom or sign from the alphabetical listing. If you have made a diagnosis and wonder what other disorders to consider, select your diagnosis from the list to see its DDx.
VisualDxThis link opens in a new windowAids in the point of care identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries.
AccessMedicineThis link opens in a new windowReference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
AccessPediatricsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
MicromedexThis link opens in a new windowIntegrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum and Lab Advisor.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Ferri's Best Test: a Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging by Fred F. Ferri, 2023Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024 by Fred F. Ferri, 2024This book is intended to be a clear and concise reference for physicians and allied health professionals. Its user-friendly format is designed to provide a fast and efficient way to identify important clinical information and to offer practical guidance in patient management. The book is divided into five sections and an appendix, each with emphasis on clinical information.
The tremendous success of the previous editions and the enthusiastic comments from numerous colleagues have brought about several positive changes over time. This is the 26th edition of Ferri’s Clinical Advisor , a bestseller nationally and internationally and now available in multiple languages. Each section has been significantly expanded from prior editions, bringing the total number of medical topics covered in this book to more than 1200. New illustrations, tables, and boxes have been added to this edition to enhance recollection of clinically important facts. The expedited claims submission and reimbursement ICD-10CM codes are included in all topics.
Ferri's Practical Guide by Fred F. Ferri, 2014For nearly 25 years, Ferri's concise, pocket-sized resource has served as the go-to reference for practical, clinical information among students, residents, and other medical professionals. Formerly known as Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient, this volume continues to provide a fast, effective, and efficient way to identify the important clinical, laboratory, and diagnostic imaging information you need to get through your internal medicine clerkship or residency "...useful for those planning an elective or clinical work in the USA or countries with a similar approach to health care". Reviewed by: Jacob F de Wolff, on behalf of British Journal of Hospital Medicine Date: October 2014 Benefit from the expert guidance of Dr. Fred Ferri, a leading teacher, clinician, and author. Confidently manage patients with the latest clinical information, drug therapies, and lab tests. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with this updated and streamlined title, which still stays true to the Ferri name. Quickly find important information with content organized into three major sections: Section I, titled "Surviving the Wards," contains information on charting, laboratory evaluation and formulary; Section II provides the differential diagnosis of common signs and symptoms likely to be encountered in the acute care setting; Section III has been completely revised and subdivided into 11 specialty specific diseases and disorders. Carry just the sections you need, add personalized materials, and keep everything together and safe with an improved ring binder and design. Access the full text and procedural videos online at Expert Consult.
Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 by Jacob A. David, 2023The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Features NEW: Highlights instances where major guidelines conflict. Formatted for easy fact-finding in both print and digital platforms. Organized by screening, prevention, and treatment. Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine. Text is enhanced by a convenient outline format. Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use.
Clinical TrialsClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
Conn's Current Therapy 2023 by Rick D. Kellerman (Editor); David P. Rakel (Editor), 2023Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn's Current Therapy presents today's evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2023 edition is an excellent resource for a wide range of healthcare professionals, including primary care, subspecialists, and allied health, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new chapters on leg edema and venous stasis, multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C), monoclonal antibodies, and genetic testing. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors and two new associate editors, Drs. Joel J. Heidelbaugh and Ernestine M. Lee, who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow et al, 2024The #1 annually updated general medical text -presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine. For more than six decades, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables readers to find the answers they need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 reflects the latest developments in medicine, guidelines, references, and more. You'll find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. This trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care and includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 features: A comprehensive approach to patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of drug treatment tables for quick access to indexed trade names Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images Year in Review highlighting the many topics with significant clinical changes over the last year Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present complex information in an at-a-glance style Hundreds of full-color photos and illustrations New to this edition: Latest USPSFT recommendations for cardiovascular risk prevention Significant new opioid prescribing guidelines from the CDC Clarification on the distinction between uncontrolled hypertensive and hypertension emergency Latest classification of lymphomas released by the WHO Recommendations for the initiation and titration of treatment for chronic hypertension in pregnancy Current treatment guidelines and medications for H pylori infection Classification of the role, dosing, and potential risks of JAK inhibitors and anti-23 antibody (Risankizumab) in the treatment of IBD Updates that underscore the growing utility of combination treatments for high LDL levels, especially among high and very high-risk patients The WHO revision of the pathological classification of renal cell carcinoma to assist with prognosis prediction and treatment decisions
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper et al, 2022The Voice of Clinical ReasonHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases by John E. Bennett; Raphael Dolin; Martin J. Blaser, 2020For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics Paperback by Jonas Noe (Editor); Arvind Rengarajan (Editor); Xiaowen Wang (Editor) et al, 2020Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Established for more than 75 years, The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics, 36th Edition , provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of every area of medicine and the core subspecialties--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. Discover why housestaff and faculty worldwide depend on this best-selling resource for day-to-day clinical practice in internal medicine. Offers brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Presents valuable content in a concise, practical format that includes easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, algorithms, dosing, and treatment information. Provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance--all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Edited by Internal Medicine Chief Residents from the Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. The Washington Manual is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by LWW under license from Washington University. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Cecil Essentials of Medicine by Edward J. Wing (Editor); Fred J. Schiffman (Editor), 2022Known for its concise, easy-to-read writing style and comprehensive coverage, Cecil Essentials of Medicine has been a favorite of students, residents, and instructors through nine outstanding editions. This revised 10th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with a focus on high-yield core knowledge of key importance to anyone entering or established in the field of internal medicine. Fully revised and updated by editors Edward J. Wing and Fred J. Schiffman, along with other leading teachers and experts in the field, Cecil Essentials remains clinically focused and solidly grounded in basic science. New focus on high-yield, core knowledge necessary for clerkships or residencies in medicine, with concise, complete coverage of the core principles of medicine and how they apply to patient care. Each section describes key physiology and biochemistry, followed by comprehensive accounts of the diseases of the organ system or field covered in the chapters. Full-color design enhances readability and retention of concepts, while numerous imaging videos cover cardiovascular disease, endoscopy, sphincterotomy, and more. Superb images and photographs vividly illustrate the appearance and clinical features of disease. New chapters cover Women's Cancer and Transitions in Care from Children to Adults with Pulmonary Disease. Student Consult features include web-only extras, additional figures and tables, clinical photos, radiologic images, video procedures, imaging studies, and audio recordings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e by Louise Walter; Anna Chang, 2021The highly rated geriatrics guide has been updated and streamlined, getting you up to speed on everything you need to know--quickly and efficiently One of the top-selling geriatrics guides in medicine, Current Diagnosis & Treatment:Geriatrics now covers the unique challenges clinicians are facing today,such as policies concerning special populations, care in collaboration with teams, and working within healthcare systems. Presented by a top-ranked group of internationally renowned experts, this concise and authoritative guide delivers everything you need to know about assessment, care, conditions, diseases, and symptoms of geriatric patients; provides a new focus on policy, society, and the global environment;and includes new chapters on assisted-living settings, HIV and aging, and aid in dying.
Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine by Ian D. Penman (Editor); Stuart H. Ralston (Editor); Mark W. J. Strachan (Editor) et al, 2023Well over two million medical students, doctors and other health professionals around the globe have owned a copy of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine since it was first published over 70 years ago. Now in its 24th Edition, this thoroughly updated textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of trusted information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format. Key features: Part 1 'Fundamentals of Medicine' - provides an account of the principles of genetics, immunology, infectious diseases, population health, oncology and pain management, along with a discussion of the core principles behind clinical decision-making and good prescribing. Part 2 'Emergency and Critical Care Medicine' - covers medical emergencies in poisoning, envenomation and medicine in austere environments, as well as common presentations in acute medicine and the recognition and management of the critically ill. Part 3 'Clinical Medicine'- covers the major medical specialties, each thoroughly revised and brought fully up to date. A new section on COVID-19 has been added and the impact of this infection is described throughout the book. Clinical Examination overviews - extended and updated to summarise the main elements for each system. Presenting Problems sections - provide a clear pathway for the assessment of and approach to the most common complaints in each specialty. Practice Point summaries - detail the practical skills that medical students and junior doctors must acquire. Emergency boxes - emphasise the core knowledge needed to manage acutely ill patients. In Old Age, In Pregnancy and In Adolescence boxes - highlight differences in the practice of medicine in these patient groups, and illustrate the interfaces between medical, obstetric and paediatric services. The text is extensively illustrated - with over 1000 diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiology and pathology images. The global perspective is enhanced by an International Advisory Board of experts from 11 countries and by leading authors from around the world. The complete, downloadable eBook version is included with your (print copy) purchase - for easy access on your portable device, anytime, anywhere! Now enhanced with: NEW interactive self-assessment material - over 150 Questions and Answers test your understanding of chapter key points and aid efficient exam preparation Davidson's will serve readers everywhere as a core text that integrates medical science with clinical medicine, conveying key knowledge and practical advice in a highly accessible and readable format. REVIEWS Beautifully constructed with superb clarity of style - Davidson's continues to provide for students, doctors and other health professionals a sound basis for the practice of medicine. Royal Society of Medicine and Society of Authors Medical Book Awards This book comes through where others fail: an excellent textbook, easy to read and superb value. British Medical Journal
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Manish Suneja et al, 2020The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. * Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations * Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam .Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy. Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology. Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses. This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by Leonard G. Gomella, 2022An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves house staff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and house staff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by Diana Nicoll; Chuanyi Mark Lu; Stephen J. McPhee, 2017The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests. New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents, including the Zika and Ebola viruses Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests An entire section of diagnostic algorithms Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th Edition by Dan L. Longo; J. Larry Jameson; Joseph Loscalzo et al, 2020All the authority of the most trusted brand in medical content in a convenient, portable guide A Doody's Core Titles for 2023! The Harrison's Manual, derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition, delivers numerous clinical algorithms in one practical, portable resource. The Manual also includes abundant quick reference tables, plus concise text--providing rapid access to bedside information when decisions need to be made quickly. This full color summary guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in inpatient general medicine, so you can be sure to find invaluable content directly to your workflow and practice. The 20th edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine. The Manual truly makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters cover symptoms/signs, medical emergencies, specific diseases, and care of the hospitalized patient, with a particular focus on: Etiology and Epidemiology Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology Signs and Symptoms Differential Diagnosis Physical and Laboratory Findings Therapeutics Practice Guidelines, and more
Integrative Medicine by David P. Rakel (Editor); Vincent Minichiello (Editor), 2023Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and complementary medicine. Integrative Medicine, 5th Edition, uses a clinical, disease-oriented approach to safely and effectively incorporate alternative therapies into primary care practice. Drawing on available scientific evidence and the authors' first-hand experiences, it covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and other integrative medicine modalities. This highly regarded reference offers practical guidance for reducing costs and improving patient care while focusing on prevention and wellness for a better quality of life. Explains how to make the best use of integrative medicine and the mechanisms by which these therapeutic modalities work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Templated chapters make it quick and easy to find key information such as dosing, pearls, the Prevention Prescription, and Therapeutic Reviews that incorporates the Evidence vs Harm Icon. Uses the reliable SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm. Thoroughly updated, ensuring that you remain well informed regarding the latest evidence. Contains 10 new chapters covering clinician resilience, supporting immunity, NASH/fatty liver, hair loss, rethinking the movement prescription, compassion practices, prescribing low-dose naltrexone, psychedelics, tapering off PPIs and opioids, as well as an expanded osteopathy chapter. Covers timely topics aimed at reducing the epidemics of polypharmacy and opioid overuse, as well as supporting immunity in the face of infectious diseases. Provides online access to multiple-choice questions for every chapter-perfect for board exam review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Macleod's Clinical Examination by Anna R. Dover; J. Allistair Innes; Karen Fairhurst, 2024This book aims to assist clinicians in developing the consultation skills required to elicit a clear history and the practical examination skills needed to detect clinical signs of disease. Where possible, the physical basis of clinical signs is explained to aid understanding. Formulation of a differential diagnosis from the information gained is introduced, and the logical initial investigations are included for each system. Macleod’s Clinical Examination is designed to be used in conjunction with more detailed texts on pathophysiology, differential diagnosis and clinical medicine. It is closely integrated with Davidson’s Principles and Practice of Medicine and is best read in conjunction with that text.
A Medication Guide to Internal Medicine Tests and Procedures by Gregory J. Hughes, 2022Offering a unified resource for both clinicians and pharmacists, A Medication Guide to Internal Medicine Tests and Procedures provides concise, focused answers to common medication questions before, during, and after internal medicine tests and procedures. Co-authored by experienced physicians and clinical pharmacists, this
unique, time-saving reference brings together essential information for healthcare providers and students in a convenient, highly templated, pocket-sized book. Addresses the many medication questions surrounding 54 of the most commonly used tests and procedures. Ensures proper peri-procedural management by addressing what medications need to be administered or held ahead of a specific test. Provides foundational guidance on the diagnostic process, anticoagulation and glycemic management n the periprocedural period, and anesthesia, followed by highly templated chapters arranged alphabetically by procedure name. Includes brief descriptions of tests, how they are performed, and common findings.Helps readers avoid interference with tests and unnecessary adverse effects, optimizing patient outcomes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Grant C. Fowler, 2020Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Textbook of Natural Medicine by Joseph E. Pizzorno; Michael T. Murray, 2021This fifth edition of the Textbook of Natural Medicine (which has now been in publication since 1985) brings several new features and changes to our structure and format. We are especially excited that we are in full color for the first time, including images and figures. These dramatically improve our ability to present, in a more understandable and visually interesting way, the key concepts of and insights into the underlying causes of dysfunction and disease.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowStrong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Breast Specialty Guide
Critical Care Specialty Guide
Hospital Internal Medicine Specialty Guide
Women's Health Specialty Guide
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review by Christopher M. Wittich (Editor-In-Chief), 2019The key resource you need to prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Certification and Maintenance of Certification examinations. Now in its twelfth edition, Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review builds on years of knowledge, refinement, and expertise from Mayo Clinic's Department of Medicine and the successful certification process, providing the latest information you need. Now including Physician Well-Being and Hospital Internal Medicine, over 80 chapters help you confidently sit for the boards. Not preparing to certify or recertify? This all-inclusive reader-friendly volume is the perfect companion for anyone seeking to provide state-of-the-art care to patients, to serve as a core textbook for internal medicine residency training, or for students preparing for USMLE Step 3 examinations.
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review Questions and Answers by Robert D. Ficalora (Editor), 2013Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review: Questions and Answers is designed specifically to help prepare physicians-in-training and practicing clinicians for the ABIM certification and maintenance-of-certification examinations in internal medicine.This question-and-answer companion to Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review, 10th Edition, tests physicians and physicians-in-training on all relevant material related to the goals set forth by ABIM to ensure the success of internal medicine clinicians. To facilitate study, alleviate potentialdistractions and simplify quick reference, this book is organized according to its companion text. Each chapter is devoted to the study of a particular subspecialty topic (eg, allergy, cardiology, dermatology, etc) and cross-content referenced to topics related to general internal medicine (eg,men's health, women's health, geriatrics, etc). Chapters feature anywhere from 5 to 50 questions, each structured as a potential patient encounter with multiple-choice diagnostic and treatment responses. By testing physicians-in-training and practicing clinician's knowledge of internal medicine andclinical thinking skills, Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review: Questions and Answers seeks to promote the best education and care in internal medicine.
Case Files Internal Medicine, Sixth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Gabriel Aisenberg, 2021REAL-LIFE CASES SHARPEN TOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS FOR YOUR CLERKSHIP AND THE SHELF EXAM Case Files: Internal Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in internal medicine. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. This updated sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. New Cases on Metabolic Syndrome, Alcoholic Cirrhosis, Cushing Syndrome, Parkinson's Disease, Polycythemia Vera, and Opiate Overdose Realistic internal medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Challenge Questions help you assess your ability to integrate and apply your knowledge Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Kumar and Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine by Parveen Kumar; Michael L. Clark, 2021The latest addition to the Kumar & Clark family, this thoroughly updated new edition covers more than 200 cases presenting with acute symptoms in the hospital, everything from shingles and breathlessness to chest pain, acute coronary syndromes, poisoning, renal failure and stroke. The authors give clear and concise advice on immediate and further management, management of complications, differential diagnoses, history-taking, tips and pitfalls, alerts, investigations, and prioritization. More than 200 cases Edited by Parveen Kumar, CBE, BSc, MD, FRCP, FRCP(Edin) and Michael L Clark, MD, FRCP. Enhanced e-book accompanies the print book, for ease of transportation and use on the move. Over 200 cases.
Medical Secrets by Mary P. Harward, 2019For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Medical Secrets, 6th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Coverage includes the full range of essential topics in medicine for in-training and practicing professionals, authored by a diverse range of teachers and clinicians who cover both medical and ethical issues. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Resident Readiness Internal Medicine by Debra L. Klamen; Susan Thompson Hingle, 2014ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Inspired by the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine's popular course, Resident Readiness: Internal Medicine prepares you for success during your medical internship. Inside is a full range of clinical scenarios you may experience during your internal medicine residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With the book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. Beyond treating your patient, Resident Readiness prepares you to Deal successfully with emergencies on the floor Safely hand off patients Handle call Discharge and follow up with your patients Smooth your transition and be ready for residency Case-based approach brings your readiness to the next level Targets what you really need to know to care for patients on day one
Teaching Rounds: a Visual Aid to Teaching Internal Medicine Pearls on the Wards by Navin Kumar; Anica Law, 2016A unique manual for teaching and learning 100 of the most important topics encountered on rounds.Teaching Rounds is a highly visual, carry-anywhere resource that enables residents in teaching hospitals to learn in an effective, memorable way without the need for a blackboard or dense text. The authors have identified the ten most important topics to discuss on rounds across ten specialties. Each topic is featured on its own, removable card that showcase a visual aid, case-base questions and answers, key clinical pearls, and references. Topics are further grouped into teaching categories, such as Diagnostic Approach, Disease Classification, and Pathophysiology, among others. If you are looking for a concise text that not only identifies need-to-know "pearls," but also simplifies how to teach and learn them, Teaching Rounds belongs in your lab coat pocket.
Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum by Maie El-Sourady, 2019he Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum is a comprehensive, case-based curriculum for the care of adults and children in the outpatient setting. This curriculum can be used by learners in all stages of training, from students to residents to practicing clinicians and is updated regularly to reflect the newest research and guidelines. We have provided a suggested schedule for residency, but feel free to sort by topic or by organ system. Check back regularly for new topics and updates.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links