Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyInfectious Diseases
- GuidelineCentralInfectious Diseases
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- Infectious Diseases Society of AmericaClinical Practice
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesInfectious Diseases
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Core eBooks
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 9th ed. by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Cann's Principles of Molecular Virology, 7th ed. by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Microbiology** Cann's Principles of Molecular Virology, Seventh Edition provides an easily accessible introduction to modern virology, presenting principles in a clear and concise manner. The new edition provides the history of virology and the fundamentals of the molecular basis of how viruses work. It discusses the interactions which control the structure of virus particles, the ways viruses infect cells, how viruses replicate themselves, and the consequences and pathogenesis of virus infection for host organisms. This fully updated edition also reflects advances made in the field and includes new content on phage therapy, CRISPR as a phage defense / offense system, new ideas about evolution, and giant viruses. With the addition of ancillary resources, Principles of Molecular Virology, Seventh Edition is an essential foundational reference for academics, graduate students, and advance undergraduates in virology, molecular biology, and microbiology as well as researchers entering virology, infectious disease, and immunology research.
ISBN: 9780128227848Publication Date: 2023-02-16
Coronavirus Disease by
Coronavirus Disease: From Origin to Outbreak provides a comprehensive review of coronaviruses, particularly COVID-19, its transmission, and disease pathology. The book covers the viral structure and genetics of coronaviruses, the pathogenesis and unique characteristics of coronavirus infection, and the evolving nature of our understanding of coronaviruses and disease. It also looks at the history of SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV infections and its global spread. The book examines the effectiveness of various preventive measures and new therapeutic agents that are either currently available or expected to available. Finally, it details the psychological and societal impact the virus and disease has in outbreak regions and what the financial impact an outbreak has on the healthcare system and local economies.
ISBN: 9780128244098Publication Date: 2021-10-22
Encyclopedia of Virology, 4th ed. by
Encyclopedia of Virology, Fourth Edition, Five Volume Set builds on the solid foundation laid by the previous editions, expanding its reach with new and timely topics. In five volumes, the work provides comprehensive coverage of the whole virosphere, making this a unique resource. Content explores viruses present in the environment and the pathogenic viruses of humans, animals, plants and microorganisms. Key areas and concepts concerning virus classification, structure, epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed, guiding the reader through chapters that are presented at an accessible level, and include further readings for those needing more specific information. More than ever now, with the Covid19 pandemic, we are seeing the huge impact viruses have on our life and society. This encyclopedia is a must-have resource for scientists and practitioners, and a great source of information for the wider public.- Offers students and researchers a one-stop shop for information on virology not easily available elsewhere- Fills a critical gap of information in a field that has seen significant progress in recent years- Authored and edited by recognized experts in the field, with a range of different expertise, thus ensuring a high-quality standard
ISBN: 9780128145166Publication Date: 2021-02-24
Fields Virology, 7th ed. by
Now in four convenient volumes, Field's Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families.
ISBN: 9781975112523
Infectious Diseases, 4th ed. by
Drs. Cohen, Powderly and Opal, three of the most-respected names in infectious disease medicine, lead a diverse team of international contributors to bring you the latest knowledge and best practices. Extensively updated, the fourth edition includes brand-new information on advances in diagnosis of infection; Hepatitis C; managing resistant bacterial infections; and many other timely topics. An abundance of photographs and illustrations; a practical, clinically-focused style; highly-templated organization; and robust interactive content combine to make this clinician-friendly resource the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, current information you need. Hundreds of full-color photographs and figures provide unparalleled visual guidance. Consistent chapter organization and colorful page layouts make for quick searches. Clinically-focused guidance from "Practice Points" demonstrates how to diagnose and treat complicated problems encountered in practice. The "Syndromes by Body System", "HIV and AIDS", and "International Medicine" sections are designed to reflect how practicing specialists think when faced with a patient. Over 100 Self-Assessment test questions online help study for certification and recertification. Sweeping updates include new or revised chapters on: Hepatitis C and antivirals Fungal infection and newer antifungals Microbiome and infectious diseases as well as advances in diagnosis of infection; Clostridium difficile epidemiology; infection control in the ICU setting; Chlamydia trachomatis infection; acquired syndromes associated with autoantibodies to cytokines;; management of multidrug resistant pathogens; probiotics, polymyxins, and the pathway to developing new antibiotics HIV including HIV and aging, antiretroviral therapy in developing countries, and cure for HIV. Online Antimicrobial pharmacokinetics mannequin, as well an all new HIV medicine mannequin are a useful visual source of treatment information Advance clinically with practical, innovative, highly visual guidance that allows you to effectively treat and manage all your patients' diseases.
ISBN: 9780702062858Publication Date: 2016-07-21
The Infectious Diseases Consult Handbook by
This book is an evidence-based guide for some of the most common consult questions asked of a first-year infectious diseases (ID) fellow working in an academic teaching hospital. Divided into sections based on pathogen and organ system, each covered topic includes reviews of the latest published literature in succinct subsections that can be easily referenced. The book can be read cover to cover as an introduction to clinical infectious diseases through the eyes of an ID fellow or used as a reference in real-time when on clinical service. Written throughout the fellowship of an ID fellow, this handbook shares the quintessential ID topics most commonly encountered on the consult service. From global pandemics to the emergence of drug-resistant superbugs, interest in infectious diseases has never been higher. ID experts weigh in daily on a variety of cases ranging from simple urinary tract infections to devastating sepsis in patients with recent organ transplantation. The ID consult service can be overwhelming given the breadth of infectious diseases that affect our patients. This handbook offers an introductory yet comprehensive resource to professionals, practitioners, students, and fellows.
ISBN: 9783031394737Publication Date: 2023-09-21
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases by
New emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules . all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases, 10th Edition, keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control. Includes important updates on malaria, leishmaniasis, tuberculosis and HIV, as well as coverage of Ebola, Zika virus, Chikungunya, and other emerging pathogens. Provides new vaccine schedules and information on implementation. Features five all-new chapters: Neglected Tropical Diseases: Public Health Control Programs and Mass Drug Administration; Health System and Health Care Delivery; Zika; Medical Entomology; and Vector Control - as well as 250 new images throughout. Presents the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each tropical disease, as well as the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and disease prevention techniques. Contains skills-based chapters such as dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and service-based chapters such as transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Discusses maladies such as delusional parasitosis that are often seen in returning travelers, including those making international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, 18th ed. by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
Manson's Tropical Diseases, 24th ed. by
Ten years have passed since the release of the twenty-third edition of Manson’s Tropical Diseases textbook. This decade has seen profound changes in our world and in our lives. Global demographic shifts and the simultaneous challenge of non-communicable and communicable diseases affect everyone. The devastating pandemic of SARS-CoV-2 affected the entire inhabited world. The continuing pandemics of HIV/AIDS, TB, malaria and neglected tropical diseases have been accompanied by more frequent and more complex regional epidemics of new and re-emerging infections, and the inextricable rise in antimicrobial drug resistance. All these health issues are made worse by growing inequality and fragile health systems within and between countries, increasing nationalism, tense east-west and north-south geopolitics, wars in Europe and in Africa, the return of inflation, a growing debt crisis, and mistrust in governments and in institutions. The existential, but very real, adverse impact of climate change, including the still under-recognized impact on our health, is already happening. Right now, not just in some future decade.
Reflecting on the origins of this textbook, we acknowledge the current re-examination of the colonial history in our field initiated across a broad range of academic institutions. Our contemporary values and our standards of ethics and equity have evolved substantially since Patrick Manson began his pioneering studies nearly 150 years ago. Our field has changed. ‘Hygiene & Tropical Medicine’ have become ‘International, Global Health’ and even Planetary Health. We may criticize our forebears, but we should not ignore our continued failings. The SARS-CoV-2 pandemic provides a graphic recent example. Effective vaccines were developed in record time- a scientific triumph- but the distribution of the life-saving vaccines was a failure.
Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th ed. by
From the latest vaccination evidence, recommendations, and protocols . . . to new vaccine development and the use of vaccines in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th Edition, covers every aspect of vaccination. Now completely revised and updated from cover to cover, this award-winning text continues to provide reliable information from global authorities, offering a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Contains all-new chapters on COVID-19, vaccine hesitancy, and non-specific effects of vaccines, as well as significantly revised content on new vaccine technologies such as mRNA vaccines, emerging vaccines, and technologies to improve immunization. Presents exciting new data on evolution of adjuvants across the centuries, dengue vaccines, human papillomavirus vaccines, respiratory syncytial virus vaccines, tuberculosis vaccines, and zoster vaccines. Provides up-to-date, authoritative information on vaccine production, available preparations, efficacy and safety, and recommendations for vaccine use, with rationales and data on the impact of vaccination programs on morbidity and mortality. Provides complete coverage of each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, as well as epidemiology and public health and regulatory issues. Keeps you up to date with information on each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Covers vaccine-preventable diseases, vaccine science, and licensed vaccine products, as well as product technologies and global regulatory and public health issues. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
A Rational Approach to Clinical Infectious Diseases by
Written specifically for non-infectious disease specialists in both inpatient and outpatient settings, A Rational Approach to Clinical Infectious Diseases provides concise, practical guidance that mimics the decision-making process and reasoning employed by an ID physician. Using clear, understandable language, Dr. Zelalem Temesgen and his esteemed colleagues at the Mayo Clinic present the art and the context of infectious diseases together with the science, helping non-specialists apply a rational approach to the diagnosis and treatment of infectious conditions. Clearly explains the rationale of opting for one particular treatment or length of course over another in order to arrange appropriate management and follow-up. Provides focused ID decision support to questions such as: What diagnostic test should I order? What is the correct antibiotic for this patient/geographical region? Are IV or oral antibiotics most appropriate? How long should the antibiotic course be and when should it be de-escalated? What special considerations should be taken in immunocompromised patients? How often should complex infections be followed up? Uses a succinct, easy-to-read writing style, following a consistent format: Important characteristics/epidemiology; Clinical related data; Rash characteristics; Ancillary diagnostic studies; Treatment; and Other. Provides visual and quick-reference support with dozens of figures and tables throughout the text. Contains invaluable guidance to help non-specialists provide the best care for patients, stem antibiotic misuse and resistance, avoid adverse drug events, and avoid unnecessary costs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323695787Publication Date: 2021-03-12
Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 by
Written by physicians and scientists with expertise in this evolving area, Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 provides a coherent, readable, and clinically relevant review of the biology, epidemiology, pathophysiology, immunology, clinical features, current treatment, and prevention strategies for the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Using both a systemic and topic-based approach, it summarizes and clarifies the extensive literature published on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19, includes a comprehensive bibliography, and provides answers to clinical questions at the point of care from multiple specialty perspectives. Includes dedicated chapters for pulmonary, cardiac, neurological, and oral manifestations of COVID-19. Covers therapeutics and novel therapeutic targets of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19. Addresses the diagnostic and management challenges of COVID-19 in the emergency department. Discusses COVID-19 in special populations, including the effect of SARS-CoV-2 infection in pregnant mothers and to the fetus and newborn. Provides a systematic overview and comparison of vaccines that are approved and in development. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Travel Medicine, 4th ed. by
Today's travel medicine includes not only tourism and business travelers, but also incorporates volunteerism, medical care, migration, ecotourism, and more. Travel Medicine, 4th Edition, reflects all of these changes in the field while keeping you up to date with new vaccines and newly proposed regimens, pre-travel advice and post-travel screening, and all travel-related illnesses - for a one-stop, authoritative reference on all aspects of travel medicine. Includes new chapters to assist your care of specific populations such as those engaging in ecotourism or military travel, as well as the VIP traveler. A new chapter on pre-travel considerations for non-vaccine preventable travel infections has also been added. Provides new information on new influenza and shingles vaccines, microbiome and drug resistance, Zika and the pregnant or breastfeeding traveler, the Viagra effect and increase in STIs, refugees and immigrants, and much more. Covers new methods of prevention of dengue virus, Zika virus, chikungunya virus, Middle Eastern respiratory syndrome, sleeping sickness, and avian flu. New illustrations and numerous new tables and boxes provide visual guidance and make reference quick and easy. Helps you prepare for the travel medicine examination with convenient cross references to the ISTM "body of knowledge" in specific chapters and/or passages in the book. Keeps you updated on remote destinations and the unique perils they present. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323546966Publication Date: 2018-12-13
Introduction to Epidemiology, 9th ed. by
Introduction to Epidemiology is a comprehensive, reader-friendly introduction to this exciting field. Designed for students with minimal training in the biomedical sciences and statistics, this full-color text emphasizes the application of the basic principles of epidemiology according to person, place, and time factors in order to solve current, often unexpected, and serious public health problems.Students will learn how to identify and describe public health problems, formulate research hypotheses, select appropriate research designs, manage and analyze epidemiologic data, interpret and apply results in preventing and controlling disease and health-related events. With real-world examples in the form of case studies and news files in each chapter, Introduction to Epidemiology is an accessible and effective approach to learning epidemiology.Carefully revised throughout, the Ninth Edition offers:New chapters on Epidemiology Study Plan (5) and on Social Epidemiology (13)Greater emphasis on health equity and the social determinants of health throughoutNew appendices on Careers in Epidemiology(II) and Pearson Correlation Coefficient and Regression Models (IV)Significant restructuring of chapters (see transition guide)Navigate Advantage Access (included with the text) a digital-only Access Code that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice quizzes and assessments, PowerPoint slides, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytic reporting tools.
ISBN: 9781284280388Publication Date: 2024-02-29
Conn's Current Therapy 2024 by
The editorial team at Conn’s Current Therapy respects the challenges of managing vast amounts of new information while maintaining the core knowledge germane to our practices. Our perennial mission is to provide an easy-to-use and knowledge-forward reference to guide clinicians, even as the incidence of chronic diseases is climbing and life expectancy for men and women in the United States has declined for the fifth consecutive year after a catastrophic and massive modern day pandemic.
Our authors have the formidable task of ensuring that they deliver cogent synopses across each organ system, incorporating new references and key points that affirm and potentially change primary care practice. We are indebted to our returning authors who continue to provide updated chapters and to our new authors who lend their expertise and energy to developing new content. They all work diligently to revise, update, and create efficient chapters filled with information that is ready to use.
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence-Based Guide, 4rh ed. by
"This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review. An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine. Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Websites
Websites Accessible via Intranet
Division of Infectious Diseases - ARZ
Division of Infectious Diseases - FLA
Division of Infectious Diseases - RST
External Facing Website
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: