eBooks
Advanced Vaccination Technologies for Infectious and Chronic Diseases by
Advanced Vaccination Technologies for Infectious and Chronic Diseases is a comprehensive guide that delves into the intricate details of vaccine design, development across various platforms, and the path to commercialization. This book provides an introductory overview of vaccines, covering various types, developmental methodologies, delivery systems, adjuvants, immunization, and measurement of vaccine efficacy. It also showcases examples of vaccine research efforts targeting infectious diseases, autoimmune disorders, and cancer. The book concludes by exploring cutting-edge advances in proteogenomics, immunopeptidomics, and future vaccine technologies. The primary objective of this book is to inform a broad scientific audience about the fundamental concepts underlying vaccine and immunology. Further, it serves as an invaluable reference for understanding the critical steps in the journey from discovery to regulatory processes for human clinical trials, addressing common misconceptions and presenting factual information about vaccinations. Advanced Vaccination Technologies for Infectious and Chronic Diseases is a requisite reference for occupational health professionals whose roles involve supervision of immunization programs such as those working within the National Health Service, some sectors of higher education, or the pharmaceutical industry. It also caters to those researchers engaged in vaccine development and all who want to learn the processes involved from laboratory research to final product.
ISBN: 9780443185649Publication Date: 2024-03-28
Antibiotic Resistance by
Antibiotic Resistance: Mechanisms and New Antimicrobial Approaches discusses up-to-date knowledge in mechanisms of antibiotic resistance and all recent advances in fighting microbial resistance such as the applications of nanotechnology, plant products, bacteriophages, marine products, algae, insect-derived products, and other alternative methods that can be applied to fight bacterial infections. Understanding fundamental mechanisms of antibiotic resistance is a key step in the discovery of effective methods to cope with resistance. This book also discusses methods used to fight antibiotic-resistant infection based on a deep understanding of the mechanisms involved in the development of the resistance.
ISBN: 9780128036426Publication Date: 2016-06-27
Artificial Intelligence in Medical Virology by
This book comprehensively reviews the potential of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in biomedical research and healthcare, with a major emphasis on virology. The initial chapter presents the applications of machine learning methods for structured data, such as the classical support vector machine and neural network, modern deep learning, and natural language processing for unstructured data in biomedical research and healthcare. The subsequent chapters explore the applications of AI in tackling COVID-19, analysis of the pandemic, viral infection, disease spread, and control. The book further identifies the potential applications of machine learning in the field of virology with a focus on the key aspects of infection: diagnosis, transmission, response to treatment, and resistance. The book also discusses progress and challenges in developing viral vaccines and examines the application of viruses in translational research and human healthcare. Furthermore, the book covers the applications of artificial intelligence-mediated diagnosis and the development of drugs to treat the disease. Towards the end, the book summarizes the ethical and legal challenges posed by AI in healthcare and biomedical research. This book is an invaluable source for researchers, medical and industry practitioners, academicians, and students exploring the applications of AI in biomedical research and healthcare.
ISBN: 9789819903696
Common Eye Diseases and Their Management, 5th ed. by
Since the last edition of this book, there have been a number of advances in the fields of glaucoma, corneal disease, medical retina and genetics. This new edition discusses these developments while also providing an introduction to the specialty of clinical ophthalmology for medical students, trainee ophthalmologists, optometrists, general practitioners, and anyone with a special interest in the subject. Common Eye Diseases and their Management, 5th Edition contains a brief introduction and outline of the anatomy of the eye and orbit, with emphasis placed on the efficacy of modern treatments in later chapters. References are deliberately kept to a minimum to engage readers with a conversational approach and each chapter ends with a concise summary to assist the reader with remembering the key points for each topic.
ISBN: 9783031084492Publication Date: 2022-09-15
The Contagion Next Time by
How can we create a healthier world and prevent the crisis next time? In a few short months, COVID-19 devastated the world and, in particular, the United States. It infected millions, killed hundreds of thousands, and effectively made the earth stand still. Yet America was already in poor health before COVID-19 appeared. Racism, marginalization, socioeconomic inequality - our failure to address these forces left us vulnerable to COVID-19 and the ensuing global health crisis it became. Had we tackled these challenges twenty years ago, after the outbreak of SARS, perhaps COVID-19 could have been quickly contained. Instead, we allowed our systems to deteriorate. Following on the themes of his award-winning publication Well, Sandro Galea's The Contagion Next Time articulates the foundational forces shaping health in our society and how we can strengthen them to prevent the next outbreak from becoming a pandemic. Because while no one could have predicted that a pandemic would strike when it did, we did know that a pandemic would strike, sooner or later. We're still not ready for the next pandemic. But we can be - we must be. In lyrical prose, The Contagion Next Time challenges all of us to tackle the deep-rooted obstacles preventing us from becoming a truly vibrant and equitable nation, reminding us of what we've seemed to have forgotten: that our health is a public good worth protecting.
ISBN: 9780197576427Publication Date: 2021-11-01
COVID-19 Pandemic by
Providing a broad, global view of all aspects related to preparation for and management of SARS-CoV2, COVID-19 Pandemic: Lessons from the Frontline explores and challenges the basis of knowledge, the transmission of information, and the preparation and epidemiology tactics of healthcare systems worldwide. This timely and provocative volume presents real-world viewpoints from leaders in different areas of health management, who address questions such as: What will we do differently if another pandemic comes? Have we learned from our mistakes? Can we do better? This practical, wide-ranging approach also covers the problem of contrasting sources, health system preparedness, effective preparation of and protection offered to individual healthcare professionals, and the human tragedy surrounding the pandemic. Offers a global perspective on how the COVID-19 pandemic was handled, things that went wrong, and things that could be done differently in the future. Covers multiple aspects of the pandemic, including disaster preparedness; perspectives from patients, families, and healthcare providers; inequity of medical resources; risk exposure on the frontline; government decision making; lockdowns; the role of politics; the burden of COVID-19 in various countries worldwide; and future directions. Reflects on the role of professional societies and NGOs in advising governments and supranational organizations. Features a diverse list of contributors, including health decision makers and frontline healthcare personnel.
ISBN: 9780323828604Publication Date: 2021-05-28
Dermatological Signs of Systemic Disease, 5th ed. by
The new edition of Dermatological Signs of Systemic Disease helps you identify a full range of common and rare systemic diseases early on so they can be managed as effectively as possible. Formerly titled Dermatological Signs of Internal Disease, it takes an evidence-based approach to diagnosis and treatment, offering dependable clinical recommendations that enable you to attain definitive diagnoses of internal diseases that manifest on the skin. Allows you to attain definitive diagnoses of internal diseases that manifest on the skin. Uses a consistent, user-friendly format for easy reference. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Covers hot topics such as lupus erythematosus, dermatomyositis, autoinflammatory diseases, eosinophilic and neutrophilic dermatoses, and psoriasis therapies and co-morbidities. Highlights newer therapies and treatment options for most diseases. Includes over 500 full-color illustrations - 200 new to this edition - that provide the best possible representations of diseases as they appear in the clinic. Features more viewpoints from an expanded team of nationally recognized experts in their respective fields.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Fungal Infections, 3rd ed. by
Diagnosis and Treatment of Fungal Infections, 3rd Edition contains the latest research and clinical evidence on fungal infections in humans. Updated again by globally recognized experts, this concise text is divided into sections dedicated to the patient approach, laboratory and radiological diagnosis, systemic antifungal agents, mycoses, and instructive cases. It is a concise but comprehensive resource for use in conjunction with patient care duties and in teaching. It is the perfect guide for hospital-based primary care physicians, oncologists, critical care specialists, and infectious disease fellows with limited training or experience in the identification and management of fungal infections.
ISBN: 9783031358029Publication Date: 2023-09-15
Field Guide to Global Health and Disaster Medicine by
While serving as a physician overseas in resource-poor countries, Dr. James Chambers recognized the need for a practical, portable reference for non-specialist healthcare providers to orient them to common issues when serving in new situations, whether due to geography, austere environments, or complex humanitarian disasters. Field Guide to Global Health and Disaster Medicine draws on the experience, training, and perspectives of committed healthcare providers from diverse nations and backgrounds to provide the most essential information for maximum utility in the field-whether in a refugee camp, operating room, disaster response scene, or other demanding environment. Helps providers prepare for service overseas, organize data to develop differential diagnoses, assimilate information on infectious and environmental diseases, and effectively serve the patients they will encounter. Provides concise, easy-to-read coverage of how to approach a differential diagnosis for infectious diseases overseas; nutritional, sexual, and environmental conditions; surgical and anesthesia care; long-term and short-term systems-based challenges, and more. Covers key topics such as Approach to Refugees and Internally Displaced Persons, Medical Response to Disasters, Mental Health in War and Crisis Regions, and Considerations for Pandemic Preparedness and Response. Acknowledges the wide variance of different cultures, motives, resources, and limitations in the global health arena, and helps readers understand the factors which impact the efficacy and sustainability of care strategies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323794121Publication Date: 2021-06-04
Field Guide to Wilderness Medicine, 5th ed. by
Based on Dr. Auerbach's renowned Wilderness Medicine text, Field Guide to Wilderness Medicine, 5th Edition, is your portable, authoritative guide to the full range of medical and emergency situations that occur in non-traditional settings. Useful for experienced physicians as well as advanced practice providers, this unique medical guide covers an indispensable range of topics in a well-illustrated, highly condensed format - in print or on any mobile device - for quick access anytime, anywhere. An easy-access presentation ensures rapid retrieval and comprehension of wilderness medical information, with "Signs and Symptoms" and "Treatment" sections, bulleted lists, and quick-reference text boxes in every chapter. All chapters are thoroughly up to date, including new information on travel medicine, medications, immunizations, and field treatment of common conditions. Step-by-step explanations from wilderness medicine experts cover the clinical presentation and treatment of a full range of wilderness emergencies and show you how to improvise with available materials. Comprehensive coverage includes dive medicine and water-related emergencies, mountain medicine and wilderness survival, global humanitarian relief and disaster medicine, high-altitude medicine, pain management, and much more. Line drawings and color plates help you quickly and accurately identify skin manifestations, plants, poisonous mushrooms, snakes, insects, and more. Useful appendices address everything from environment-specific situations to lists of essential supplies, medicines, and many additional topics of care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, tables and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Foodborne Infections and Intoxications, 5th ed. by
Foodborne Infections and Intoxications, Fifth Edition brings together up-to-date, relevant interdisciplinary expertise of 70 authors presenting foodborne disease pathogens and toxins, microbiology, disease diagnosis and treatment, epidemiology, and disease prevention in the context of public health and food safety regulation. Beginning with the estimation of foodborne disease burden at the international scale, this book dives deep in foodborne disease outbreak investigation, food safety risk assessment, and molecular analysis, together with detailed descriptions of the major bacteria, viruses, parasites, and toxins associated with foodborne illness. This new edition also emphasizes development of risk-based approaches to food safety and safety regulation implementation. This book is a valuable scientific resource for understanding causes and management of foodborne diseases. The new edition offers the latest knowledge and updates on foodborne infections and intoxications and food safety for multiple generations of students, investigators, public health workers, food scientists, and food safety practitioners.
ISBN: 9780128195192Publication Date: 2021-06-25
Gordis Epidemiology, 7th ed. by
From the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University and continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, comes the fully revised 7th Edition of Gordis Epidemiology. This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. New coverage includes expanded information on genetic epidemiology, epidemiology and public policy, and ethical and professional issues in epidemiology, providing a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today’s data-driven society.
ISBN: 9780323877756
eBooks
Human Pathogenic Microbes by
Considering the global emerging human pathogenic microbial diseases and trends, Human Pathogenic Microbes is framed to provide deep insights into the epidemic and emerging bacterial and fungal infections and diseases in humans. It presents novel, up-to-date, and cutting-edge knowledge regarding various human pathogenic microbes, their associated drug resistance mechanisms, and different diseases caused by them. Human Pathogenic Microbes reflects the current research and development on the evolution of bacterial and fungal drug resistance: different bacterial and fungal antimicrobial drug resistance mechanisms along with their biological and molecular aspects. In a nutshell, Human Pathogenic Microbes describes a various bacterial and fungal diseases caused by different human pathogenic microbes employing different drug resistance mechanisms and processes. It also highlights the novel emerging approaches (Immunological and combinatorial) that will aid to fight against such bacterial and fungal pathogens.
ISBN: 9780323961271Publication Date: 2022-03-17
Infective Endocarditis by
Infective Endocarditis: A Multidisciplinary Approach provides a comprehensive review of infective endocarditis and covers the entire spectrum of medical care for these challenging patients. It covers the ever-increasing scope of the problem, including epidemiology, as well as diagnostic work-up, microbiology, medical therapy, and surgical therapy for this disease. The book also addresses the opioid epidemic and rising infective endocarditis incidence in this population. Each type of practitioner can use this book as a definitive resource in reviewing aspects of care related to the endocarditis patient. This book will also serve as an updated resource to provide recent evidence regarding the management of these patients, as well as author perspectives and approaches to tackling the often complex and challenging issues revolving around care of the endocarditis patient. This is an essential reference and an authoritative source for infective endocarditis and provide physicians, nurses, social workers, and everyone who is routinely involved in the care of these patients.
ISBN: 9780128206577Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, 18th ed. by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine, 16th ed. by
Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine has been updated and revised for the first time in more than a decade. This highly anticipated and extensive edition provides the most current information and insights available on evidence-based public health and preventive medicine, from basic methodologies of public health to principles of epidemiology and infection control to environmental toxicology to global health.
ISBN: 9781259644511Publication Date: 2021-11-11
Medical Microbiology, 9th ed. by
The foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, Medical Microbiology, 9th Edition, provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease. Clear, engaging coverage of basic principles, immunology, laboratory diagnosis, bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology help you master the essentials of microbiology?effectively preparing you for your coursework, exams, and beyond. Features significant new information on the human microbiome and its influence on the immune and other body systems, and new developments in microbial diagnosis, treatment, diseases, and pathogens. Updates every chapter with state-of-the-art information and current literature citations. Summarizes detailed information in tabular format rather than in lengthy text. Provides review questions at the end of each chapter that correlate basic science with clinical practice. Features clinical cases that illustrate the epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases. Introduces microbe chapters with summaries and trigger words for easy review. Highlights the text with clear, colorful figures, clinical photographs, and images that help you visualize the clinical presentation of infections. Offers additional study features online, including 200 self-assessment questions, microscopic images of the microbes, videos, and a new integrating chapter that provides hyperlinks between the microbes, the organ systems that they affect, and their diseases. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Medicine for the Outdoors, 7th ed. by
For nearly 40 years, Medicine for the Outdoors: The Essential Guide to First Aid and Medical Emergencies has been the take-along manual of choice for anyone venturing into the mountains, forest, desert, or on water. This essential guide provides highly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on immediate stabilization and treatment of persons with virtually any possible medical problem-designed for on-the-spot use when higher-level medical care is not accessible. Written by experts in outdoor medicine, this updated edition helps you manage any situation until medical personnel can take over. Covers key information on a wide range of disorders related to specific environments, including natural disasters, high-altitude problems, water-related incidents, heat- and cold-related illnesses, and wildland fires. Provides easy-to-understand recommendations for dealing with animal attacks, venomous wildlife, wild plant and mushroom poisoning, minor and major medical problems, infectious diseases, water disinfection, and severe bleeding. Discusses key topics, including antibiotics, medicines, opioid overdose treatment, wound closure techniques, severe bleeding, spinal assessment and immobilization, tourniquets, the use of a Gamow bag for severe altitude illness, splinting, dental emergencies, disaster preparedness, global conflict guidelines, canine medicine, today's infectious disease threats, and much more. Includes up-to-date guidelines, even more helpful illustrations and diagrams, and a new chapter: Patient Assessment: A Structured Approach to Emergencies in the Outdoors. Includes advanced topics valuable to physicians and expedition medical staff at all levels of training and experience. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases by
Offering timely guidance on the junction of the opioid crisis and infectious diseases, this practical handbook by Dr. Brianna L. Norton provides concise yet comprehensive coverage of a growing patient population. Infectious disease specialists are increasingly seeing patients who previously used opiods and now use intravenous drugs. Many challenges are unique to this patient population, including new and growing infections such as hepatitis C, endocarditis, HIV, and hepatitis B. The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases is an up-to-date, real-world guide that covers the scope of the problem, management guidelines, and much more. Describes the new landscape of the opioid crisis in the U.S. and its intersection with infectious diseases, including epidemiology, Opioid Use Disorder (OUD) and rural America, and more. Offers practical guidance on (OUD) and infectious co-morbidities like hepatitis C, STDs, endocarditis, HIV, and hepatitis B. Covers prevention, treatment, and harm reduction. Discusses OUD, infectious diseases, and the criminal justice system. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323683289Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Peters' Atlas of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology by
Newly organized and featuring new editors and hundreds of new images, Peters' Atlas of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology, Seventh Edition, brings you up to date with today's greatest challenges in tropical medicine. Increased global travel, climate change, human conflict, short-term/large-scale human assemblies, potent therapeutic agents, drug resistance, and vaccine misinformation have contributed to a greatly changed landscape in this complex field. This practical, highly visual guide provides more than 1,300 stunning illustrations, making it an authoritative parasitology resource for accurate diagnosis of complex diseases. Contains hundreds of new images, including more than 50 completely revised life cycles and epidemiological maps. Provides current information on Zika virus, chikungunya virus, Ebola virus, SARS and MERS-CoV caused by enzootic corona virus, tuberculosis, ceftriaxone-resistant gonorrhea, malaria, and much more. Features a completely updated and significantly streamlined text, now organized not only by primary mode of disease transmission, but extended to define disease more strictly according to the route of acquisition - a logical change that reflects the principles applied to control measures for most infections. Presents the knowledge and expertise of new editors Drs. Laura Nabarro, Stephen Morris-Jones, and David A. J. Moore. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702040610Publication Date: 2019-03-06
eBooks
Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, 8th ed. by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title For more than a quarter-of-a-century, this renowned text has helped readers develop a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Now, with a NEW four-color design, the book is shorter and more assessable for students! Outstanding pedagogical elements are carried throughout this edition including: Over 400 outstanding images with hundreds of tables and illustrations Detailed legends under the art so the reader can better understand what's occurring within the illustration, without having to flip back to the text Clinical Cases with USMLE Style Questions Margin Notes identifying the "high-yield" must know content in each chapter Bulleted Summaries that conclude each chapter Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition is divided into five parts: Part I opens with a chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infectious agents at the level of a general reader. The following four chapters give more detail on the immunologic, diagnostic, and epidemiologic nature of infection with minimal detail about the agents themselves. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases, and each begins with its own chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. Features and Learning Aids: 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases (plus one online only chapter) Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response A clinical case with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases Numerous full-color photographs, tables, and illustrations Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens Chapter-ending case questions PLUS a collection of 100 practice questions Innovative study aids including boxed narrative Overviews that open each disease-oriented chapter or major section, highlighted Margin Notes pointing out high-yield material for USMLE Step 1 preparation, bulleted lists of Key Conclusions at the end of each major section, a THINK ➔ APPLY feature that randomly inserts thought-provoking questions into the body of the text, and more. A set of tables that presents the microbes in context of the clinical infections they produce
Statistical Approaches for Epidemiology: From Concept to Application by
This textbook provides the basic concepts of epidemiology while preparing readers with the skills of applying statistical tools in real-life situations. Students, in general, struggle with statistical theories and their practical applications. This book makes statistical concepts easy to understand by focusing on real-life examples, case studies, and exercises. It also provides step-by-step guides for data analysis and interpretation using standard statistical software such as SPSS, SAS, R, Python, and GIS as appropriate, illustrating the concepts. Through the book's 23 chapters, readers primarily learn how to apply statistical methods in epidemiological studies and problem-solving. Among the topics covered: Clinical Trials Epidemic Investigation and Control Geospatial Applications in Epidemiology Survival Analysis and Applications Using SAS and SPSS Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis: Evidence-based Decision-Making in Public Health Missing Data Imputation: A Practical Guide Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Multivariate Linear Regression and Logistics Regression Analysis Using SAS Each chapter is written by eminent scientists and experts worldwide, including contributors from institutions in the United States, Canada, Bangladesh, India, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and the Middle East. Statistical Approaches for Epidemiology: From Concept to Application is an all-in-one book that serves as an essential text for graduate students, faculty, instructors, and researchers in public health and other branches of health sciences, as well as a useful resource for health researchers in industry, public health and health department professionals, health practitioners, and health research organizations and non-governmental organizations. The book also will be helpful for graduate students and faculty in related disciplines such as data science, nursing, social work, environmental health, occupational health, computer science, statistics, and biology.
ISBN: 9783031417832Publication Date: 2023-12-13
The Travel and Tropical Medicine Manual, 5th ed. by
Prevent, evaluate, and manage diseases that can be acquired in tropical environments and foreign countries with The Travel and Tropical Medicine Manual. This pragmatic, pocket-sized resource equips medical providers with the knowledge they need to offer effective aid, covering key topics in pre- and post-travel medicine, caring for immigrants and refugees, and working in low-resource settings. It's also the perfect source for travelers seeking quick, easy access to the latest travel medicine information. Dynamic images illustrate key concepts for an enhanced visual understanding. Evidence-based treatment recommendations enable you to manage diseases confidently. Pocket-sized format provides access to need-to-know information quickly and easily. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evidence-based appendix, available at Expert Consult, helps to validate treatments. Highlights new evidence and content surrounding mental health and traveling. Covers emerging hot topics such as Ebola virus disease, viral hemorrhagic fevers, the role of point-of-care testing in travel medicine, and antibiotic-resistant bacteria in returning travelers and students traveling abroad. Includes an enhanced drug appendix in the back of the book.
ISBN: 9780323375061Publication Date: 2016-09-13
The Vaccine Book, 2d ed. by
The Vaccine Book, Second Edition provides comprehensive information on the current and future state of vaccines. It reveals the scientific opportunities and potential impact of vaccines, including economic and ethical challenges, problems encountered when producing vaccines, how clinical vaccine trials are designed, and how to introduce vaccines into widespread use. Although vaccines are now available for many diseases, there are still challenges ahead for major diseases, such as AIDS, tuberculosis, and malaria. This book is designed for students, researchers, public health officials, and all others interested in increasing their understanding of vaccines. It answers common questions regarding the use of vaccines in the context of a rapidly expanding anti-vaccine environment. This new edition is completely updated and revised with new and unique topics, including new vaccines, problems of declining immunization rates, trust in vaccines, the vaccine hesitancy, and the social value of vaccines for the community vs. the individual child's risk.
ISBN: 9780128021743Publication Date: 2016-07-13
Viral Infections and Antiviral Therapies by
Viral Infections and Antiviral Therapies provides comprehensive coverage of viral infections and their transmission. Coverage includes antiviral agents, therapeutics, their mechanisms and treatment strategies. The book is organized into four sections, including an introduction to antiviral therapies, viral infections and their transmission, antiviral agents and therapeutics, and a market overview and future developments. The chapters in each section of the book discuss various key topics that are contributed to by an international group of leading experts.
ISBN: 9780323918145Publication Date: 2022-11-11
Virus Detection by
Viruses do not behave as other microbes; their life cycles require infecting healthy cells, commandeering their cellular apparatus, replicating and then killing the host cell. Methods for virus detection and identification have been developed only in the past few decades. These recently developed methods include molecular, physical, and proteomic techniques. All these approaches (Electron Microscopy, Molecular, Direct Counting, and Mass Spectrometry Proteomics) to detection and identification are reviewed in this succinct volume. It is written in approachable language with enough detail for trained professionals to follow and want to recommend to others. Key Features Covers common detection methods Reviews the history of detection from antiquity to the present Documents the strengths and weaknesses of various detection methods Describes how to detect newly discovered viruses Recommends specific applications for clinical, hospital, environmental, and public health uses
ISBN: 9780367618018Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Waterborne Pathogens, 2nd ed. by
Waterborne Pathogens: Detection Methods and Applications, Second Edition, gives an overview of advanced and emerging technologies in the detection of a range of waterborne pathogens. In addition, the book presents existing methodologies, highlights where improvements can be made, includes applications, and touches on the ways in which new technologies can be applied in water management. Finally, the book addresses issues of sample preparation (from sampling, to concentration and enrichment), a key stage in any detection protocol.
ISBN: 9780444643193Publication Date: 2020-10-03
Zika and Other Neglected and Emerging Flaviviruses by
Offering up-to-date coverage of familiar flaviviruses that are spreading into new regions or are causing increasingly severe disease, as well as viruses that are almost unknown in most developed nations, Zika and Other Neglected and Emerging Flaviviruses brings together information that allows for easy comparison of similarities and differences of this viral group in a single, convenient volume. Each chapter includes a brief Introduction, history, the diseases, the virus, the immune response, prevention or treatment, an extensive list of references, and a summary overview. The book concludes with a chapter tying together information about flaviviruses and other potential new microbial threats. Covers familiar flaviviruses that are spreading into new regions or are causing increasingly severe disease (such as Zika, dengue and West Nile viruses), as well as lesser-knowns viruses such as tick-borne encephalitis virus, Powassan virus, Omsk hemorrhagic fever, and Murray Valley encephalitis virus. Allows health-related personnel to search for potential treatments and protective responses by examining what measure did or did not work with other, related flaviviruses. Helps readers understand how to prevent or contain newly emerging viral threats?a particularly timely topic regarding the global spread of COVID-19 and the potential of tick-borne encephalitis to rapidly spread and cause severe illness, panic, and disruption of economies. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323825016Publication Date: 2021-02-22
