Emergency Medicine: Clinical Resources

Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2026 by Fred F. Ferri, 2026 For nearly 30 years Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions across sections focusing on diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines? all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates on diagnosis, treatment, and management, reflecting the latest approaches in clinical practice Features 28 all-new topics including protein-losing enteropathy, fistula-in-ano, neck abscess, chronic meningitis, pregnancy-associated sleep disorders, chronic pelvic pain in women, adult-onset autoinflammatory disease, bone metastases, periprosthetic joint infection, liver metastasis, chronic and recurrent pneumonias, sudden cardiac death, firearm injury, and abnormal uterine bleeding in adolescents, among others Includes useful appendices covering palliative care, preoperative evaluation, nutrition, poison management, commonly used herbal products in integrated medicine, and much more Offers online access to newly revised and updated Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date

Rosen and Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult, 6th ed. by Richard E. Wolfe; Adam Z. Barkin; Philip Shayne et al, 2020 The sixth edition of this comprehensive yet concise Rosen & Barkin's 5 Minute Emergency Medicine Consultpulls together up-to-date and evidence-based practice guidelines for easy use in a busy emergency department. In just two brief, bullet-friendly, clutter-free pages, you can quickly decipher the information you need to confirm your diagnosis, order tests, manage treatment and more! Features new information--based on the latest practice guidelines and theoretical developments--and new approaches to diagnosis and management. Designed for integrating into your practice--in an urgent care setting with patients or during downtime between patients or meetings. Covers over 600 disease and condition topics, such as bleeding, orthopedic injuries, gastric conditions, domestic violence and more. Suitable for all practitioners, nurses and residents in an emergency room setting. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Case Files: Emergency Medicine, 5th ed. by Ciara Barclay-Buchanan; Eugene C. Toy; Barry Simon et al, 2023 Real-life cases for success on the emergency medicine clerkship and shelf-exam   Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent medical care. Case Files®: Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review question to enhance your learning.  With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize. This fifth edition includes important new information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, interprofessional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo. * Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions * Master key concepts with clinical pearls * Solidify your knowledge with 14 new integrated challenge questions * Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and patient care * Maximize your shelf exam score with this proven learning system  * NEW! Important information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, interprofessional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo

Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th ed. by Katherine M. Bakes; Jennie A. Buchanan; Maria E. Moreira et al, 2022 For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Approx. 35 illustrations

Extraordinary Cases in Emergency Medicine by Douglas D. Brunette, 2019 More than three hundred extraordinary emergency medicine cases familiarize you with a wide variety of infrequently seen patient presentations Over the course of his thirty-five year career practicing academic emergency medicine in an urban teaching institution providing Level 1 trauma care, author Douglas Brunette, MD has amassed an amazing collection of emergency medicine cases along with accompanying photographs. Most of these cases pose infrequently seen, if not rare, clinical challenges. Some are truly "once in a lifetime" in the career of an emergency medicine physician. All provide a unique learning opportunity.   Each of the 344 cases begins with an image (or set of images) and then continues with concise, templated details, including: * Patient Presentation* Clinical Features* Differential Diagnosis* Emergency Care* Outcome* Further Reading These case histories and images have been carefully selected to be of value to readers ranging from medical students to the most experienced physicians.

First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Boards, 3rd ed. by Barbara K. Blok; Dickson S. Cheung; Timothy F. Platts-Mills, 2016 THE INSIDER'S GUIDE TO ACING THE EMERGENCY MEDICINE BOARDS - NOW WITH FULL COLOR PHOTOS! Features: ·A thorough and user-friendly review of the most frequently test topics NEW! Review questions at the end of each chapter to test your knowledge NEW! Vibrant full-color photographs ·Insider tips and study strategies to maximize your study time and improve your performance Integrated vignette Q Hundreds of high-yield tables, diagrams, and illustrations

Prehospital Emergency Medicine Secrets by Robert P. Olympia; Jeffrey S. Lubin, 2022 For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Prehospital Emergency Medicine Care Secrets is an all-new addition to this popular series, offering practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This new resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics including disaster and multiple casualty incidents, psychiatric emergencies, and prehospital skills and procedures for in-training or practicing professionals. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Includes chapters on public health and EMS, infectious disease emergencies/sepsis, telemedicine and emerging telecommunications, transport of the highly infectious patient, mass casualty evacuation and patient movement, biological and chemical terrorism, community disaster preparedness, and airway management, oxygenation, and ventilation. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Resident Readiness: Emergency Medicine by Debra L. Klamen; Ted R. Clark; Christopher M. McDowell, 2014 ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Resident Readiness: Emergency Medicine prepares you for success during your emergency medicine internship. Inside is a full range of clinical scenarios you may experience during your emergency medicine residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With this book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. Beyond treating your patient, Resident Readiness prepares you to: Build a framework for an efficient approach to ED patient care Recognize life-threatening presentations Prepare for critical care challenges Build a solid foundation in EMS and Ultrasound Provide appropriate discharge planning and follow up from the ED

Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11th Edition by Rana Biary; Mary Ann Howland; Silas W. Smith et al, 2023 The hands-on study companion for the most respected, rigorous medical toxicology text available Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies has long been the go-to guide for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating poisoned and overdosed patients. Now, this practical companion provides everything you need to get even more out of Goldfrank's. Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies provides 1,400 questions with answers for testing your knowledge a process that increases information retention and serves as invaluable practice for board exams. Each chapter has its own question set using both general factual and case-based questions. The guide is ideal for students, nurses, pharmacists, and physicians. Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies covers: General approaches to the poisoned patient Principles of medical toxicology Clinical basis of medical toxicology Poison prevention and education Research principles Legal and forensic considerations

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Examination and Board Review by Susan B. Promes, 2023 A review guide for the authoritative source in emergency medicine! This outstanding review is ideal for any examination in emergency medicine--including board certification--and can also be used for residency program in-training examinations or as a clinical refresher. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers more than 800 case-based questions and detailed answer explanations. Correct answer explanations are referenced to the most authoritative and trusted text on the globe, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, Ninth Edition. Tables, ECGs, radiographs, and full-color clinical images are included to sharpen your diagnostic skills. You'll find everything you need in this one comprehensive review. Features More than 800 multiple-choice questions with detailed answers keyed to Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Ninth Edition Essential for certification and recertification Includes a new dedicated chapter on point-of-care ultrasound Questions and answers are enhanced with tables and full-color images Valuable clinical refresher

Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2nd ed. by Robert P. Olympia; Rory O’Neill; Matthew L. Silvis, 2025 We wanted our second edition of Urgent Care Medicine Secrets to reflect these advancements in the field while focusing on what made our first edition successful: the simplicity of the question-and-answer format, targeting health care providers from different levels of experience and different specialty backgrounds while providing a wealth of knowledge based on the current evidence found in the emergency medicine, sports medicine, and urgent care medicine literature. Once again, I am blessed to embark on this journey with two colleagues I admire and respect tremendously. Rory O’Neill is a board-certified emergency medicine physician, working both clinically and administratively in the arenas of emergency medicine and urgent care medicine. Matthew Silvis is board-certified in both family medicine and primary care sports medicine, balancing his professional career with clinical medicine, education, administration, and research. We searched far and wide for contributors who have demonstrated scholarship in their careers and are experts in their fields. Our contributors represent varied backgrounds, covering general pediatrics, emergency medicine, pediatric emergency medicine, family medicine, urgent care medicine, sports medicine, and anesthesiology. “Faith is my sword. Truth is my shield. Knowledge is my armor.”–Stephen Strange, Doctor Strange Based on your feedback from our first edition, we added several topics, such as the history of urgent care medicine, adult head and neck trauma, adult chest and abdominal trauma, toxicology, general concepts in diagnostic imaging, and obstetrical complaints. The second edition is divided into six sections. The first section includes general concepts in urgent care medicine (the history of urgent care medicine, the business of urgent care medicine, office emergency and disaster preparedness, and the recognition and stabilization of adult and pediatric emergencies). The second and third sections focus on chief complaints, divided into adult and pediatrics. The fourth section focuses on primary care sports medicine, covering common injuries and sports-related infections and illnesses. The fifth section focuses on minor trauma and procedures, including wound assessment/burns/animal bites, laceration repair, orthopedic fracture reduction and splinting, incision and drainage, foreign body removal, dental procedures, and utilization of analgesia and sedation. The last section focuses on miscellaneous topics that may be of interest to the urgent care medicine health care provider, including mental health urgencies, toxicology, travel medicine, general concepts in diagnostic imaging, utilization of diagnostic ultrasound, and obstetrical complaints. Thank you to those who have utilized Urgent Care Medicine Secrets in your educational advancements and clinical practice. We hope that the second edition will be a valuable tool for those working in the urgent care medicine setting and optimize care delivered to each and every patient who presents to an urgent care center.

Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3rd ed. by Gregory R. Ciottone, 2024 While medical specialists in disaster mitigation, preparedness, and response are needed worldwide, the initial phase of disaster response is almost entirely dependent upon local resources-making it essential that all healthcare personnel have a working knowledge of the field and stand ready to integrate into the response system. Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3rd Edition, is the most comprehensive reference available to help accomplish these goals in every community. It thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including lessons learned by the responders to contemporary disasters such as the COVID-19 pandemic, Australian and western U.S. wildfires, European heatwaves, the Beirut explosion, recent hurricanes and typhoons, and the global refugee crisis. Part 1 offers an A-to-Z resource for every aspect of disaster medicine and management, while Part 2 features an exhaustive compilation of every conceivable disaster event, organized to facilitate quick reference in a real-time setting. Covers basic concepts such as identification of risks, organizational preparedness, equipment planning, disaster education and training, and more advanced concepts such as disaster risk reduction, health in complex emergencies, building local disaster resiliency, psychological impact of disasters on children, and more. Contains new decision trees throughout that help guide you through the decision-making process in difficult situations. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated approach to historical perspectives, overviews of current practice including pre-incident and post-incident actions, medical treatment of casualties, and potential pitfalls. Includes updated sections on man-made disasters, including mass casualties, active shooter situations, integrated response to terrorist attacks, and chemical/biological/radiological/nuclear/high-yield explosives disasters. Discusses the latest technologies, such as the use of mobile disaster applications, drone response systems, and virtual reality simulation training. Features thoroughly updated information on crisis leadership, practical applications of disaster epidemiology, disaster and climate change, and the integration of non-government agencies (NGOs) in disaster response-a critical topic for those responding to humanitarian needs overseas. Includes new chapters on Pandemic Preparedness and Response, Disaster Medicine in a Changing Climate, Disaster Response in Asia, Building Local Capacity and Disaster Resiliency, Civilian-Military Coordination in Disaster Response, Medical Simulation in Disaster Preparedness, Disaster Nursing, Crisis Meta-Leadership, Palliative Care in Disasters, Counter-Terrorism Medicine, SARS CoV (COVID-19 and SARS), and Disasters in Space Travel. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.

Current Diagnosis and Treatment Emergency Medicine, 8th ed. by C. Keith Stone; Roger L. Humphries, 2017 Publisher's Note: Products purchased from An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: *Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes *Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders *Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies *Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making *Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED

Evidence-Based Emergency Care by Jesse M. Pines; Ali S. Raja; Fernanda Bellolio et al, 2023 EVIDENCE-BASED EMERGENCY CARE DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND CLINICAL DECISION RULES THIRD EDITION Improve and streamline the diagnostic decision-making process in emergency care The newly revised third edition of Evidence-Based Emergency Care: Diagnostic Testing and Clinical Decision Rules offers an updated review of the evidence and expert discussion of relevant issues in diagnostic testing in the everyday practice of emergency medicine. This book also provides a detailed overview of the science of diagnostic testing and reviews the process behind the development of clinical decision rules. The focus is asking and answering practical questions using original research studies, while commenting on the best available evidence for relevant clinical topics. Readers will also find: Comprehensive explorations of COVID-19, telemedicine, trauma, cardiology, infectious disease, and surgical and abdominal complaints Practical discussions of urology, neurology, hematology, ophthalmology, pulmonology, rheumatology, and geriatric medicine Exploration of practice and policy considerations of testing in an era of limited resources The book is perfect for emergency medicine physicians, nurses, and other allied health professionals. Readers of Evidence-Based Emergency Care: Diagnostic Testing and Clinical Decision Rules, Third Edition will also earn a place in the libraries of administrators and managers in healthcare settings seeking to optimize the use of scarce resources while maintaining the highest standards of care.

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11th ed. by Lewis S. Nelson; Robert S. Hoffman; Lewis R. Goldfrank et al, 2019 The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology A Doody's Core Title for 2019; Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins; Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank's begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations; The Eleventh Edition of Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis; New to this Edition:  * Additional cases and "Special Considerations" chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes * New "Antidotes in Depth" provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies; * New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology * Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points; * Updated coverage of synthetics such as "K2"  * Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools

Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine by Louis J. Ling; Jeffrey J. Schaider; Carlo L. Rosen et al, 2015 Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine presents a clinically focused and evidence-based summary of this specialty, giving you fast, dependable answers to the clinical questions that arise in your practice. Templated chapters guide you through the clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition of a full range of complaints and conditions seen in the ED , with highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls - all the information you need to provide each patient with optimal care. Features: Additional online-only content (including chapters, figures, and tables) and access to over 1500 self-assessment questions and answers online A unique section on High-Risk Chief Complaints guides you through the most critical presentations in the ED, such as chest pain, abdominal pain, shortness of breath, and altered mental status, so you can ensure that these patients are stabilized and treated quickly and effectively. A section on Clinical Disposition draws attention to important post-ED management concerns. A concise, readable format allows quick access to the information you need. Reorganized pediatric section New Key Testing sections found in appropriate chapters Your book purchase includes an eBook version created for Android, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, PC, & Mac. This eBook features: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick-reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use

Poisoning and Drug Overdose, 8th ed. by Craig Smollin (Editor); Ilene B. Anderson; Neal L. Benowitz et al, 2022 When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose Speed is crucial when dealing with toxicologic and drug-related emergencies. Finding answers quickly is easier than ever with this streamlined eighth edition of Poisoning and Drug Overdose. This instant-answer guide provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, the guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is divided into four sections: Section I. Provides a stepwise approach to the evaluation and treatment of coma, seizures, shock, and other complications of poisoning and the proper use of gastric decontamination and dialysis procedures. Section II. Lists specific poisons and drugs, as well as the pathophysiology, toxic dose and level, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and specific treatment associated with each substance. Section III. Covers descriptions of therapeutic drugs and antidotes, including pharmacology indications, adverse effects, drug interactions, and recommended dosage. Section IV. Describes the approach to hazardous materials incidents; the evaluation of occupational exposures; and the toxic effects, physical properties, and workplace limits for over 500 common industrial chemicals. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is enhanced by numerous tables and charts, as well as a user-friendly index. This trusted resource has consistently been relied upon by front line professionals responding to drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures.

Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice, 10th ed. by Ron Walls; Robert Hockberger; Marianne Gausche-Hill et al, 2023 For nearly 40 years, Rosen's Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains your #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice. Offers the most immediately clinically relevant content of any emergency medicine resource, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations and workflows with clear indications and preferred actions. Contains eight entirely new chapters covering coronaviruses/COVID-19, the morbidly obese patient, human trafficking, sexual minority (LGBTQ) patients, social determinants of health, community violence, and humanitarian aid in war and crisis. Features over 1,700 figures, including more than 350 new anatomy drawings, graphs and charts, algorithms, and photos. Includes new information across the spectrum of emergency care, such as adult and pediatric airway management, shock, pandemic disease, emergency toxicology, sepsis syndrome, resuscitation, medical emergencies of pregnancy, the immunocompromised patient, child abuse, pediatric sedation, pediatric trauma, and more. Features ;revised and refined chapter templates that enhance navigation, making it easy to find key information quickly. Provides access to more than 1,200 questions and answers online to aid in exam preparation, as well as two dozen new video clips showing how to best perform critical emergency procedures in real time. Reviewed and verified cover-to-cover by a team of expert clinical pharmacists to ensure accuracy and completeness of all drug information and treatment recommendations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Please note the following important change for printed copies of Rosen's Emergency Medicine, 10e. On page 1029, in table 74.3, the dosage for Rivaroxaban should be 15mg by mouth. You may contact Elsevier Customer Service to request a sticker (Part no. 9996133834) to make the correction in your printed copy. Corrections have been made to the eBook versions of this title.

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski et al, 2020 Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: *Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information *Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information *Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions *World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children *Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies *Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies *Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders *Updated information on procedural sedation *Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients *Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."JAMA

The Toxicology Handbook, 4th ed. by Jason Armstrong; Ovidiu Pascu, 2022 Now in its fourth edition, the Toxicology Handbook is Australia's leading reference guide for quick and evidence-informed decision making on treatment of the acutely poisoned patient. The book has been streamlined and fully updated to provide a comprehensive yet concise guide for all medical practitioners and health-care professionals who deal with poisonings. It contains quickly accessible information on poisons, toxins, antidotes, envenomings and antivenoms, and uses a structured and rigorous risk assessment-based approach to guide appropriate treatment decisions. Written by leading Australian specialists in toxicology and informed by the latest clinical research, this is a must-have addition to all emergency departments and poison information centres. Concisely written - helps the student, trainee, and clinician to find information quickly and easily A simple, easily remembered and elegant framework (R RSI DEAD) forming the basis of care for all toxicology patients Fully revised content, streamlined to be more user-friendly Evidence based and up to date - supports appropriate decision making Helps resolve common treatment dilemmas, including for digoxin and lithium poisoning, corrosive ingestions and management of envenomings Written and edited by experts in the field of toxicology An eBook included in all print purchases Expanded information on agents that are seen with increasing frequency in poisoned patients, including lamotrigine and pregabalin Updated detail on the management of agents including direct oral anticoagulants, digoxin, desvenlafaxine and corrosives Updated and standardised treatment recommendations for dysrhythmias, particularly resulting from drug-induced conduction abnormalities (QRS and QT prolongation) Simplified and standardised approaches to management (particularly cardiovascular toxicity from a variety of agents)

Critical Care Emergencies by Lillian Liang Emlet, 2023 Written for residents and practicing community emergency physicians, this volume on critical care emergencies in the What Do I Do Now: Emergency Medicine series uses a case-based approach to cover both common and unique scenarios in critical care emergencies. Featuring chapters written by critical care and emergency medicine trained physicians, this volume provides a unique perspective on the ongoing management of critical illness with a focus on guideline-based protocol care based on national and local recommendations for common presentations such as pneumonia, acute myocardial infarction, or trauma. This volume reviews frequently-encountered diagnoses, procedures, clinical recommendations, and management problems. Brief summaries included at the end of each chapter supply the practicing clinician a quick point-of-care reference during a shift. Critical Care Emergencies is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which provides relevant reading for on-clinical shift trainees and for practicing EM physicians who need a refresher. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"

The Emergency Department Technician Handbook by Robert Shesser; Ali Pourmand; Amy Keim, 2024 Emergency Department Technicians (EDTs) play a vital role in actively supporting the medical team in today's hospitals, and the role continues to expand in light of staffing shortages and increased emergency department volumes. The Emergency Department Technician Handbook is a reliable, comprehensive resource in this increasingly important field, filling a timely need in EDT workforce development for both technicians and educators. Concise, readable text, along with high-quality clinical photos and a video library that depict procedures and patient positioning, make this new handbook a must-have resource in every emergency department. Provides quick, convenient access to practical guidance and everyday answers in an easy-to-read outline format. Discusses key topics such as patient flow and assessment in the ED, triage, and point-of-care testing. Advises on best practices for wound care, including cleansing, dressing, and splinting a wound as well as how to set up a suture tray and advanced wound care techniques. Covers essential imaging-based procedures, including the use of ultrasound-guided IV. Features a companion video library with a range of clips depicting how to perform procedures and patient examinations in real time. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care: Incorporating Definitive Anaesthetic Trauma Care, 6th ed. by Kenneth D. Boffard; Jonathan White, 2024 Developed for the International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care (IATSIC), the Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care 6e is ideal for training all surgeons and anaesthetists who manage trauma on an infrequent basis. The Manual is updated every 4 years and reflects the most recent developments in patient management based on new evidence-based information. Its focus is on the importance of the multidisciplinary care of the trauma surgical patient. This sixth edition has evolved, and the all-important section on the Non-Technical Skills which are required has been expanded. A significant number of the original guidelines in trauma have been archived, as they are no longer pertinent or have been superseded. The increasing (and occasionally harmful) role of non-operative management (NOM) has been recognized. The 'Military Environments' and 'Austere Environments' chapters have been substantially revised to reflect current multinational combat experience, and broadened to reflect modern asymmetrical conflicts and the increased need for humanitarian intervention including military peacekeeping in which only one side wears a uniform. Military weapons are used in major cities against the civilian population. More recently, urban, non-military populations have been the targets and victims of heavy military combat including use of ultra-sophisticated weaponry. Each situation carries its own spectrum of injury and responsibility of care. Including website access to a selection of videos which provide an anatomic overview of surgical approaches, this resource provides a gold standard educational and training resource to help prepare the relatively fully trained surgeon to manage the difficult injuries that might present to a major trauma centre.

Medicine for the Outdoors: the Essential Guide to First Aid and Medical Emergencies, 7th ed. by Tate Higgins; Ali S. Arastu; Paul S. Auerbach, 2024 For nearly 40 years, Medicine for the Outdoors: The Essential Guide to First Aid and Medical Emergencies has been the take-along manual of choice for anyone venturing into the mountains, forest, desert, or on water. This essential guide provides highly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on immediate stabilization and treatment of persons with virtually any possible medical problem-designed for on-the-spot use when higher-level medical care is not accessible. Written by experts in outdoor medicine, this updated edition helps you manage any situation until medical personnel can take over. Covers key information on a wide range of disorders related to specific environments, including natural disasters, high-altitude problems, water-related incidents, heat- and cold-related illnesses, and wildland fires. Provides easy-to-understand recommendations for dealing with animal attacks, venomous wildlife, wild plant and mushroom poisoning, minor and major medical problems, infectious diseases, water disinfection, and severe bleeding. Discusses key topics, including antibiotics, medicines, opioid overdose treatment, wound closure techniques, severe bleeding, spinal assessment and immobilization, tourniquets, the use of a Gamow bag for severe altitude illness, splinting, dental emergencies, disaster preparedness, global conflict guidelines, canine medicine, today's infectious disease threats, and much more. Includes up-to-date guidelines, even more helpful illustrations and diagrams, and a new chapter: Patient Assessment: A Structured Approach to Emergencies in the Outdoors. Includes advanced topics valuable to physicians and expedition medical staff at all levels of training and experience. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Minor Emergencies, 4th ed. by Philip Buttaravoli; Stephen Leffler; R. Ramsey Herrington, 2022 For clinicians who see patients suffering from non-life-threatening crises. Minor Emergencies, 4th Edition, provides concise, expert guidance on what to do and what not to do for nearly 200 common presentations, including both the correct procedural and pharmaceutical treatments. Completely updated with the latest equipment, devices, dosages, and techniques, this award-winning reference delivers fast, efficient guidance just when you need it. Instructional videos clearly demonstrate pearls and pitfalls of a wide variety of procedures. Offers a practical approach to common minor emergencies, with brief, to-the-point guidance on everything from febrile seizures in children, foreign body removal, and initial management of epistaxis to rib fractures, sacroiliac joint injection, and patellar dislocation reduction. Includes new ultrasound examples throughout, plus new chapters on floaters, prophylaxis following sexual exposure, leg edema, piercing complications, Taser injuries, and more. Provides at-a-glance guidance with "What to Do" and ;"What NOT to Do" checklists.; Presents information in a highly templated format, with each topic given 2-3 pages of coverage. Features a discussion box at the end of each chapter with a quick overview of clinical manifestations, differential diagnosis, and other points of consideration-with evidence. Includes access to top;38 procedural videos such as removing foreign body from skin, upper facial injury-fracture examination, and more. Offers procedural sedation recommendations from Dr. Daniel Wolfson.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices 

Primary Care for Emergency Physicians, 2nd ed. by Bobby K. Desai; Alpa Desai; Latha Ganti et al, 2024 This book provides emergency department and urgent care physicians with a treatment plan for patients deemed not to have an emergency medical situation and who can be safely treated as an outpatient. Although this book examines a wide variety of conditions and patient demographics, it maintains a consistent narrative that reflects the urgency and specificities of the emergency medicine setting. This book further fills gaps in the emergency medicine literature by relaying deliberate and concise training on how to provide basic primary care. Primary Care for Emergency Physicians utilizes the latest information present in the field to provide the reader with up-to-date diagnosis and treatment for the conditions most often seen in the emergency department. A second edition to its successful predecessor, the book's original chapters have been thoroughly updated and several new chapters have been added. The new chapters consist of diagnoses, treatments, and general information on diabetes mellitus, vaginal problems, sciatica, and allergic rhinitis. Among the topics carried over from the first edition are headaches, ear pain, sinonasal diseases, GERD, bloating, constipation, and hemorrhoids. This volume is a concise guide to primary care that is ideal for emergency and urgent care physicians, both residents and more experienced providers.

Reichman's Emergency Medicine Procedures, 3rd ed. by Eric F. Reichman, 2019 The most clear, complete, and easy-to-understand review of emergency medicine procedures - enhanced by an animation library and more than 1,500 full-color photographs Doody's Core Titles for 2022! Reichman's Emergency Medicine Procedures, Third Edition is written to provide a detailed, step-by-step approach to more than 200 procedures performed in an emergency or acute care setting. This trusted classic will provide medical students, residents, advanced practice clinicians, and the seasoned emergentologist with a reliable, one-stop procedural reference on which to base clinical practices and technical skills. The Third Edition is enhanced by added chapters, algorithms, clinical pictures, radiographs, tables, and coverage of cutting-edge technological advancements.  Features: Organized into 16 sections, each representing an organ system, an area of the body, or a surgical specialty. Each chapter is devoted to a single procedure Chapters have a similar format that encompasses: Relevant anatomy and pathophysiology Indications and contraindications for the procedure Preparation for the patient, including consent, anesthesia, and analgesia Step-by-step description of the procedure Cautions that indicate common problems Alternative techniques and helpful hints Aftercare and follow-up Potential complications Summary of critical information More than 1,500 full-color photographs Companion online library of animations demonstrates approximately 40 common or difficult procedures. Includes both common and infrequently encountered procedures Important evidence-based recommendations throughout Helpful pedagogy includes key information, cautions, and important facts highlighted in bold The techniques presented in this book will dramatically expand your understanding of emergency medicine procedures, and most importantly, your ability to deliver positive patient outcomes.

Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th ed. by James R. Roberts, 2019 Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th Edition, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field. Provides clear, detailed information for practitioners at all levels of experience, - from trainees who are unfamiliar with a specific procedure to those with experience in the technique. Covers the latest equipment, devices, drug therapies, and techniques you need to know for the effective practice of emergency medicine and acute care. Features new and updated information on ultrasound throughout the text, including Ultrasound Boxes that are expertly written and richly illustrated with photographs and clinical correlative images. Includes more Procedure Boxes that allow you to see entire procedures at a glance, functioning as a mini-atlas that allows you to quickly grasp how to perform a procedure. Contains more than 100 new figures-of more than 3,500 images total-including new color photographs new Ultrasound Boxes, and new algorithms. Features a new chapter on Procedures in the Setting of Anticoagulation. Covers hot topics such as novel loop abscess drainage technique, ENT techniques, and ophthalmology techniques, as well as procedures performed by acute care practitioners such as sedation of the agitated patient, alternate methods of drug delivery, and common errors and complications in the acute care setting. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also have access to nearly 250 procedural videos.

Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, 5th ed. by Peter Cameron; Mark Little; Biswadev Mitra et al, 2020 Since the first edition of Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine was published twenty years ago, there has been enormous change in the way emergency care is delivered. This has occurred both in countries where emergency medicine was originally developed and in those where its application was limited because of cost. Emergency medicine is now perceived as the cornerstone of response to acute illness regardless of resources. This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines. This edition comes with an enhanced electronic version with video and self-assessment content, providing a richer learning experience and making rapid reference easier than ever before, anytime, anywhere. A comprehensive textbook of adult emergency medicine for trainee doctors - covers all the problems likely to present to a trainee in the emergency department. Chapters are highly readable and concise - boxes summarise chapter key points and highlight controversial areas of treatment. The content is highly practical, clinically orientated and thoroughly updated in all the core subjects There have been major updates in topics such as airway, shock and sepsis where guidelines have changed rapidly. The imaging chapters have also evolved with changing practice and improved technology, to be concordant with evidence on the importance of image interpretation by emergency clinicians. There are major sections on other skills and issues of key importance to today's advanced emergency medicine practitioner, such as staffing, overcrowding, triage, patient safety and quality measures. In addition, difficult topics such as death and dying, the challenging patient, ethics, giving evidence and domestic violence are covered. Governance, training, research and organisational subjects such as disaster planning and response, humanitarian emergencies and refugee medicine are included to give the reader a framework to understand the complexity of managing major emergency systems of care.

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, 8th ed. by Michael T. Fitch; Scott A. Joing; Vincent J. Wang et al, 2018 The book that belongs in the pocket of every clinician working in an acute care setting A Doody's Core Title for 2019! This portable manual encapsulates the most clinically relevant content of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition - the world's bestselling text on the topic -- and puts it at your fingertips, or in your pocket or backpack. Covering the full spectrum of emergency medicine in all patient populations - adult and pediatric - this full-color guide is composed of concise chapters that focus on clinical features, diagnosis and differential, and emergency management and disposition. Packing a remarkable amount of information in a compact, full-color presentation, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, Eighth Edition is enhanced by contributors from across the globe. Numerous tables and full-color photographs and illustrations enrich the text and help you deliver skillful and timely patient care. This new edition includes extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest guidelines, evidence-based protocols, and relevant research.

The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, 6th ed. by Calvin A. Brown, 2023 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Long recognized as the gold standard emergency airway management textbook, The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, Sixth Edition, remains the most trusted reference on this challenging topic. This practical reference, edited by Drs. Calvin A. Brown III, John C. Sakles, Nathan W. Mick, Jarrod M. Mosier, and Darren A. Braude, is the foundation text for these nationally recognized programs: The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: Residency Edition(tm). Its hands-on approach provides the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond wherever adult or pediatric airway emergencies may occur, including in and out of hospital settings, emergency departments, and urgent care centers. Includes new chapters on Physiologically Difficult Airway; Human Factors in Emergency Airway Management; Intubating the Highly Infectious Patient (including COVID-19 considerations); and the Massively Soiled Airway Emphasizes practicality with step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Esteemed contributors from previous editions, Dr. Jarrod M. Mosier and Dr. Darren A. Braude, bring their extensive expertise in critical care and prehospital airway management, respectively, as new editors of this edition Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.