AskMayoExpertThis link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
Mayo FormularyThis link opens in a new windowList of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
AccessAnesthesiologyThis link opens in a new windowAnesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
AccessSurgeryThis link opens in a new windowContains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
MicromedexThis link opens in a new windowIntegrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum and Lab Advisor.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowPoint-of-care clinical information resource covering multiple medical specialties.
GuidelineCentralAccess to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowStrong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic General Surgery by Jad M. Abdelsattar; Moustafa M. El Khatib; T. K. Pandian; Samuel J. Allen; David R. Farley, 2020Mayo Clinic General Surgery is a concise text that aims to provide learners with knowledge crucial to the development of surgical skill. Featuring nearly 200 "challenge" questions designed to reveal the gaps in your surgical knowledge and over 200 instructional videos, with accompanying videostills and transcripts, this book offers multiplatform educational content in a learner-friendly format. Contents include surgery by organ system, such as the esophagus and colon, and a special chapter for trauma assessment. Each chapter contains information on the organ system, includingembryology, anatomy, and physiology, as well as clinical presentations and imaging techniques. Finally, every chapter offers descriptions of operations and potential postoperative complications.Dr. Farley and his coauthors present the core concepts of general surgery instruction at Mayo Clinic, offering a unique glimpse at surgical training in this world-renowned institution. This book provides succinct and accurate information in a written, visual, and audiovisual format that allowsefficient access to surgical learners-especially those with just a few minutes to spare. Ultimately, the goal is to better prepare students, residents, and fellows for their surgical experiences and lead to better understanding with long-term retention.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by Gerard M. Doherty, 2020Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons * Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, oncology, organ transplantation, and pediatric surgery * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Concise overview of core topics in the general surgery curriculum * Hundreds of chapter-ending multiple-choice review questions * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries
Current Surgical Therapy by John L. Cameron (Editor); Andrew M. Cameron (Editor), 2023An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Maingot's Abdominal Operations. 13th Edition by Michael J. Zinner; Stanley W. Ashley; O. Joe Hines, 2019The best edition yet of the cornerstone text on abdominal operations--enhanced by thousands of full-color photographs and illustrations and thoroughly updated content A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Edition after edition, Maingot's Abdominal Operations has been hailed as the most complete, current, and trusted resource among general, colorectal, and gastrointestinal surgeons. Presented in full color, this classic textbook carefully details common and important abdominal procedures, offering a concise, yet complete, survey of the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant digestive disorders. Bolstered by more than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, Maingot's 78 chapters deliver everything you need to understand congenital, acquired, and neoplastic disorders - and optimize surgical outcomes for any type of abdominal disorder. FEATURES: * Contemporary focus on operative procedures, and new concepts in the diagnosis and management of abdominal disease * Convenient organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * Added chapters on quality metrics, ERAS, and robotic surgery; and an increased number of "Perspective" commentaries by experts in the field * Disease-focused and organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * More than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, many new to this edition
Principles and Practice of Surgery by O. James Garden (Editor); Rowan W. Parks (Editor); Stephen J. Wigmore (Editor), 2023This comprehensive textbook is the surgical companion to the international bestseller, Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. It provides an overview of core surgical topics encountered in an integrated medical curriculum and, later, in the clinical setting. The book takes a succinct and practical approach to the understanding of surgical disease and care of the surgical patient. It offers comprehensive coverage of the key surgical specialties and includes emerging issues around patient safety and the critical importance of clinical human factors in surgical practice. Fully updated to reflect changes in understanding and evidence-based practice, this is a text that keeps the student up to date and that no trainee surgeon should be without. Easy to read, logical to follow Summary boxes and evidence boxes throughout to complement the text Superbly presented with line drawings, high quality radiographic images and colour photographs to help in exams and in the clinical setting. Aligned with undergraduate and postgraduate surgical curricula New chapters on professional and ethical responsibilities, global surgery, patient safety and clinical human factors Comprehensive information on global surgical practice Full online and eBook version available as part of Student Consult
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by Courtney M. Townsend (Editor), 2022For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 11th Edition by Dana K. Andersen; Timothy R. Billiar; David L. Dunn et al, 2019The BEST EDITION yet of the #1 text for surgical practice and education For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery. Enhanced by a new two volume presentation, the Eleventh Edition has been completely updated and refreshed with an emphasis on state-of-the-art, evidence-based surgical care. You will find an exciting array of new contributors from around the world, new chapters on cutting-edge topics, plus the acclaimed learning aids that make the material easier to understand and memorize. This outstanding content is bolstered by more than 800 photographs and 1,300 line drawings, most in full color, as well as online videos demonstrating key operations. Here's why the Eleventh Edition is the best edition yet: Six timely new chapters on important topics such as enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), ambulatory/outpatient surgery, evidence for surgery practice, skills and simulation, and web-based education and social media High-quality full-color design showcases an unsurpassed illustration program Emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Acclaimed learning aids (many new to this edition), including an abundance of completely up-to-date tables that summarize the most current evidence, boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and an abundance of completely up-to-date tables, and key references More than the field's cornerstone textbook, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is an international compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons.
NIH Clinical Trials ListingThis link opens in a new windowProvides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by Alden H. Harken; Ernest E. Moore, 2018For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ABSITE Slayer, 2nd Edition by Dale A. Dangleben, 2021Ace the ABSITE with the most rigorous, high-yield exam review available Focusing specifically on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, ABSITE Slayer reduces pre-test anxiety and provides the knowledge and confidence you need to pass the exam. Packed with critical, up-to-date information, this powerful study aid provides a complete framework for your exam preparation and is highly efficient for last-minute review, as well. You'll find everything you need to ace the exam in one comprehensive package--from full-color illustrations to "make or break" tips--delivered by expert authors who know exactly what it takes to succeed. What makes ABSITE Slayer the leading study aid on the market? 450+ multiple-choice and 1,000+ quick-hit single answer questions Test-taking tips that can make the difference between success and failure Full-color illustrations of must-know anatomy Valuable clinical pearls Easy-to-retain concise text Logical organ-based organization Chapters on pharmacology, anesthesia, cell biology, and fluids/electrolytes/nutrition
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Andre R. Campbell et al, 2022Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
General Surgery Examination and Board Review, Second Edition by Robert B. Lim; Daniel B. Jones, 2022The best cases, the best questions, the best review--the BEST way to prepare for the General Surgery Boards and ABSITE Ideal for both written and oral board prep, General Surgery Examination and Board Review is the perfect way to prepare for your certification exams. Covering the full range of exam topics, this high-yield review features an effective case-based approach that sharpens clinical decision-making skills and gives the content real-world relevance. Each of the 100+ chapters opens with a clinical case and is followed by Q&A related to that particular case. You also get detailed evidenced-based answer explanations and references to facilitate more in-depth study. Features: 175 photos and illustrations 700+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the exam blueprint to maximize the effectiveness of the study process Includes chapters on ethical/legal issues, robotic-assisted surgery, end of life care, and surgical nutrition Content reflects the latest clinical advances.
Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review by Robert B. Lim; Daniel B. Jones, 2022With 500+ questions, this case-based study guide provides the hands-on practice surgeons need to ace the board exam for metabolic and bariatric surgery Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review delivers the most relevant clinical information for preparing for this rigorous test. And with hundreds of practice questions and complete explanations for each one, this unmatched case-based study guide enables you to prepare for the test before exam day--building your knowledge and confidence for when it matters most. Features 200 photos and illustrations 500+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the certification exam outline Case-based approach sharpens clinical decision-making skills.
On Call Surgery by Gregg A. Adams; Stephen D. Bresnick; Jared Forrester et al, 2020Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery by Laura M. Mazer; Kiran Lagisetty; Kathryn L. Butler, 2017A combination primer on evaluating the surgical literature and summary of landmark articles in general surgery Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery is a complete primer on how to efficiently evaluate the surgical literature, conduct literature searches, and identify high-impact articles. It also delivers concise, high-yield summaries of more than 130 of the most important surgical papers of the past few decades. These carefully selected summaries help you better understand the studies that have shaped surgical specialties and continue to inform clinical practice today. Features:Articles are conveniently arranged by subspecialty fields within general surgery * Each article summary is accompanied by brief commentary explaining the paper's importance and relevance to current practice * Designed to guide you towards a practice grounded in evidence, and enhance your ability to find and evaluate new information ;Essential reading for medical students, surgical trainees, as well as practicing clinicians who want an index of cornerstone literature
Resident Readiness General Surgery by Debra L. Klamen; Brian C. George et al, 2013ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Resident Readiness: General Surgery prepares you for success during your surgical internship. Inside is a full range of scenarios you may experience during your residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to help you remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With the book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. BEYOND TREATING YOUR PATIENT, RESIDENT READINESS PREPARES YOU TO Handle inpatient problems on the floor Manage patients in the ED, including trauma Follow up with patients in the outpatient clinics post-surgery Triage multiple simultaneous admissions and/or consults.