AskMayoExpertThis link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
Mayo FormularyThis link opens in a new windowList of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
AccessAnesthesiologyThis link opens in a new windowAnesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
AccessSurgeryThis link opens in a new windowContains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
MicromedexThis link opens in a new windowIntegrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum and Lab Advisor.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
NIH Clinical Trials ListingThis link opens in a new windowProvides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
The ASCRS Manual of Colon and Rectal Surgery by Scott R. Steele (Editor); Tracy L. Hull (Editor); Neil Hyman (Editor) et al, 2019Colorectal Surgery has continued to experience tremendous growth in both the community and academic settings over the past few years. The recent increase in demand for colorectal specialists has been fueled by an overwhelming number of applications to fellowship training programs, resulting in some of the most coveted and competitive positions. Furthermore, the accumulation of experience, knowledge, and wisdom from pioneers in the field, combined with major recent technological advances, has transformed the clinical management of diseases of the colon and rectum. Colorectal Surgeons have embraced advances ranging from minimally invasive approaches for complex problems to novel training methods for future generations. Additionally, we have spearheaded innovations in the management of colorectal cancer, pelvic floor disorders, diverticulitis, inflammatory bowel disease, and anorectal conditions. Despite these improvements, there remains a seemingly never-ending mixture of complex patient disease processes and complications resulting from the care of these patients. Even in cases where the technical challenges were managed successfully, complications or poor function may result in dramatic life-long consequences, reduced quality of life, as well as having economic implications. The American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) is the premiere professional organization of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. Three editions of the ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery have been published and have proved to be extremely valuable for their wealth of general information and knowledge, providing not only background information, but also specifics regarding the more complex situations that surgeons who treat patients with colorectal disease experience on a regular basis. An ASCRS manual was produced in in 2009 and 2014, each accompanying their original textbooks. This has been formed by abstracting the textbook into a bullet format; all figures and most tables were retained. The 3rd edition of the Textbook (published by Springer) included completely new chapters and authors. This 3rd edition of the Manual is indicated to conform to the new edition of the Textbook and incorporate newer information in the field of colon and rectal surgery. This Manual will serve as a very useful resource for physicians and researchers dealing with diseases of the colon and rectum. It will provide a concise yet comprehensive summary of the current status of the field that will help guide education, patient management and stimulate investigative efforts. All chapters were written and abstracted by experts in their fields and will include the most up to date scientific and clinical information.
The ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery by Scott R. Steele (Editor); Tracy L. Hull (Editor); Neil Hyman (Editor) et al, 2022This book serves as a valuable resource for surgeons and health care providers at all stages of their career caring for patients with colorectal disease. This edition provides all newly written chapters, organized around the "pillars" of colorectal disease: perioperative (including endoscopy); anorectal disease; benign disease (including inflammatory bowel disease); malignancy; pelvic floor disorders; and a "miscellaneous" section that covers aspects both inside and beyond the operating room. Chapters are formatted to follow that of a "how to" manual as well as an algorithm-based guide to allow the reader to understand the thought process behind a proposed treatment strategy. By making use of evidence-based recommendations, each chapter includes not only background information and diagnostic/therapeutic guidelines, but also provides operative technical details and perioperative "tips and tricks" that are utilized in the management of these complex surgical challenges. Chapters also include the assessment of risk and methods utilized to minimize perioperative complications. In addition, the book incorporates sections covering the medical and surgical therapies for abdominal, pelvic and anorectal disease. Written by experts in the field from around the world, The ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery 4th Edition exposes the many critical gaps in our knowledge base and inspires the next generation to answer them through thoughtful and high level scientific inquiry.
Maingot's Abdominal Operations. 13th Edition by Michael J. Zinner; Stanley W. Ashley; O. Joe Hines, 2019The best edition yet of the cornerstone text on abdominal operations--enhanced by thousands of full-color photographs and illustrations and thoroughly updated content A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Edition after edition, Maingot's Abdominal Operations has been hailed as the most complete, current, and trusted resource among general, colorectal, and gastrointestinal surgeons. Presented in full color, this classic textbook carefully details common and important abdominal procedures, offering a concise, yet complete, survey of the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant digestive disorders. Bolstered by more than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, Maingot's 78 chapters deliver everything you need to understand congenital, acquired, and neoplastic disorders - and optimize surgical outcomes for any type of abdominal disorder. FEATURES: * Contemporary focus on operative procedures, and new concepts in the diagnosis and management of abdominal disease * Convenient organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * Added chapters on quality metrics, ERAS, and robotic surgery; and an increased number of "Perspective" commentaries by experts in the field * Disease-focused and organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * More than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, many new to this edition
Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract by Charles J. Yeo, 2019For more than 60 years, Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract has served as the cornerstone reference in this fast-moving field. With comprehensive coverage of all aspects of GI surgery, the 8th Edition, by Drs. Charles J. Yeo, Steven R. DeMeester, David W. McFadden, Jeffrey B. Matthews, and James W. Fleshman, offers lavishly illustrated, authoritative guidance on endoscopic, robotic, and minimally invasive procedures, as well as current medical therapies. Each section is edited by a premier authority in GI surgery; chapters reflect key topics and are written by a "who's who" of international experts in the field. It's your one-stop resource for proven, systematic approaches to all relevant adult and pediatric GI disorders and operations Features an abundance of beautifully detailed intraoperative and laparoscopic photographs, as well as radiographs and line drawings, to enhance and clarify the text. Presents essential information, such as lists of differential diagnoses, in tabular format for quick reference. Discusses recent, major advances in minimally invasive surgery and robotic surgery, personalized therapy based on genomics and proteomics, and new pharmacologic treatments of various GI diseases. Includes all-new information on laparoscopy for rectal cancer, sacral nerve stimulation for incontinence and constipation, management of Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, advances in immunosuppression for transplant patients, and new therapies for inflammatory bowel disease. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition by Jonathan Kantor, 2022This accessible, meticulously illustrated atlas provides everything you need to effectively treat wounds and conduct surgical, reconstructive, and cosmetic repairs with minimal scarring Understanding the subtleties of suture choice and placement often makes the difference between positive and negative patient outcomes. The Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition provides the information and insight readers need to surgically treat a range of wounds and surgical defects--from simple lacerations to complex reconstructive surgery--with the utmost expertise. Presented in an at-a-glance format and packed with 450 photos and illustrations, this guide kicks off with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, then describes equipment, positioning, key principles, and 75 suture techniques--complete with step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, it covers each area of anatomy, guiding the practitioner in which suture to use when and how to modify certain sutures in specific locations. Techniques are diagrammatically illustrated and supplemented by the online videos, and the author includes tips and pearls for each technique, as well as caveats, drawbacks and cautions. This updated edition includes new sections on: Laceration repair Pin-point pexing sutures Leveling sutures Three-dimensional continuous suturing Basting sutures And more
Colorectal Surgery: a Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice by Sue Clark (Editor), 2019Colorectal Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of this sub-specialty that is relevant to their general surgical practice. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. This edition of Colorectal Surgery includes new chapters on surgery for colon cancer, and on the management of advanced and recurrent colorectal cancer. New techniques for the minimally invasive treatment of rectal cancer are included for the first time, as are a number of new procedures for fistula. The latest evidence for total mesocolic excision is included for the first time, together with clear descriptions of the technique.
Current Therapy in Colon and Rectal Surgery by Victor W. Fazio (Editor); James M. Church (Editor); Conor Delaney (Editor) et al, 2017For more than 25 years, Current Therapy in Colon and Rectal Surgery has been the go-to resource for preparing for the American Board of Surgery certification exam. Following in this tradition, the 3rd Edition offers a comprehensive, contemporary summary of treatment options for colorectal diseases, with a focus on practical clinical science and applications. In a single, portable volume, you'll find complete coverage of new diagnostic modalities, medical therapeutics, and surgical treatment options, including minimally invasive surgery. Easy to read and digest, it provides a quick consultation with experts on the essentials of colon and rectal surgery. Consult this title for a quick overview before you enter the OR, and use it as a review tool for board certification and recertification. Nearly 100 succinct chapters, just 3 or 4 pages each, written by leading experts in colorectal surgery. Five chapters devoted exclusively to different aspects of rectal cancer. Other key topics include minimally invasive surgery, reparative surgery, maturing outcomes, and managing surgical risk. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. New chapters focus on hot topics such as intestinal transplants, enhanced recovery programs, and the management of peristomal hernias. Updated information on the molecular biology of colorectal cancer and its implications for therapy. With 137 additional contributing experts
McGraw-Hill Manual: Colorectal Surgery by Andreas M. Kaiser, 2009A "find-it-now" point-of-care guide to colorectal surgery--complete with ICD-9 codes A Doody's Core Title for 2011! "As a busy surgical resident who is often bombarded with information from several different resources, I found this book to be a comprehensive quick reference to refresh my memory about the diagnosis, management, and operative technique associated with colorectal diseases. It is useful when I'm on the run, particularly when faced with multiple patients in the ER and clinic. Using this book has helped me to supplement and reinforce my knowledge of colorectal diseases. Surprisingly, I have come across very few surgical subspecialty reference guides such as this. It is a rare entity to find a surgical reference guide that is concise yet all inclusive, well organized, intuitive, and worthwhile. Most other surgical handbooks are appropriate only for junior residents. Furthermore, these other books are often written in paragraph form, making it more difficult to find information. Finally, most of these handbooks include allgeneral surgery topics, not just information on one surgical subspecialty. This book is superior to other handbooks in that it can be used by all types of physicians and trainees and its outline and bulleted format make it an easy read. 3 Stars."---Doody's Review Service McGraw-Hill Manual Colorectal Surgery provides the information you need for every kind of colorectal surgery, conveniently presented in at-a-glance bulleted lists and tables. Concise chapters provide high-yield summaries of symptoms, diseases, differential diagnoses, management, and potential complications, along with step-by-step technical instructions for operations. FEATURES Brief thumbnail descriptions of symptoms and diagnosis; evaluation tools; anatomy and physiology; diseases and problems; operative techniques; adjuvant and conservative treatment; perioperative management; and more! Can be used as a guide, a resource, a refresher, or a board review Two-color design with tabbed pages facilitates on-the-spot look-up Tables of drugs with both trade and generic names, plus important dosing and safety information New medical illustrations created for this resource ICD-9 codes tagged for each relevant chapter for domestic and international reference Handy slim design and stain resistant covers Helpful appendices on medications, tumor staging, Amsterdam/Bethesda criteria, and incontinence scores
Oesophagogastric Surgery by S. Michael Griffin (Editor); Peter J. Lamb (Editor), 2019Oesophagogastric Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of this sub-specialty that is relevant to their general surgical practice. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. This new Sixth Edition includes contributions from a number of world renowned authors which reflects the global nature of oesophagogastric surgery. In particular, to reflect the increasing role of bariatric surgery, there are three new chapters covering obesity, bariatric surgical procedures, and the follow up and outcomes of bariatric surgery. Other chapters have been extensively revised by world experts and include up to date evidence and advances in the assessment, management, and treatment of oesophagogastric disease.
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, Eleventh Edition by Patrick Vaccaro; Robert M. Zollinger; E. Christopher Ellison et al, 2022Packed with 1,800 images--the gold-standard resource for performing surgical procedures safely and effectively has been fully updated and revised Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with color highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care. Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including: *Robotic surgery *Laparoscopic surgery *Endovascular procedures
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowStrong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by Alden H. Harken; Ernest E. Moore, 2018For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ABSITE Slayer, 2nd Edition by Dale A. Dangleben, 2021Ace the ABSITE with the most rigorous, high-yield exam review available Focusing specifically on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, ABSITE Slayer reduces pre-test anxiety and provides the knowledge and confidence you need to pass the exam. Packed with critical, up-to-date information, this powerful study aid provides a complete framework for your exam preparation and is highly efficient for last-minute review, as well. You'll find everything you need to ace the exam in one comprehensive package--from full-color illustrations to "make or break" tips--delivered by expert authors who know exactly what it takes to succeed. What makes ABSITE Slayer the leading study aid on the market? 450+ multiple-choice and 1,000+ quick-hit single answer questions Test-taking tips that can make the difference between success and failure Full-color illustrations of must-know anatomy Valuable clinical pearls Easy-to-retain concise text Logical organ-based organization Chapters on pharmacology, anesthesia, cell biology, and fluids/electrolytes/nutrition
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Andre R. Campbell et al, 2022Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
General Surgery Examination and Board Review, Second Edition by Robert B. Lim; Daniel B. Jones, 2022The best cases, the best questions, the best review--the BEST way to prepare for the General Surgery Boards and ABSITE Ideal for both written and oral board prep, General Surgery Examination and Board Review is the perfect way to prepare for your certification exams. Covering the full range of exam topics, this high-yield review features an effective case-based approach that sharpens clinical decision-making skills and gives the content real-world relevance. Each of the 100+ chapters opens with a clinical case and is followed by Q&A related to that particular case. You also get detailed evidenced-based answer explanations and references to facilitate more in-depth study. Features: 175 photos and illustrations 700+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the exam blueprint to maximize the effectiveness of the study process Includes chapters on ethical/legal issues, robotic-assisted surgery, end of life care, and surgical nutrition Content reflects the latest clinical advances.
Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review by Robert B. Lim; Daniel B. Jones, 2022With 500+ questions, this case-based study guide provides the hands-on practice surgeons need to ace the board exam for metabolic and bariatric surgery Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review delivers the most relevant clinical information for preparing for this rigorous test. And with hundreds of practice questions and complete explanations for each one, this unmatched case-based study guide enables you to prepare for the test before exam day--building your knowledge and confidence for when it matters most. Features 200 photos and illustrations 500+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the certification exam outline Case-based approach sharpens clinical decision-making skills.
On Call Surgery by Gregg A. Adams; Stephen D. Bresnick; Jared Forrester et al, 2020Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery by Laura M. Mazer; Kiran Lagisetty; Kathryn L. Butler, 2017A combination primer on evaluating the surgical literature and summary of landmark articles in general surgery Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery is a complete primer on how to efficiently evaluate the surgical literature, conduct literature searches, and identify high-impact articles. It also delivers concise, high-yield summaries of more than 130 of the most important surgical papers of the past few decades. These carefully selected summaries help you better understand the studies that have shaped surgical specialties and continue to inform clinical practice today. Features:Articles are conveniently arranged by subspecialty fields within general surgery * Each article summary is accompanied by brief commentary explaining the paper's importance and relevance to current practice * Designed to guide you towards a practice grounded in evidence, and enhance your ability to find and evaluate new information ;Essential reading for medical students, surgical trainees, as well as practicing clinicians who want an index of cornerstone literature
Resident Readiness General Surgery by Debra L. Klamen; Brian C. George et al, 2013ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Resident Readiness: General Surgery prepares you for success during your surgical internship. Inside is a full range of scenarios you may experience during your residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to help you remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With the book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. BEYOND TREATING YOUR PATIENT, RESIDENT READINESS PREPARES YOU TO Handle inpatient problems on the floor Manage patients in the ED, including trauma Follow up with patients in the outpatient clinics post-surgery Triage multiple simultaneous admissions and/or consults.