Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Anesthesiology, Anesthesia | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overview
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyCritical Care
- GuidelineCentralPain Medicine
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyAnesthesia & Perioperative Care
- GuidelineCentralAnesthesiology
- GuidelineCentralPain Medicine
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesAnesthesiology
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Education
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, Second Edition by
The essential, high-yield review for Part One of the ABA BASIC Exam--updated to align with the latest exam blueprint Anesthesiology residents must pass the BASIC exam in order to continue their training. This essential resource is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. This updated second edition reflects the latest literature and incorporates new topics such as COVID-19. Concise review of all essential anesthesia concepts Great for keyword review and to generate power points for presentations Content correlates with the two-part ABA content outline for board certification Revised simultaneously with the Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: Advanced Exam Aligns with the updated American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) Basic exam blueprint & incorporates new content with American Society of Anesthesiology guidelines
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two Advanced Exam, Second Edition by
The most thorough and insightful guide to acing the make-or-break ABA ADVANCED Exam Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is an all-in-one test-prep resource for mastering nearly 200 must-know topics, identifying your areas of strength and weakness, and waking up on test day with the utmost confidence. Written by program directors with years of board examination advising experience, the book is designed in a way that facilitates quick, solid learning. It is divided into sections that match the American Board of Anesthesiology ADVANCED exam blueprint: Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Organ-based Basic & Clinical Sciences Clinical Subspecialties Special Issues in Anesthesiology With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is one of the most important steps you can take to ensure effective preparation for the new ABA ADVANCED Examination.
Anesthesiology in-Training Exam Review: Regional Anesthesia and Chronic Pain, 2d ed. by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam.The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches. Each chapter presents a common clinical topic and is organized by indications, preparation, technique, complication, prevention, clinical pearls, and related ABA key points. Highlights must-know information in bold throughout the text. Concise, practical, and easy-to-read, this book will aid anesthesiology residents, certified nurse anesthetists, and medical students in their study regarding patient care practices on regional anesthesia and chronic pain. The book will also be useful to residents going into regional anesthesia and pain medicine subspecialties during the year of their anesthesiology training.
ISBN: 9783030872656Publication Date: 2022-02-12
Anesthesia Secrets, 6th ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Examination and Board Review by
A comprehensive one-stop reference for critical care medicine - bolstered by more than 500 Q&A McGraw-Hill Specialty Board Review: Critical Care Medicine is an evidence-based multidisciplinary perspective to critical care medicine. The format of each chapter consists of text followed by questions and answers. Authors from major academic centers discuss the basic principles of their field, along with the most recent studies. This unique review reflects the author's belief that competency in critical care medicine is derived from multiple factors: an understanding of the basics of medicine, access to the most current evidence, clinical experience, and openness to palliative care. Features: *500+ questions and answers, with detailed answer explanations *Covers all key topics on the ABIM Critical Care exam blueprint *Numerous high-quality images, including: x-rays, CT scans, and electrocardiograms *Essential for critical care fellows or intensivists studying for the critical care boards, as well as medical students, residents, and any other healthcare provider interested in critical care *Each of the 36 textbook-style chapters are followed by Q&A *Current guidelines from various specialties are incorporated, including their levels and/or grades of recommendation
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls by
Minimize risk for your surgery-bound patient with this concise high-yield clinical reference Ideal for hospitalists, internists, family physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners and others involved in the perioperative period, Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities undergoing surgical procedures. It provides preoperative validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for identified comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and challenging perioperative cases. Features *Includes only the top references for each topical area streamlining the search for key literature *Tables throughout convey massive amounts of information for quick access *Provides need-to-know evidence-based clinical decision making informatio
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4th ed. by
A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-color, this trusted guide covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, Fourth Edition encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. This new edition includes the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions reinforce learning Dozens of airway management vignettes New: 15 additional chapters New: Coverage on managing COVID-19 patients New: Content focused on standard of care in a global crisis in critical care Full-color illustrations
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Cases by
A new, clinically relevant, case-based review of anesthesiology--based on most widely-read text in the field Essential for written and oral board preparation, this new companion to Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, Sixth Edition is packed with informative clinical case vignettes. 300 succinct case descriptions emphasize common medical issues faced in clinical practice. Each case is followed by a series of board-style question and answers. The book reveals how experienced clinicians use critical thinking in their clinical decision making. With case-based learning now pervasive in training for all medical specialties, especially anesthesiology, this unique resource fills a void in medical publishing. The cases are conveniently organized to match the content of the parent textbook to facilitate side-by-side study. Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Cases is also valuable as a quick clinical refresher before starting a busy day in the operating room. Features: * 300 case descriptions of common perioperative issues Includes access to online videos demonstrating key procedures *Covers perioperative problems commonly faced in anesthetic practice *Each case is accompanied by board-style Q&As *Organized by subspecialty, disease, procedure, and patient age for easy correlation to real life cases *Ideal for preparation for written and oral board certification, maintenance of certification activities, and ongoing learning for anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and anesthesiologist assistants
ISBN: 9780071836128Publication Date: 2020-05-25
Peripartum Care of the Pregnant Patient: A Question-And-Answer Review for Anesthesiologists and Obstetricians by
This book promotes learning evidence-based current knowledge on the clinical aspects of the obstetric parturient from the standpoint of anesthesiology, obstetrics, surgery, pediatrics, and public health. Each topic is initiated with several multiple-choice questions, mimicking the ABA and other board certification exams. Chapters are authored by contributors from multiple specialties offering their expert guidance based on evidence-based guidelines as well as their clinical experience.
Key Topics Covered:
Cardiovascular Considerations: Understand the hemodynamic changes specific to pregnancy and how they impact anesthesia and obstetric management. Learn to predict which cardiac lesions may lead to peripartum hemodynamic compromise.
Hypertensive Disorders: Explore evidence-based strategies for managing hypertensive disorders of pregnancy during the peripartum and postpartum phases.
Critical Illness: Discover expert insights on handling critical illness in pregnant patients, including considerations for acute respiratory failure and other emergencies.
Neuraxial and Other Anesthesia Techniques: Topics covered include neuraxial anesthesia, inotrope and vasopressor support, and echocardiography. Learn when advanced critical care support is warranted.
Whether you’re a seasoned practitioner or a trainee, Peripartum Care of the Pregnant Patient equips you with practical answers to real-world challenges. Enhance your peripartum care knowledge to add to the well-being of your pregnant patient.
ISBN: 9783031627552Publication Date: 2024-09-04
Yao and Artusio's Anesthesiology, 9th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Managementis the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. Fully revised throughout, including new coverage of hypertension geriatric anesthesia, enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) and updated references for further study and clarification. A consistent chapter format includes: presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case. Problem-based approach emphasizes critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills. Ideal for oral board and continuing education preparation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Core eBooks
Anesthesiology, Third Edition by
The gold-standard text in anesthesiology - from the field's brightest, most respected minds Doody's Core Titles for 2022! Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, Third Edition provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine. Presented in full color and updated to capture the latest breakthroughs and advances, Anesthesiology is designed to provide the practitioner with an authoritative single-source reference that spans the full spectrum of anesthesia practice. Much more than a how-to manual of anesthetic techniques, Anesthesiology, Third Edition presents an accessible compilation of concepts and principles that affirms its status as the cornerstone text in anesthesiology. This edition emphasizes important trends in both the specialty and healthcare in general. These trends include team-based anesthesia care, the remarkable growth of pain medicine practice, and the expanded need for clinicians who are skilled in the practice of critical care medicine. Features: Four new pain medicine chapters, plus an expanded section on anesthetic considerations and perioperative management of co-existing disease Key Points and Key References encapsulate must-know information and guide you to important articles for further research Balanced presentations present clinical information, practical clinical procedures, and the molecular and scientific foundations of anesthesia practice Essential for residents and students preparing for initial certification, and for practitioners preparing for recertification
Miller's Anesthesia, 10th ed. by
Since 1981, Miller’s Anesthesia has been the preeminent international textbook for the specialty of anesthesiology. The 9th edition marked a transition as the first edition not edited by its founding editor, Ronald Miller, MD. For this edition Michael A. Gropper, MD, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care at the University of California, San Francisco, continues as editor-in-chief position. The co-editors of the 10th edition are a group of internationally known experts and academic leaders. Neal H. Cohen MD, MPH, MS, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care and Medicine and Vice Dean at UCSF; Lars I. Eriksson MD, PhD, FRCA, Professor and Academic Chair at Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm; Lee A. Fleisher MD, Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia; and Kate Leslie MBBS, MD, MEpid, MHlthServMt, FANZCA, Professor and Head of Research at Royal Melbourne Hospital in Australia, all stayed on for the 10th edition. Oluwaseun Johnson-Akeju MD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston joined the team.
While the 9th edition represented the next stage in the evolution of the editorial oversight of the book, the 10th edition reflects many of the changes in the practice of anesthesiology over the past five years and, most notably, considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on anesthesia practice. It is difficult to imagine any event as impactful on the specialty as the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to countless lives lost due to the pandemic, the impact on health care workers, general anesthesiologists, critical care anesthesiologists, and other anesthesia subspecialists who were essential providers on the front lines was profound. There was no specialty more able to manage these critically ill patients in the operating room, intensive care units, and emergency departments than anesthesiology. This edition is dedicated to those clinicians who heroically provided care to patients impacted the most by COVID-19 as we all continue to recover from the worldwide impact of the pandemic.
To address the changes taking place in the practice of anesthesia, we have reorganized the table of contents and, in some cases, integrated chapters to more effectively cover the diverse topics relevant to the current practice of anesthesiology. The 9th edition had 90 chapters; the 10th has 87. This reduction in the number of chapters does not represent a limitation on topics representing the scope of current anesthesia practice. For example, some chapters were eliminated, such as the chapters on Nonopioid Pain Medications and Anesthetic Implications of Complementary and Alternative Therapies, and these topics are now integrated into other chapters. Additional chapters were combined to create a deeper emphasis on specific topics (e.g., the chapters Avoiding Patient Harm in Anesthesia: Human Performance and Patient Safety and Patient Simulation were combined into one chapter titled Human Behavior and Simulation in Anesthesia; the chapters Gastrointestinal Physiology and Pathophysiology and Hepatic Physiology, Pathophysiology, and Anesthetic Considerations were combined into one chapter titled Gastrointestinal and Hepatic Physiology, Pathophysiology, and Anesthetic Considerations; and the chapters Pharmacology of Neuromuscular Blocking Drugs and Reversal (Antagonism) of Neuromuscular Blockade were combined into one chapter titled Pharmacology of Neuromuscular Blocking Drugs and Antagonists (Reversal Agents). We added two completely new chapters (Immune Implications of Anesthesia Care and Practice and Emergency Preparedness in Health Care), highlighting further how current events have shaped anesthetic practice and the content of this book.
Miller’s Anesthesia remains relevant and successful largely due to its focus on the science and practice of anesthesia across the world. In this 10th edition, we have continued to offer an international perspective, with certain chapters written entirely by international authors, and other chapters where international authors collaborated with American ones. Ten authors from around the world worked together on Chapter 2, Anesthesia and Global Health Equity, which offers important perspectives on preparing anesthesia providers with the knowledge and skills needed to address global health equity challenges in anesthesia and the importance of expanding access to safe and affordable anesthesia and critical care around the world.
Finally, the editors wish to express our appreciation to all of the authors and associate editors and acknowledge the authors of previous versions of chapters that were updated for the 10th edition. We also want to acknowledge the publisher, Elsevier, and the expert guidance provided by Ann Anderson, Kayla Wolfe, and Joanna Souch. We also want to thank Hannah Fairbanks, whose thoughtful editing and coordination between the editors, authors, and publishers has been invaluable. We hope practicing anesthesiologists as well as trainees who are beginning their careers in anesthesiology will find this definitive textbook a valuable resource.
ISBN: 9780323935920
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, 8th ed. by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation. Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine. Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more. Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review. Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors. Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7th ed. by
The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia." This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time, it has retained its value for coursework, review, and as a clinical refresher. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: *Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember *Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice *Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty *Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall *Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia by
This highly successful textbook is internationally renowned as a core text for trainee anaesthetists and is essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar examinations. The previous 6th edition was awarded First Prize at the BMA Medical Book awards. The book provides full coverage of the sciences underpinning practice in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management together with details of clinical anaesthesia and perioperative care. In combining these aspects, a generation of anaesthetists have found the textbook invaluable during the first few years of training as well as when preparing for the FRCA and similar professional examinations. The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities. Reflecting the expanding role of anaesthesia beyond the operating theatre it also includes essential material related to safety and quality assurance, consent, resuscitation, intensive care medicine, pre-hospital care and chronic pain management. This book's scope includes the full range of clinical practice, from anaesthetic equipment and pre-operative assessment through to post-operative care, local anaesthesia, anaesthesia for individual specialties and the management of chronic pain. The text covers the principles of pharmacology, anaesthetic agents and physics for the anaesthetist. This Seventh Edition has been restructured into four sections: Basic Sciences; Physics and Apparatus; Fundamentals of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine; and Clinical Anaesthesia. There are four new chapters reflecting the UK postgraduate anaesthetic examination syllabus and changes in clinical practice. There are: The older patient; Anaesthesia in low and middle-income areas; Management of critical incidents; and Data analysis, clinical trials and statistics. Thirty new contributors provide a new perspective or contribute new chapters. This edition makes extensive use of new line drawings and diagrams and, for the first time, many of these are available in colour. Chapters have been extensively cross-referenced to aid the reader and avoid repetition to include substantially more information without increasing the overall size of the book. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the Primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter.
- Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4th ed. by
A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-color, this trusted guide covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, Fourth Edition encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. This new edition includes the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions reinforce learning Dozens of airway management vignettes New: 15 additional chapters New: Coverage on managing COVID-19 patients New: Content focused on standard of care in a global crisis in critical care Full-color illustrations
eBooks
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Complications in Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by
Using a unique, problem-solving approach, Complications in Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, walks you through effective solutions to common complications in anesthesia and critical care. This practical reference uses a highly structured, clearly illustrated format to bring you up to date with what's new in the field, help you anticipate potential challenges, and guide you through life-saving solutions. Presents content in an updated, logical organization covering various types of complications (drugs, testing, intubation, line insertion, surgical procedures, etc.) followed by differential diagnosis and treatment of signs of complications (intraoperative, such as hypoxia or hypotension; and postoperative, such as MI). Follows a problem-based, practice-oriented approach throughout; case synopses are followed by concise coverage of recognition, risk assessment, implications, management, and prevention. Allows you to review the case reports, contemplate the implications, then check your response against what the experts have to say. Includes numerous photographs, diagrams, flow charts, and tables that illustrate key concepts. Ideal as a clinical reference and as a study tool when preparing for oral boards. Brings you up to date with new safety standards and the latest ASA guidelines. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essence of Anesthesia Practice by
Highly regarded by anesthesiologists, residents, and nurse anesthetists, Essence of Anesthesia Practice, 4th Edition by Drs. Lee A. Fleisher, Michael F. Roizen, and Jeffrey Roizen, is a trusted resource for point-of-care anesthesia management. Concise, easy-to-find summaries cover a single clinical topic for both common and rare conditions. A renewed focus on diseases and drugs makes this edition even more useful when formulating anesthesia plans and mastering the core knowledge of anesthesia practice. Features a unique, easy-to-follow, consistent format that covers a single clinical topic on each page, with a review of its problems, causes, comorbidities, and anesthesia implications. Helps you understand the interactions of common drugs and alternative medicine so that you can develop effective anesthesia plans. Includes more than 105 new disease topics (with more coverage of rarer diseases) and new drug information featuring 20 new drugs that patients take on an outpatient basis. Offers fresh insights on nearly 550 topics - many authored by new contributors to this edition. Keeps you current with the latest perioperative anesthetic implications including anticipated problems, drug interactions, and special concerns. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd Edition by
The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks - updated to reflect the most current NYSORA initiatives INCLUDES THREE ATLASES Hadzic's is the most comprehensive color guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Color drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice. Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic's includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of NYSORA and its academic affiliates. The book also includes three separate atlases, including a new atlas of musculoskeletal ultrasound, as well as surface anatomy, and ultrasound-guided anatomy. *A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book's in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures *Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures *Three atlases: musculoskeletal ultrasound, surface anatomy, ultrasound-guided anatomy
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook by
A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. This new abridged resource serves as a high-yield review of the core content of the larger text, with bolded key concepts for ease of reference, Q&A, and more. * Convenient, abridged version--less than half the length of origin text * Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A
Non-Operating Room Anesthesia by
The demand for anesthesiologists outside of the operating room continues to grow as the number of minimally invasive procedures proliferates and the complexity of diagnostic procedures undertaken outside of the OR increase. Non-Operating Room Anesthesia is an easy-to-access, highly visual reference that facilitates an in-depth understanding of NORA procedures and protocols needed to minimize risk and complications and to maximize growth opportunities. "In this book, Drs. Mark Weiss and Lee Fleisher have provided an important tool to address both the challenges and opportunities for anesthesiologists in providing non-operating room anesthesia (NORA) care." Foreword:Roger A. Moore, Clinical Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, May 2015 Effectively assess and manage risks and differences in procedures through in-depth discussions addressing the unique challenges and issues associated with non-traditional settings. Review the most recent knowledge with updated coverage of the use of the electrophysiology lab (EPL) and cardiac catheterization laboratory (CCL) in the care of the critically ill patient; patient assessment; and anesthetic considerations. Prepare for varying anesthetic conditions in non-OR settings with in-depth discussions on communication, management, and laboratory preparation for anticipated concerns or complications. Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information about NORA with coverage that surpasses the depth and scope of review articles and other references. Focus on the practical guidance you need thanks to a user-friendly color-coded format, key points boxes, drug descriptions, checklist boxes (for monitors, equipment, and drugs), and over 400 color photos that help you visualize each procedure and setting. Access the fully searchable contents online at Expert Consult!
Perioperative Medicine, 2nd ed. by
Based on the most current evidence and best practices, Perioperative Medicine: Managing for Outcome, 2nd Edition, is an easy-to-follow, authoritative guide to achieving optimal outcomes in perioperative care. Written and edited by recognized authorities in anesthesiology and surgical critical care, this fully updated edition helps you think critically about complex, long-term issues surrounding the care of the surgical patient, providing decision trees that define strategies to enhance the medical outcome of care. Focuses on what anesthesiologists, surgeons, and intensivists need to know in order to improve outcomes through evidence- and outcome-based approaches. Provides practical guidance on potential risks to all major organ systems, the etiology of particular organ dysfunctions, preoperative and intraoperative risk factors, and perioperative protection strategies to minimize potential complications. Features a consistent chapter format - with even more color-coded algorithms, summary tables, and boxes - that enables you to quickly explore and determine the best management approaches. Includes six all-new chapters: Perioperative Fluid Management; Delirium and POCD; Role of Palliative Care/ICU; Value-Based Care: The UK Model; CFO Perspective on Value; Hospital to Home (Perioperative Transitions of Care) Discusses timely topics such as quality improvement, pay-for-performance, preexisting disease and comorbid conditions in anesthesiology, and the team-based model of care. Features two new editors, surgeon Clifford Ko, MD, and Perioperative Summit leader, Michael (Monty) Mythen, MD. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th ed. by
A valuable resource for anesthesia providers at all levels of training and practice, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th Edition, provides concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. Noted authority Dr. Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr. Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions. Presents detailed discussions of common diseases, as well as highlights of more rare diseases and their unique features that could be of importance in the perioperative period. Includes the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, bulleted key points, and more. Contains two new chapter on Nutritional Diseases: Obesity and Malnutrition and Chronic Pain, and significantly revised content on valvular heart disease, heart failure and cardiomyopathies, pericardial disease and cardiac trauma, endocrine disease, diseases of aging, pregnancy-associated diseases, and more. Features abundant figures, tables, diagrams, and photos that provide fast access to the most pertinent aspects of every condition and clarify critical points regarding management. Examines specific anesthesia considerations for special patient populations, including pediatric, obstetric, and elderly patients. Ideal for anesthesiologists in practice and for anesthesia residents in training and preparing for boards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pain
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain , first published 65 years ago, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field. The contributors describe contemporary clinical practice and summarize the evidence that guides clinical practice. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago. Broad authorship by researchers and practitioners from the many disciplines that participate in pain medicine, including anesthesiology, neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative care, psychology, social sciences, and more. Addresses the economic, political, legal, ethical, and sociological considerations of pain; evaluation of the pain patient; pain conditions; methods for symptomatic control; and provision of pain treatment. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and tables. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Features and Assessments of Pain, Anesthesia, and Analgesia by
Features and Assessments of Pain, Anaesthesia and Analgesia examines the syndromes of pain and how they interlink with anesthesia and analgesics. The book covers assessments, screening and resources, and provides applications to related areas of medicine. It explores how the perception of pain results from a multifaceted interaction between illness beliefs, age, gender, time of onset, stress, socioeconomic status, and any number of other factors. In addition, the book scrutinizes how the neuroscience of pain in one condition may be relevant to understanding pain observed in other conditions.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, Second Edition by
The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019 Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound
Practical Management of Pain, 6th ed. by
For more than 30 years, Practical Management of Pain has offered expert guidance to both clinicians and trainees, covering every aspect of acute and chronic pain medicine for adult and pediatric patients. The fully revised 6th Edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. Edited by a team of renowned pain clinicians led by Dr. Honorio Benzon, this authoritative reference is a comprehensive, practical resource for pain diagnosis and treatment using a variety of pharmacologic and physical modalities. Presents a wealth of information in a clearly written, easily accessible manner, enabling you to effectively assess and draw up an optimal treatment plan for patients with acute or chronic pain. Takes a practical, multidisciplinary approach, making key concepts and techniques easier to apply to everyday practice. Shares the knowledge and expertise of global contributors on all facets of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques. Discusses the latest, best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents such as topical analgesics. Covers recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular based pain. Includes current information on the use of cannabinoids in pain management and related regulatory, professional, and legal considerations. Includes the latest guidelines on facet injections and safety of contrast agents. Provides new, evidence-based critical analysis on treatment modality outcomes and the latest information on chronic pain as a result of surgical interventions. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical TrialsAnesthesia
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: