eBooks
Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5th ed. by
The book is an anatomically based reference for common pain-generating diagnoses. It is an efficient guide for medical personnel to reference when generating a differential diagnosis as it is organized by area of pain. The previous edition was published in 2019. This new edition has additional chapters.
Purpose
The book aims to be a reference source for medical providers to broaden differential diagnoses beyond the most likely or most common diagnosis for common areas of pain. This is a worthwhile goal, as some of the less common diagnoses reviewed are seen in clinics by primary care physicians. It achieves this goal with a brief overview of multiple common painful syndromes based on anatomic locations, brief description of the syndromes, signs and symptoms, the differential diagnoses, and workups. This allows primary care physicians to consider these less common pain syndromes in the care of their patients.
Audience
The book's primary audience is clinicians. In addition, this book would be helpful for primary care providers, including residents, nonphysician providers, and physicians. The author is an anesthesiologist and well versed in pain syndromes and provides a quick reference for multiple less considered pain syndromes that will help primary care providers keep their differential diagnoses open.
Features
This book is a well-organized reference book arranged by anatomic location, such as: headache pain syndromes, facial pain syndromes, or hand pain syndromes. It gives a brief overview of each diagnosis, including background about the syndrome, signs and symptoms, testing, differential diagnosis, treatment, and common pitfalls. There are multiple illustrations, figures, or radiologic images for each syndrome. This book provides only brief descriptions and does not go into depth about any particular syndrome. However, the book does provide recommended readings if clinicians need a deeper dive.
Assessment
The book is a laudable addition to the library of any primary care provider. It enhances the differential diagnosis of pain by anatomic location. This is a quick reference that provides a general overview and workup of pain syndromes that may be afflicting the patient and gives references to the clinician for further reading. This edition contains 13 more chapters than the previous edition, which is an important update and justifies the new edition.
2024
Additional Title Information
View Citation Citation
View Review Expert Review
View Review Questionnaire
View Review Email Title to a Colleague
Additional
Resources
Checking Limited Preview Available at Google
List Manager
Select List:
Create New List...Transplant list
The book is an anatomically based reference for common pain-generating diagnoses. It is an efficient guide for medical personnel to reference when generating a differential diagnosis as it is organized by area of pain. The previous edition was published in 2019. This new edition has additional chapters.
Purpose
The book aims to be a reference source for medical providers to broaden differential diagnoses beyond the most likely or most common diagnosis for common areas of pain. This is a worthwhile goal, as some of the less common diagnoses reviewed are seen in clinics by primary care physicians. It achieves this goal with a brief overview of multiple common painful syndromes based on anatomic locations, brief description of the syndromes, signs and symptoms, the differential diagnoses, and workups. This allows primary care physicians to consider these less common pain syndromes in the care of their patients.
Audience
The book's primary audience is clinicians. In addition, this book would be helpful for primary care providers, including residents, nonphysician providers, and physicians. The author is an anesthesiologist and well versed in pain syndromes and provides a quick reference for multiple less considered pain syndromes that will help primary care providers keep their differential diagnoses open.
Features
This book is a well-organized reference book arranged by anatomic location, such as: headache pain syndromes, facial pain syndromes, or hand pain syndromes. It gives a brief overview of each diagnosis, including background about the syndrome, signs and symptoms, testing, differential diagnosis, treatment, and common pitfalls. There are multiple illustrations, figures, or radiologic images for each syndrome. This book provides only brief descriptions and does not go into depth about any particular syndrome. However, the book does provide recommended readings if clinicians need a deeper dive.
Assessment
The book is a laudable addition to the library of any primary care provider. It enhances the differential diagnosis of pain by anatomic location. This is a quick reference that provides a general overview and workup of pain syndromes that may be afflicting the patient and gives references to the clinician for further reading. This edition contains 13 more chapters than the previous edition, which is an important update and justifies the new edition.
2024
Additional Title Information
View Citation Citation
View Review Expert Review
View Review Questionnaire
View Review Email Title to a Colleague
Additional
Resources
Checking Limited Preview Available at Google
List Manager
Select List:
Create New List...Transplant list
The book is an anatomically based reference for common pain-generating diagnoses. It is an efficient guide for medical personnel to reference when generating a differential diagnosis as it is organized by area of pain. The previous edition was published in 2019. This new edition has additional chapters.
Purpose
The book aims to be a reference source for medical providers to broaden differential diagnoses beyond the most likely or most common diagnosis for common areas of pain. This is a worthwhile goal, as some of the less common diagnoses reviewed are seen in clinics by primary care physicians. It achieves this goal with a brief overview of multiple common painful syndromes based on anatomic locations, brief description of the syndromes, signs and symptoms, the differential diagnoses, and workups. This allows primary care physicians to consider these less common pain syndromes in the care of their patients.
Audience
The book's primary audience is clinicians. In addition, this book would be helpful for primary care providers, including residents, nonphysician providers, and physicians. The author is an anesthesiologist and well versed in pain syndromes and provides a quick reference for multiple less considered pain syndromes that will help primary care providers keep their differential diagnoses open.
Features
This book is a well-organized reference book arranged by anatomic location, such as: headache pain syndromes, facial pain syndromes, or hand pain syndromes. It gives a brief overview of each diagnosis, including background about the syndrome, signs and symptoms, testing, differential diagnosis, treatment, and common pitfalls. There are multiple illustrations, figures, or radiologic images for each syndrome. This book provides only brief descriptions and does not go into depth about any particular syndrome. However, the book does provide recommended readings if clinicians need a deeper dive.
Assessment
The book is a laudable addition to the library of any primary care provider. It enhances the differential diagnosis of pain by anatomic location. This is a quick reference that provides a general overview and workup of pain syndromes that may be afflicting the patient and gives references to the clinician for further reading. This edition contains 13 more chapters than the previous edition, which is an important update and justifies the new edition.
2024
Additional Title Information
View Citation Citation
View Review Expert Review
View Review Questionnaire
View Review Email Title to a Colleague
Additional
Resources
Checking Limited Preview Available at Google
List Manager
Select List:
Create New List...Transplant list
The book is an anatomically based reference for common pain-generating diagnoses. It is an efficient guide for medical personnel to reference when generating a differential diagnosis as it is organized by area of pain. The previous edition was published in 2019. This new edition has additional chapters.
Purpose
The book aims to be a reference source for medical providers to broaden differential diagnoses beyond the most likely or most common diagnosis for common areas of pain. This is a worthwhile goal, as some of the less common diagnoses reviewed are seen in clinics by primary care physicians. It achieves this goal with a brief overview of multiple common painful syndromes based on anatomic locations, brief description of the syndromes, signs and symptoms, the differential diagnoses, and workups. This allows primary care physicians to consider these less common pain syndromes in the care of their patients.
Audience
The book's primary audience is clinicians. In addition, this book would be helpful for primary care providers, including residents, nonphysician providers, and physicians. The author is an anesthesiologist and well versed in pain syndromes and provides a quick reference for multiple less considered pain syndromes that will help primary care providers keep their differential diagnoses open.
Features
This book is a well-organized reference book arranged by anatomic location, such as: headache pain syndromes, facial pain syndromes, or hand pain syndromes. It gives a brief overview of each diagnosis, including background about the syndrome, signs and symptoms, testing, differential diagnosis, treatment, and common pitfalls. There are multiple illustrations, figures, or radiologic images for each syndrome. This book provides only brief descriptions and does not go into depth about any particular syndrome. However, the book does provide recommended readings if clinicians need a deeper dive.
Assessment
The book is a laudable addition to the library of any primary care provider. It enhances the differential diagnosis of pain by anatomic location. This is a quick reference that provides a general overview and workup of pain syndromes that may be afflicting the patient and gives references to the clinician for further reading. This edition contains 13 more chapters than the previous edition, which is an important update and justifies the new edition.
2024
Additional Title Information
View Citation Citation
View Review Expert Review
View Review Questionnaire
View Review Email Title to a Colleague
Additional
Resources
Checking Limited Preview Available at Google
List Manager
Select List:
Create New List...Transplant list
The book is an anatomically based reference for common pain-generating diagnoses. It is an efficient guide for medical personnel to reference when generating a differential diagnosis as it is organized by area of pain. The previous edition was published in 2019. This new edition has additional chapters.The book aims to be a reference source for medical providers to broaden differential diagnoses beyond the most likely or most common diagnosis for common areas of pain. This is a worthwhile goal, as some of the less common diagnoses reviewed are seen in clinics by primary care physicians. It achieves this goal with a brief overview of multiple common painful syndromes based on anatomic locations, brief description of the syndromes, signs and symptoms, the differential diagnoses, and workups. This allows primary care physicians to consider these less common pain syndromes in the care of their patients.The book's primary audience is clinicians. In addition, this book would be helpful for primary care providers, including residents, nonphysician providers, and physicians. The author is an anesthesiologist and well versed in pain syndromes and provides a quick reference for multiple less considered pain syndromes that will help primary care providers keep their differential diagnoses open.
ISBN: 9780443111051
Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th ed. by
An essential resource for pain medicine clinicians at all levels of practice and training, Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide to delivering safe, accurate, and cost-effective relief for patients with acute and chronic pain. Dr. Steven D. Waldman walks you step by step through each procedure, incorporating all clinically appropriate imaging modalities to help you achieve the best possible outcomes for more than 160 nerve block procedures. Focuses on the how rather than the why of interventional pain procedures, offering an abundance of high-quality, full-color illustrations to demonstrate the best technique. Incorporates all clinically useful imaging modalities that increase needle placement precision, including significantly expanded content on office-based ultrasound guided techniques as well as fluoroscopy and computed tomography guided procedures. Keeps you up to date with 19 brand-new chapters, including Selective Maxillary Nerve Block: Suprazygomatic Approach, Brachial Plexus Block: Retroclavicular Approach, Erector Spinae Plane Block, Transversalis Fascia Plane Block, Adductor Canal Block, Dorsal Root Ganglion Stimulation, Sacral Neuromodulation, and more. Provides Indications, Clinically Relevant Anatomy, Technique, Side Effects and Complications, and Clinical Pearls and updated CPT codes for each procedure. Clearly illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate needle placement and trajectory used to reach each target. Includes access to procedural videos covering Cervical Translaminar Epidural Block, Cervical Paravertebral Medical Branch Block, Percutaneous Facet Fusion, Lumbar Transforaminal Epidural Block, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323654074Publication Date: 2020-03-27
Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5th ed. by
Ideal for hands-on, day-to-day use in practice, Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5th Edition, helps you master the key nerve blocks you need to know to successfully treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes. Focusing on the "how to" details of pain management injection techniques, this bestselling atlas by Dr. Steven D. Waldman equips you to deliver safe, accurate and cost-effective pain relief to your patients using the most clinically appropriate imaging modalities. It demonstrates exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising injection technique, locate the injection site with precision, and deliver effective relief to patients. Helps you find information quickly with a logical organization by anatomic region, and templated chapters that cover indications and clinical considerations, clinically relevant anatomy, technique, side effects and complications, and Dr. Waldman's own clinical pearls. Includes 14 brand-new injection techniques, including Chalazion Injection; Botox Injection for Migraine; Intra-articular Injections of the Glenohumeral, Hip, Ankle, and Knee Joints; Rectus Sheath Block; Fascia Iliaca Plane Block; Penile Block; and more. Incorporates all clinically useful imaging modalities including expanded information on office-based ultrasound-guided techniques as well as fluoroscopy and CT-guided procedures. Illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate needle placement and trajectory used to reach each target. Features new full-color anatomic drawings as well as photographs, radiographs, ultrasound, CT, and MRI images throughout. Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits of each procedure/technique. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323828260Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
A comprehensive full-color anatomical atlas designed specifically for the anesthesiologist and pain physician A clear understanding of relevant anatomy is essential for physicians who wish to master ultrasound-guided nerve blocks. Although ultrasound images may help visualize the nerve to be blocked, the images still present a grainy and incomplete picture. Physicians looking to master US-guided nerve blocks are best served by becoming anatomical experts -- and this innovative resource is an invaluable learning tool to doing just that. In addition to 2D and 3D ultrasound images, Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine includes high-resolution CTs, MRIs, cadaver anatomy images, and anatomical illustrations to give physicians a comprehensive understanding of the anatomy of the neck, upper and lower extremity, trunk, thorax, thoracic spine, sacral spine, lumbar paravertebral region, and thoracic paravertebral region that are relevant to ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia. Features * Bulleted pearls impart how to obtain optimal ultrasound images at each site * More than 600 full-color photographs and illustrations throughout * Essential for anesthesiologists and pain physicians, and is also of value to musculoskeletal sonographers, radiologists, and emergency medicine physicians *Enables you to learn and see, through full-color illustrations, the relevant anatomy for administering successful nerve blocks * Includes CT and MRI correlations to ultrasound images, plus corresponding anatomical illustrations, cadaver anatomy, and photos of probe placement on the patient. Although other texts may provide some of the imaging information contained in this unique atlas, this is the first resource to systematically and comprehensively gather all the imaging modalities for side-by-side comparison under one cover.
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by
Step-by-step videos and images, board-style review questions, and coverage of new blocks make this highly respected title a must-have reference for clinical practice. Written by Andrew T. Gray, MD, PhD, one of the pioneers of the use of ultrasound to guide needle placement, Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, shows you how to safely and effectively use the latest methods and applications of this technique. Board-style review questions found on the Expert Consult eBook version test your knowledge and help you prepare for the ABA exam. Helps ensure correct needle placement with numerous 3-D and long-axis views that clearly depict surrounding structures. Includes coverage of 11 new blocks: Adductor Canal, Posterior Femoral Cutaneous, Pectoral, Quadratus Lumborum, Pudendal, Paravertebral, Transversus thoracis, Supraorbital, Transtracheal, Greater Occipital and Lesser Occipital. Features access to 20 author-narrated videos showing proper placement of needles using ultrasound guidance, including 11 new videos: Forearm (ulnar, median and radial), Ankle (tibial, saphenous, superficial peroneal, deep peroneal, sural), Paravertebral, Adductor Canal, and Catheters. Presents several new chapters, including Regional Anesthesia in Resource-Constrained Environments and Safety of Ultrasound Guided Regional Blocks. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th ed. by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, as well as x-rays, ultrasound, CTs, and MRIs, help you confirm your diagnoses with confidence. Offers head-to-toe coverage - 135 conditions in all - providing concise, easy-to-read chapters for each condition. Dr. Waldman's practical guidance is designed to help you make the correct diagnosis of uncommon pain syndromes, even the signs and symptoms don't quite fit. Explains each pain syndrome using a consistent, easy-to-follow format: an ICD-10 CM code for billing purposes, followed by a brief description of the signs and symptoms, laboratory and radiographic testing, differential diagnosis, available treatment options, and clinical pearls. Features updated chapters throughout, as well as 12 new chapters covering Hemicrania Continua, Acute Calcific Prevertebral Tendinitis, Sternohyoid Syndrome Snapping Scapula Syndrome, Erythromelagia, Foix-Alajouanine Syndrome, Lumbar Paraspinous Muscle Compartment Syndrome, Clunealgia, Nutcracker Syndrome, Paroxysmal Extreme Pain Disorder, Iliopsoas Tendon Rupture, and Snapping Pes Anserinus Syndrome Provides practitioners and trainees in pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, physical medicine and rehabilitation, primary care, and more with a firm foundation in the diagnosis of uncommon pain in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
- Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th ed. by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, as well as x-rays, ultrasound, CTs, and MRIs, help you confirm your diagnoses with confidence. Offers head-to-toe coverage - 135 conditions in all - providing concise, easy-to-read chapters for each condition. Dr. Waldman's practical guidance is designed to help you make the correct diagnosis of uncommon pain syndromes, even the signs and symptoms don't quite fit. Explains each pain syndrome using a consistent, easy-to-follow format: an ICD-10 CM code for billing purposes, followed by a brief description of the signs and symptoms, laboratory and radiographic testing, differential diagnosis, available treatment options, and clinical pearls. Features updated chapters throughout, as well as 12 new chapters covering Hemicrania Continua, Acute Calcific Prevertebral Tendinitis, Sternohyoid Syndrome Snapping Scapula Syndrome, Erythromelagia, Foix-Alajouanine Syndrome, Lumbar Paraspinous Muscle Compartment Syndrome, Clunealgia, Nutcracker Syndrome, Paroxysmal Extreme Pain Disorder, Iliopsoas Tendon Rupture, and Snapping Pes Anserinus Syndrome Provides practitioners and trainees in pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, physical medicine and rehabilitation, primary care, and more with a firm foundation in the diagnosis of uncommon pain in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th ed. by
Trusted by anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pain management specialists through five outstanding editions, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th Edition, continues to keep you fully informed and up to date in this fast-changing field. This practical how-to guide demonstrates each technique in an easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise, helping you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Covers the full range of key regional anesthesia topics including anatomy, local anesthetic pharmacology, traditional landmark-based and ultrasound-guided blocks, pediatric regional anesthesia, and chronic pain procedures. Features step-by-step instruction highlighted by superb artwork, new anatomical drawings, and clinical photographs-now entirely in full color. Includes access to a video library that includes numerous new videos covering every block described in the atlas, a new introductory video on daily clinical practice procedures, and enhanced voiceover on all videos. Contains an all-new section on obstetric regional anesthesia, plus new coverage of pic block, serratus anterior block, erector spinae block, stellate ganglion block, rectus sheath catheter block, and pediatric pudendal nerve block, with significant updates to pharmacology sections. Presents a wide variety of images to help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia: cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT, and MRI scans. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sacroiliac Joint Techniques by
Sacroiliac Joint Techniques, a volume in the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform spinal nerve stimulation procedures for patients with chronic pain associated with sacroiliitis. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief.
Offers a comprehensive overview of the latest sacroiliac joint techniques.
Features clinically relevant anatomic drawings and radiologic images that provide step-by-step instruction on techniques.
Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits, as well as indications and contraindications, for each procedure.
Covers key topics such as Sacroiliac Joint Injection Techniques, Sacral Lateral Branch Nerve Block, Sacroiliac Joint Radiofrequency Ablation, Peripheral Nerve Stimulation of the Sacroiliac Joint, Sacroiliac Joint Posterior Fusion, and Lateral Sacroiliac Joint Fusion.
Includes easy-to-follow, templated content on patient selection, preoperative prep, and post-operative care.
Contains full-color line drawings, photographs, and ultrasound images that provide you with a firm grasp of the anatomy and equipment involved with each procedure.
Highlights potential pitfalls for each technique and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them.
ISBN: 9780323877541
Spinal Fusion Techniques by
Spinal Fusion Techniques, a volume in the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform the latest interventional techniques for treating patients with chronic pain as a result of spinal stenosis. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief. Offers a comprehensive overview of the latest techniques used in spinal fusion. Features clinically relevant anatomic drawings and radiologic images that provide step-by-step instruction on techniques. Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits, as well as indications and contraindications, for each procedure. Covers key topics such as Minimally Invasive Posterior Lumbar Fusion: A Novel Approach to Facet Fusion; Posterior Spinal Fusion; and Interspinous Fusion with Lateral Percutaneous Technique. Includes easy-to-follow, templated content on patient selection, preoperative prep, and post-operative care. Contains full-color line drawings, photographs, and ultrasound images that provide you with a firm grasp of the anatomy and equipment involved with each procedure. Highlights potential pitfalls for each technique and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780323882231Publication Date: 2023-04-17
