Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine: Pain Medicine

Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th ed. by David H. Chestnut; Cynthia A. Wong; Lawrence C. Tsen et al, 2020 Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students. Presents the latest information on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy, emphasizing the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs. Contains new chapters on shared decision-making in obstetric anesthesia and chronic pain during and after pregnancy. Features extensive revisions from cover to cover, including consolidated information on maternal infection and postoperative analgesia. Covers key topics such as neonatal assessment and resuscitation, pharmacology during pregnancy and lactation, use of nitrous oxide for labor analgesia, programmed intermittent epidural bolus (PIEB) technique, epidural analgesia-associated fever, the role of gastric ultrasonography to assess the risk of aspiration, sugammadex in obstetric anesthesia, the role of video laryngoscopy and new supraglottic airway devices, spinal dysraphism, and cardiac arrest in obstetric patients. Incorporates the latest guidelines on congenital heart disease and the management of sepsis, as well as difficult airway guidelines that are specific to obstetric anesthesia practice. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Chronic Pelvic Pain and Pelvic Dysfunctions by Alessandro Giammò; Antonella Biroli, 2020 This book provides readers with a holistic approach to chronic pelvic pain which is an extremely complex condition with associated pelvic dysfunctions. This approach significantly facilitates and accelerates the clinical assessment and subsequent follow-up. The pathophysiologic mechanisms involving the nervous system, the pelvic organs and the pelvic floor are discussed, deepening the possible implications on mind, sexuality and pelvic dysfunctions. Evaluation and diagnosis are examined for different types of syndromes. Moreover, since the Bladder Pain Syndrome and the Interstitial Cystitis are main causes of pelvic pain, an original diagnostic approach is proposed specifically for these conditions. In order to deliver the best clinical outcomes, this new system provides a multidisciplinary approach, both in the diagnostic phase and in the therapeutic phase. The most recent therapies for chronic pelvic pain following a multidisciplinary approach are described in detail. Due to its practice-oriented contents, the book will greatly benefit all professionals dealing with this debilitating disease, supporting them in their daily clinical routine.

The History of Gynecological Treatment of Women's Pelvic Pain and the Recent Emergence of Pain Sensitization by John F. Jarrell, 2024 The History of Gynecological Treatment of Women's Pelvic Pain and the Recent Emergence of Pain Sensitization is a historical account on how women have been treated for the problems of pelvic pain. It describes the earliest reports of women suffering from pelvic pain that seem to suggest the presence of something beyond any understanding prior to the late twentieth century. This book is for awareness of the condition and will help readers understand the complex presentations of pelvic pain: the shift from episodic to persistent pain, referred pain, pain from a non-painful stimulus (allodynia), and excessive pain from a painful stimulus (hyperalgesia). This is a novel reference that provides a detailed chronology of past treatments and how the absence of awareness of pain sensitization led to some disreputable surgical procedures. In addition, it is an historical analysis on the emergence of central pain sensitization as an explanation for the historical challenges of the past to current developments.

Holistic Pain Management in Pregnancy: What RNs, APRNs, Midwives, and Mental Health Professionals Need to Know by Theresa Mallick-Searle, 2022 This book presents a patient centric, holistic view and management strategy for registered nurses, advanced practice nurses and midwives to care for the pregnant female, including considerations in pregnancy planning. There is a significant gap in information about holistic care and nursing considerations of the pregnant female with regards to pain management, which this book fills.  It develops on the preparation before pregnancy, as nutrition or exercise, on behavioural management of pain with the impact of anxiety and different therapies. The book examines the musculoskeletal pain, the headache and fibromyalgia occurring during pregnancy. It also informs on the nutraceuticals in pregnancy, the use of opioids and of nerve blocks. This book finally explores complementary treatments during pregnancy. Case-studies are presented for improved understanding and to provide a real-world perspective.  This book, written by nursing and psychology experts in their fields of specialty practice, will appeal to nurses and midwives working with pregnant women or planning to have a baby.

Interventional Management of Pelvic Pain by Alaa Abd-Elsayed, 2026 Procedures-based and easy to follow, Interventional Management of Pelvic Pain is a unique and practical guide to the treatment of chronic pelvic pain (CPP). Written by pain management specialists, this hands-on reference provides clear instructions on how to use interventional techniques to deliver pain relief for this common and often debilitating condition. It's an ideal resource for pain medicine practitioners and fellows, anesthesiologists, neurologists, PM&R specialists, gynecologists, orthopedic surgeons, and rheumatologists. Provides up-to-date, expert guidance on pain management for gender affirmation surgery, pelvic interventions, hypogastric plexus block, neuromodulation, and much more Presents each nerve block chapter in a concise, templated format for quick and easy access to key information Covers indications, contraindications, precautions, complications, step-by-step procedural descriptions, and medications used Features full-color anatomic drawings, clinical photographs, and relevant imaging, including radiographs, ultrasound, and CT Offers clear guidance on the risks and benefits of each procedure or technique, and highlights potential pitfalls and how to avoid them An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date

Visceral Pain by Ming Xia; Bifa Fan; Hong Jiang, 2024 Patients with chronic visceral pain present a challenge for medical providers because of their vague presenting symptoms and frequent lack of identifiable pathology. Despite this, chronic visceral pain can be a debilitating medical condition that increases morbidity and decreases quality of life; the long-term consequences of which cause significant socioeconomic burden and debility. Covering the newest trends, studies, diagnosis and treatments in visceral pain care, as well as the pain treatment strategies that have been successfully employed in the past, this book brings readers fully up to date with effective recognitions and treatments for visceral pain. The clinical evaluation and presentation of common chronic visceral pain conditions and multimodal treatment options that can be used to assist patients and providers are focused.