Obstetrics: Clinical Resources

Clinical Obstetrics and Gynaecology, 5th ed. by Elizabeth A. Layden; Andrew Thomson; Philip Owen et al, 2023 Clinical Obstetrics and Gynaecology provides a thorough overview of the essential topics that healthcare practitioners in the field need to know, with a focus on clinical practice. This highly regarded textbook provides comprehensive coverage of gynaecology, reproductive health, obstetrics and on-call for O&G. It has been thoroughly updated to incorporate significant developments in clinical care, including in prenatal diagnosis and screening, COVID-19 management, antenatal and postnatal care, and telemedicine abortion practices. With full colour illustrations, self-assessment questions and additional online material to reinforce learning, this is a valuable resource for medical students, junior doctors, midwives, nurses and for healthcare practitioners from other specialties seeking a broad-based grounding in O&G. Clear and concise to enhance learning Summary boxes, key points boxes, and high-quality anatomical illustrations make navigation easy Aligns with current guidelines and practice New OSCE practice cases and SBA questions Additional chapters online

Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine, 9th ed. by Charles J. Lockwood; Thomas Moore; Joshua Copel et al, 2023 The definitive reference in the field for more than 35 years, Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine provides today’s MFM practitioners with authoritative, comprehensive guidance on every aspect of this fast-changing field. The fully revised 9th Edition brings you up to date with the latest evidence-based guidelines and research as well as the fundamental scientific foundation needed for effective practice, helping you minimize complications and ensure the best possible outcomes for your patients. Renowned experts in obstetrics, gynecology, and perinatology provide valuable information in every area of complex obstetric care, highlighting the most commonly encountered anomalies and providing clear guidelines for obstetric and neonatal management. Offers comprehensive updates on rapidly changing topics, including extensively revised genetic content throughout. Includes two new chapters: maternal and fetal viral infections, including COVID-19; and sexually transmitted disease, covering the epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of individual infectious diseases that may complicate pregnancy. Contains user-friendly features such as numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms for quick access to current protocols; key points at the end of each chapter; and counseling pearls with practical guidance on patient consultation. Features a comprehensive imaging section, including a video library to aid in everyday diagnosis.

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12th ed. by Alan H. DeCherney; Ashley S. Roman; Lauren Nathan et al, 2019 The single-source OB/GYN resource acclaimed for its currency, comprehensiveness, and strong focus on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management * Expanded and extensively updated to reflect the latest research and advances - including the concepts of precision medicine  * Of value to medical students, residents, and practicing physicians who will find this an outstanding guide to the management of common and uncommon conditions.

Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies, 9th ed. by Mark B. Landon; Henry L. Galan; Eric R.M. Jauniaux et al, 2025

Munro Kerr's Operative Obstetrics, 13th ed. by Sabaratnam Arulkumaran; Michael Robson, 2020 This is a highly illustrated, practical book covering the obstetric and surgical procedures used in intrapartum care, including commonly used procedures and more rare techniques. The authors take a step-by-step approach to each technique and includes 'tips' and 'pointers', whilst contextualising this with the history of obstetric practice. Authoritative, world-known editors and author team. Presents a contemporary and pragmatic summary ofrecent developments in operative obstetrics. Contextualises practice in the history of obstetric practice. Accurate line drawings throughout clearly demonstrating relevant procedures and equipment. Advice and management for obstetricians working in resource-limited areas New chapter to cover labour and delivery in high-BMI women Extensive coverage of Caesarean section to reflect current critical thinking New chapters exploring assisted vaginal delivery in greater depth Management areas and guidelines fully updated (e.g. for fetal monitoring in labour). Covers significant new research, e.g. the WOMAN trial. New editor, Michael Robson

Netter's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 4th ed. by Roger P. Smith, 2024 For medical students, generalists, and specialists alike, Netter’s Obstetrics & Gynecology, 4th Edition, provides superbly illustrated, up-to-date information on the conditions and problems most often encountered in OB/GYN practice. Classic Netter images are paired with concise, evidence-based descriptions of common diseases, conditions, diagnostics, treatments, and protocols. Large, clear illustrations and short, to-the-point text provide quick, authoritative access to expert medical thinking―perfect for gaining knowledge of this complex field, for everyday clinical practice, or for staff and patient education. Features concise, exquisitely illustrated coverage of Anatomy and Embryology, Gynecology and Women’s Health, and Obstetrics. Contains more than 300 exquisite Netter images, as well as new, recent paintings by Carlos Machado, that provide a quick and memorable overview of each disease or condition. Includes eleven new chapters, including Sexuality and Gender Dysphoria, Alcohol Abuse in Women, Anal Incontinence, Cardiovascular Disease in Women, Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause, Hereditary Cancer Syndromes, External Cephalic Version, and more.

Williams Obstetrics, 26th ed. by F. Gary Cunningham; Kenneth J. Leveno; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Catherine Y. Spong; Brian M. Casey, 2022 The landmark text that has served generations of obstetrician-gynecologists--fully updated with the most current perspectives of the field Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights. The culmination of a century of clinical thought, Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. The authors have enhanced this edition with 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of Maternal-Fetal Medicine. No other text matches the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach. New and updated content includes: Increased focus on Maternal-Fetal Medicine Greater coverage of hypertension and hemorrhage Deeper insights into in-utero complications Expanded fetal t section includes cutting-edge fetal imaging, genetics, prenatal diagnosis, and fetal disorders and therapy Basic science, physiology of labor, preterm labor updated with contemporaneous publications in the literature More obstetrical sonography figures Eye-catching illustrations, including updated graphs, sonograms, MRIs, photographs, and photomicrographs

Chesley's Hypertensive Disorders in Pregnancy, 5th ed. by Robert N. Taylor; Kirk P. Conrad; Sandra T. Davidge, 2022 Leon Chesley's Hypertensive Disorders in Pregnancy was initially published in 1978. Four decades later, hypertension complications in pregnancy are still a major cause of fetal and maternal morbidity and death, especially in less developed nations. It is also a leading cause of preterm birth now known to be a risk factor in remote cardiovascular disease. Despite this, hypertensive disorders remain marginally studied and management is often controversial. Chesley's Hypertensive Disorders in Pregnancy, Fifth Edition continues its tradition as one of the beacons to guide the field of preeclampsia research, recognized for its uniqueness and utility. This revision focuses on prediction, prevention, and management for clinicians, and is an essential reference text for clinical and basic investigators alike. It provides a superb analysis of the multiple topics that relate to hypertension in pregnancy, especially of preeclampsia.

Clinical Pharmacology During Pregnancy, 2nd ed. by Donald Mattison; Lee-Ann Halbert, 2022 Clinical Pharmacology During Pregnancy, Second Edition is written for clinicians, physicians, midwives, nurses, pharmacists and other medical professionals involved in the care of women during pregnancy. The book focuses on the impact of pregnancy on drug disposition and includes coverage of treatments for diseases of specific body systems as well as essential content on dosing and efficacy. This update includes substantially expanded sections on the ethics of pharmacological research in pregnancy and physiologic changes, along with new sections on patient reported outcomes in pregnancy, delivery and postnatal care, and the use of pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic approaches to estimate maternal, placental and fetal dosing. The broad range of this book encompasses analgesics, antiasthmatics, antidepressants, heart and circulatory drugs, vitamins and herbal supplements, and more. Topics in chemotherapy and substance abuse are also covered, as are research issues, including clinical trial design and ethical considerations.

The Developing Human, 12th ed. by T.V.N. (Vid) Persaud; Mark G. Torchia, 2025 The Developing Human is now 50 years in print. Dr. Keith Leon Moore was the sole author of the first four editions. We were greatly honored when Dr. Moore invited us to join him as coauthors. Sadly, Dr. Moore passed away on November 25, 2019 at the age of 94 years. A world-renowned embryologist and anatomist, Dr. Moore’s lifelong scholarly contributions remain an enduring legacy. This 12th edition of The Developing Human has been thoroughly revised and updated. We are thankful for the continued support and expertise of our distinguished contributors. We have entered an era of achievement in the fields of molecular biology, genetics, and clinical embryology, perhaps like no other. The sequencing of the human genome has been achieved, and several mammalian species, as well as the human embryo, have been cloned. Scientists have created and isolated human embryonic pluripotential stem cells, and their use in treating certain intractable diseases continues to generate widespread debate. Moreover, the recently discovered CRISP- Cas9 editing has not only become a revolutionary tool for developmental biologists but also segments of disease-associated variations can be clinically identified in human embryos, clipped out, and repaired. These remarkable scientific developments have already provided promising directions for research in human embryology, which will have an impact on the treatment of diseases in the future. This book is written for science and biomedical students, keeping in mind those who may not have had a previous acquaintance with human anatomy or clinical embryology. This edition is logically organized and even more learner-friendly. It provides a clear and comprehensive account of the sequence of events that occur between the moment of fertilization and the time of birth. We have tried to present the text in an interesting way so that it can be easily integrated with what will be taught in more detail in other disciplines, such as human anatomy, physical diagnosis, medical rehabilitation, and surgery. We hope this new edition will serve to educate and inspire students to develop an interest in clinically oriented embryology. The 12th edition of The Developing Human has been thoroughly revised to reflect current understanding of some of the molecular events that guide the development of the embryo. This book also contains more clinically oriented material than previous editions; these sections are set as blue boxes to differentiate them from the rest of the text. In addition to focusing on clinically relevant aspects of embryology, we have revised the Clinically Oriented Problems with brief answers that emphasize the importance of embryology in modern medical practice.

Emergencies Around Childbirth, 4th ed. by Maureen Boyle, 2025 Supporting readers to perform effectively in urgent or emergency situations that can occur in a hospital, at a birth centre or at home, this fully updated fourth edition presents the necessary knowledge and skills for student and practising midwives. With contributions from highly experienced midwives, this practical guidebook incorporates a new chapter on legal issues for safe practice, as well as additional content on professional issues. It also includes an essential new chapter on cardiac problems, recognising that midwives are often the lead professional caring for women with cardiac anomalies, as many are undiagnosed until the emergency. The book continues to provide key, up-to-date information on high-risk medical and obstetric situations, from serious infection to uterine complications to resuscitation. Emergencies Around Childbirth is essential reading for practising and student midwives and those who teach them.

The ERAS® Society Handbook for Obstetrics and Gynecology by Gregg Nelson; Pedro T. Ramirez; Sean C. Dowdy et al, 2022 The ERAS® Society Handbook for Obstetrics & Gynecology covers all aspects of enhanced recovery care for disciplines of general gynecology, gynecologic oncology, urogynecology and obstetrical surgery. Written by renowned experts in the field, chapters discuss foundational knowledge on ERAS and provide specific worked examples, ERAS order sets, and practical implementation tools. This book is an indispensable resource to researchers interested in ERAS, but it is also ideal for anesthesiologists, gynecologists and obstetricians interested in initiating an ERAS program. Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) is a global surgical quality improvement initiative that originated in colorectal surgery and has now spread to numerous other disciplines, including gynecology (benign and malignant) and obstetrics (caesarean delivery). ERAS is associated with improvements in clinical outcomes (reduction in length of hospital stay, complications, readmissions), cost savings for the healthcare system, and patient satisfaction, hence the addition of this comprehensive resource on the topics is a welcomed addition to the available literature.

Larsen's Human Embryology, 6th ed. by Gary C. Schoenwolf; Steven B. Bleyl; Philip R. Brauer; Philippa H. Francis-West, 2021 Offering a well-organized, straightforward approach to a highly complex subject, Larsen's Human Embryology, 6th Edition, provides easy-to-read, comprehensive coverage of human embryonic development for today's students. It integrates anatomy and histology with cellular and molecular mechanisms, focusing on both normal development and congenital anomalies. Highly illustrated with superb drawings and photographs, it features a strong clinical focus based on the most up-to-date scientific discoveries and understanding. Contains new information on gene editing via CRISPr technology, organoids and the study of human disease, transcription factors and signaling pathways, and single cell sequencing. Includes clinical scenarios that describe prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of human birth defects and disease. Features a superior art program, online animations, and high-quality drawings and photographs throughout-ideal for today's visual learners. · Includes a strong clinical emphasis through the use of Clinical Tasters, Embryology in Practice, and In the Clinic sections. Provides additional information on mechanisms of development and research approaches and strategies to establish these mechanisms with In the Research Lab sections. Begins each chapter with an overview of main points as well as a graphical summary, with key terms listed in bold type. Covers the embryology information that today's medical students need to know for Board exams, clinics, and more, in a readable, straightforward manner. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access 50 narrated animations, multiple-choice questions, and all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Male Infertility: Management of Infertile Men in Reproductive Medicine by Ashok Agarwal; Florence Boitrelle; Panagiotis Drakopoulos et al, 2025 Infertility affects approximately 15% of couples worldwide and negatively impacts the quality of life of the affected couples. Male factors, alone or in combination with female factors, account for at least 50% of all cases of infertility. Starting in the late 20th century, scientists have expressed concerns about the declining semen quality in males. In 1992, a study of males who had never suffered from infertility showed that the amount of sperm in semen had declined by 1% per year since 1938. Male infertility has been attributed to a variety of problems such as varicocele, genetic disorders, genital tract inflammation/infections, advanced paternal age, and environmental/lifestyle factors. In 30% to 45% of infertility cases, the cause of abnormal semen parameters is not identified; hence a diagnosis of idiopathic male infertility is applied. Despite the fact that about half of infertility problems stem from male factors, gynecologists are often the first healthcare providers to perform the initial assessment of an infertile heterosexual couple. Therefore it is crucial that they remain updated on the main conditions that cause male infertility, as well as current diagnostic tools and treatment options in the contexts of natural and assisted conception. The idea of this book was an offshoot of a series of webinars organized by Professor Ashok Agarwal during the COVID pandemic in 2020–21. These webinars covered various facets of infertility, male and female, in which infertility specialists from over 100 countries participated. Based on the feedback received from these webinars, we realized that it was time to produce an easy-to-read text that would summarize what has been achieved so far in the context of male infertility and what is still in the pipeline. Also, it was time to present the state-of-the-art knowledge and recent guidelines in the clinical andrology field in a concise, modern, and palatable text, compatible with the 21st century, that is suitable for both the beginner and the expert. Additionally, we need to remove barriers between both groups of subspecialties dealing with infertile couples and include gynecologists working in the field of reproductive medicine, next to the andrologists. Furthermore, the comprehensive information provided in this book makes it very interesting to all reproductive professionals, including embryologists, endocrinologists, biologists, and researchers. The book starts with an introductory section on the definition and epidemiology of male infertility and its implications on the quality of life of the affected couple. This is followed by a section with a series of chapters detailing the causes of male infertility and laying the groundwork for the subsequent chapters. A third section on the diagnostic aspects of male infertility, including clinical, laboratory, and imaging methods necessary for proper diagnosis of male infertility, is presented. The fourth section of the book deals with different therapeutic options for treating infertile males, while the fifth section discusses the details of the classical and advanced surgical procedures available. The next section is dedicated to state-of-the-art information on various assisted reproductive techniques. The seventh section summarizes the most recent guidelines of male infertility management that are set by professional societies working in the reproductive field. Finally, the book ends with a visionary section that provides insights on the future of the ever-evolving field of male infertility. The book is written by 68 world-renowned infertility experts from 21 countries representing 6 continents, offering their knowledge and experience in an easy-to-read manner. Each chapter starts with the key points discussed by the authors and ends with clinical scenarios offering real-life problems and their solutions, with a structured text in between. A nonexhaustive list of references follows and includes the most relevant papers published on a particular topic.

Challenging Cases in Gynecologic Surgical Pathology by Ozlen Saglam, 2024 Challenging Cases in Gynecologic Surgical Pathology discusses unusual clinical cases and uncommon presentations of usual diagnostic entities. The book is divided into four sections that contain over 14 years of teaching material from major academic institutions and cancer centers. The pathology case presentations are from different anatomical sites of the gynecological tract, including ovary and fallopian tubes, uterine corpus, cervix, and vulva. The chapters within each section contain epithelial, mesenchymal, or germ cell tumors and mimickers of cancer. Each case title has a brief clinical correlation at the end.  The sample cases therein may be diagnostically challenging for practicing pathologists in routine practice or relatively recently described entities. The intent of the book is not a complete review of gynecologic pathology. Instead, the focus is on unusual patterns of common gynecologic pathology cases and uncommon tumors of the gynecological tract with their relevant clinical work-up and differential diagnosis. The case illustrations provide a practical approach to diagnosing challenging gynecologic cancers. The aim is to be a valuable resource for practicing general pathologists and pathology trainees who encounter complicated cases in daily practice.

Electronic Fetal Monitoring (C-EFM (R)) Certification Review by Antay Waters, 2025 Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller.Includes 6 months' free ExamPrepConnect digital access with print purchase! Electronic Fetal Monitoring (C-EFM (R)) Certification Review is designed to help you prepare for the NCC C-EFM (R) certification exam. This comprehensive study aid is organized according to the latest exam blueprint and presents the information in a clear, concise format. Key terms, clinical pearls, case studies, and high-quality fetal heart rate tracings are featured throughout. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. With 250 practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, and access to ExamPrepConnect, this study aid empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features Reflects the latest NCC exam blueprint Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Highlights key terms, clinical pearls, and case studies Features 35 high-quality fetal heart rate tracings Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and a full practice test with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Offers on-the-go digital access with ExamPrepConnect ExamPrepConnect Included with your study guide: Review all the high-quality content from the book. Take a full-length timed practice test. Build custom quizzes or study by exam topic. Sharpen your test-taking skills with interactive Q&A tools. Keep on track with your Personalized Study Plan. Take notes, highlight, and bookmark content. Use flashcards to review key terms. Study with your peers in the community discussion boards. Play games to make studying fun. Access everything on any device. See access details inside the book. For 70 years, it has been our greatest privilege to prepare busy nurses like you for professional certification and career success. Congratulations on qualifying to sit for the exam. Now let's get you ready to pass! C-EFM (R) is a registered service mark of National Certification Corporation (NCC). NCC does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.

Ob/Gyn Secrets, 4th ed. by Amanda Mularz; Steven Dalati; Ryan A. Pedigo, 2017 For 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Ob/Gyn Secrets, 4th Edition, by Drs. Amanda Mularz, Steven Dalati, and Ryan A. Pedigo, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. NEW: Expert Consult access provides an enhanced e-book version with the print, available online or on mobile devices. This edition features updated content to keep you current with what's new in obstetrics and gynecology, including new technologies that can improve your patient care. A new author team leads a team from prominent institutions, bringing a fresh perspective to this best-selling review.

Pelvic Ultrasound Imaging: A Case Based Approach by Rebecca Hall, 2022 With a focus on how to perform and effectively interpret pelvic ultrasound exams, Pelvic Ultrasound Imaging: A Cased-Based Application offers a unique learning experience that is ideal for ob/gyn and radiology practitioners and residents, urogynecology practitioners and fellows, diagnostic medical sonographers and those who are studying for Board exams. Current cases in gynecology and urogynecology are presented in a step-by-step format based on resident and fellow one-on-one didactic oral case reviews. An expert walk-through for each case's imaging set includes directive questions to help the reader perform proper exam assessment. This workbook: Presents cases in the way a clinical day unfolds, varied and unrelated to the previous case. Cases get progressively harder, increasingly challenging the reader's interpretation skills while moving through the text. Provides step-by-step instruction throughout, including development of 3D volume set skills, reporting nomenclature, discussion of diagnostic criteria, instrumentation topics, and clinical correlation. Highlights the importance of critically assessing, not merely diagnosing based on a presumed classic image appearance for the most common pathologies. Includes examples of common gynecology cases such as ovarian corpus luteum, hemorrhagic corpus luteum, uterine leiomyomata, endometrial polyps, and caesarean section scars, as well as more uncommon cases. Includes examples of common pelvic floor cases such as normal anal sphincter complex and thickened bladder wall, as well as more uncommon urogynecology pathologies such as rectal vaginal fistula, rectal prolapse, and mesh assessment. Walks the reader through each case with directive questions to improve diagnostic appraisal. Includes up to five images per case along with exam findings and brief clinical correlations. Provides videos on Elsevier eBooks for Practicing Clinicians that illustrate typically encountered real-time dynamic changes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you access to all of the text, figures, reporting templates, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

PROLOG: Obstetrics, 8th ed. by American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 2023 Each of the 6 units of PROLOG addresses a major area in obstetrics and gynecology and consists of two parts--an assessment book and a critique book. Put your knowledge to the test and earn 25 CME credits for this volume!The obstetrician-gynecologist who completes Obstetrics, Eighth Edition, should be able to:Demonstrate an understanding of maternal and fetal physiology and pathophysiology and their impact on normal and complicated pregnanciesIdentify components of antepartum care that optimize maternal and perinatal outcomes in uncomplicated pregnancies, including education regarding normal pregnancyDiagnose and plan efficacious and cost-effective management of medical and obstetric conditions encountered during the antepartum period.Identify the risks and prognosis of selected complications of pregnancy and in the neonateDescribe invasive and noninvasive methods of fetal assessment in the antepartum period and identify the risks, indications, predictive value, and physiologic basis for testsDiagnose problems and manage obstetric emergencies.Select appropriate management strategies for intrapartum care and delivery Consider medical-legal principles, risk management and office management guidelines in obstetric practice.