eBooks
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th ed. by
Trusted by anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pain management specialists through five outstanding editions, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th Edition, continues to keep you fully informed and up to date in this fast-changing field. This practical how-to guide demonstrates each technique in an easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise, helping you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Covers the full range of key regional anesthesia topics including anatomy, local anesthetic pharmacology, traditional landmark-based and ultrasound-guided blocks, pediatric regional anesthesia, and chronic pain procedures. Features step-by-step instruction highlighted by superb artwork, new anatomical drawings, and clinical photographs-now entirely in full color. Includes access to a video library that includes numerous new videos covering every block described in the atlas, a new introductory video on daily clinical practice procedures, and enhanced voiceover on all videos. Contains an all-new section on obstetric regional anesthesia, plus new coverage of pic block, serratus anterior block, erector spinae block, stellate ganglion block, rectus sheath catheter block, and pediatric pudendal nerve block, with significant updates to pharmacology sections. Presents a wide variety of images to help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia: cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT, and MRI scans. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th ed. by
Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students. Presents the latest information on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy, emphasizing the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs. Contains new chapters on shared decision-making in obstetric anesthesia and chronic pain during and after pregnancy. Features extensive revisions from cover to cover, including consolidated information on maternal infection and postoperative analgesia. Covers key topics such as neonatal assessment and resuscitation, pharmacology during pregnancy and lactation, use of nitrous oxide for labor analgesia, programmed intermittent epidural bolus (PIEB) technique, epidural analgesia-associated fever, the role of gastric ultrasonography to assess the risk of aspiration, sugammadex in obstetric anesthesia, the role of video laryngoscopy and new supraglottic airway devices, spinal dysraphism, and cardiac arrest in obstetric patients. Incorporates the latest guidelines on congenital heart disease and the management of sepsis, as well as difficult airway guidelines that are specific to obstetric anesthesia practice. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Consults in Obstetric Anesthesiology by
This text addresses the need for a book specifically aimed at obstetric anesthesia and covers topics such as pulmonary, cardiac renal, hepatic, hematologic, neurologic, endocrine and other diseases. The real anesthetic challenge arises when patients present to Labor and Delivery with unusual or complicated medical problems and, in recent years, a few of the larger institutions have developed an Obstetric Anesthesiology Consultation Service to prepare for the management of these patients. While most pregnant women who present to Labor and Delivery require anesthetic intervention, they typically meet the anesthesiologist for the first time in labor. Since the majority of laboring women are healthy without significant comorbidities, this does not present much of a challenge to the anesthesiologist and the anesthetic management tends to be straight-forward with favorable outcomes. However, using this new model, the anesthesiologist has the opportunity to discuss the various treatment modalities and potentially suggest diagnostic testing to be performed prior to delivery, similar to the pre-operative testing that is done in other surgical environments.
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery by
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists. From preoperative assessment through postoperative care, this practical reference covers all perioperative approaches to today's patients with cardiac conditions. Provides guidance on the anesthetic diagnosis and management of the full range of cardiac lesions, helping minimize adverse outcomes and reduce complications for patients with common, complex, or uncommon cardiac conditions. Includes complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques needed for thorough perioperative assessment - all from the anesthesiologist's perspective. Discusses safe and effective perioperative anesthetic management of patients presenting with advanced levels of cardiac care such as drug-eluting stents, multiple antiplatelet drugs, ventricular assist devices, multiple drugs for end-stage heart failure, and implanted electrical devices that produce cardiac resynchronization therapy, as well as patients with complicated obstetric problems or other significant cardiovascular issues. Features a concise, easy-to-navigate format and Key Points boxes in each chapter that help you find answers quickly. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neonatal Anesthesia, 2nd ed. by
Since publication of the first edition in 2015, neonatal anesthesia and surgery have advanced at lightning speed with many new developments, hence the need to update several essential topics. These include our understanding of neonatal apoptosis, the ever-increasing use of regional anesthesia in neonates, pharmacology of drugs in neonates, the delivery of anesthesia outside the operating room, neonatal resuscitation/guidelines, and perinatal complexities such as the EXIT procedure together with the fundamental principles of developmental physiology, airway management and ventilation as well as perioperative complications and ethical considerations that are unique to this age group. This comprehensive and well-illustrated book is led by Dr. Jerrold Lerman who brings four decades of research, publication and clinical experience in pediatric and neonatal anesthesia. He has amassed a team of recognized international experts in neonatal anesthesia, surgery, and intensive care to share their knowledge in managing neonates for the challenges they face both within and without the surgical suites. Neonatal Anesthesia, the 2nd edition, is the quintessential clinical reference for perioperative care of these small patients that should be read by trainees as well as experienced clinicians and is certain to become an invaluable resource for every anesthetic and critical care department that serves children. Reviews from the 1st edition: "Lerman's book stands alone as an up-to-date text dedicated exclusively to the practice of anesthesia in neonates ... . The text covers its subject matter in extraordinary breadth and depth. ... Throughout the book there are illustrative and clinically relevant diagrams, nicely supporting and summarizing relevant text for the more visual learner. ... Neonatal Anesthesia is a sophisticated but approachable text that offers its readers theory-based practical approaches to understanding and managing anesthesia in our youngest, most fragile patient population." (Stephanie A. Black and Lynne G. Maxwell, Anesthesiology, Vol. 125 (3), 2016)"It is a long-awaited contribution to the literature, filling a gap of over a decade without a neonatal anaesthesia textbook. ... textbook should hold an essential and required spot on the bookshelf of any anaesthetist or critical care physician who cares for neonates. ... The reference lists are comprehensive and exhaustive. Dr Lerman should be commended for finally presenting the anaesthesia community worldwide with this textbook, which will be able to stand on its own, probably for the next decade." (K. P. Mason, British Journal of Anaesthesia, Vol. 116 (4), 2016)"This book covers in 400-plus pages and 17 chapters most of what is known about the neonatal airway, physiology, drugs and anesthetics, with separate chapters on each subcategory of neonatal anesthesia. ... Certainly pediatric surgeons, anesthesiologists who only occasionally care for children, students, residents, and fellows will appreciate this book. ... This is a large book on a narrow topic that has increasing relevance to the field of current pediatric practice. It is well written, well illustrated, and highly useful." (Robert M. Arensman, Doody's Book Reviews, April, 2015) "The book has many outstanding chapters that have been thoughtfully crafted by leading researchers in specific fields. ... this book is an essential addition to any pediatric anesthesiology library in any organization that provides care to neonates. This book is an excellent resource, not only for anesthesiologists at every level of training and expertise but also for other professionals who provide postoperative care, administer sedative drugs, control the airway, and undertake procedures in newborn infants." (Carolyne Montgomery and J. Mark Ansermino, Canadian Journal of Anesthesia, Vol. 62, 2015)
eBooks
Obstetric Anesthesia by
Understand the anesthetic management challenges of the obstetric patient with this complete primer and review Obstetric Anesthesia is a clear, concise, and practical manual covering the basics of obstetric anesthesiology and the principles of basic management at the point of care. This essential introductory text covers the fundamental topics in an efficient and highly clinical manner. Numerous tables, bulleted lists, and text boxes highlight key issues such as common co-existing diseases and conditions that may affect anesthetic management. Obstetric Anesthesia features thirty chapters grouped into six logical sections: Pregnancy Providing Anesthesia Anesthetic Complications Obstetric Complications Common Co-Morbidities During Pregnancy Trauma During Pregnancy Enriched by contributions from practicing obstetrical anesthesiologists and renowned instructors, Obstetric Anesthesia includes the most up-to-date practice guidelines. It is a valuable clinical refresher and an outstanding board review.
Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides by
This succinct, evidence-based guide provides everything you need to provide safe, effective care to pregnant women in subacute and emergent situations A quick-reference guide designed for on-the-spot clinical guidance, Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides fills a gap in the current literature by distilling the information of a comprehensive textbook into a quick review and providing standard instructions that can be integrated into everyday practice. Chapters include a brief review of the topic, including scientific knowledge and references; clinical pearls based on the BIDMC Department of Anesthesia's long history of providing cutting edge care for pregnant women; bullet points and tables highlighting key information; references for the latest scientific information and primary literature, and guides, protocols, or standard operating procedures for immediate application. Primarily an on-hand emergency manual, Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides also serves as a clinical reference guide and teaching tool during team meetings and residency/fellowship didactics. Features Describes tools and methods for caring for pregnant women in labor Includes the best scientific evidence and BIDMC's Department of Anesthesia's Obstetrical Division's thoroughly tested institutional practices used for the care of pregnant women Incorporates clear, step-by-step instructions and up-to-date guidelines and standards Each chapter provides essential information followed by evidence-based best practices for the given topic Succinct presentations are paired with relevant and practical instructions for patient care to support emergency decision making, problem solving, and patient safety
Peripartum Care of the Pregnant Patient: A Question-And-Answer Review for Anesthesiologists and Obstetricians by
This book promotes learning evidence-based current knowledge on the clinical aspects of the obstetric parturient from the standpoint of anesthesiology, obstetrics, surgery, pediatrics, and public health. Each topic is initiated with several multiple-choice questions, mimicking the ABA and other board certification exams. Chapters are authored by contributors from multiple specialties offering their expert guidance based on evidence-based guidelines as well as their clinical experience.
Key Topics Covered:
Cardiovascular Considerations: Understand the hemodynamic changes specific to pregnancy and how they impact anesthesia and obstetric management. Learn to predict which cardiac lesions may lead to peripartum hemodynamic compromise.
Hypertensive Disorders: Explore evidence-based strategies for managing hypertensive disorders of pregnancy during the peripartum and postpartum phases.
Critical Illness: Discover expert insights on handling critical illness in pregnant patients, including considerations for acute respiratory failure and other emergencies.
Neuraxial and Other Anesthesia Techniques: Topics covered include neuraxial anesthesia, inotrope and vasopressor support, and echocardiography. Learn when advanced critical care support is warranted.
Whether you’re a seasoned practitioner or a trainee, Peripartum Care of the Pregnant Patient equips you with practical answers to real-world challenges. Enhance your peripartum care knowledge to add to the well-being of your pregnant patient.
ISBN: 9783031627552Publication Date: 2024-09-04
