eBooks
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors by
An essential guide to navigating the journey to recovery from critical illness Millions of patients are admitted to intensive care units (ICUs) each year, one third of whom need a ventilator machine to help them breathe. These critically ill patients may develop health problems related to their illness, injury, ventilator or other treatments. Such problems can continue after the patient leaves the hospital. LANGE: After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process
Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6th ed. by
Your awareness of uncommon diseases and possible complications is vital to successful anesthetic patient management. Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with new information on less commonly seen diseases and conditions, including the latest evidence and management guidelines. This unique medical reference book is essential for a complete understanding of today's best options and potential difficulties in anesthesia. Improve your ability to successfully manage every patient, including those with rare diseases or conditions. Avoid complications with unique coverage of an important aspect of anesthetic management. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at www.expertconsult.com - fully searchable! Stay current with all-new chapters on adult congenital heart disease, rheumatic diseases, and the cancer patient, plus many more revisions throughout. Get outstanding visual guidance with hundreds of illustrations, now in full color.
Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd ed. by
Offering highly visual, easy-to-read coverage of the full range of anesthesia equipment in use today, this authoritative reference is your go-to text for objective, informed answers to ensure optimal patient safety. Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd Edition, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Remains unequalled in both depth and breadth of coverage, offering readable, concise guidance on all aspects of today's anesthesia machines and equipment. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation. Improves your understanding of the physical principles of equipment, the rationale for its use, delivery systems for inhalational anesthesia, systems monitoring, hazards and safety features, maintenance and quality assurance, special situations/equipment for non-routine adult anesthesia, and future directions for the field. Includes ASA Practice Parameters for care, and helps you ensure patient safety with detailed advice on risk management and medicolegal implications of equipment use. Highlights the text with hundreds of full-color line drawings and photographs, graphs, and charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, 6th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Covering both surgical and anesthetic considerations, Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, Sixth Edition, is an essential resource for formulation of an anesthetic plan and perioperative management of patients. All chapters are written by both surgeons and anesthesiologists, giving you a detailed, real-world perspective on the many variables that accompany today's surgical procedures. Presents preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables. Describes what the surgeon will likely be doing, variants of the procedure or approaches, patient population characteristics, and details of the procedure including positioning, length of procedure, postop care, and more. Features a full-color design to enhance readability of the tables and clarity of the illustrations. Updates to this edition include a new, heavily illustrated chapter overviewing regional blocks and new appendices covering individual components of enhanced recovery (ERAS) protocols and intraoperative use of transnasal humidified rapid-insufflation ventilatory exchange (THRIVE); as well as new, rapidly accessible tables and figures set on the inside back cover reviewing useful, but easily forgotten facts and dermatomes. An ideal reference for anesthesiologists, anesthesia residents, and CRNAs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by
A clinically relevant, reader -friendly text covering everything the anesthesia provider must know about physiology This well-illustrated new resource is the most concise and high-yield presentation of physiology topics available to the anesthesia provider. The authors (who are both educators and clinicians) deliver a complete overview of physiology, but, since this book is written for the anesthesia provider, the bulk of the text is dedicated to cardiovascular and respiratory physiology. Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice distinguishes itself from general medical physiology books by the inclusion of case studies and clinical correlation boxed inserts that emphasize key fact that relate to real-world practice. *Numerous case studies demonstrate the clinical relevance of basic science *The author are experienced educators and clinicians, and know how to present difficult concepts in the most interesting and reader-friendly manner possible *Key Points summarize must-know information, providing an excellent framework for board review
Critical Care by
A practical, concise, and up-to-date reference for the ICU A Doody's Core Title for 2019 LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of "Controversies" chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care. This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure. In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. FEATURES: * Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU. Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms. Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics. Excellent primer for internal medicine and anesthesiology ICU rotations and great for board examination review.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6th ed. by
This sixth edition holds true to the original format and philosophy of the trail blazing first edition: syllabus focused text, great illustration, and helpful questions, plus web links. We have maintained the high standards that have made this the equipment book of choice not only for trainees in Anaesthesia, but also for our Operating Department Practitioner and Nursing colleagues. We have extensively updated the text, images and illustrations.
Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology, 4th ed. by
Addressing both routine and complex situations with practical decision-making tools, Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology, 4th Edition, helps anesthesiologists make sound decisions in everyday practice. World-renowned authority, Dr. Lee A. Fleisher, takes an evidence-based approach to a variety of high-impact topics related to effective perioperative patient management: preoperative assessment; monitoring and administration of anesthesia during surgery; postoperative intensive care management; and postoperative pain management. The 4th Edition has been updated from cover to cover, helping you make informed clinical decisions based on reliable, up-to-date guidance in every aspect of patient care. Explores important issues in perioperative management, discussing the available options, examining the relevant research, and presenting practical recommendations. Features concise, to-the-point chapters with numerous quick-reference tables for fast and effective decision making. Includes decision trees throughout to provide visual guidance and a logical flow of key decision points. Contains nine new chapters on how to identify patients at risk for postoperative neurocognitive disorder; the best strategy for perioperative ACE and ARB agents; emergency laparotomy; optimal postoperative analgesia and the opiate naïve patient; the best method for perioperative handoffs; myocardial injury after non-cardiac surgery (MINS); and more. Helps you master the current best practices you need to know for successful day-to-day practice and oral board review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management, 5th ed. by
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout. The only volume of its kind completely dedicated to airway management, this edition features: Well-illustrated and tightly focused coverage, with anatomical drawings, charts, algorithms, photos, and imaging studies for quick reference-many new to this edition. Key Points in every chapter, as well as up-to-date information on the latest ASA guidelines. Two new chapters covering Combination Techniques and Human Factors in Airway Management; all other chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect current thinking and practice. A significantly expanded video library, including intubating the COVID-19 patient and new videos on ultrasonography of the airway. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 7th ed. by
Learn to prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, the leading expert on anesthesia in dentistry, the Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 7th Edition covers all the latest advances in science, instrumentation, and pain control techniques. From basic concepts to specific injection techniques, from dosage charts to the proper care and handling of equipment, this how-to guide provides in-depth, full-color coverage of key anesthesia topics, including specific hazards and errors in technique that may result in complications. Recognized as THE local anesthesia textbook in dentistry for over 30 years, the seventh edition has been thoroughly updated with the latest in safe anesthesia practices in dentistry. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, one of the most in-demand and globally recognized experts on dental anesthesia and sedation. Full-color photographs and line drawings enhance important points throughout book. Step-by-step procedures cover the techniques for administering intraoral anesthesia. Detailed descriptions of routes of anesthesia administration included throughout text. Logical Organization of content divides book into four parts including -Drugs, The Armamentarium, Techniques of Regional Anesthesia in Dentistry, and Complications, Legal Considerations, Questions, and the Future NEW! Updated and enhanced content throughout reflects latest research evidence. NEW! Two added chapters cover problems in achieving pain control and their solutions; and recent advances in local anesthesia. NEW! Addition of an Expert Consult Site allows you to search the entire book electronically.
eBooks
Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety by
Offering a concise yet comprehensive review of current practices in surgery and patient safety, Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety is an up-to date, practical resource for practicing surgeons, anesthesiologists, surgical nurses, hospital administrators, and surgical office staff. Edited by Drs. Juan A. Sanchez and Robert S. D. Higgins and authored by expert contributors from Johns Hopkins, it provides an expansive look at the scope of the problem, causes of error, minimizing errors, surgical suite and surgical team design, patient experience, and other related topics. Presents the knowledge and experience of a multidisciplinary team from Johns Hopkins University, which created the Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP), an approach for improving safety culture and engaging frontline clinicians to identify and mitigate defects in care delivery. Discusses the scope and prevalence of perioperative harm, causes of error in healthcare, and perioperative never events. Covers safe practices, cognitive workload and fatigue, and the effects of noise in the OR. Includes several team-based chapters such as the dynamics of surgical teams, safer perioperative team communication, and the culture of safety. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.
The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite by Surgical services carry some of the highest risks and rewards of all healthcare specialties. They also present specific challenges. Those unfamiliar with the surgical suite's inner workings may struggle to lead and manage this complex and often isolated department. The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite: A Roadmap to the OR and Perioperative Services provides experienced and novice healthcare leaders with the information, leadership structures, and practical strategies needed to successfully oversee both patient outcomes and balance sheets. This book covers contemporary market realities, business challenges, labor requirements, and clinical and operational complexities as it points leaders toward the most pressing issues in strategic surgical services leadership. Inside you'll find: A comprehensive overview of the competitive landscape and unique market forces, Effective governance and leadership structures, A snared, interdisciplinary decision-making model, Insights on creating accurate budgets and monitoring complicated revenue and expenses Book jacket.
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care: Incorporating Definitive Anaesthetic Trauma Care, 6th ed. by
Developed for the International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care (IATSIC), the Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care 6e is ideal for training all surgeons and anaesthetists who manage trauma on an infrequent basis. The Manual is updated every 4 years and reflects the most recent developments in patient management based on new evidence-based information. Its focus is on the importance of the multidisciplinary care of the trauma surgical patient. This sixth edition has evolved, and the all-important section on the Non-Technical Skills which are required has been expanded. A significant number of the original guidelines in trauma have been archived, as they are no longer pertinent or have been superseded. The increasing (and occasionally harmful) role of non-operative management (NOM) has been recognized. The 'Military Environments' and 'Austere Environments' chapters have been substantially revised to reflect current multinational combat experience, and broadened to reflect modern asymmetrical conflicts and the increased need for humanitarian intervention including military peacekeeping in which only one side wears a uniform. Military weapons are used in major cities against the civilian population. More recently, urban, non-military populations have been the targets and victims of heavy military combat including use of ultra-sophisticated weaponry. Each situation carries its own spectrum of injury and responsibility of care. Including website access to a selection of videos which provide an anatomic overview of surgical approaches, this resource provides a gold standard educational and training resource to help prepare the relatively fully trained surgeon to manage the difficult injuries that might present to a major trauma centre.
ISBN: 9781032157818Publication Date: 2024-06-07
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9th ed. by
Now fully revised and updated, this ninth edition includes a larger page format for improved clarity, as well as full access to the complete, downloadable eBook version. This incorporates BONUS chapters, handy topic summaries, interactive self-assessment material and a NEW series of expert lectures on key topics. The result is a more flexible, engaging and complete resource than ever before.
Enhancements to this edition include:
A new dedicated chapter on obesity – covering the effects of this global challenge on the physiology of the respiratory system in health and disease, in both adults and children
Expanded coverage of the adverse effects of hyperoxia - including the physiology of the now popular technique of high-flow nasal therapy
A revised section on air pollution – reflecting the growing importance and understanding of the impact of pollution on the lungs and other body systems, along with the latest worldwide guidelines
Detailed coverage of artificial ventilation during general anaesthesia – covering post-operative respiratory complications and the physiological basis of current best-practice for optimizing ventilation
Print comes with enhanced eBook - includes access to the complete, fully searchable text, PLUS:
bonus chapters
handy chapter summaries
interactive self-assessment material
a NEW series of 25 expert lectures focusing on the most essential topics in respiratory physiology.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual by
For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy. New co-editor Dr. Jonathan Handy shares his knowledge and expertise on acid-base disturbances during critical illness, critical care transfers, intravenous fluid therapy, cardiovascular physiology, burn management, sepsis, and the immunological impact of surgery and burn injury. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Perioperative Quality Improvement by
Quality improvement (QI) principles are increasingly important in every area of today's healthcare, encompassing efforts to make healthcare delivery safer, more effective, patient-centered, timely, equitable, and efficient. Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key international opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analyzing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations. Covers key topics such as patient-centered care, equity, shared decision making, process mapping, and sustainability. Addresses the critical areas of structure, process and outcome with a focus on perioperative care and relevant case studies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia, 2nd ed. by
Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2nd Edition, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice. Contains new chapters on Special Populations (anesthetic pharmacology in obesity, geriatrics, and pediatrics), Oral and Non-IV Opioids, Thermoregulation, Physiology and Pharmacology of Obstetric Anesthesia, Chemotherapeutic and Immunosuppresive Drugs, and Surgical Infection and Antimicrobial Drugs. Incorporates entirely new sections on Physics, Anatomy, and Imaging. Includes new information on consciousness and cognition, pharmacodynamics, the immune system, and anti-inflammatory drugs. Features user-friendly tables, figures, and algorithms (including 100 new illustrations), all presented in full color and designed to help explain complex concepts. Helps you understand the molecular mechanism of drug actions and identify key drug interactions that may complicate anesthesia with dedicated sections on these areas. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Sedation, 6th ed. by
Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control. This new sixth edition also incorporates the latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists, along with vivid images of the most current equipment and procedures used in dental practice today. There is also detailed discussion on how to modify typical treatment protocol to successfully treat different patient populations - including pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients. In all, this is a must-have guide for keeping up to date on the latest techniques in dental sedation and anxiety. The latest practice guidelines established by the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists for sedation by non-anesthesiologists are included throughout the text. Comprehensive coverage combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction to cover all the information needed to provide safe and effective dental care. Expert authorship from Stanley Malamed, DDS, provides readers with experienced guidance across all areas of sedation dentistry and local anesthesia. Summary tables and boxes support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Coverage of all potential patient groups details how to manage the pain and anxiety of pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients in addition to the subtle changes that may be needed in normal treatment protocol. NEW! Extensive content revisions incorporate the most up-to-date information on the advances in sedation dentistry including the latest research, clinical experience, and literature. NEW! Updated photos and art reflect the latest equipment and procedures used in dental practice today.
Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, 2nd ed. by
The ULTIMATE reference about syndromes to have on hand to facilitate rapid recognition and perioperative implications --- in full color. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is the ultimate reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, pediatricians, emergency physicians and nurses caring for patients affected with special operative needs and acute medical care. This updated book provides a complete A-to-Z encyclopedic clinical presentation of more than 2,200 syndromes. Extensive cross-referencing of international synonyms, classifications, and other conditions to be considered in the differential diagnosis further expands coverage to more than 5,000 entries..It is the most comprehensive reference on the subject. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is enhanced by 200 high-quality photographs, in addition to tables, classifications and clinical management considerations. The addition of color tabs, a new feature, improve consultation and speed information retrieval. Each syndrome, listed in alphabetical order.
Textbook of Critical Care, 8th ed. by
Bridging the gap between medical and surgical specialties in critical care, Textbook of Critical Care, 8th Edition, offers a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the effective management of adult and pediatric patients in the ICU. An outstanding editorial team, led by world-renowned intensivist Dr. Jean-Louis Vincent, assisted by Dr. Frederick A. Moore and new editors Drs. Rinaldo Bellomo and John J. Marini, provides the evidence-based guidance you need to overcome a full range of practice challenges. A full-color art program, relevant basic science and key summary points in every chapter, and expert contributing authors from all over the world make this an indispensable resource for every member of the critical care team. Provides a concise, readable understanding of the pathophysiology of critical illness and new therapeutic approaches to critical care. Addresses both medical and surgical aspects in critical care for adult and pediatric patients in one comprehensive, easy-to-use reference. Shares the knowledge and expertise of the most recognized and trusted leaders in the field, with more international contributing authors than in previous editions. Covers new information on procedural and diagnostic ultrasound, prone positioning, ECMO, and VADs. Discusses key topics such as organ support, telemedicine, echocardiography, antibiotic stewardship, antiviral agents, coagulation and anti-coagulation, and more. Features a wealth of tables, boxes, algorithms, diagnostic images, and key points that clarify important concepts and streamline complex information for quick reference. Includes companion videos and exclusive chapters online that cover commonly performed procedures. Takes a multidisciplinary approach to critical care, with contributions from experts in anesthesia, surgery, pulmonary medicine, and pediatrics. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
