Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care, 8th ed. by Joel A. Kaplan, 2024
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8th Edition, offers practical guidance from today’s international leaders in cardiac anesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today’s clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology. Covers the full spectrum of contemporary cardiothoracic anesthesia practice, including preoperative assessment, physiology, pharmacology, monitoring, transesophageal echocardiography, coagulation, specific cardiac procedures, extracorporeal circulation, postoperative pain treatment, and management of the complex patient with cardiac disease.
Cardiac Anesthesia and Transesophageal Echocardiography, 2nd ed. by John D. Wasnick; Zak Hillel; Alina Nicoara, 2019
The acclaimed "must read" for anesthesiologists new to the cardiac operating room. Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, Second Edition is a fast, proven effective way for anesthesiology trainees to acquire the essential skills and knowledge necessary to successfully navigate the cardiac operating room. Enhanced by more than 100 photographs, nearly 200 carefully rendered line drawings, and illustrative case scenarios, this unique guide imparts the basic principles of both cardiac anesthesia and echocardiography in a way that reflects the realities of clinical anesthesia practice. Included with the book is online access to nearly 100 narrated, labeled TEE clips that introduce you to both normal and abnormal echocardiographic views. Each clip is keyed to a specific passage in the text, which provides you with a true multimedia learning experience. Whether you are looking for a concise, easy-to-read introduction to cardiac anesthesiology, or a primer on incorporating the basic principles of cardiac anesthesiology and perioperative echocardiography into real-world practice, Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, Second Edition should be your first place to turn.
Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, 3rd ed. by Joseph Mathew; Madhav Swaminathan; Chakib Ayoub, 2019
Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, Third Edition is written to be the field's go-to resource and the standard reference textbook on the topic. It offers concise yet comprehensive coverage of the key principles, concepts, and developing practice of transesophageal echocardiography. Completely updated, reorganized, and expanded, this Third Edition features a sectional format, each containing chapters that were reviewed and revised to provide a comprehensive discussion of physiology, pathophysiology, and echocardiographic approach for normal and common disease states. Where possible, important clinical information has been aligned with the principles of cardiovascular physiology and echocardiographic techniques. Narrative text, charts, videos, and graphs have been effectively integrated to provide rapid access to key clinical information for the purpose of improving clinical management. Features: Addresses all the important clinical and technical issues and major exam topics Valuable appendices detailing normal chamber dimensions and volumes; wall motion and coronary perfusion; diastolic function; native valve areas, velocities, and gradients; and measurements and calculations Contributions from leading anesthesiologists, cardiologists, and cardiothoracic surgeons A complete practice exam and chapter-ending multiple choice questions make this the perfect review for board examinations in both basic and advanced perioperative echocardiography
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia by Glenn P. Gravlee, 2019
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Renamed for this new edition, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition.
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia, 2nd ed. by Joel A. Kaplan, 2018
Practical, user-friendly, and to the point, the newly updated Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia, 2nd edition focuses on the most common topics and clinically applicable information in cardiac anesthesia today. Designed for residents, nurses, and clinicians seeking quick, high-yield answers rather than the encyclopedic information commonly found in larger references-in fact, its concise format makes it easy to complete a section in a single sitting. For an initial introduction to cardiac anesthesia, nothing compares to Kaplan's Essentials! Trusted authorities deliver the key cardiac anesthesia knowledge you need to know. A concise, user-friendly format and key points boxes in each chapter help you quickly locate crucial information. Annotated references guide you to the most practical additional resources. A portable size and clinical emphasis facilitates and enhances bedside patient care. Designed as a companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia. Includes new topics vital to the current practice of cardiac anesthesiologists, such as transesophageal echocardiography; percutaneous valve procedures; new pacemakers and automatic internal defibrillators used for cardiac resynchronization therapy; left ventricular assist devices and extracorporeal membrane oxygenation therapy of heart failure; and patient safety issues. Focuses on today's most current and relevant therapies, including New Cardiac Drugs, and Heart Mate, Heart Ware, and Impella LVADs. Describes care of the cardiac patient in Hybrid Operating Rooms, Catheterization Laboratories, and Electrophysiology Laboratories, as well as the Cardiac Operating Rooms. Perfectly suited for residents, fellows, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologists in practice.
eBooks
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery by Joel A. Kaplan, 2019
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists. From preoperative assessment through postoperative care, this practical reference covers all perioperative approaches to today's patients with cardiac conditions. Provides guidance on the anesthetic diagnosis and management of the full range of cardiac lesions, helping minimize adverse outcomes and reduce complications for patients with common, complex, or uncommon cardiac conditions. Includes complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques needed for thorough perioperative assessment - all from the anesthesiologist's perspective. Discusses safe and effective perioperative anesthetic management of patients presenting with advanced levels of cardiac care such as drug-eluting stents, multiple antiplatelet drugs, ventricular assist devices, multiple drugs for end-stage heart failure, and implanted electrical devices that produce cardiac resynchronization therapy, as well as patients with complicated obstetric problems or other significant cardiovascular issues. Features a concise, easy-to-navigate format and Key Points boxes in each chapter that help you find answers quickly. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery by Robert M. Bojar, 2021
Now in its sixth edition, Robert M. Bojar's Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students. Extensively rewritten with updated references to incorporate the latest concepts, guidelines, protocols, and medications used in cardiac surgical practice, this classic text retains the pragmatic features that have made it the gold standard reference that clinicians have used worldwide for the past 30 years. Highlights include: Full coverage of cardiac surgical diseases, including pathophysiology, indications for surgery per guidelines, and figures of operative procedures and diagnostic techniques, with a panoply of examples Chronologic evaluation of patients from preoperative assessment to intraoperative considerations to postoperative care for each procedure Extensive chapters discussing organ system management in the ICU, followed by a discussion of later postoperative management and problems Incorporation of newer techniques (TAVR, Mitraclip, etc.) within the chronologic format Easy access to information using an outline format, markers on the free edges to identify chapters, synopsis pages at the beginning of each chapter, and a comprehensive index to provide easy referencing within the text Updated references throughout that are available from on-line resources 21 appendices summarizing order sheets, protocols, commonly used drug doses, body mass index, and other important information Praise for the fifth edition: "Surgeons are frequently asked to recommend a text that can be used to guide the care of their patients. This comprehensive text is the standard by which any other text should be judged." --Critical Care Medicine "It remains a classic and a must have for anyone involved in cardiac surgery." --Perfusion.com
Thoracic Anesthesia by Atilio Barbeito; Andrew Shaw; Katherine Grichnik, 2012
Thoracic Anesthesia is the definitive introduction for anesthesiologists in training and the must-have reference for anesthesiologists who do not practice thoracic anesthesia exclusively. Here, you'll find a current, detailed review of the basic, need-to-know concepts of thoracic anesthesia, along with clear, practical suggestions for handling commonly encountered scenarios. Written by top specialists in the field, the book is filled with high-yield insights into such pivotal topics as respiratory physiology, pulmonary pharmacology, imaging, one-lung ventilation, and postoperative care. FEATURES The ultimate thoracic anesthesia primer, designed for residents and experienced anesthesiologists/nurse anesthetists who must meet the growing demand for skilled practitioners in the thoracic operating room Comprehensive, yet concise presentation and compact format make the text a perfect at-a-glance reference in the OR Acknowledged experts in each topic area review key concepts that clarify a given condition--and summarize the best management strategies for delivering safe and effective perioperative care to thoracic surgical patients Focus on the major principles of thoracic anesthesia covers chest physiology, mechanisms of pain, biology of chest malignancies, and lung separation techniques Chapter on practice improvement and patient safety highlights the delivery of modern, high-quality perioperative thoracic care through a multi-disciplinary, team approach Top-to-bottom coverage of the latest thoracic anesthesia techniques and procedures: Preoperative risk stratification, Closed thorax procedures, Lung resections for cancer and benign chest tumors, Extrapleural pneumonectomy, Pericardial window procedures, Esophageal cancer operations, Bronchopleural fistula, Lung transplantation, Thoracic trauma management Special chapter on anesthesia for pediatric thoracic surgery presents the most current clinical perspectives that help you achieve positive outcomes even in the most challenging pediatric cases Section on postoperative management of thoracic surgical patients thoroughly reviews routine postoperative care as well as how to handle respiratory, renal, and cardiovascular complications, and both acute and chronic post thoracotomy pain.
