eBooks
Complications in Neuroanesthesia by
Complications in Neuroanesthesia focuses on complications that may arise related to neuroanesthesia practice and discusses its various causes. Each complication is written as a separate chapter, and the pathophysiology and mechanisms of each complication, as well as measures for diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed. Towards the end of the book, several case scenarios are provided to the readers that challenge readers to diagnose the possible complication for each case. Chapters include brain and spinal cord problems, cardiovascular and hematological problems, and nerve and muscle problems. Written in a standard format, Complications in Neuroanesthesia provides quick and easy access to understanding problems in neuroanesthesia. It provides insight into all possible complications occurring during perioperative management of neurosurgical and neurologic patients. It is useful for trainees, clinicians, and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, and neurology by providing an understanding of preventable mishaps that may occur in neurosurgical or neurologic patients.
Cottrell and Patel's Neuroanesthesia, 7th ed. by
The seventh edition of Cottrell and Patel’s Neuroanesthesia , edited by highly esteemed members of the neuroanesthesia community Dr. James E. Cottrell, Dr. Piyush M. Patel, and Dr. Sulpicio G. Soriano, is a welcome update to this authoritative and comprehensive primer for the practice of neuroanesthesiology. For this new edition, Dr. Soriano joins as associate editor and brings his vast experience in pediatric neuroanesthesia and prior leadership in the community including as past president of the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care (SNACC). The textbook encompasses the full spectrum of the principles of neuroanesthesia, spanning the basic tenets of cerebral physiology and neuropathology through to foundational concepts for anesthetic and perioperative care of patients with or at risk for neurologic injury. The enduring legacy of this resource over decades is a testament to its quality and value, to both learners and established anesthesiologists alike.
Although many aspects of clinical practice evolve, the basic principles of neurophysiology remain an essential component upon which to base neuroanesthesia practice. This textbook provides the reader with a thorough overview of the basic principles of blood flow, metabolism and pressure dynamics of the spine and brain, their interaction with anesthetic agents, and further defined in the context of injury. The further application of neuromonitoring and neuroimaging to detect neurologic injury is another core concept for neuroanesthesiologists, with several dedicated chapters by established experts in these areas. These topics are particularly useful to those undertaking subspecialty training in neuroanesthesiology and should be considered essential reading for anesthesiologists with interest in perioperative neuroscience.
In practice, the clinical care of patients with neurologic conditions continues to evolve and encompasses increasingly complex procedures and patient conditions. This edition of Cottrell and Patel’s Neuroanesthesia reflects this evolution and provides a valuable updated overview of the anesthetic considerations for a variety of neurosurgical procedures and conditions that may be encountered in neuroanesthesiology practice. Readers will be interested in chapters examining common neurosurgical conditions such as craniotomy and brain tumor resection, while other chapters can serve as a reference for less common but highly challenging conditions such as neurosurgical procedures in the pregnant patient, for which there is limited evidence available. Other chapters examine cutting-edge topics, such as the intriguing interaction between anesthetic agents and depression and novel gene therapy for movement disorders. Finally, this updated edition provides readers with an overview of the optimal care of patients with neurological disease undergoing nonneurological procedures, a population that is presenting for surgery far more frequently than in the past.
This edition includes additional chapters on topics of pain management and anesthetic drug therapy for depression and a look toward the future of the subspecialty. Notably, the application of information technology into neuroanesthesia practice is reviewed, which is a highly relevant topic given exponential growth of technological advances and advanced analytics in our field, and medicine as a whole. There is no doubt that data-driven personalized medicine is already becoming integral to perioperative neuroscience research and anesthetic practice.
ISBN: 9780323932738
Essentials of Evidence-Based Practice of Neuroanesthesia and Neurocritical Care by
The current practice of medicine is largely moving toward applying an evidence-based approach. Evidence-based medicine is the integration of best research evidence using systematic reviews of the medical literature and then translating it into practice by selecting treatment options for specific cases based on the best research. Clinicians rely on the availability of evidence and accordingly take decisions to provide best treatment to their patients. Clinical management of neurologically compromised patients is challenging and varied; for this reason, treating physicians including neuroanesthesiologists are always in search of best available evidence for patient management and care. Essentials of Evidence-Based Practice of Neuroanesthesia and Neurocritical Care highlights the various controversies that exist in the practice of neuroanesthesia and provides conclusive evidence-based solutions. This comprehensive resource succinctly discusses evidence-based practice of neuroanesthesia based on systematic reviews in clinical neuroscience research. Topics include neurophysiology: ICP or CPP thresholds; neuropharmacology: intravenous or inhalational anesthetics; and neuromonitoring: ICP monitoring. Evidence-based practice is now an integral part of neuroscience, and this book will help residents and trainees gain knowledge to apply it to their practice. Endorsements/Reviews: "Evidence based practice is facilitating changes at a rapid pace in neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care practice. Its practice is exceedingly crucial in neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care considering the criticality of the neurologically sick patients, which leaves little or no room for error for an acceptable outcome in them. Patient management in Neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care has many contentious issues because of rapidly evolving changes in their management which require treatment guided by the latest available evidence in literature. Dr. Hemanshu Prabhakar is a strong proponent of evidence based practice for the management of neurologically ill patients both for surgical procedures and their management in neurointensive care unit. Undoubtedly, this book will be of enormous benefits to the students as well as teachers of neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care sub-specialties." -- Parmod Bithal, Editor-In-Chief, Journal of Neuroanaesthesiology and Critical Care (JNACC)
eBooks
Essentials of Neuroanesthesia by
Essentials of Neuroanesthesia offers useful insights on the anesthetic management of neurosurgical and neurologic patients. This book covers all topics related to neuroanesthesia, providing essential knowledge on the brain and spinal cord. Sections include chapters on anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology, along with specific chapters related to various neurosurgical and neurological problems and their anesthetic management. This book provides an understanding of related issues, such as palliative care, evidence based practice of neuroanesthesia, sterilization techniques, biostatistics, and ethical issues, and is useful for trainees, clinicians, and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neuroanesthesia, and neurology.
Koht, Sloan, Toleikis's Monitoring the Nervous System for Anesthesiologists and Other Health Care Professionals, 3rd ed. by
As a single-source volume on intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring (IOM), previous editions of this celebrated resource amounted to a mission statement from the pioneer generation in intraoperative neurophysiology, converting insights, techniques, and perspectives into tools providing clinical utility for the assessment of the nervous system in patients who could not be assessed by a standard neurological examination. Now directed by a new generation of experts, this thoroughly illustrated Third Edition is updated with new case material, images, videos, practice guidelines, references, and technologies, and is intended for those who encounter IOM in the operating room and intensive care unit, including anesthesiologists, technologists, neurophysiologists, surgeons, and nurses, as well as graduate students and trainees. Offering topical, applicable information, this accessible reference and teaching tool provides practical knowledge to help students, trainees, andteam members better understand one another's roles, thereby improving patient safety and care.
ISBN: 9783031097188Publication Date: 2022-12-01
Perioperative Neuroscience by
Perioperative Neurosciences: Translational Research examines current clinical research focused on complications and the improvement of patient outcomes in neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care. The book addresses important translational topics including neuroanesthetics, pharmacogenomics, neuroprotection and neurotoxicity. In addition, it covers special considerations for topics such as stroke, traumatic brain injury and pain, as well as for specific patient populations like geriatric and pediatric.
ISBN: 9780323910033Publication Date: 2022-03-01
