E-Books
Clinical Anesthesia for the Newborn and the Neonate by
The book covers all aspects of anesthesia in newborns, neonates (under 28 days) and premature babies. These patients are highly vulnerable, very small in size and weight, at very high risk, and have high mortality and morbidity, which gets further aggravated by the medical diseases and congenital abnormalities these babies may suffer from. The book provides knowledge that equips the anesthetists with the regional techniques used to provide both anesthesia and analgesia, including information about the drugs used, skills in providing neuraxial blocks, nerve blocks, etc., complications thereof and the specially designed equipment for these patients (IV cannula, endotracheal tubes, ryles tubes, laryngoscopes, SpO2 probes, monitors, incubators, warmers and heaters, mattresses, OT tables). The book covers the pharmacology of drugs used, the effect of anesthetic drugs on the developing brain, pulmonary physiology, airway assessment and management, ventilation modes, getting IV and arterial access, preoperative workup, anesthetic management, and postoperative care. It includes care and concerns from both surgical and anesthesia aspects. It covers all the common surgical diseases along with some rare cases such as oncological concerns, palliative care, ethical concerns and pain management. The book also discusses the role and use of ultrasound. The chapter on anesthesia for short procedures includes common birth and neonatal care injuries. The book contains chapters on fluid therapy, blood and blood product transfusion guidelines and indications, resuscitation of a newborn and neonate, and neonatal rehabilitation to improve neonatal outcomes. It contains a dedicated chapter on why these babies are at a high risk of morbidity and mortality and contributing maternal factors. All the chapters are written by experts in their fields with vast experience. This book bridges the gap in the knowledge of an anesthesiologist between anesthesia for children and adults and newborns, neonates and preterm babies.
ISBN: 9789811954573Publication Date: 2023-01-19
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology by
An invaluable new textbook of pediatric anesthesiology--modeled after the bestselling Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Filling a void in the anesthesiology literature, this new text delivers a streamlined yet comprehensive discussion of the unique aspects and considerations necessary to successfully manage pediatric patients. Forty concise chapters written by leading pediatric anesthesiologists cover pertinent issues practitioners face in and out of the operating room. For each procedure covered, there is a review of equipment, technique, alternatives, and ways to manage complications or troubleshoot errors. Helpful "Focus Points" summarize salient concepts in every chapter. Informative illustrations, tables, and graphs are featured throughout. Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology provides the necessary tools to develop a solid understanding of understand pediatric anesthesia and effectively manage pediatric anesthesia cases. It's an essential resource for both trainees and practitioners. Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology ¬covers: Pre-operative evaluation Physiological and anatomical considerations Monitoring, breathing systems, and machines Advanced airway techniques Pharmacology Intraoperative complications Critical care medicine Post anesthesia care Advances in pediatric anesthesia, and more
History and Physical for the Pediatric Dental Patient: Establishing a Systematic Approach for Procedural Sedation by
This book serves as a quick reference for all dentists who perform physical exam before the sedation and treatment of pediatric patients. In the dental care setting, pediatric patients present unique challenges to proper sedation and management of dental pathology. A prior history and physical exam is often absent. Learning how to properly conduct a history and physical exam on Pediatric patients is an essential skill for dentists, and has significant implications for parents, patients, and our healthcare system. This book aims for a comprehensive coverage of the review of systems, improve patient care and identify possible complications in pediatric sedation. Each chapter will focus on a single system, discussing its important features and difficulties, and highlighting implications for the dental management. The book includes checklists for practitioners as they go through the physical exam of a pediatric patient, and helps to adequately prepare for comprehensive dental treatment. It includes contributions by leading experts in the field and is structured for quick reference making it a necessary tool in every dental office. This book will bridge the gap between the dental and medical professionals when it comes to the history and physical of the pediatric patient.
ISBN: 9783031514579Publication Date: 2024-02-17
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by
Written in clear, concise language for superb readability, Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge in this complex field. It covers everything from general pediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important pediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care. An excellent resource for learners of pediatric anesthesia, this tightly focused, user-friendly handbook is a well-regarded resource that has been used to train pediatric residents throughout the world. Covers new topics such as the current research on neurotoxicity and health care disparities in pediatric anesthesia and pain. Contains new "Deep Dive" boxes with more detailed information on key topics throughout the book. Features a helpful introductory chapter on congenital heart disease. Includes carefully chosen seminal articles from the pediatric anesthesia literature. Highlights key concepts with photographs, diagrams, and radiographic images in print, as well as videos. Ideal for rotations in pediatric anesthesia, board certification or recertification review in pediatric anesthesia, and as a reference for everyday clinical practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neonatal Anesthesia, 2nd ed. by
Since publication of the first edition in 2015, neonatal anesthesia and surgery have advanced at lightning speed with many new developments, hence the need to update several essential topics. These include our understanding of neonatal apoptosis, the ever-increasing use of regional anesthesia in neonates, pharmacology of drugs in neonates, the delivery of anesthesia outside the operating room, neonatal resuscitation/guidelines, and perinatal complexities such as the EXIT procedure together with the fundamental principles of developmental physiology, airway management and ventilation as well as perioperative complications and ethical considerations that are unique to this age group. This comprehensive and well-illustrated book is led by Dr. Jerrold Lerman who brings four decades of research, publication and clinical experience in pediatric and neonatal anesthesia. He has amassed a team of recognized international experts in neonatal anesthesia, surgery, and intensive care to share their knowledge in managing neonates for the challenges they face both within and without the surgical suites. Neonatal Anesthesia, the 2nd edition, is the quintessential clinical reference for perioperative care of these small patients that should be read by trainees as well as experienced clinicians and is certain to become an invaluable resource for every anesthetic and critical care department that serves children. Reviews from the 1st edition: "Lerman's book stands alone as an up-to-date text dedicated exclusively to the practice of anesthesia in neonates ... . The text covers its subject matter in extraordinary breadth and depth. ... Throughout the book there are illustrative and clinically relevant diagrams, nicely supporting and summarizing relevant text for the more visual learner. ... Neonatal Anesthesia is a sophisticated but approachable text that offers its readers theory-based practical approaches to understanding and managing anesthesia in our youngest, most fragile patient population." (Stephanie A. Black and Lynne G. Maxwell, Anesthesiology, Vol. 125 (3), 2016)"It is a long-awaited contribution to the literature, filling a gap of over a decade without a neonatal anaesthesia textbook. ... textbook should hold an essential and required spot on the bookshelf of any anaesthetist or critical care physician who cares for neonates. ... The reference lists are comprehensive and exhaustive. Dr Lerman should be commended for finally presenting the anaesthesia community worldwide with this textbook, which will be able to stand on its own, probably for the next decade." (K. P. Mason, British Journal of Anaesthesia, Vol. 116 (4), 2016)"This book covers in 400-plus pages and 17 chapters most of what is known about the neonatal airway, physiology, drugs and anesthetics, with separate chapters on each subcategory of neonatal anesthesia. ... Certainly pediatric surgeons, anesthesiologists who only occasionally care for children, students, residents, and fellows will appreciate this book. ... This is a large book on a narrow topic that has increasing relevance to the field of current pediatric practice. It is well written, well illustrated, and highly useful." (Robert M. Arensman, Doody's Book Reviews, April, 2015) "The book has many outstanding chapters that have been thoughtfully crafted by leading researchers in specific fields. ... this book is an essential addition to any pediatric anesthesiology library in any organization that provides care to neonates. This book is an excellent resource, not only for anesthesiologists at every level of training and expertise but also for other professionals who provide postoperative care, administer sedative drugs, control the airway, and undertake procedures in newborn infants." (Carolyne Montgomery and J. Mark Ansermino, Canadian Journal of Anesthesia, Vol. 62, 2015)
eBooks
The Pediatric Procedural Sedation Handbook by
The Pediatric Procedural Sedation Handbook provides a comprehensive but concise review of the essential information needed to allow for the safe practice of pediatric procedural sedation. Written by a group of multidisciplinary authors, this text explores the fundamentals of sedation, procedural sedation, special patient considerations, diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and more. Each chapter offers a starting point and suggestions for further in-depth study of all aspects of providing safe, effective, multidisciplinary-team based sedation care for children undergoing testing and procedures outside of an operating room setting. Appendices providing medication dosing and delivery route suggestions complement the text and can be used for quick reference. This book is a must-read for any clinician involved in modern, team-based patient-centered care, including physicians, nurses, dentists, and child life specialists.Editors and authors are members of the Society of Pediatric Sedation, a multidisciplinary society dedicated to the advance of pediatric sedation by promoting safe, high quality care, innovative research, and quality professional education.
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 7th ed. by
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Seventh Edition , has continued to evolve from its humble beginnings in 1986 with only 304 pages in the first edition to more than 1100 pages in this, the seventh edition. Of the founding coeditors, Dr. Nishan Goudsouzian has retired from practice and Dr. I. David Todres and Dr. John F. Ryan have passed. Two new coeditors joined to fill the vacancies left by these giants in our field: Dr. Jerrold Lerman joined for the fourth edition and Dr. Brian J Anderson for the fifth edition.
The current edition includes 115 authors from five continents, 53 of whom are new contributors. The book continues to be a highly respected, evidence-based synopsis of the practice of pediatric anesthesia reflecting a broad perspective of reasoning and practice from a host of international experts. As in past editions, many of the current authors are board certified in pediatrics and anesthesiology, surgery, nursing, and a number of pediatric subspecialties, enhancing our understanding of hematology, pulmonology, cardiology, nephrology, hepatology, and neurology. All chapters are meticulously referenced with up to a dozen annotated references that reflect pivotal publications on the topic of the chapter in the printed version with the full list of references at Elsevier eBooks+ with hypertext links to PubMed.org .
To navigate this edition more easily, we have continued several notable changes that we introduced in the last edition. The book is divided into 10 color-coded sections: Introduction, Drug and Fluid Therapy, The Chest, The Heart, The Brain and Glands, The Abdomen, Other Surgeries, Emergencies, Pain, and Special Topics. This format allows the reader to identify sections under broad headings and then within each section, to find specific subjects of interest. We have again sought contributions from pediatric subspecialists who share their perspectives and insights and paired them with a pediatric anesthesiologist to ensure that the basic science is intertwined with a practical anesthesiology clinical perspective. These are the “Essentials” chapters.
Our text is accompanied by a website that contains many supplemental pictures, tables, figures, and video clips that will enhance the readers’ experiences, particularly for performing regional anesthesia and vascular access procedures. A pocket reference card provides general recommendations for doses of commonly used medications by weight and other useful guides such as appropriately sized airway devices, and other quick references.
As with previous editions of our textbook, the current revision involved quite a journey reflecting a microcosm of the world and life in general with many contributors having experienced challenges such as loss of loved ones, personal crises, illness, and others including the stress of the COVID-19 pandemic during the writing of their chapters. Despite these obstacles, our authors have succeeded in crafting masterful chapters to create what we hope you will agree is an up-to-date state of the art text in pediatric anesthesia; the entire text and E-only content is also available for purchase as an eBook.
Once again, while assembling this new edition, the editors spent many days, evenings, and weekends debating controversial issues and crafting the language of the chapters such that all chapters were edited and reviewed by all three editors and common ground reached. This is an especially useful exercise since it improves the readability of the text and represents a fusion of the USA, Canadian, and New Zealand approaches to pediatric anesthesia that combines our global experience and understanding.
We believe that A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Seventh edition , continues to provide a framework for residency and fellowship training in pediatric anesthesia globally and will continue to be a valuable resource for passing the subspecialty boards in pediatric anesthesiology as well as a resource for practicing pediatric anesthesiologists and other pediatric care providers around the world. When we look back to the first edition of Leigh and Belton’s Pediatric Anesthesia (1948), the editors stated that “This book ....discusses many of the methods which the authors have employed satisfactorily over a period of years”. Similarly, Smith stated in his first edition of Smith’s Anesthesia for Infants and Children (1959) that “My intention in writing this book is to organize and evaluate this information and to add what I can from first-hand experience and observation.” Dripps, Eckenhoff, & Vandam’s Introduction to Anesthesia (1977), the first anesthesia textbook CJC used as a resident, stated that “ Much of the teaching of anesthesia is by word of mouth.... This is the lore of anesthesia that must be passed on from individual to individual.”
ISBN: 9780323825603
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 10th ed. by
Written and edited by renowned experts in pediatric anesthesia, Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children provides clear, concise guidance on effective perioperative care for any type of pediatric surgery. The 10th Edition contains significantly revised content throughout, bringing you fully up to date with recent advances in clinical and basic science that have led to changes in today's clinical practice. Offers comprehensive coverage of physiology, pharmacology, and clinical anesthetic management of infants and children of all ages. Contains new chapters on Airway Physiology and Development, Normal and Difficult Airway Management, Ultrasound, Acute Pain Management, Chronic Pain Management, Palliative Pain Management, Infectious Diseases, and Education; plus extensively revised content on cardiovascular physiology; induction, maintenance, and recovery; organ transplantation, and more. Features more than 100 video demonstrations, including regional anesthesia videos, echocardiograms of congenital heart lesions, anatomic dissections of various congenital heart specimens with audio explanations, various pediatric surgical operative procedures, airway management, and much more. Provides outstanding visual guidance throughout, including full-color photographs, drawings, graphs and charts, and radiographic images. Includes quick-reference appendices online: drug dosages, growth curves, normal values for pulmonary function tests, and a listing of common and uncommon syndromes. Provides an interactive question bank online for review and self-assessment. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
