Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine: Preventive Medicine

Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety by Juan A. Sanchez; Robert S. D. Higgins; Paula S. Kent, 2024 Offering a concise yet comprehensive review of current practices in surgery and patient safety, Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety is an up-to date, practical resource for practicing surgeons, anesthesiologists, surgical nurses, hospital administrators, and surgical office staff. Edited by Drs. Juan A. Sanchez and Robert S. D. Higgins and authored by expert contributors from Johns Hopkins, it provides an expansive look at the scope of the problem, causes of error, minimizing errors, surgical suite and surgical team design, patient experience, and other related topics. Presents the knowledge and experience of a multidisciplinary team from Johns Hopkins University, which created the Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP), an approach for improving safety culture and engaging frontline clinicians to identify and mitigate defects in care delivery. Discusses the scope and prevalence of perioperative harm, causes of error in healthcare, and perioperative never events. Covers safe practices, cognitive workload and fatigue, and the effects of noise in the OR. Includes several team-based chapters such as the dynamics of surgical teams, safer perioperative team communication, and the culture of safety. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.

Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine by Sally Rampersad; Cindy B. Katz; Sally E. Rampersad, 2023 An accessible and richly illustrated guidebook to the most important methodologies and frameworks for improving safety and quality, written specifically for clinicians in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine. The book begins with chapters on design and the use of simulation to set the stage for successful quality improvement (QI) efforts before providing an in-depth look at the individual tools, reporting and use of databases. The following chapters then discuss the use of these tools and theories in practical projects. Finally, the book considers the difficult topic of people, communication and behaviour, importantly addressing the human factors that can make or break QI efforts. The book skilfully blends expert knowledge and valuable examples from years of experience and trials from varied providers to demonstrate the successful paths to improve patient outcomes. For clinicians, nurses and trainees in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine seeking tools and strategies to lead and participate in QI projects.

Perioperative Quality Improvement by Carol J. Peden; Lee A. Fleisher; Michael Englesbe, 2023 Quality improvement (QI) principles are increasingly important in every area of today's healthcare, encompassing efforts to make healthcare delivery safer, more effective, patient-centered, timely, equitable, and efficient. Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key international opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analyzing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations. Covers key topics such as patient-centered care, equity, shared decision making, process mapping, and sustainability. Addresses the critical areas of structure, process and outcome with a focus on perioperative care and relevant case studies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Perioperative Safety Culture

Principles of Perioperative Safety and Efficiency by Jamal J. Hoballah; Haytham M. A. Kaafarani; Georgios Tsoulfas, 2024 Perioperative safety continues to be a global challenge. It is estimated that approximately 200 million surgical procedures are performed annually worldwide, and despite various national and global safety initiatives, perioperative adverse event rates remain alarmingly high. Although hospitals and governmental agencies impose safety standards and certification by organizations such as the Joint Commission, which can address issues of perioperative safety, many hospitals in developed, developing or underdeveloped countries lack the resources or knowhow to decrease perioperative adverse events. There is a great opportunity for improving perioperative safety worldwide especially in underdeveloped or developing countries. Filling a gap in the literature, this book teaches healthcare providers the basic principles of perioperative safety and efficiency, including checklists and processes to reduce adverse events. Presented here are the basics of intraoperative monitoring and safety measures to reduce patient adverse events, including wrong site surgery, electric burn injury, deep venous thrombosis, surgical site infection and foreign body retention. Emphasis is given toward developing awareness into measures preventing occupational injuries, such as sharp injury, radiation exposure, laser exposure and smoke hazard. It also addresses dealing and reporting adverse events and disruptive behaviors in the operating rooms as well as new measures for enhanced recovery following surgery and anesthesia. Principles of Perioperative Safety and Efficiency is a valuable resource and reference for all operating room personnel including surgeons, surgical residents, medical students and nurses.

Recent Strategies in High Risk Surgery by Joel Faintuch; Salomao Faintuch, 2024 Major surgical societies have been publishing perioperative recommendations for over half a century, based on committees conducting reviews of the literature. Surgical books fundamentally target the intraoperative period when anesthesia is going on. Fatalities are often embedded in a larger context of systemic failures, in which initial problems are sidestepped or mishandled till they become overwhelming and irreversible. There must be a guiding principle and a truly integrated approach for each condition and treatment, of course based on the strongest available evidence. This unique book provides the reader standardized instructions and recommendations on the management of all high-risk surgical candidates in different specialties and contexts, encompassing a continuum of care, and not just in selected phases or groups. Written by worldwide experts, it is divided in 11 sections and 41 chapters which discuss:  Preoperative evaluation, Lifestyle interventions, Surgical specialties, Protocols of special relevance, Fluids, electrolytes and shock, Perioperative surgical challenges, Bedside and adjunct procedures, Wound care, Innovative Approaches (including artificial intelligence and machine learning), End of life care and other ethical challenges. It also includes an additional section with supplementary material. Residents, fellows, practitioners in training and seasoned professionals seeking society recertification, primarily in surgery, anesthesiology, intensive care medicine, internal medicine, emergency services, trauma, vascular surgery, nursing, and physical therapy will find this book valuable. Professionals in the industry (especially those related to surgery, critical care monitoring devices, imaging diagnosis and interventional radiology), policy makers and government agencies will also benefit from this work.

Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, 2nd ed. by Bruno Bissonnette, 2019 The ULTIMATE reference about syndromes to have on hand to facilitate rapid recognition and perioperative implications --- in full color. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is the ultimate reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, pediatricians, emergency physicians and nurses caring for patients affected with special operative needs and acute medical care. This updated book provides a complete A-to-Z encyclopedic clinical presentation of more than 2,200 syndromes. Extensive cross-referencing of international synonyms, classifications, and other conditions to be considered in the differential diagnosis further expands coverage to more than 5,000 entries..It is the most comprehensive reference on the subject. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is enhanced by 200 high-quality photographs, in addition to tables, classifications and clinical management considerations. The addition of color tabs, a new feature, improve consultation and speed information retrieval. Each syndrome, listed in alphabetical order.