eBooks
Anesthesia for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by
This book reviews and describes anesthetic management of patients during oral and maxillofacial surgery. It covers applied anatomy of oral and maxillofacial surgery, difficult airway management and anesthetic techniques. The anesthetic management for patients with oral and maxillofacial disorders such as head and neck infection, head and neck injuries, and head and neck malignancy is also discussed. It will be a concise, up-to-date reference for specialists in anesthesiology, as well as practitioners in oral and maxillofacial surgery. It aims to share up-to-date knowledge and practical techniques with those who work in the fields related to oral and maxillofacial surgery.
ISBN: 9789811972867Publication Date: 2023-01-02
History and Physical for the Pediatric Dental Patient: Establishing a Systematic Approach for Procedural Sedation by
This book serves as a quick reference for all dentists who perform physical exam before the sedation and treatment of pediatric patients. In the dental care setting, pediatric patients present unique challenges to proper sedation and management of dental pathology. A prior history and physical exam is often absent. Learning how to properly conduct a history and physical exam on Pediatric patients is an essential skill for dentists, and has significant implications for parents, patients, and our healthcare system. This book aims for a comprehensive coverage of the review of systems, improve patient care and identify possible complications in pediatric sedation. Each chapter will focus on a single system, discussing its important features and difficulties, and highlighting implications for the dental management. The book includes checklists for practitioners as they go through the physical exam of a pediatric patient, and helps to adequately prepare for comprehensive dental treatment. It includes contributions by leading experts in the field and is structured for quick reference making it a necessary tool in every dental office. This book will bridge the gap between the dental and medical professionals when it comes to the history and physical of the pediatric patient.
ISBN: 9783031514579Publication Date: 2024-02-17
The Pediatric Procedural Sedation Handbook by
The Pediatric Procedural Sedation Handbook provides a comprehensive but concise review of the essential information needed to allow for the safe practice of pediatric procedural sedation. Written by a group of multidisciplinary authors, this text explores the fundamentals of sedation, procedural sedation, special patient considerations, diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and more. Each chapter offers a starting point and suggestions for further in-depth study of all aspects of providing safe, effective, multidisciplinary-team based sedation care for children undergoing testing and procedures outside of an operating room setting. Appendices providing medication dosing and delivery route suggestions complement the text and can be used for quick reference. This book is a must-read for any clinician involved in modern, team-based patient-centered care, including physicians, nurses, dentists, and child life specialists.Editors and authors are members of the Society of Pediatric Sedation, a multidisciplinary society dedicated to the advance of pediatric sedation by promoting safe, high quality care, innovative research, and quality professional education.
Sedation, 6th ed. by
Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control. This new sixth edition also incorporates the latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists, along with vivid images of the most current equipment and procedures used in dental practice today. There is also detailed discussion on how to modify typical treatment protocol to successfully treat different patient populations - including pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients. In all, this is a must-have guide for keeping up to date on the latest techniques in dental sedation and anxiety. The latest practice guidelines established by the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists for sedation by non-anesthesiologists are included throughout the text. Comprehensive coverage combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction to cover all the information needed to provide safe and effective dental care. Expert authorship from Stanley Malamed, DDS, provides readers with experienced guidance across all areas of sedation dentistry and local anesthesia. Summary tables and boxes support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Coverage of all potential patient groups details how to manage the pain and anxiety of pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients in addition to the subtle changes that may be needed in normal treatment protocol. NEW! Extensive content revisions incorporate the most up-to-date information on the advances in sedation dentistry including the latest research, clinical experience, and literature. NEW! Updated photos and art reflect the latest equipment and procedures used in dental practice today.
