Dentistry and Oral Surgery: Clinical Resources

Advanced Oral Surgery by Andreas Filippi; Fabio Saccardin; Sebastian Kuhl, 2024 Following on from the recent publication of Basic Oral Surgery comes the perfect book for advanced practitioners who frequently perform oral surgery procedures in their practices and want to update and develop their skills. The book is also aimed at current and prospective specialists in oral and maxillofacial surgery.Like the first volume, Advanced Oral Surgery is designed as an atlas rather than a textbook. In the clinical chapters, particularly, the theoretical content is outlined in short passages of text and follows a similar structure: indications, contraindications, step-by-step clinical procedures, and postoperative controls. This second volume also contains numerous illustrations in the form of series of images and videos linked via QR codes. The content and scope of the book are based on advanced training programs and the range of clinical advanced training in oral surgery provided by university departments

Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases by Dimitris Malamos; Crispian Scully, 2021 A quick reference and revision guide on the most common oral and perioral diseases seen in clinical practice Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a concise reference on the common diseases encountered in daily practice. Presenting a large selection of clinical cases, this user-friendly resource covers a range of oral and perioral lesions located in hard and soft tissues of the mouth and neck, as well as oral manifestations of various systemic diseases. Nearly 300 high-quality color images complement succinct descriptions of clinical cases seen in both community and hospital care settings. Divided into three parts, the text first covers oral lesions classified by their color, appearance, and symptomatology such as bleeding, disturbances of saliva, taste, and orofacial pain. Part two describes the most common oral lesions by location, including those in the buccal mucosae, floor of mouth, gingivae and jaws, lips, neck, palate, salivary glands, tongue, and teeth. The third part encompasses oral lesions that are normal variations or those common to specific age groups or associated with various clinical phenomena. Provides nearly 300 high-quality clinical photos and relevant questions to help lead readers to the proper diagnosis of common oral diseases Contains concise tables relevant to each chapter with a list of common oral lesions and conditions Offers MCQs of varying levels of difficulty to help readers test their knowledge in Oral Medicine Includes clinical flow charts according to the location and duration of oral lesions Incorporates the ICD-10 Codes of oral lesions and diseases Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a valuable reference for general dental and medical practitioners, undergraduate dental students, and postgraduate trainees in oral and maxillofacial surgery, oral medicine, oral pathology, periodontology as well as general pathology, dermatology or head and neck oncology.

Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12th ed. by Louis H. Berman; Kenneth M. Hargreaves, 2021 Stay up on the latest research and techniques in endodontics with Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12th Edition. Written by a team of internationally renowned experts and trusted for more than 40 years, this definitive guide covers the science, theory, and practice of endodontics. Full color illustrations and detailed radiographs guide readers through each step of endodontic care - from diagnosis and treatment planning to proven techniques for managing pulpal and periapical diseases. This new twelfth edition also boasts the very latest evidence-based research and techniques, reorganized and condensed chapters, plus other features designed to help you locate important information quickly and easily. Complete with access to Expert Consult, it's everything you need to stay ahead in the field of endodontics. Extensive illustration collection includes over 2,000 full-color photos, line art, and radiographs to clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of endodontics. Video clips and case studies demonstrate key procedures such as palpation of the masseter muscle, introsseous anesthesia with the X-tip system, dentin hypersensitivity, and more. Diverse and respected contributor pool includes experts from many national- and international-based dental education programs. NEW! Updated content and new images incorporate the most recent developments in research and clinical endodontic techniques. NEW! Additional topics cover pulp biology, pathobiology, diagnosis, treatment planning, pain control, isolation, access, cleaning and shaping, obturation, restoration, assessment of outcomes, emergencies and surgery. Each online topic comes with assigned reading lists, a PowerPoint lecture, written lesson objectives, and example exam questions. NEW! Compliance with the Commission on Dental Accreditation Curriculum ensures that the needs of all dental programs are met. NEW! Reorganized sections now divide chapters by those covering clinical endodontics, those covering the biological basis of endodontics, and chapters which detail endodontics in private practice to make content easier for both clinicians and students to navigate. NEW! Condensed chapters remove unnecessary duplication of content across the text and make the physical text lighter and easier to use.

Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th ed. by James R. Hupp; Myron R. Tucker; Edward Ellis et al, 2019 One of the most respected dental surgery books in the world, Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 7th Edition helps you develop skills in evaluation, diagnosis, and patient management. This comprehensive text on oral surgery procedures features full-color photographs and drawings that show how to perform basic surgical techniques, including an overview of more advanced surgical procedures and the latest developments in dental implants, instrumentation, and current technology. A detailed patient evaluation section includes guidelines on when to refer patients to specialists and how to provide supportive postoperative care. New to this edition is a chapter focusing on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions. Written by well-known OMS educators James R. Hupp, and Edward Ellis III, and Myron R. Tucker, this book is a valuable reference for dentistry and dental hygiene students alike! UPDATED! Chapter, Contemporary Implant Dentistry, includes new and updated implant surgical techniques and virtual planning. UPDATED! Chapter, Treatment of Complex Implant Cases, features new and updated cases requiring more complex treatment, including bone augmentation surgery in combination with implants. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Sinus Disease updated outline of the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient with sinus disease, including endoscopic therapy. UPDATED! Coverage of Management of Medication-related Osteonecrosis of the Jaw outlines the fundamental principles for evaluation and treatment of the patient. UPDATED! Facial Cosmetic Surgery chapter is organized by nonsurgical and surgical procedures, covering popular procedures such as dermal fillers, botox, facial resurfacing, browlift and forehead procedures, blepharoplasty, rhinoplasty, and rhytidectomy. UPDATED! Content on implants, new instruments, and the latest technology help you treat your patients more effectively. Basic techniques of evaluation, diagnosis, and medical management described in enough detail to facilitate immediate clinical application. Excellent instrumentation chapter covers a wide variety of instruments and tray set-ups that OMS surgeons use. Complex Exodontia chapter describes techniques for surgical tooth extraction, including the principles of flap design, development, management, and suturing, as well as open extraction of single- and multi-rooted teeth, multiple extractions, and concomitant alveoloplasty. Hundreds of detailed, close-up photographs of intraoperative sites clarify textual descriptions Coverage of complex OMS procedures give you a basic understanding of what you will face later in advanced OMS cases. NEW! Chapter, Anesthesia in Dentistry focuses on anesthesia in greater depth than any of the previous editions including local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation. NEW! Expert Consult TM eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices

Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th ed. by Stephen J. Stefanac; Samuel P. Nesbit, 2024 Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.

McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics, 13th ed. by Alan B. Carr; David T. Brown, 2016 The standard in prosthodontics for nearly 50 years, McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics, 13th Edition walks readers through all the principles and concepts surrounding removable partial denture treatment planning and design that today's practitioners need to know. Using an evidence-based approach, this full-color text incorporates the latest information on new techniques, procedures, and equipment, including expanded information on dynamic communication and the use of implants with removable partial dentures. From initial contact with the patient to post-treatment care, McCracken's is the complete foundation today's dentists need to successfully practice prosthodontic care. A variety of philosophies and techniques are featured throughout the text, so readers can select and incorporate applicable techniques on a case-by-case basis. Full-color drawings and photographs give readers a detailed view of techniques, materials, and anatomic detail. Evidence-based approach uses current research to help readers diagnose, design, develop, and sequence a treatment plan. Expert guidance from both authors walks readers through the latest techniques as well as technological advances specific to removable partial dentures. NEW! Standardized removable partial denture designs offered for application to the major categories of patients seen in practice. NEW! Expanded information on the use of implants with removable partial dentures highlights considerations in treatment planning including the selection of implants and provision of care utilizing dental implants. NEW! More information on dynamic communication which incorporates the progress being made in shared decision making with patients, especially regarding decisions made in light of patient values and 'trade-off' considerations.

Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 8th ed. by Stanley F. Malamed, 2023 Be prepared to prevent, recognize, and manage life-threatening medical emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 8th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage health issues in the dental office or clinic. The text describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively and details the resources that must be on hand to effectively deal with these situations. Written by noted dentistry educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert text includes the latest guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. An enhanced eBook is included with each new print purchase, featuring a complete, fully searchable version of the text, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and much more - available on a variety of devices. Logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, allergic reactions, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, sequential instructions for stabilizing and treating patients (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques with realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. An enhanced eBook version is included with each new print purchase, featuring a fully searchable version of the text, an image collection, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and more! UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's algorithm for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym (PCABD): Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.

Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 14th ed. by Arthur H. Jeske, 2025 No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 14th Edition, provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs - including 93 new monographs covering newly released, FDA-approved drugs - make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. Accompanied by an Evolve website with additional monographs, photos of pathologic conditions, and more, this durable, pocket-sized guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. NEW! More than 93 new monographs cover newly released, FDA-approved drugs and provide up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies NEW! Expanded coverage of "Biologic Agents" explores their impact on oral health and dental treatment Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, making this guide ideal for chairside use More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information, as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective facilitates the use of drug information for patient and family education Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names, to help you better serve and educate your patients Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes the therapeutic management of common oral lesions and drug information specific to medically compromised patients, while the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and more

Principles and Practice of Laser Dentistry, 3rd ed. by Robert A. Convissar, 2023 Successfully expand the use of lasers in your dental practice! With vibrant, detailed clinical images and easy-to-follow writing, Principles and Practice of Laser Dentistry, 3rd Edition walks you through the most common uses of lasers in areas such as periodontal surgery, dental implants, prosthetic and cosmetic reconstruction and describes how lasers work, how they interact with tissues, and how this knowledge may be applied to dental practice with a focus on technology, surgical techniques, and key steps in treatment. Written by laser dentistry pioneer Dr. Robert A. Convissar and a team of leading experts, this edition includes an ebook free with each purchase of a print book, three new chapters, and new case histories and clinical tips. It contains everything you need to know to build your skills in the rapidly growing field of laser dentistry. Authoritative information is written by experts from all areas of dentistry, including periodontics, orthodontics, prosthodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, implants, endodontics, pediatric dentistry, cosmetic dentistry, and practice management. Revised case studies reflect treatment planning and the use of lasers in treating a variety of pathologies. Detailed photographs clearly illustrate preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative procedures. Guidelines to the use of lasers in procedures are validated with evidence-based, peer-reviewed literature. Revised Clinical Tips and Caution boxes highlight key information. Summary tables and boxes simplify essential information. Chapter on Introducing Lasers into the Dental Practice includes guidelines for investing in lasers. Glossary provides definitions of key laser terminology. NEW! Chapters cover snoring and sleep apnea, photodynamic therapy, and infant tongue tie procedures. NEW! More clinical photos, equipment photos, and conceptual illustrations are included. NEW! eBook version is included with print purchase, allowing you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.

Sedation, 6th ed. by Stanley F. Malamed, 2019 Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control. This new sixth edition also incorporates the latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists, along with vivid images of the most current equipment and procedures used in dental practice today. There is also detailed discussion on how to modify typical treatment protocol to successfully treat different patient populations - including pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients. In all, this is a must-have guide for keeping up to date on the latest techniques in dental sedation and anxiety. The latest practice guidelines established by the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists for sedation by non-anesthesiologists are included throughout the text. Comprehensive coverage combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction to cover all the information needed to provide safe and effective dental care. Expert authorship from Stanley Malamed, DDS, provides readers with experienced guidance across all areas of sedation dentistry and local anesthesia. Summary tables and boxes support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Coverage of all potential patient groups details how to manage the pain and anxiety of pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients in addition to the subtle changes that may be needed in normal treatment protocol. NEW! Extensive content revisions incorporate the most up-to-date information on the advances in sedation dentistry including the latest research, clinical experience, and literature. NEW! Updated photos and art reflect the latest equipment and procedures used in dental practice today.

Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry, 7th ed. by Andre V. Ritter, 2019 Get a better picture of operative dentistry from the most complete text on the market. Using a heavily illustrated, step-by-step approach, Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry, 7th Edition helps you master the fundamentals and procedures of restorative and preventive dentistry and learn to make informed decisions to solve patient needs. Drawing from both theory and practice and supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research, this new full-color edition features four new chapters and updated information in the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, digital dentistry and more. It's the practicing dentist's complete guide to all aspects of operative dentistry. Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. Expert Consult website with five supplemental chapters and procedure videos. Evidence-based approach is supported by extensive clinical and laboratory research. Comprehensive coverage provides a thorough understanding of caries and an authoritative approach to its treatment and prevention. Illustrated step-by-step approach offers a better picture of conservative restorative and preventive dentistry. Full color design clearly demonstrates techniques and details. NEW! Four new chapters cover the areas of color and shade matching, light curing, periodontology, and digital dentistry. NEW! Expert Consult website includes five additional online-only chapters, procedure videos, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Updated content throughout integrates new knowledge that has emerged since publication of the previous edition.

Clinical Review of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 3d ed. by Shahrokh C. Bagheri; Behnam Bohluli, 2025 First published in 2007, Clinical Review of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is now in its third edition, and the reader-learners benefit from Shahrokh’s assemblage of talent among his authors and section editors. Since its inception, the format of this text has emphasized the clinical pertinence of the subject matter. He and his authors link their discussions of diseases, tumors, injuries, and other conditions to the real people that the authors describe. For many learners, this connection of didactic material to a human being who is experiencing the effects of this condition is a critical step in the consolidation of knowledge. As you read this book, consider the authors’ patients to be your patients and their disorders to be your challenges to accurately diagnose and skillfully treat. The third edition has expanded with 14 new chapters, including timely new material on the effects of marijuana and vaping as well as the opioid epidemic. Bob Marx has contributed two new chapters on drug-induced osteonecrosis.

Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 5th ed. by Brad W. Neville; Douglas D. Damm; Carl M. Allen et al, 2024 Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 5th Edition guides you through the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region. More than 1,500 radiographs and full-color clinical photos bring various lesions and conditions to life. Updates in this edition include coverage of the latest advances in oral squamous cell carcinoma treatment, HPV, and molecular pathology, along with revised content throughout. Well-known oral pathology educators Brad Neville, Douglas Damm, Carl Allen, and Angela Chi, bring you up to date on the latest concepts of pathogenesis and disease management in the care of patients with oral disease.