Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- GuidelineCentralOtolaryngology
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck SurgeryClinical Practice Guidelines
- American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck SurgeryQuality in Practice
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Head and Neck Cancer
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical TrialsOtolaryngology (Ear, Nose, Throat)
- ClinicalTrials ListingHead and Neck Cancer
- ClinicalTrials ListingOtolaryngological Disease
Core eBooks
Cummings Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery, 7th ed. by
The most comprehensive, multi-disciplinary text in the field, Cummings Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery, 7th Edition, provides detailed, practical answers and easily accessible clinical content on the complex issues that arise for otolaryngologists at all levels, across all subspecialties. This award-winning text is a one-stop reference for all stages of your career-from residency and board certification through the challenges faced in daily clinical practice. Updated content, new otology editor Dr. Howard W. Francis, and new chapters and videos ensure that this 7th Edition remains the definitive reference in today's otolaryngology. Brings you up to date with the latest minimally invasive procedures, recent changes in rhinology, and new techniques and technologies that are shaping patient outcomes. Contains 12 new chapters, including Chronic Rhinosinusitis, Facial Pain, Geriatric Otology, Middle Ear Endoscopic Surgery, Pediatric Speech Disorders, Pediatric Cochlear Implantation, Tongue-Ties and Lip Ties, Laryngotracheal Clefts, and more. Covers recent advances and new approaches such as the Draf III procedure for CRS affecting the frontal recess, endoscopic vidian and posterior nasal neurectomy for non-allergic rhinitis, and endoscopic approaches for sinonasal and orbital tumors, both extra- and intraconal. Provides access to 70 key indicator (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Key Indicator Procedures), and surgical videos - an increase of 43% over the previous edition. Offers outstanding visual support with 4,000 high-quality images and hundreds of quick-reference tables and boxes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323611794Publication Date: 2020-05-11
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery, 4th ed. by
A complete, concise review of the science and clinical practice of otolaryngology --- head and neck surgery --- with a new full-color presentation The must-have resource for ENT board review and recertification *The acclaimed one-stop clinician's guide to treating all major diseases of the ear, nose, throat, and neck *Emphasizes the practical features of clinical diagnosis and patient management *Conveniently organized by anatomic region *FOUR NEW CHAPTERS: Professional Voice Assessment and Care; Neurolaryngology; Aural Rehabilitation and Hearing Aids; and Endoscopic Skull Base Surgery *Consistent presentation includes General Considerations, Pathogenesis, Prevention, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, and Treatment *Must-know medical and surgical management of each disorder *Thorough discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Comprehensive radiology chapter with more than 150 images *"Essentials of Diagnosis" section for each disease and disorder delivers key points at a glance *All new full color interior design with more than 500 color illustrations *Valuable to otolaryngologists as well as all the medical and surgical specialties and related disciplines that treat patients with head and neck disorders *Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity * Spans the entire breadth of ENT topics, including the latest developments in basic science, facial plastic surgery, head and neck surgery, laryngology, rhinology, pediatric otolaryngology, otology, and neurotology
ISBN: 9780071847643Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Diseases and Injuries to the Head, Face and Neck by
This book provides a practically applicable guide to injuries, diseases, and disorders affecting the head, neck, and dental region seen within accident and emergency departments. These regions contain a number of specialized structures each with individual neural, muscular and vascular elements, meaning that the study of these anatomical areas is complicated and often quite daunting. Chapters in this work aim to break the treatment of such injuries and diseases into an easy-to-digest format via chapters featuring a symptom-based approach. Therefore, enabling the reader to quickly access the information they require when treating patients with a variety of disorders in the emergency room. Diseases and Injuries to the Head, Face and Neck: A Guide to Diagnosis and Management is a concise overview of how to deal with head, neck, and dental emergencies and is an important up-to-date resource for all medical professionals and trainees who encounter these patients.
ISBN: 9783030530983Publication Date: 2021-02-17
ENT, Head and Neck Emergencies: A Logan Turner Companion by
ENT emergencies are a regular occurrence. This new book covers the full range of hospital emergencies seen by ENT trainees and practitioners, and also by oral and maxillofacial surgeons and plastic surgeons. Succinct text and clear illustrations complement the sections on Rhinology,Head and Neck,Otology and Paediatrics.Practical and up to date, this book facilitates excellence in clinical practice.
ISBN: 9781138616530Publication Date: 2018-11-15
KJ Lee's Essential Otolaryngology, 12th Edition by
Since the first edition was published in 1973, K. J. Lee's Essential Otolaryngology has stayed true to its original intent: to serve as a guide for board preparation, as well as a practical and concise reference text reflecting contemporary concepts in clinical otolaryngology. Senior medical students, residents, fellows, board-eligible and board-certified otolaryngologists, primary care physicians, and specialists in other fields will find this acclaimed resource to be completely up to date, authoritative, concise, and well written. The leading guide in otolaryngology: *Top-to-bottom coverage that spans the entire discipline, yet provides an easy, at-a-glance review and summary of key information in otolaryngology *Quick-access bulleted text makes important concepts easy to review and remember *300 board review questions help you test your knowledge of must-know concepts *Clinical pearls bring you the wisdom and experience of renowned experts *Extremely well illustrated: more than 240 illustrations and photographs, and more than 100 tables Here's why the Twelfth Edition is the best edition yet! Expanded to sixty chapters, the Twelfth Edition has been thoroughly revised throughout, including all new Rhinology and Pediatrics sections; and many important new chapters, including ones on Endoscopic Middle Ear Surgery, Acute Rhinosinusitis, Chronic Sinusitis, Fungal Rhinosinusitis, Diseases of the Nasal Cavity, Tumors of the Paranasal Sinuses, Endoscopic Sinus Surgery, Tumors of the Larynx, and more.
ISBN: 9781260122237Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Operative Otolaryngology, 3rd ed. by
Emergent operative technologies and surgical approaches have transformed today's otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, and the 3rd Edition of Operative Otolaryngology brings you up to date with all that's new in the field. You'll find detailed, superbly illustrated guidance on all of the endoscopic, microscopic, laser, surgically-implantable, radio-surgical, neurophysiological monitoring, and MR- and CT-imaging technological advances that now define contemporary operative OHNS - all in one comprehensive, two-volume reference. Covers everything from why a procedure should be performed to the latest surgical techniques to post-operative management and outcomes - from experts in otolaryngology, plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, neurological surgery, and ophthalmology. Features a newly streamlined, templated chapter format that makes information easier to access quickly. Includes all-new videos (more than 150 videos in all) showing step-by-step techniques and procedures such as management of tracheal stenosis and transoral and robotic tonsil surgery for cancers of the base of tongue and pharynx, plus new full-color clinical photographs and line drawings throughout the text. Combines all pediatric procedures into one comprehensive section for quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of endoscopic techniques for cranial base surgery, plus information on the latest endoscopic cancer techniques including robotic surgery, minimally invasive thyroid surgery, and new techniques for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea including implantable nerve stimulators. Contains state-of-the-art guidance on the ear/temporal bone/skull base, including fully- and semi-implantable auditory implants, vestibular implants, imaging advances, radiosurgical treatment of posterior fossa and skull base neoplasms, intraoperative monitoring of cranial nerve and CNS function, minimally-invasive surgical approaches to the entire skull base, vertigo and postural disequilibrium, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Conn's Current Therapy 2024 by
The editorial team at Conn’s Current Therapy respects the challenges of managing vast amounts of new information while maintaining the core knowledge germane to our practices. Our perennial mission is to provide an easy-to-use and knowledge-forward reference to guide clinicians, even as the incidence of chronic diseases is climbing and life expectancy for men and women in the United States has declined for the fifth consecutive year after a catastrophic and massive modern day pandemic.
Our authors have the formidable task of ensuring that they deliver cogent synopses across each organ system, incorporating new references and key points that affirm and potentially change primary care practice. We are indebted to our returning authors who continue to provide updated chapters and to our new authors who lend their expertise and energy to developing new content. They all work diligently to revise, update, and create efficient chapters filled with information that is ready to use.
Mayo Clinic Resources
---------------------------------------
Mayo Clinic Websites
Internally accessible via Intranet
Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery - ARZ
Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery - RST
Externally facing website
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: