Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Ophthalmology | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overview
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- American Academy of OphthalmologyGuidelines
- American Optometric AssociationClinical Guidelines
- ClinicalKey | Ophthalmology Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral | Ophthalmology Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at:
Core eBooks
Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care, 5th ed. by
Well organized and easy to read, Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care, 5th Edition, takes an accessible, step-by-step approach to describing the commonly used primary care procedures that facilitate accurate diagnosis and effective patient management. This practical, clinically-focused text offers succinct descriptions of today's most frequently encountered optometric techniques supported by research-based evidence. You'll find essential instructions for mastering the procedures you need to know, including recent technical advances in the field. Discusses technical advances that are dramatically altering optometry: Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) and ultra-wide field imaging (optomaps). Presents outstanding new digital images of OCT cases and optomaps for a wide variety of conditions of the central and peripheral retina. Focuses on evidence-based optometry; all procedures include a section that reviews when and how the procedure should be measured and uses clinical wisdom in addition to research-based evidence. Presents new digital images of normal variations of the eye - crucial visual support for understanding what is normal and what is disease. Helps you clearly visualize procedures and eye disorders through full-color photographs, diagrams, and video clips. Provides fully revised print on dry eye assessment based on the latest international Dry Eye Workshop (DEWS) guidelines. Features coverage of changes in the eye due to high myopia, and expounds the need for myopia control techniques. Offers extensive material online to enhance learning: video clips, interactive testing sections, additional photographs, and more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702077890
Common Eye Diseases and Their Management, 5th ed. by
Since the last edition of this book, there have been a number of advances in the fields of glaucoma, corneal disease, medical retina and genetics. This new edition discusses these developments while also providing an introduction to the specialty of clinical ophthalmology for medical students, trainee ophthalmologists, optometrists, general practitioners, and anyone with a special interest in the subject. Common Eye Diseases and their Management, 5th Edition contains a brief introduction and outline of the anatomy of the eye and orbit, with emphasis placed on the efficacy of modern treatments in later chapters. References are deliberately kept to a minimum to engage readers with a conversational approach and each chapter ends with a concise summary to assist the reader with remembering the key points for each topic.
ISBN: 9783031084492Publication Date: 2022-09-15
Comprehensive Textbook of Eyelid Disorders and Diseases by
Thorough, up to date, and unique in the field, Comprehensive Textbook of Eyelid Disorders and Diseases, by Drs. Jonathan J. Dutton, Hatem A. Tawfik, and Alan D. Proia, offers a complete up-to-date review of the most common eyelid disorders. In 147 chapters, the authors provide highly illustrated discussions of each condition, suitably detailed for ophthalmologists working in oculoplastics, neuro-ophthalmology, and pediatrics, as well as facial surgeons, dermatologists, and dermatopathologists.
Offers detailed coverage on a full range of eyelid disorders, including congenital and developmental anomalies, eyelid malpositions, benign lesions, movement disorders, aging phenomena, and malignant neoplasms
Presents information in an easy-to-reference, consistent format: historical background, etiology and pathogenesis, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, histopathology, known genetic relationships, treatment options, prognosis, current research, and extensive references
Includes introductory chapters on key topics such as evolution of the vertebrate eyelids, embryology, anatomy, basics of histopathology and terminology, clinical history and eyelid examination
Provides superb visual guidance in more than 800 highly-quality, full-color photographs and histopathology sections
ISBN: 9781975146146Publication Date: 2022-11-12
The Eye: Basic Sciences in Practice, by
The Eye: Basic Sciences in Practice provides highly accessible, one-stop coverage of all the essential basic science required by today's ophthalmologists and optometrists in training. It is also core reading for those embarking on a career in visual and ophthalmic science, as well as an invaluable, current refresher for the range of practitioners working in this area. Building on previous success, this fifth edition has been fully revised in line with current curricula, key research developments and clinical best practice. It succinctly incorporates critical developments in fast-moving fields related to the eye and vision, including genetics, pharmacology, microbiology, immunology, pathology, neurophysiology, neuroanatomy and imaging. Topical coverage includes: Major advances in the search for new genes underpinning disease in ophthalmology The emergence of new infections such as Ebola, Zika and COVID-19 The importance of the gastrointestinal tract as an immune organ and its functional dependence on the microbiome Key aspects of melanopsin, melatonin and new ways of light sensing Also, (print purchasers) benefit from access to the complete, fully searchable electronic text, with integrated video and other bonus materials to further explain and expand on key concepts. This combines to make The Eye a more flexible, comprehensive and engaging learning package than ever before. The only all-embracing textbook of the basic sciences suitable for trainee ophthalmologists, optometrists and vision scientists. Utilising an attractive page design with over 300 colour drawings and 200 photographs this is an attractive and accessible text to learn from. The text presents in a readable form an account of all the basic sciences necessary for an understanding of the eye - anatomy, embryology, genetics, biochemistry, physiology, pharmacology, immunology, microbiology and infection and pathology.
ISBN: 9780702079931Publication Date: 2021-01-06
Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology, 10th ed. by
As has been the approach adopted in previous editions of this classic textbook, the tenth edition of Kanski’s Clinical Ophthalmology is intended to be a useful and comprehensive basis for general ophthalmic and optometric practice. The book is filled with in-depth information on most ophthalmic diseases and includes hundreds of beautiful images and illustrations. I have included sufficient practical information for trainees to manage common ophthalmic conditions in the clinic and enough detail on rare conditions to enable them to prepare for their examinations without resorting to the internet.
The challenge has been to cover the entire field of ophthalmology for a world-wide audience without depending on sub-specialists to prepare each chapter. To do this, I have maintained Jack Kanski’s unique approach of presenting core clinical knowledge in a systematic and succinct form. Each chapter has been considerably updated and the latest evidence-based diagnostic and therapeutic approaches have been covered, including genetics and imaging techniques. Many new illustrations have been added and better examples of a range of conditions have been included. An enhanced eBook version is available for rapid access.
ISBN: 9780443110993
Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology, 4th ed. by
Practical and portable, Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology, 4th Edition, distills the key information from the bestselling Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach into a convenient, easy-to-follow volume. Perfect for quick reference, this concise resource contains "need to know" information highlighted by more than 900 high-quality illustrations and clinical photographs with clear explanations. New author, Dr. John Salmon, provides a fresh approach to critical content, ensuring that this manual remains an ideal on-the-go reference, as well as an efficient study guide for examinations. Covers the essential information you need to effectively diagnose and manage a comprehensive range of ophthalmic disorders, using a concise format that makes it easy to quickly grasp the "must-know" aspects of each condition. Keeps you up to date with the latest advances in the treatment of glaucoma, the use of biological agents in the treatment of uveitis, genetic advances in hereditary retinal dystrophies, anti-VEGF agents for macular disease, and OCT/OCTA imaging. Includes a new chapter covering examination techniques, along with sweeping content updates on key topics. Features hundreds of high-quality images: diagnostic imaging, including OCT/OCTA; surgical and clinical photos depicting presenting signs and symptoms as well as surgical techniques; and medical illustrations that convey important anatomical considerations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702083730Publication Date: 2022-08-11
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology, 5th ed. by
Offering current diagnostic and therapeutic guidance to manage ocular disorders, The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology, 5th Edition, remains the most comprehensive ophthalmology manual available. It provides practical information for efficient diagnosis and treatment decisions in a succinct, quick-reference format. Lavishly illustrated with more than 700 full-color images, this outstanding manual covers clinical descriptions, imaging and testing methods, treatment guidelines, and more, making it useful for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and ophthalmic allied health professionals. Utilizes a highly templated format that includes chapters organized anatomically, in addition to key boxes and highlighted emergency management boxes. Features new sections on infectious uveitis, refractive procedures, toxic maculopathies, color blindness, limbal stem cell deficiency, neurotrophic keratitis, Terson syndrome, age-related choroidal atrophy, Norrie disease, Aicardi's syndrome, and many others. Includes new images throughout, including OCTA images, as well as two new videos on ocular motility testing and one-and-a-half syndrome. Provides diagnostic and therapeutic updates on dry eye, diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration, hereditary retinal diseases, ocular tumors, idiopathic intracranial hypertension, and more. Contains bonus appendices that provide a wealth of supplemental information helpful for the non-specialist, including guidance on the basics in examination methods, differential diagnosis, common medications, abbreviations, measurements and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323613323Publication Date: 2020-03-13
Ophthalmology, 6th ed. by
Through five highly regarded editions, Ophthalmology, by Drs. Myron Yanoff and Jay S. Duker, has remained one of the premier texts in the field, providing authoritative guidance on virtually any ophthalmic condition and procedure you may encounter. The fully revised, 6th edition of this award-winning title continues to offer detailed, superbly illustrated content from cover to cover, with extensive updates throughout to keep you current with the latest advancements and fundamentals throughout every subspecialty area in the field. An easy-to-follow, templated format, convenient single volume, and coverage of both common and rare disorders make this title a must-have resource no matter what your level of experience. Offers truly comprehensive coverage, including basic foundations through diagnosis and treatment advances across all subspecialties: genetics, optics, refractive surgery, lens and cataract, cornea, retina, uveitis, tumors, glaucoma, neuro-ophthalmology, pediatric and adult strabismus, and oculoplastics. Features streamlined, templated chapters, a user-friendly visual layout, and key features boxes for quick access to clinically relevant information and rapid understanding of any topic. Contains four new chapters covering Phototherapeutic Keratectomy; IOL Optics; Bag-in-the-lens Cataract Surgery; and Capsulectomy: Modern devices apart from FLACS. Includes a fully revised and updated chapter on refractive surgery screening and corneal imaging, as well as an expanded chapter on corneal cross-linking. Provides up-to-date information on the latest advances in the field, including new therapies for retinoblastoma, such as intravenous and intraarterial chemotherapy; less common retinal tumor simulators of retinoblastoma; OCT-Angiography; glaucoma stents; new drug delivery platforms; IOL optics; phototherapeutic keratectomy; intraocular pressure monitoring; and more. Includes more than 2,000 high-quality illustrations and an expanded video library with more than 60 clips of diagnostic and surgical techniques, including new videos of nystagmus. Contains updated management guidelines for central retinal artery occlusions (CRAO). Provides fresh perspectives from new section editors Drs. Carol Shields and Sumit (Sam) Garg. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323795159Publication Date: 2022-12-20
Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, 19th ed. by
For nearly six decades, Vaughan & Asbury’s General Ophthalmology has offered authoritative, state-of-the-art coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of all major ophthalmic diseases, as well as neurological and systemic diseases causing visual disturbances. It is recognized world wide as essential reading for medical students, ophthalmology residents, practicing ophthalmologists, nurses, optometrists, clinicians in other fields of medicine and surgery, as well as those in health-related professions.
The Nineteenth Edition builds on this tradition of excellence by offering a new full-color presentation, an increased number of color photos, and cutting-edge content additions and updates – to deliver all-inclusive coverage that encompasses pathophysiology, basic science, and the latest clinical perspectives.
The most authoritative review of the subject:
25 chapters that span the full breadth of ophthalmic disease
Contributions from more than thirty international experts
A comprehensive chapter on the ophthalmologic examination
An entire chapter devoted to pediatric interests
Extensive updates to chapters on the cornea, retina, orbit, neuro-ophthalmology, immunologic diseases of the eye, causes and prevention of vision loss, and lasers in ophthalmology
The Wills Eye Manual: Office and Emergency Room Diagnosis and Treatment of Eye Disease by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! A best-selling source of compact, authoritative guidance on the treatment of ocular disorders in a variety of settings, The Wills Eye Manual, 8th Edition, is the comprehensive, high-yield reference of choice for both trainees and seasoned practitioners. It provides highly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions along with proven clinical recommendations from initial diagnosis through extended treatment. The consistent, bulleted outline format makes it ideal for portability and quick reference. Provides current, superbly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions in a handy, portable manual, along with extensive multimedia content. Features easily accessible clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment. Contains updates on the latest major clinical trials in ophthalmology, as well as two expertly produced new videos and many new clinical images added. Addresses changing trends in oculoplastics, glaucoma, cornea, pediatrics, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, retina, and more. Includes videos depicting a wide range of common procedures with step-by-step narration, carefully selected to complement key techniques. All chapters written and edited by the residents and attending ophthalmologists at one of the busiest and largest eye hospitals in the country. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s) such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
eBooks
Adler's Physiology of the Eye, 12th ed. by
Written and designed to enhance your understanding of ocular function, structure, and anatomy, Adler's Physiology of the Eye is a classic, best-selling text that makes critical information easier to learn and retain. The fully revised 12th Edition continues the successful Adler’s approach that connects basic science and clinical aspects in a user-friendly, highly visual format―ideal for study, review, and exam preparation. It captures the latest molecular, genetic, and biochemical discoveries and offers you unparalleled knowledge and insight into the physiology of the eye and its structures.
Covers the full structure and function of the eye and its related anatomy and makes the connection between physiology and clinical practice.
Includes major updates throughout, including new information on OCT/OCTA imaging, new drug delivery methods, ocular biomechanics, and evolving gene therapies.
Organizes content by function, rather than anatomy, to help you make a stronger connection between physiological principles and clinical practice.
Explains the physiological principles that underlie visual acuity, intraocular pressure, ocular circulation, the extraocular muscles, and much more.
Features approximately 1,000 illustrations throughout, including medical artwork; schematics, charts, and graphs; clinical photographs; and more.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Any additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date.
ISBN: 9780323834063
Cataract Surgery by
This book provides a comprehensive approach to the specialty of cataract surgery. Chapters are authored by an international group of experts who evaluate technology, recommend surgical technique, and review the management of both anticipated and unexpected complications. With more than 30 chapters, everyday challenges such as the white, mature, and uveitic cataract are included while the most difficult cases like the loose lens, posterior polar, aniridic, and the traumatic cataract are covered in detail. The editors have also included topics like IOL repositioning and exchange. Cataract Surgery: Advanced Techniques for Complex and Complicated Cases offers the reader an encyclopedic collection of invaluable lessons that will help both the surgeon who is early in his career as well as the veteran cataract surgeon.
ISBN: 9783030945299Publication Date: 2022-07-28
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, 6th ed. by
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma--one of the field's seminal texts on the medical practice and surgical management of glaucoma, now in its Sixth Edition--includes the latest updates in an area that is currently experiencing a surge of innovation. Edited by Drs. Malik Y. Kahook and Joel S. Schuman and with writings from the late Dr. David L. Epstein and more than 80 contributors, Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, Sixth Edition brings together the experience of world-class glaucoma experts who belong to a long line of surgeons trained using the teachings of the original authors of this classic work. Each chapter has been meticulously edited and updated from the previous edition, while maintaining the well-established historical teachings of Drs. Paul A. Chandler and W. Morton Grant. New chapters on medical therapy as well as thorough updates on novel and minimally invasive approaches for the surgical management of glaucoma have been added. New topics and features in the Sixth Edition include: Advances in imaging of the optic nerve and retina Rho-associated protein kinase inhibitors Glaucoma and cerebrospinal fluid pressure The FDA's role in the development of new diagnostic and surgical devices for patients with glaucoma Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma has been the most relevant and invaluable reference on glaucoma for generations of ophthalmologists. This updated Sixth Edition builds on the teachings of previous editions, making the Sixth Edition as relevant in the 21st century as when the first lectures were presented by Drs. Chandler and Grant more than 55 years ago.
ISBN: 9781630914653Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Diseases and Disorders of the Orbit and Ocular Adnexa by
Drawing from the knowledge and expertise of more than 70 contributing international experts, Diseases and Disorders of the Orbit and Ocular Adnexa thoroughly covers the state of the art in orbital and periocular disease from the perspective of a variety of specialties. Clearly written and profusely illustrated, it covers the clinical presentation, pathophysiology, natural history, and management alternatives of disease processes affecting the orbit, eyelids, lacrimal system, and upper face. With a singular focus on the diagnosis and management of orbital and ocular adnexal disease, this authoritative text gives you the information you need to excel both in practice and on exams in the specialty of ophthalmic plastic and reconstructive surgery. Offers an in-depth and thorough approach to the pathophysiology of oculoplastics and orbital disease, incorporating the perspectives of numerous specialties - all in one convenient volume. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated format throughout so you can find what you need quickly. Covers new information not included in other texts, such as antibody testing in dysthyroid conditions and a rapidly emerging array of targeted immunosuppressive medications for the treatment of inflammatory orbital disease. Includes hot topics such as the classification and management of orbital inflammatory disease; vascular neoplasms and malformations; periocular dermatology; burn management; facial paralytic disease; and the pathogenesis, evaluation and management of lymphoproliferative disease. Features more than 1,200 high-quality clinical, imaging, and histological illustrations that provide clear visual examples of orbital disease. Written by an international team of experts from five continents (across multiple specialties including ophthalmology, dermatology, burn management, plastic surgery, otolaryngology, endocrinology, and pathology) led by Dr. Aaron Fay and Dr. Peter J. Dolman. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323377232Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects, 8th ed. by
Written by global experts in the field of chemical- and drug-related ocular problems, Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects, 8th Edition, provides need-to-know information on all aspects of ocular toxicology in one concise reference. This best-selling, user-friendly resource features a templated format, numerous full-color illustrations, and sweeping content updates throughout - all designed to eliminate uncertainty and ensure accurate diagnosis and treatment guidance. Provides comprehensive coverage of drugs' generic and trade names, primary uses, ocular and systemic side effects, and clinical significance. Features a unique side effect index, a new concise paperback format for portability, and clinical photos of ocular symptoms of adverse drug reactions. Covers dozens of new drugs used in the U.S. and internationally, as well as extensive updates to drug registry information to ensure access to the latest data. Includes expanded sections on how to follow patients with visual adverse drug reactions to chloroquine, hydroxychloroquine, isotretinoin, ethambutol, and more. Guidelines can be copied to use as patient handouts. Offers extensive discussions of principles of therapy, ocular drug delivery, methods to evaluate drug-induced visual side effects, and the role of electrophysiology and psychophysics. Provides the WHO classification system to help you determine whether a particular side effect is certain, probable, or likely to occur. Ideal for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and busy clinicians in primary care, emergency medicine, and more - anyone who needs quick, on-the-spot consultation on ocular toxicology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323653756Publication Date: 2020-06-29
Last-Minute Optics: A Concise Review of Optics, Refraction, and Contact Lenses, 3rd ed. by
Learn and review clinical optics and refraction with the newly revised edition of this popular resource! Last-Minute Optics, 3rd Edition, distills a vast amount of complex information into an easy-to-read, engaging text that makes the most of your limited study time. Now in full color for the first time, this clear and concise review manual features a unique question-and-answer format that allows for self-assessment and easy identification of areas where more study is needed.
Features a light, approachable tone that helps you quickly gain a solid grasp of core optics concepts for optimal exam performance and clinical practice.
Provides a high-yield, quick review enhanced by full-color illustrations, photos, charts, graphs, and diagrams.
Uses a unique question-and-answer format with more than 225 questions and detailed answers that can be used to study and then test your understanding.
Includes exam pearls throughout that highlight practical tips for studying and taking both oral and written exams.
Covers the latest advancements in the field, including important updates on intraocular lens and refractive surgery technology.
Covers key topics such as instrumentation, low vision, intraocular lenses, contact lenses, refraction and optical dispensing, and visual acuity testing.
Ideal for ophthalmology residents, re-certifying ophthalmologists, optometry trainees, orthoptists, and ophthalmic technicians who need a firm grasp of this complex area of eye care.
ISBN: 9780443128073
Ryan's Retina, 7th ed. by
Through six outstanding and award-winning editions, Ryan’s Retina has offered unsurpassed coverage of this complex subspecialty―everything from basic science through the latest research, therapeutics, technology, and surgical techniques. The fully revised 7th Edition, edited by Drs. SriniVas R. Sadda, Andrew P. Schachat, Charles P. Wilkinson, David R. Hinton, Peter Wiedemann, K. Bailey Freund, and David Sarraf, continues the tradition of excellence, balancing the latest scientific research and clinical correlations and covering everything you need to know on retinal diagnosis, treatment, development, structure, function, and pathophysiology. More than 300 global contributors share their knowledge and expertise to create the most comprehensive reference available on retina today.
Features sweeping content updates, including new insights into the fundamental pathogenic mechanisms of age-related macular degeneration, advances in imaging including OCT angiography and intraoperative OCT, new therapeutics for retinal vascular disease and AMD, novel immune-based therapies for uveitis, and the latest in instrumentation and techniques for vitreo-retinal surgery.
Includes five new chapters covering Artificial Intelligence and Advanced Imaging Analysis, Pachychoroid Disease and Its Association with Polypoidal Choroidal Vasculopathy, Retinal Manifestations of Neurodegeneration, Microbiome and Retinal Disease, and OCT-Angiography.
Includes more than 50 video clips (35 new to this edition) highlighting the latest surgical techniques, imaging guidance, and coverage of complications of vitreoretinal surgery. New videos cover Scleral Inlay for Recurrent Optic Nerve Pit Masculopathy, Trauma with Contact Lens, Recurrent Retinal Detachment due to PVR, Asteroid Hyalosis, and many more.
Contains more than 2,000 high-quality images (700 new to this edition) including anatomical illustrations, clinical and surgical photographs, diagnostic imaging, decision trees, and graphs.
ISBN: 9780323722131Publication Date: 2022-07-07
Whitcup and Nussenblatt's Uveitis, 5th ed. by
Comprehensive and readable, Whitcup and Nussenblatt's Uveitis, 5th Edition, covers every aspect of this complex subspecialty in a single convenient volume. This clinically relevant guide covers the medical, pharmacological, and surgical treatment of uveitis in a visually rich, full-color format, offering a complete overview for today's clinicians. New and updated case studies, key points boxes, and more than 400 images and graphics highlight major clinical points and provide insight into real situations that you can apply in practice. Features multiple chapters on diagnostic approach to help you meet the challenge of making accurate diagnoses. Reflects advancements and new developments on all aspects of uveitis including new medical and surgical treatments. Covers key topics such as the use of PCR in diagnostic testing, cataract surgery in patients with uveitis, the use of OCT in diagnosis and treatment, new infectious causes of uveitis (including Zika and Ebola), and novel treatments for inflammatory eye disease. Includes new clinical photographs, illustrations, and OCT images throughout. Reviews new randomized clinical trials of new uveitis therapy, as well as the approach to patients with HIV and HIV-associated ocular diseases including CMV retinitis and immune recovery uveitis. Provides expanded information on masquerade syndromes with important tips on diagnosis and management of intraocular lymphoma. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323480147Publication Date: 2021-06-30
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Education
- American Academy of OphthalmologyClinical Education
- American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and StrabismusMeetings and Education & Research
- American Optometric AssociationEducation
Clinical Cases in Medical Retina by
Medical retina is a complex subspecialty with a steep learning curve, requiring vast and diverse knowledge in basic science, diagnostic imaging, medical treatment, and surgical techniques. Clinical Cases in Medical Retina: A Diagnostic Approach provides highly visual, case-based guidance on the challenging process of gathering patient information, ordering appropriate testing, and arriving at an accurate diagnosis and effective treatment plan. In one convenient volume, it exposes retina fellows and specialists, ophthalmology residents, and other eye care clinicians to a wide variety of patient presentations and scenarios, including rare conditions and special populations.
Presents more than 70 clinical cases depicting actual scenarios of patients presenting with a variety of retinal disorders.
Walks you through history taking, questions to ask, differential diagnosis, testing, management, and follow-up care, all in a concise, templated, and easy-to-read format.
Covers the latest imaging modalities, including OCT and OCTA, autofluorescence, fluorescein angiography, and ultrasound.
Includes diagnostic algorithms that help you differentiate between disorders with common presentations.
Provides expert guidance on treatment options, including prescribing medications, injections, and where appropriate, when to refer for surgery.
Features quick-reference boxes throughout with clinical pearls, pitfalls, and key points.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780128227206
Clinical Cases in Ocular Oncology by
Ophthalmic neoplasms range from benign to malignant and life-threatening tumors. Notably, it has grown significantly in the last 50 years. The field of ocular oncology is a multidisciplinary specialty that requires a coordinated team of ocular oncologists, medical oncologists, pathologists, radiologists, and many more.
Timely diagnosis and treatment are of paramount importance in ocular oncology to avoid vision loss, salvage the eye, and minimize morbidity and mortality. There has been a remarkable increase in the availability of imaging techniques to diagnose and monitor ocular tumors, along with an explosion in prognostic markers and a trend toward precision cancer care.
We designed this book as a case review for readers to use as a quick reference and guide to management of patients in clinical practice. The 66 chapters are devoted to tumors ranging from orbit to eyelid to ocular surface and intraocular tumors. We hope that this book also helps students, residents, and fellows further understand the complex specialty of ocular oncology.
The advancements in the field of ocular oncology have been possible because of the dedicated efforts of numerous specialists. We thank our colleagues for sharing their experience and wisdom in these interesting cases. We also thank our patients for allowing us to use their images to educate and help readers diagnose and manage ocular oncology conditions.
ISBN: 9780443120497
Clinical Cases in Uveitis by
Intraocular inflammation is particularly difficult to diagnose and treat, often resembling a complex puzzle of patient history, symptoms, imaging, and laboratory test results. Clinical Cases in Uveitis: Differential Diagnosis and Management is a unique, case-based resource designed to help you navigate the range of challenging manifestations and presentations that often mimic other diseases. More than 90 real-world uveitis cases are presented in a highly templated, easy-to-follow format, along with step-by-step guidance on the right patient questions, assessment, differential diagnosis, testing, management, and follow-up care. Provides a variety of patient presentations and scenarios and unique clinical situations that mirror day-to-day practice. Covers current diagnostic imaging modalities, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), optical coherence tomography angiography, fluorescein angiography (FA), and indocyanine green angiography (ICG). Features diagnostic and management algorithms that assist in differential diagnosis and decision making for even the most complex cases, including those in which the patient does not improve as expected, prompting a reassessment of diagnosis and management. Contains approximately 250 high-quality images, including color anterior segment photographs, color fundus photographs, OCT images, and angiograms. Discusses distinguishing infectious from non-infectious inflammation; when and how to start systemic immunosuppressive therapy; diagnostic criteria and management of "white dot syndromes"; pediatric uveitis; masquerade syndromes, including inherited retinal degenerations, malignancies, and paraneoplastic syndromes; and much more. Includes the authors' specific thought processes and approach in particularly challenging cases. An excellent resource and study tool for ophthalmology residents and fellows, those studying for oral boards, general ophthalmologists, retina specialists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323695411Publication Date: 2021-03-15
Ophthalmology Secrets, 5th ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Ophthalmology Secrets, 5th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Coverage includes the full range of topics in this broad specialty, from basic science to problems of the aging eye. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Key clinical images are presented in full-color. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323661881Publication Date: 2022-05-06
Mayo Clinic Resources
_____________
Mayo Clinic Intranet Sites
Ophthalmology - ARZ
Ophthalmology - RST