Dentistry and Oral Surgery: Other eBooks

The Art of Dental Suturing by A. Burak Cankaya, 2021 Although the field of dental surgery has witnessed significant changes over the past decade, perfect wound closure remains a key aspect for uneventful wound healing. The Art of Dental Suturing is a unique overview of the diff erent aspects of wound closure. Written by two experts in the field, this fully illustrated clinical guide on the management of suturing is intended to impart all the information necessary to achieve successful wound closure. In line with the current dental literature, and carefully constructed in a concise and simple way, the book is divided into three chapters. The first chapter deals with general characteristics of wound healing and provides information to dental clinicians and surgeons on the basic principles involved. The second chapter presents the instruments and materials required for all the categories of wound closure in every clinical situation. The third chapter is a complete guide to the various wound closure methods and techniques required in dental surgery. It is constructed in a step-by-step manner for clear understanding and is accompanied by carefully designed, large-format illustrations and photographs to impart the essential knowledge needed to facilitate perfect suturing. We hope that this book will serve as a reference guide to for all those in the profession who are tasked with the crucial role of successful wound closure.

Botox and Fillers

Computer-Aided Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by Jan Egger; Xiaojun Chen, 2021 Computer-Aided Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery: Developments, Applications, and Future Perspectives is an ideal resource for biomedical engineers and computer scientists, clinicians and clinical researchers looking for an understanding on the latest technologies applied to oral and maxillofacial surgery. In facial surgery, computer-aided decisions supplement all kind of treatment stages, from a diagnosis to follow-up examinations. This book gives an in-depth overview of state-of-the-art technologies, such as deep learning, augmented reality, virtual reality and intraoperative navigation, as applied to oral and maxillofacial surgery. It covers applications of facial surgery that are at the interface between medicine and computer science. Examples include the automatic segmentation and registration of anatomical and pathological structures, like tumors in the facial area, intraoperative navigation in facial surgery and its recent developments and challenges for treatments like zygomatic implant placement.

Cunningham's Manual of Practical Anatomy, Volume 3: Head, Neck and Brain, 16th ed. by Rachel Koshi, 2018 The new 16th edition of Cunningham's has been thoroughly revised for the modern-day anatomy student. The language has been simplified for easy understanding making this textbook ideal for students at undergraduate levels. Each dissection reflects current medical school teaching and is now broken down into clear step-by-step instructions. New learning features prepare students for the dissection lab, university examinations and clinical practice. Completely updated full colour artwork brings the friendly explanations to life. Following a logical structure, each chapter explains in a clear friendly manner the key knowledge expected of students. Improved diagrams with clear labelling and full colour illustrate key anatomical features bringing the text to life. Learning objectives introduce each dissection and clear step-by-step instructions make it easy to follow in the dissection lab. Throughout the book new clinical application boxes and radiology images explain how anatomy relates to clinical medical practice. At the end of each part, multiple choice questions allow students to quickly review their knowledge before checking the answers in 'Answers to MCQs'. Student friendly and richly illustrated, this new edition of Cunningham's brings expert anatomical teaching to the modern day student of medicine, dentistry and allied health sciences. Retaining the trustworthy authority of the previous editions, this sixteenth edition offers a contemporary account of this excellent practical anatomy book.

Facial Reanimation

Functional Occlusion in Restorative Dentistry and Prosthodontics by Iven Klineberg; Steven Eckert, 2016 Assess and manage occlusion problems with confidence! Functional Occlusion in Restorative Dentistry and Prosthodontics provides a full-color, comprehensive guide to occlusion, with coverage ranging from an explanation of biological principles to treatment planning and clinical procedures. An easy-to-understand approach advances your skills with the latest evidence-based clinical research, and reinforces knowledge with chapter synopses, key points boxes, and abundant references. To support the book's content, a companion website includes three video clips: condyle movements within the glenoid fossa, relationship between condylar translation and rotation, and movement of the condyle-disc assembly recorded by MRI. Edited by internationally renowned prosthodontics experts Iven Klineberg and Steven Eckert, this reference will help you treat occlusion conditions and TMJ disorders safely and effectively. An easy-to-read, easy-access format presents the newest evidence-based clinical research on occlusion. A companion website supports the book with three video clips: condyle movements within the glenoid fossa, relationship between condylar translation and rotation, and movement of the condyle-disc assembly recorded by MRI. ~Nearly 300 full-color photographs and illustrations depict occlusal conditions, principles, and treatment. A world-renowned team of expert contributors offers practical insights gained from years of clinical research and experience. Summary tables, key points boxes, and helpful hints and tips make it easier to assess and manage occlusal issues and TMJ problems.

Geriatric Dental Medicine

Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th ed. by Craig Miller; Nelson L. Rhodus; Nathaniel S. Treister et al, 2024 Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th Edition, is thoroughly revised to provide the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. This new edition contains revised content on Cancer and Women's Health and includes an enhanced ebook plus patient-based practice questions with print purchase. Also, each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. UPDATED! Information correlating to the revised INBDE exam prepares you for the boards. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase. The ebook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, patient-based questions are included. UPDATED! Revised coverage of Women's Health addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management. NEW! Completely revised chapter on Cancer discusses essential considerations for the oral care of these patients. NEW! Key Points at the beginning of each chapter highlight important content to guide study efforts.

Oral Medicine - A Clinical Guide by Ramesh Balasubramaniam; Sue-Ching Yeoh; Tami Yap et al, 2024 This handbook is a practical guide covering pertinent topics in the specialty of Oral Medicine, which focuses on the diagnosis, prevention, and management of local and systemic conditions affecting the oral and maxillofacial region. Each topic covers a specific disease or disorder with overarching emphasis on diseases presenting with oral mucosal involvement and orofacial pain conditions. Each topic is presented as a summary of key clinical information for quick reference prepared by leading experts in the field. This clinical guide will serve as a valuable resource for students and clinicians in practice. 

Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th ed. by Chiayi Shen; H. Ralph Rawls; Josephine F. Esquivel-Upshaw, 2022 Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.