AskMayoExpertThis link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
Mayo FormularyThis link opens in a new windowList of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick GuideWe designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
AccessAnesthesiologyThis link opens in a new windowAnesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
AccessEmergencyMedicineThis link opens in a new windowCollection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
AccessPediatricsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
AccessSurgeryThis link opens in a new windowContains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
NIH Clinical Trials ListingThis link opens in a new windowProvides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Trauma, Ninth Edition by David V. Feliciano; Kenneth L. Mattox; Ernest E. Moore, 2021The world's leading resource for to diagnosing and treating any injury--quickly, safely, and effectively. Unparalleled in its breadth and depth of expertly crafted content, Trauma takes you through the full range of injuries you are likely to encounter. With a full-color atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic provides thorough coverage of kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury, the epidemiology of trauma, injury prevention, the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport, and more. It then reviews generalized approaches to the trauma patient, from pre-hospital care and managing shock, to emergency department thoracotomy and the management of infections; delivers a clear, organ-by-organ survey of treatment protocols; and shows how to handle specific challenges in trauma; including alcohol and drug abuse, and combat-related wounds; in addition to post-traumatic complications such as multiple organ failure. *500 photos and illustrations *Color atlas; *Numerous X-rays, CT scans, and algorithms; *High-yield section on specific approaches to the trauma patient; *A-to-Z overview of management of specific traumatic injuries *Detailed discussion of the management of complications
Acute Care Surgery and Trauma : Evidence-Based Practice, 3d ed by Stephen M. Cohn, 2024"Remember, the critical questions in the field of Surgery never change, just the answers!" J. Bradley Aust M.D. 1926-2010 Acute Care Surgery and Trauma: Evidence-Based Practice discusses important surgical management approaches and clinical decision-making based on scientific evidence found in the published literature.Updated and fully revised, this new edition continues to support clinicians by providing the most up-to-date information and evidence on which to base their decisions across a wide range of topics in acute care surgery and trauma, thus optimizing the decision-making process for the care of individual patients. What can be better for the busy clinician than having all the answers to complex questions extensively researched by experts in the field and readily available without requiring further intensive literature searches? Featuring chapters written by specialists in acute care, trauma, and emergency surgery, with extensive references throughout. The text features tables summarizing key evidence and clinical recommendations for quick reference and easy interpretation.
Current Surgical Therapy by John L. Cameron; Andrew M. Cameron, 2023An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care by Juan A Asensio, 2024Drawing on the experience and knowledge of master world-renowned trauma surgeons, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 3rd Edition, offers a comprehensive summary of optimal treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. Ideally suited for everyday use, this practical, concise reference highlights the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, from damage control to noninvasive techniques to chemical and biological injuries. A focus on the surgical techniques required to manage even the most complex injuries makes it both an excellent resource for quick review before entering the operating room and a valuable review tool for board certification or recertification.
Mini-Invasive Approach in Acute Care Surgery by Federico Coccolini; Mauro Podda; Robert Lim et al, 2023The minimally invasive approach in emergency and general trauma surgery is a key aspect of both scenarios. This book, the first comprehensive manual in the field, takes a global view of the subject and deals with it in depth, ranging from the historical perspective to the pathophysiological and therapeutic aspects in the various body compartments. Thanks to its user-friendly approach, this book will be a useful tool in the daily clinical practice of surgeons, doctors, anesthetists and nurses; thanks to its up-to-date review of the literature, it will remain relevant for several years. Finally, the participation of world opinion leaders in the field guarantees the comprehensive and scientific soundness of the work.
Surgical Decision Making by Robert C. McIntyre; Richard D. Schulick, 2020Using a proven, practical, algorithmic approach, Surgical Decision Making summarizes evidence-based guidelines and practice protocols in an easy-to-follow format. Designed to sharpen the decision-making skills of both trainees and practicing surgeons, the 6th Edition directs your focus to the critical decision points in a wide range of clinical scenarios, helping you determine optimal evaluation and management to secure the best possible patient outcomes. Algorithms are accompanied by annotations that explain all critical factors affecting decisions in a concise, readable manner. Reflects the scope of practice of today's general surgeon, with fresh, expert perspectives from new editor Dr. Richard Schulick and numerous new contributors. Contains 58 new chapters and thoroughly revised content throughout. Includes new coverage of Preoperative Evaluation of the Geriatric Patient, Pancreatic Cystic Neoplasm, Familial Breast Cancer, Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta, Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury, and much more. Uses an easy-to-follow, consistent format, with an algorithm on one page and short descriptions explaining the various steps in the decision-making process on the opposite page. Includes explanatory notes that summarize presenting signs and symptoms, laboratory investigation, diagnostic modalities, surgical therapies, and adjuvant therapies for each condition. Encompasses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties?helping you directly manage a broad range of problems. Emphasizes information that frequently appears on board exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Emergency General Surgery by Federico Coccolini; Fausto Catena, 2023This text aims to provide a comprehensive review of general emergency surgery, the branch of medicine that treats patients presenting to the hospital with a wide variety of emergency conditions. It includes a section focusing on clinical aspects, management, logistics, patient cohorts and perioperative considerations in the context of general emergency surgery and trauma. Other sections describe various conditions and diseases in specific anatomical structures to enable readers to easily find the information they need. Written and edited by international experts and opinion leaders in the field, this book is a valuable reference resource for general and emergency surgeons, trauma surgeons, emergency physicians and nurses. It will also be of interest to residents, students and all other healthcare professionals involved in the management of emergency surgical patients.
Total Burn Care by David N. Herndon, 2018Recent advances in research have resulted in tremendous changes in burn management. Stay fully up to date with the new edition of Total Burn Care, by leading authority Dr. David N. Herndon. Detailed procedural guidelines and video clips walk you through every step of the process, from resuscitation through reconstruction and rehabilitation. Everyone on the burn care team, including general and plastic surgeons, intensivists, anesthestists, and nurses, will benefit from this integrated, multidisciplinary guide to safe and effective burn management. Discusses infection control, early burn coverage, occupational physical exercise, respiratory therapy, and ventilator management. Summarizes key points at the beginning of each chapter for quick reference. Uses an integrated, team approach to help you meet the clinical, physical, psychological, and social needs of every patient. Offers expert guidance on early reconstructive surgery and rehabilitation, with new content on improved surgical techniques. Provides access to 15+ procedural operative videos and PowerPoint presentations on topics ranging from alopecia and anesthesia to radiation and treatment of infection - ideal for teaching and presenting. Covers special populations such as elderly and pediatric patients, and includes a new chapter on burns in pregnancy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by Alden H. Harken; Ernest E. Moore, 2018For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Andre R. Campbell et al, 2022Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards by Shelby Reiter; Danielle Hayes, 2024A comprehensive, accessible study resource for the general surgery oral boards Preparing for the American Board of Surgery certifying exam can be daunting. Based on the ACS curriculum outline, The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards is an invaluable tool for maximizing your study time. The unique format makes this book optimal for quick referencing and self-study. The table of contents is broken down by organ system and surgical sub-specialties. Topics on the curriculum are categorized as either core or advanced. Each chapter begins with a list of topics. And each disease process is covered along with the relevant points of the history and physical, work-up, staging, treatment options, key surgical steps, and post-operative care. Designed as a tool to study for the oral boards, this is also an ideal quick reference guide for residents and practicing surgeons looking to brush up on procedural steps or the work up of complex conditions.
On Call Surgery by Gregg A. Adams; Stephen D. Bresnick; Jared Forrester et al, 2020Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition by Timothy R. Billiar; Karen J. Brasel; Lisa Dresner et al, 2023The premier exam-prep guide for surgery--with 800+ board-style practice questions with detailed answers and rationales Based on general surgery's cornerstone text, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, this unmatched study guide provides everything they need to ace your exams--whether you're a resident or a practicing surgeon seeking recertification. Developed by the top minds in modern surgery, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition delivers the most current, authoritative perspectives on surgical practice. Each practice question is accompanied by answers and comprehension-building rationales, ensuring complete understanding of the material. Answers are keyed to the latest edition of Schwartz's Principles of Surgery providing only the studying only relevant, applicable material from the most authoritative source possible. Features *300 photos and illustrations *Updated chapters--all aligned with the latest American Board of Surgery Qualifying Board Examination blueprint *Questions reflect those most likely to appear on the American Board of Surgery in-training exam and the surgery board exam *Excellent prep for both written and oral boards
Patients' LibrariesThe Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine LibraryThe W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowStrong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.